DETAILED ACTION
STATUS OF CLAIMS
This Non-Final action is in reply to the application 18078427 filed on 12/09/2022
Claim 20 is allowable
Claims 1 - 20 are currently pending and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/23/2023 was fully considered by the examiner. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 -2, 4 – 12, 14 – 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by KR 101499151 – Daewoo et al. hereinafter as DAEWOO in view of CN 106759196 – Liu changmiao et al. hereinafter as LIU in view of CN211849668 – CHEN et al. hereinafter as CHEN
Regarding Claim 1
DAEWOO discloses:
A dredging system
DAEWOO discloses of a barge body , CHANGMIAO discloses each barge section of the plurality of barge sections( float buoyancy 13 fig. 3) configured to be selectively flooded to adjust a height of the barge body( page 23 para. 12 control – adjust control in the injected water for buoyancy of 13, depth and buoyancy size of the hull can be adjusted.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicants invention to modify DAEWOO’s teachings with CHANGMIAO by having the barge body include a plurality of barge sections that are selectively adjustable. This would allow DAEWOO to provide the ability to selectively adjust a height of the barge body and thereby facilitate navigating rivers and lakes with different depths ( CHANGMIAO - page 23 para. 12 different depth in the river and lake)
DAEWOO and LIU does not explicitly disclose:
A dredging system for removing material under a structure
CHEN discloses:
A dredging system for removing material under a structure( abstract and fig. 1)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicants invention DAEWOO and CHANGMIAO dredging methods to utilizing specifically CHEN’s dredging system for removing material under a structure. This would allow DAEWOO to processing dredge narrow areas under a high pile dock. (CHEN - abstract)
Regarding Claim 2
DAEWOO / LIU / CHEN discloses claim 1:
DAEWOO discloses:
The dredging system of Claim 1, further comprising a boat ( fig. 1 - 200) configured to be attached to a rear end of the submersible drag barge ( fig. 1)and configured to push the submersible drag barge under the structure when the drag beam is in the undeployed position and pull the submersible drag barge when the drag beam is in the deployed position. (,fig. 1 boat 200 pushes and pulls barge 100 upon dredging and flattening the sea surface; pushing and pulling operations include lowering and lifting the 300)
Regarding Claim 4
DAEWOO / LIU / CHEN discloses claim 1:
DAEWOO discloses:
The dredging system of Claim 1, wherein the barge body includes a bumper extension. ( fig. 1 – bumper extension between barge 100 and boat 200)
Regarding Claim 5
DAEWOO / LIU / CHEN discloses claim 1:
LIU discloses the selective float sections in claim 1
5. The dredging system of Claim 1, wherein each barge section is attached to at least one adjacent barge section side-to-side, end-to-end, or end-to-side. ( float buoyancy 13 - fig. 3 – side by side)
Regarding Claim 6
DAEWOO / LIU / CHEN discloses claim 1:
DAEWOO discloses:
The submersible drag barge of Claim 1, further comprising a support cable including a first end secured to the winch system ( fig. 1 second wire W2) and a second end secure to the drag beam. ( fig. 1 – 2 page 19 para. 002 - The second winch 120 is provided so as to face the side at the stern in order to tow a plow 300, a second wire (W2). Here, the second wire (W2) and the respective one end fixed to the second winch 120, and at the stern, respectively to the opposite side and then pulled out toward the opposite side of the barge)
Regarding Claim 7
DAEWOO / LIU / CHEN discloses claim 1:
DAEWOO discloses:
The submersible drag barge of Claim 1, wherein the drag beam includes a plate disposed at an angle towards a rear end of the barge body. ( fig. 4 – blade 360 – disposed at an angle towards a rear end of the barge 100, fig. 1 - page 19 para. 2 - blades 360 are installed to have a predetermined angle downward from the bottom surface of the back plate 320, a replacement part is formed to be divided into a number, is coupled to the back plate 320 and the bolt. Here, the blade 360 is preferably formed lower than the height of the bottom surface of the main frame so as to flatten the dredging sea floor (310).)
Regarding Claim 8
DAEWOO / LIU / CHEN discloses:
CHEN discloses the combination regarding removing material under a structure in claim 1
DAEWOO the winch system is disposed at a rear end of the barge body. (fig. 1 -2 – disposed proximate at a rear end of the barge 100, drag beam 300)
CHEN discloses wherein the drag beam is disposed proximate to a front end of the barge body ( fig. 1)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicants invention such that DAEWOO’s winch system disposed at the rear end of the barge body and wherein the drag beam is disposed proximate to the rear end of the barge body such that the drag beam is disposed proximate to the front end of the barge body as taught by CHEN. Such that DAEWOO would be motivated to have the drag beam situated at the front end as a method to improve on accessing areas underneath structures. (CHEN - figure 1)
Regarding Claim 9
DAEWOO / LIU / CHEN discloses claim 8:
DAEWOO discloses:
The submersible drag barge of Claim 8, further comprising a guide system(fig. 1 – first sheave 140 at front end of barge) disposed at the front end of the barge body and receiving the cable from the winch system. (fig 1 – 2 receiving the first wire W1 from winch system page 19 para. 1 and page 19 para 4)
Regarding Claim 10
DAEWOO / LIU / CHEN discloses claim 9:
DAEWOO discloses:
The submersible drag barge of Claim 9, wherein the guide system includes a sheave assembly. (fig. 1 – first sheave 140 at front end of barge and page 19 para. 1 and page 19 para 4)
Regarding Claim 11
DAEWOO / LIU / CHEN discloses claim 1:
DAEWOO discloses:
The submersible drag barge of Claim 1, wherein the drag beam has a length that is substantially the same as a width of the barge body. (fig. 2)
Regarding Claim 12
DAEWOO / LIU / CHEN discloses claim 1:
DAEWOO discloses:
The submersible drag barge of Claim 1, wherein the cable is attached to the drag barge via an attachment assembly, ( fig 1 and 3 – C2 chain and fixing brackets 350) the attachment assembly secured to the drag barge. ( fig. 1 and 3 drag barge)
Regarding Claim 14
DAEWOO / LIU / CHEN discloses claim 1:
DAEWOO discloses:
The submersible drag barge of Claim 1, further comprising a support cable( fig. 1 second wire W2) including a first end secured to the winch system and a second end secure to the drag beam( see fig 1 and 2 page 19 para. 002 - The second winch 120 is provided so as to face the side at the stern in order to tow a plow 300, a second wire (W2). Here, the second wire (W2) and the respective one end fixed to the second winch 120, and at the stern, respectively to the opposite side and then pulled out toward the opposite side of the barge) and the drag beam includes a plate ( fig. 3 and 4 – blade plate 360) disposed at an angle towards a rear end of the barge body.
Regarding Claim 15
DAEWOO / LIU / CHEN discloses claim 14:
DAEWOO discloses:
The submersible drag barge of Claim 14, wherein a first attachment assembly disposed on the drag beam receives the cable and a second attachment assembly disposed on the plate receives the support cable. ( fig. 1 and 3 – fixing brackets 350, first wire W1 with C2 chain fig. 1 and second attachment assembly frame 310, plate 330, chain fixing bracket 340 fig. 1 and 3, back plate blade 360 fig. 3 and 4, and second wire W2 and C1 chain fig.1)
Regarding Claim 16
DAEWOO / LIU / CHEN discloses claim 15:
DAEWOO discloses:
The submersible drag barge of Claim 15, wherein the
DAEWOO does not discloses explicitly of a support cable that has a y shaped split however it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have made the support cable have the Y shaped split instead of the cable having the Y shaped split since rearranging of parts of an invention involves routine skill in the art. Such that doing so would have been to control an angle of the plate of drag beam during a dredging and thereby improving a dredging efficiency to achieve flatter sea surface.
Regarding Claim 17
DAEWOO / LIU / CHEN discloses claim 1:
DAEWOO discloses:
17. The submersible drag barge of Claim 1, further comprising a sensor system configured to measure a depth of the drag beam. (ultrasound device 160 to visually identify the protruding and recessed areas and thereby adjust a height and angle of the plough 300 page 19 para. 8 - computer 180 using the information received via the DGPS unit 150 and the ultrasonic device 160 and the position of the display to display a map of Sikkim and at the same time the working position and a barge (100) in a variety of information display 170, a first winch according to the water level (110) and a second winch (120) to control the plow (300 ) to adjust the height and angle.)
Regarding Claim 19
DAEWOO / LIU / CHEN discloses claim 9:
DAEWOO discloses:
The submersible drag barge of Claim 9, further comprising a guide pulley(sheave 140 between winch and first sheave 140 fig 1 and 2) disposed between the winch system and the guide system, the guide pulley receiving the cable. (first wire w1 fig 1 and 2)
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by KR 101499151 – Daewoo et al. hereinafter as DAEWOO in view of CN 106759196 – Liu changmiao et al. hereinafter as LIU in view of CN211849668 – CHEN et al. hereinafter as CHEN in view of CN 102700688 – Gu et al. hereinafter as GU
Regarding Claim 3
DAEWOO / LIU / CHEN disclose claim 1
DAEWOO does not discloses:
The dredging system of Claim 1, further comprising a support barge disposed adjacent to the submersible drag barge and configured to laterally support the submersible drag barge.
GU discloses
a support barge( system fig. 1 with a support barge, buoyancy tanks 4 and fig. 2 ) disposed adjacent to the submersible drag barge (main hull fig. 1 – 2) and configured to laterally support the submersible drag barge. (fig. 2 para. 0034– buoyancy tanks are symmetrically assembled from the first buoyancy tank to the left and the right)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicants invention to modify DAEWOO to include a support barge disposed adjacent to the submersible drag barge taught by GU. This would have been to guarantee stability during assembly ( GU para. 0034)
Claim(s) 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by KR 101499151 – Daewoo et al. hereinafter as DAEWOO in view of CN 106759196 – Liu changmiao et al. hereinafter as LIU in view of CN211849668 – CHEN et al. hereinafter as CHEN in view of Official Notice
Regarding Claim 13
DAEWOO discloses wherein the attachment assembly includes a pad eye and a chain, and the cable is secured to the chain(fig 3 and 4 – wherein it includes a pad eye, chan c2 secured to wire w1 fig. 1 ), OFFICIAL Notice:
wherein the attachment assembly includes a pad eye and a shackle chain, and the cable is secured to the shackle chain. (attachment assembly to include a pad eye and a chain and the cable to chain to utilize such that in the cable attachment art, shackle and eye connections are a common and well known alternative)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicants invention for DAEWOO disclosing the attachment assembly to include a pad eye and a chain and the cable to chain to wherein the attachment assembly includes a pad eye and a shackle chain, and the cable is secured to the shackle chain as taught by OFFICIAL NOTICE. Doing so merely constitutes the substitution of one known attachment style for another to produce the predictable result of securing attachments with cables (MPEP 2143, subsection I, B).
Claim(s) 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by KR 101499151 – Daewoo et al. hereinafter as DAEWOO in view of CN 106759196 – Liu changmiao et al. hereinafter as LIU in view of CN211849668 – CHEN et al. hereinafter as CHEN in further view of EP 2644781 – Bloome et al. hereinafter as BLOOME
Regarding Claim 18
DAEWOO / LIU / CHEN discloses claim 17:
DAEWOO does disclose of a drag beam, however BLOMME discloses:
wherein the sensor system includes at least one sensor disposed on the drag beam. ( Para. 0128 - Upon touch-down at the underwater soil 5 by the skid structure 3, the correct positioning of the skid structure 3 onto the seabed 5 is verified with sensors, tilt-meters and depth-measuring sensors and the suction tube 10 and dredge drag head 14 are set to the correct inclination angle A for dredging.)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicants invention for the sensor disposed on to the drag beam as rearrangement of parts of an invention involves as taught by BLOOME. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide accurate measurements for protruding and recessed areas and thereby improves a quality of the dredging system to achieve flatter sea surface.
Allowable subject matter
Claim 20 is allowable.
DAEWOO discloses of removing material and a submersible drag barge in combination a barge body, barge sections configured to selectively flood to adjust height of the barge body, a winch system and a drag beam coupled. However DAEWOO does not explicitly disclose at least of removing material under a structure pushing with the boat the barge body under the structure; pulling via the boat the barge body from under the structure thereby displacing material from under the structure.
Conclusion
/A.H.T/Examiner, Art Unit 3671
/CHRISTOPHER J SEBESTA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3671