DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendment filed 7/27/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1-15 are pending. Claims 1-7, 9, 12 and 15 remain withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 8, 10-11 and 13-14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 8, 10-11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Toews et al. (US 20200011151A1). Regarding claim 8, Toews et al. discloses a geothermal installation within a geologic formation comprising an inlet conduit, an outlet conduit, a service conduit, and two interconnecting conduits, the interconnecting conduits fluidly coupled to and separately interconnecting the inlet conduit with the outlet conduit, characterized in that a first of the interconnection conduits is fluidly separated from the service conduit so that a heat transfer fluid can flow downwardly within the inlet conduit into the geologic formation, through the interconnecting conduits and upwardly within the outlet conduit.
Regarding claim 10, Toews et al. discloses that the inlet conduit and the outlet conduit are arranged concentric.
Regarding claim 11, Toews et al. discloses that the inlet conduit and the outlet conduit are arranged within the service conduit.
Regarding claim 13, Toews et al. discloses that the inlet conduit and the outlet conduit are concentrically arranged within the service conduit.
Claims 8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Holtzman Benjamin (US 20210025623A1). Regarding claim 8, Holtzman Benjamin discloses (figure 11) a geothermal installation within a geologic formation comprising an inlet conduit (132), an outlet conduit (134), a service conduit (110), and two interconnecting conduits (112), the interconnecting conduits fluidly coupled to and separately interconnecting the inlet conduit (132) with the outlet conduit (134), characterized in that a first of the interconnection conduits (112) is fluidly separated from the service conduit (110) so that a heat transfer fluid can flow downwardly within the inlet conduit into the geologic formation, through the interconnecting conduits (112) and upwardly within the outlet conduit.(134) (paragraph 94).
Regarding claim 11, Holtzman Benjamin discloses (figure 11) that the inlet conduit (132) and the outlet conduit (134) are arranged within the service conduit (110).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toews et al. (US 20200011151A1) in view of Graham et al. (CA 3045282A). Toews et al. substantially discloses all of applicant’s claimed invention as discussed above except for the limitation that the outlet conduit is arranged within the inlet conduit. Graham et al. discloses (page 20, lines 21-24 and figure 1) a geothermal system that has the outlet conduit (14) is concentrically arranged within the outlet conduit (12) for a purpose of allowing rapid ascent of the heat transfer fluid to minimize the heat loss from the upper section of the well. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Graham’s teaching in Towes et al. device for a purpose of allowing rapid ascent of the heat transfer fluid to minimize the heat loss from the upper section of the well.
Claims 10, 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holtzman Benjamin in view of Ballegeer John (US 20200033014A1). Holtzman substantially discloses all of applicant’s claimed invention as discussed above except for the limitation that the inlet and the outlet conduit are arranged concentric within the service conduit and the outlet conduit is arranged within the inlet conduit. Ballegeer discloses (figure 4) a geothermal system that has the outlet conduit (67) is arranged concentrically inside the inlet conduit (68) within the service conduit (45) for a purpose of providing more efficient heat exchange system (paragraph 26). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Ballegeer’s teaching in Holtzman’s device for a purpose of providing more efficient heat exchange system.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THO V DUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763