DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-7 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group and species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 1/20/2025. The examiner further withdraw claim 12 from consideration since the subject matter of “the inlet conduit and the outlet are arranged within separate wellbores” of claim 12, does not direct the elected species E shown in figure 5. The elected species shown in figure 5 directs to a species that the inlet conduit and the outlet conduit are located within the same wellbore.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 11 recites the broad recitation “the inlet conduit and the outlet conduit are concentrically arranged within the service conduit” , and the claim also recites “preferably the outlet conduit arranged within the inlet conduit” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim 11 is further rejected as can be best understood by the examiner in which the inlet conduit and the outlet conduit are concentrically arranged within the service conduit.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sonju et al. ( US 20160245550A1). Regarding claim 8, Sonju discloses (figure 1) a geothermal installation within a geologic formation comprising an inlet conduit (20), an outlet conduit (1), a service conduit (casing 21 is considered to read on service conduit since it is a conduit that encloses the inlet and outlet conduit, and for guiding a drill, figure 9), and two interconnecting conduits (3,4) fluidly coupled to and separately interconnecting the inlet conduit (20) with the outlet conduit (1), characterized in that a first of the interconnection conduit is fluidly separated from the service conduit (the conduits 3,4 are not connected or fluidly separated from the service conduit 21). Regarding claim 9, Sonju discloses that the inlet conduit (20) and the outlet conduit (1) are arranged concentric (see figure 1). Regarding claim 10, Sonju discloses (figure 1) that the inlet conduit (20) and the outlet conduit (1) are arranged within the service conduit. Regarding claim 11, Sonju discloses that the inlet conduit (20) and the outlet (1) conduit are concentrically arranged within the service conduit (21), preferably the outlet conduit (1) arranged within the inlet conduit (20).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Toews et al. (US 11,242,726) discloses a geothermal wellbores.
Wiggs (US 2004/0129408A1) discloses an insulated sub-surface liquid line.
Ambs et al. (US 5,706,888A) discloses a geothermal heat exchanger.
Yang (US 9,777,969B2) discloses a pipeline.
Rawlings John (US 5,533,355A) discloses a subterranean heat exchange unit.
J. R. Bowers (US 3,609,980A) discloses an apparatus for installing supporting element in permafrost.
/THO V DUONG/Examiner, Art Unit 3763