Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Claims 1-14 in the reply filed on 24 September 2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)). Claims 15-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09 December 2022 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1-5 and 8-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2015/0111124 to Hong et al. (“Hong”).
With regard to Claims 1, 4, and 10, Hong teaches a method of preparing porous catalyst layers via slurry comprising a titanium family element, and a noble metal (see Abstract; ¶¶ [0054]-[0061], [0067], [0091]-[0093]). Hong teaches forming a catalyst layer featuring a range of thicknesses (see ¶ [0105]). Although Hong does not expressly teach forming a base layer and subsequent first and second layers as claimed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have conducted multiple coating operations using the catalyst slurry of Hong to build to a desired layer thickness, with each applied layer definable as any of a base, first, or second layer.
With regard to Claims 2-3, Hong teaches inclusion of the claimed titanium family elements and noble metals.
With regard to Claim 5, Hong teaches the claimed coating techniques (see ¶ [0092]).
With regard to Claims 8 and 12, Hong teaches inclusion of a solvent, a dispersant, and a binder (see ¶¶ [0054]-[0072]).
With regard to Claims 9, 11, and 13, Hong teaches inclusion of noble metal, titanium family elements, solvent, dispersant, and binder at amounts within the claimed range (see ¶¶ [0025], [0027], [0031], [0063]-[0066], [0070]-[0071], [0078]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding Claim 6, Hong does not teach or suggest drying multiple applied layers independently. Regarding Claim 7, Hong does not teach or suggest producing a porous transport layer using slurry materials via a roll-to-roll arrangement. Regarding Claim 14, Hong does not teach or suggest solvent removal via degreasing followed by sintering as claimed.
Conclusion
/Michael P. Rodriguez/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1715