DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buck et al. (2014/0310957) in view of Manickam (2019/0214755).
With regard to claim 1, Buck teaches, as shown in figures 1-12B and taught in paragraph 2 and 52: “A connector assembly 100 for being coupled to a coupling component 900 and bonded to a bonding component 202, the coupling component having a coupling portion (card edge described in paragraph 2), and the bonding component 202 having a bonding portion 205, the connector assembly 100 including: a primary terminal set 704 and 606, with a primary terminal set projection plane (running through 704a in directions T and L in figure 11) being defined, the primary terminal set including at least one primary first conductive terminal 704 and at least one primary second conductive terminal 606, wherein the primary first conductive terminal 704 has a primary first conductive terminal coupling structure 712 and 754 and a primary first conductive terminal bonding structure 711, and the primary second conductive terminal 606 has a primary second conductive terminal coupling structure 614 and 620 and a primary second conductive terminal bonding structure 611a and 611b; and an inner insulation terminal block 756 including an inner insulation terminal block primary first positioning structure (where 704a are received in 756 in figure 10E) and an inner insulation terminal block primary second positioning structure (portion of 756 abutting 606 in figure 10F), wherein, the inner insulation terminal block primary first positioning structure is for positioning the primary first conductive terminal 704 in a manner that the primary first conductive terminal 704 is held at a predetermined position and extended in a direction parallel to the primary terminal set projection plane, so as to allow the primary first conductive terminal coupling structure to be coupled to the coupling portion of the coupling component 900 and allow the primary first conductive terminal bonding structure 711 to be bonded to the bonding portion 205 of the bonding component 202; the inner insulation terminal block primary second positioning structure is for positioning the primary second conductive terminal 606 in a manner that the primary second conductive terminal 606 is held at a predetermined position and extended in a direction parallel to the primary terminal set projection plane, so as to allow the primary second conductive terminal coupling structure to be coupled to the coupling portion of the coupling component and allow the primary second conductive terminal bonding structure 611a to be bonded to the bonding portion 205 of the bonding component 200”.
Buck does not teach: “the primary first conductive terminal coupling structure protruding out of the inner insulation terminal block has a first conductive terminal projection area on the primary terminal set projection plane, and the primary second conductive terminal coupling structure corresponding to the primary first conductive terminal coupling structure protruding out of the inner insulation terminal block has a primary second conductive terminal projection area on the primary terminal set projection plane, wherein the primary second conductive terminal projection area is larger than the first conductive terminal projection area to allow the primary second conductive terminal to provide shielding for the primary first conductive terminal and reduce any effect of external interference on signal transmission of the primary first conductive terminal”.
In the same field of endeavor before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, Manickam teaches, as shown in figures 1-11: “the primary first conductive terminal coupling structure (224 and 225 of 221 in figure 7) protruding out of the inner insulation terminal block 21 has a first conductive terminal projection area on the primary terminal set projection plane, and the primary second conductive terminal coupling structure (224 and 225 of 222 and 321 and 322) corresponding to the primary first conductive terminal coupling structure protruding out of the inner insulation terminal block 21 has a primary second conductive terminal projection area on the primary terminal set projection plane, wherein the primary second conductive terminal projection area is larger than the first conductive terminal projection area to allow the primary second conductive terminal to provide shielding for the primary first conductive terminal 221 and reduce any effect of external interference on signal transmission of the primary first conductive terminal 221”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Manickam with the invention of Buck in order to reduce crosstalk between the signal terminals (Manickam, paragraph 83).
With regard to claim 3, Buck as modified by Manickam teaches: “The connector assembly according to claim 1”, as shown above.
Buck also teaches, as shown in figures 1-12B and taught in paragraph 2 and 52: “wherein the at least one primary first conductive terminal 704 includes a plurality of primary first conductive terminals 704, and the primary second conductive terminal 606 is close to at least one of the plurality of primary first conductive terminals 704 to provide shielding and reduce any effect of external interference on signal transmission of the nearby primary first conductive terminal 704”.
With regard to claim 4, Buck as modified by Manickam teaches: “The connector assembly according to claim 1”, as shown above.
Buck also teaches, as shown in figures 1-12B: “wherein the first conductive terminal projection area is located within the second conductive terminal projection area”.
With regard to claim 5, Buck as modified by Manickam teaches: “The connector assembly according to claim 1”, as shown above.
Buck also teaches, as shown in figures 1-12B: “further including: an outer insulation terminal block 102 having an outer insulation terminal block head structure (left end of 102 in figure 12B) and an outer insulation terminal block tail structure (right end of 102 in figure 12B), and wherein the primary second conductive terminal 606 further includes a primary second conductive terminal inner embedding structure (portion of 606 located between 756 in figure 10F) and a primary second conductive terminal outer embedding structure (portion of 606 embedded in 102 in figure 10F), wherein the primary second conductive terminal outer embedding structure is for being embedded with the outer insulation terminal block 102, and the primary second conductive terminal inner embedding structure is for being embedded with the inner insulation terminal block 756, so as to position the outer insulation terminal block 102 and the inner insulation terminal block 756 in a manner that, the primary first conductive terminal coupling structure 712 and the primary second conductive terminal coupling structure 614 are located at the outer insulation terminal block head structure to be able to couple the coupling portion of the coupling component 900, and the primary first conductive terminal bonding structure 711 and the primary second conductive terminal bonding structure 611a are located at the outer insulation terminal block tail structure to be able to bond the bonding portion 205 of the bonding component 202”.
With regard to claim 6, Buck as modified by Manickam teaches: “The connector assembly according to claim 5”, as shown above.
Buck also teaches, as shown in figures 1-12B: “wherein the outer insulation terminal block 102 further includes an outer insulation terminal block primary first positioning structure (portions of 102 on either side of 756 in figure 10F) and an outer insulation terminal block primary second positioning structure (portions of 102 on either side of the primary second embedding structure in figure 10F), wherein the outer insulation terminal block primary first positioning structure is for positioning the primary first conductive terminal 704 to fix it at a predetermined position, and the outer insulation terminal block primary second positioning structure is for positioning the primary second conductive terminal 606 to fix it at a predetermined position”.
With regard to claim 8, Buck as modified by Manickam teaches: “The connector assembly according to claim 5”, as shown above.
Buck also teaches, as shown in figures 1-12B and taught in paragraph 88: “wherein the inner insulation terminal block 756 further includes an inner insulation terminal block primary fastening structure 742 (description of analogous structure 142 in paragraph 88 teaches that feature for engaging with the outer insulation terminal block), and the outer insulation terminal block 102 further includes an outer insulation terminal block primary fastening structure (portion of 102 engaging with 742 when assembled), wherein the inner insulation terminal block primary fastening structure 742 is for being hooked to the outer insulation terminal block primary fastening structure, so as to keep the inner insulation terminal block 756 in the outer insulation terminal block 102”.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buck et al. (2014/0310957) in view of Manickam (2019/0214755) and Amleshi et al. (8,342,888).
With regard to claim 2, Buck as modified by Manickam teaches: “The connector assembly according to claim 1”, as shown above.
Neither Buck nor Manickam teach: “wherein the inner insulation terminal block has an inner insulation terminal block primary gap structure located near the primary first conductive terminal to form at least one gap between the inner insulation terminal block and the primary first conductive terminal and allow an adequate impedance value of signal transmission for the primary first conductive terminal”.
In the same field of endeavor before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, Amleshi teaches, as shown in figure 5B and taught in column 3 lines 7-22 and column 13 line 49 - column 14 line 4: “wherein the inner insulation terminal block 121 has an inner insulation terminal block primary gap structure 170 located near the primary first conductive terminal 113c to form at least one gap between the inner insulation terminal block 121 and the primary first conductive terminal 113 and allow an adequate impedance value of signal transmission for the primary first conductive terminal 113”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention combine the features of Amleshi with the invention of Buck as modified by Manickam in order to control the impedance without the use of more metal (Amleshi, column 13 line 49 - column 14 line 4).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buck et al. (2014/0310957) in view of Manickam (2019/0214755) and Tseng et al. (2023/0066802).
With regard to claim 7, Buck teaches: “The connector assembly according to claim 6”, as shown above.
Neither Buck nor Manickam teach: “wherein the inner insulation terminal block primary first positioning structure is a snap structure for gripping and positioning the primary first conductive terminal, the inner insulation terminal block primary second positioning structure is a slot structure for allowing the primary second conductive terminal to be inserted and positioned, the outer insulation terminal block primary first positioning structure is an abutting structure for abutting and positioning the primary first conductive terminal, and the outer insulation terminal block primary second positioning structure is a slot structure for allowing the primary second conductive terminal to be inserted and positioned”.
In the same field of endeavor before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, Tseng teaches, as shown in figures 1-11: “wherein the inner insulation terminal block primary first positioning structure (where 21a are received into 22 in figure 6) is a… structure for gripping and positioning the primary first conductive terminal 21a, the inner insulation terminal block primary second positioning structure (where 21b are received into 22 in figure 6) is a slot structure for allowing the primary second conductive terminal 21b to be inserted and positioned, the outer insulation terminal block primary first positioning structure (where 212b of 21a are received into 1 in figure 5) is an abutting structure for abutting and positioning the primary first conductive terminal 21a, and the outer insulation terminal block primary second positioning structure (where 212b of 21b are received into 1 in figure 5) is a slot structure for allowing the primary second conductive terminal 21b to be inserted and positioned”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to combine the features of Tseng with the invention of Buck as modified by Manickam in order to hold the terminals in position of the terminals (Tseng, paragraphs 40-42).
Neither Buck nor Manickam nor Tseng specifically teach the snap fitting of the terminals, but Buck also teaches the use of stitching terminals into the housing 130 (Buck paragraph 94) and Tseng teaches that methods other than molding can be used to embed the terminals (Tseng, paragraph 40. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to use snap fitting, as snap fitting is known in the art and could be a type of stitching, since the terminals need to engage the housing in order to stay in place and snap-fitting is a well-known method for holding terminals in housings.
Claims 9-17 and 19-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buck et al. (2014/0310957) in view of Manickam (2019/0214755), Amleshi et al. (8,342,888), and Tang et al. (11,239,609).
With regard to claim 9, Buck as modified by Manickam and Amleshi teaches: “The connector assembly according to claim 2”, as shown above.
Neither Buck nor Manickam nor Amleshi teach: “further including: a primary jumper conductor, and wherein the at least one primary second conductive terminal includes a plurality of primary second conductive terminals, each of the primary second conductive terminals having a primary second conductive terminal abutting structure, wherein the primary jumper conductor is embedded in the inner insulation terminal block in a manner that the primary jumper conductor goes over the primary first conductive terminal, and the primary second conductive terminal abutting structure goes through the inner insulation terminal block to abut the primary jumper conductor, so as to allow the primary jumper conductor to bridge and link the plurality of primary second conductive terminals, making them electrically interconnected to form a primary second conductive circuit”.
In the same field of endeavor before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, Tang teaches, as shown in figures 1-8: “further including: a primary jumper conductor 30, and wherein the at least one primary second conductive terminal 20g includes a plurality of primary second conductive terminals 20g, each of the primary second conductive terminals 20g having a primary second conductive terminal abutting structure 33, wherein the primary jumper conductor 30 is embedded in the inner insulation terminal block 15 in a manner that the primary jumper conductor 30 goes over the primary first conductive terminal 20s, and the primary second conductive terminal abutting structure 33 goes through the inner insulation terminal block 15 to abut the primary jumper conductor 33, so as to allow the primary jumper conductor 30 to bridge and link the plurality of primary second conductive terminals 20g, making them electrically interconnected to form a primary second conductive circuit”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention combine the features of Tang with the invention of Buck as modified by Manickam and Amleshi in order to improve grounding and shielding (Tang, column 1 lines 20-29).
With regard to claim 10, Buck as modified by Manickam, Amleshi, and Tang teaches: “The connector assembly according to claim 9”, as shown above.
Tang teaches, as shown in figures 1-8: “wherein the primary jumper conductor 30 includes a primary jumper conductor insertion structure 32 for being inserted to the inner insulation terminal block 15 so as to allow the primary jumper conductor 30 to be embedded in the inner insulation terminal block 15”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention combine the features of Tang with the invention of Buck as modified by Manickam, Amleshi, and Tang in order to improve grounding and shielding (Tang, column 1 lines 20-29).
With regard to claim 11, Buck as modified by Manickam, Amleshi, and Tang teaches: “The connector assembly according to claim 9”, as shown above.
Tang teaches, as shown in figures 1-8 and taught in column 3 lines 31-35: “wherein the primary jumper conductor 30 can be a plastic conductor or metallic conductor”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention combine the features of Tang with the invention of Buck as modified by Manickam, Amleshi, and Tang teaches in order to improve grounding and shielding (Tang, column 1 lines 20-29).
With regard to claim 12, Buck as modified by Manickam, Amleshi, and Tang teaches: “The connector assembly according to claim 9”, as shown above.
Buck also teaches, as shown in figures 1-12B: “further including: a secondary terminal set 704b and 606, with a secondary terminal set projection plane (running through 704b in directions T and L in figure 11) being defined, the secondary terminal set including at least one secondary first conductive terminal 704b and at least one secondary second conductive terminal 606, wherein the secondary first conductive terminal 704b has a secondary first conductive terminal coupling structure 712 and a secondary first conductive terminal bonding structure 711, and the secondary second conductive terminal 606 has a secondary second conductive terminal coupling structure 614 and a secondary second conductive terminal bonding structure 611; and the inner insulation terminal block 756 further including an inner insulation terminal block secondary first positioning structure (where 704b are received in 756 in figure 10E) and an inner insulation terminal block secondary second positioning structure (portion of 756 abutting 606 in figure 10F), wherein, the inner insulation terminal block secondary first positioning structure is for positioning the secondary first conductive terminal 704b in a manner that the secondary first conductive terminal 704b is held at a predetermined position and extended in a direction parallel to the secondary terminal set projection plane, so as to allow the secondary first conductive terminal coupling structure 712 to be coupled to the coupling portion of the coupling component 900, and allow the secondary first conductive terminal bonding structure 711 to be bonded to the bonding portion of the bonding component; the inner insulation terminal block secondary second positioning structure is for positioning the secondary second conductive terminal 606 in a manner that the secondary second conductive terminal 606 is held at a predetermined position and extended in a direction parallel to the secondary terminal set projection plane, so as to allow the secondary second conductive terminal coupling structure 614 to be coupled to the coupling portion of the coupling component 900, and allow the secondary second conductive terminal bonding structure 611 to be bonded to the bonding portion 205 of the bonding component 202; and the secondary first conductive terminal 704b has a secondary first conductive terminal projection area on the secondary terminal set projection plane, and the secondary second conductive terminal 606 has a secondary second conductive terminal projection area on the secondary terminal set projection plane, wherein the secondary second conductive terminal projection area is larger than the secondary first conductive terminal projection area, allowing the secondary second conductive terminal 606 to provide shielding for the secondary first conductive terminal 704b, so as to reduce any effect of external interference on signal transmission of the secondary first conductive terminal 704b”.
With regard to claim 13, Buck as modified by Manickam, Amleshi, and Tang teaches: “The connector assembly according to claim 12”, as shown above.
Amleshi also teaches, as shown in figure 5B and taught in column 3 lines 7-22 and column 13 line 49 - column 14 line 4: “wherein the inner insulation terminal block 122 has an inner insulation terminal block secondary gap structure 170, which is located near the secondary first conductive terminal 113c to form at least one gap between the inner insulation terminal block 122 and the secondary first conductive terminal 113c to allow an adequate impedance value of signal transmission for the secondary first conductive terminal 113c”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention combine the features of Amleshi with the invention of Buck as modified by Manickam, Amleshi, and Tang in order to control the impedance without the use of more metal (Amleshi, column 13 line 49 - column 14 line 4).
With regard to claim 14, Buck as modified by Manickam, Amleshi, and Tang teaches: “The connector assembly according to claim 12”, as shown above.
Buck also teaches, as shown in figures 1-12B and taught in paragraph 2 and 52: “wherein the at least one secondary first conductive terminal 704b includes a plurality of secondary first conductive terminals 704b, and the at least one secondary second conductive terminal 606 is close to at least one of the plurality of secondary first conductive terminals 704b to provide shielding and reduce any effect of external interference on signal transmission of the nearby secondary first conductive terminal 704b”.
With regard to claim 15, Buck as modified by Manickam, Amleshi, and Tang teaches: “The connector assembly according to claim 12”, as shown above.
Buck also teaches, as shown in figures 1-12B: “wherein the secondary first conductive terminal projection area is located within the secondary second conductive terminal projection area”.
With regard to claim 16, Buck as modified by Manickam, Amleshi, and Tang teaches: “The connector assembly according to claim 12”, as shown above.
Buck also teaches, as shown in figures 1-12B: “further including: an outer insulation terminal block 102 having an outer insulation terminal block head structure (left end of 102 in figure 12B) and an outer insulation terminal block tail structure (right end of 102 in figure 12B), and wherein the secondary second conductive terminal 606 further includes a secondary second conductive terminal inner embedding structure (portion of 606 located between 756 in figure 10F) and a secondary second conductive terminal outer embedding structure (lower portion of 606 embedded in 102 in figure 10F), wherein the secondary second conductive terminal outer embedding structure is for being embedded with the outer insulation terminal block 102, and the secondary second conductive terminal inner embedding structure is for being embedded with the inner insulation terminal block 756, so as to position the outer insulation terminal block 102 and the inner insulation terminal block 756 in a manner that, the secondary first conductive terminal coupling structure 712 and the secondary second conductive terminal coupling structure 614 are located at the outer insulation terminal block head structure to be able to couple the coupling portion of the coupling component 900, and the secondary first conductive terminal bonding structure 711 and the secondary second conductive terminal bonding structure 611 are located at the outer insulation terminal block tail structure to be able to bond the bonding portion 205 of the bonding component 202”.
With regard to claim 17, Buck as modified by Manickam, Amleshi, and Tang teaches: “The connector assembly according to claim 16”, as shown above.
Buck also teaches, as shown in figures 1-12B: “wherein the outer insulation terminal block 102 further includes an outer insulation terminal block secondary first positioning structure (portions of 102 on either side of the lower portion of 756 in figure 10F) and an outer insulation terminal block secondary second positioning structure (portions of 102 on either side of the secondary second embedding structure in figure 10F), wherein the outer insulation terminal block secondary first positioning structure is for positioning the secondary first conductive terminal 704b to fix it at a predetermined position, and the outer insulation terminal block secondary second positioning structure is for positioning the secondary second conductive terminal 606 to fix it at a predetermined position”.
With regard to claim 19, Buck as modified by Manickam, Amleshi, and Tang teaches: “The connector assembly according to claim 16”, as shown above.
Buck also teaches, as shown in figures 1-12B and taught in paragraph 88: “wherein the inner insulation terminal block 756 further includes an inner insulation terminal block secondary fastening structure 742 (description of analogous structure 142 in paragraph 88 teaches that feature for engaging with the outer insulation terminal block), and the outer insulation terminal block 102 further includes an outer insulation terminal block secondary fastening structure (portion of 102 engaging with 742 when assembled), wherein the inner insulation terminal block secondary fastening structure 742 is for being hooked to the outer insulation terminal block secondary fastening structure, so as to keep the inner insulation terminal block 756 in the outer insulation terminal block 102”.
With regard to claim 20, Buck as modified by Manickam, Amleshi, and Tang teaches: “The connector assembly according to claim 12”, as shown above.
Tang also teaches, as shown in figures 1-8: “further including: a secondary jumper conductor 30, and wherein the at least one secondary second conductive terminal 20g includes a plurality of secondary second conductive terminals 20s, each of the secondary second conductive terminals 20g having a secondary second conductive terminal abutting structure 33, wherein the secondary jumper conductor 30 is embedded in the inner insulation terminal block 15 in a manner that the secondary jumper conductor 30 goes over the secondary first conductive terminal 20s, and the secondary second conductive terminal abutting structure 33 goes through the inner insulation terminal block 15 to abut the secondary jumper conductor 30, so as to allow the secondary jumper conductor 30 to bridge and link the plurality of secondary second conductive terminals 20s, making them electrically interconnected to form a secondary second conductive circuit”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention combine the features of Tang with the invention of Buck as modified by Manickam, Amleshi, and Tang in order to improve grounding and shielding (Tang, column 1 lines 20-29).
With regard to claim 21, Buck as modified by Manickam, Amleshi, and Tang teaches: “The connector assembly according to claim 20”, as shown above.
Tang teaches, as shown in figures 1-8: “wherein the secondary jumper conductor 30 includes a secondary jumper conductor insertion structure 32 for being inserted to the inner insulation terminal block 15 so as to allow the secondary jumper conductor 30 to be embedded in the inner insulation terminal block 15”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention combine the features of Tang with the invention of Buck as modified by Manickam, Amleshi, and Tang in order to improve grounding and shielding (Tang, column 1 lines 20-29).
With regard to claim 22, Buck as modified by Manickam, Amleshi, and Tang teaches: “The connector assembly according to claim 21”, as shown above.
Tang also teaches, as shown in figures 1-8 and taught in column 3 lines 31-35: “wherein the secondary jumper conductor 30 can be a plastic conductor or metallic conductor”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention combine the features of Tang with the invention of Buck as modified by Manickam, Amleshi, and Tang in order to improve grounding and shielding (Tang, column 1 lines 20-29).
With regard to claim 23, Buck as modified by Manickam, Amleshi, and Tang teaches: “The connector assembly according to claim 20”, as shown above.
Neither Buck nor Manickam nor Amleshi nor Tang teach: “wherein the primary jumper conductor and the secondary jumper conductor are integrally formed to make the primary second conductive circuit electrically connected to the secondary second conductive circuit”. However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to form the jumper conductors 30 as a single piece since doing so would only be forming separate pieces as a single unitary piece and change the shape of the housing and the jumper conductor and would still improve the grounding. Also, it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. Howard v. Detroit Stove Works, 150 U.S. 164 (1993). Also, a change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976).
With regard to claim 24, as modified by Manickam, Amleshi, and Tang teaches: “The connector assembly according to claim 20”, as shown above.
Buck also teaches, as shown in figures 1-12B: “wherein the primary second conductive terminal 606 and the secondary second conductive terminal 606 are integrally formed to make the primary second conductive circuit electrically connected to the secondary second conductive circuit”.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 18 allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With regard to claim 18, the prior art of record does not anticipate or render obvious the limitations: “wherein the inner insulation terminal block secondary first positioning structure is a snap structure for gripping and positioning the secondary first conductive terminal, the inner insulation terminal block secondary second positioning structure is a slot structure for allowing the secondary second conductive terminal to be inserted and positioned, the outer insulation terminal block secondary first positioning structure is an abutting structure for abutting and positioning the secondary first conductive terminal, and the outer insulation terminal block secondary second positioning structure is a slot structure for allowing the secondary second conductive terminal to be inserted and positioned”, when combined with the rest of the limitations of claim 18. Claim 18 is therefore allowable.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/JUSTIN M KRATT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831