Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for priority under 35 U.S.C. § 119(a-d) with reference to Application Number: IT102021000031256 filed on 12/14/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement(s) have been reviewed by the examiner and are found to comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98, and MPEP § 609.
Drawings
The drawing(s) have been reviewed by the examiner and are found to comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.81 to 1.85.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 2, 5 – 6, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Holtz (US 20090165784).
Regarding claim 1, Holtz discloses an endotracheal tube [0035], comprising at least one main tubular body (10), configured for the at least partial insertion into the respiratory tract of a patient, through the mouth or the nose [0039], further comprising at least one tubular reinforcement skeleton for said body (30), at least one useful portion of said skeleton being constituted by at least one first filament which is wound in a helical manner around a longitudinal axis of said body (16, Figs. 1 and 2, [0019]) and being selectively disengageable from said body (double helix 16 contacts the inside surface of the tube 10, and may be selectively withdrawn/disengaged from the tube, see [0019]), for a removal thereof after completion of the step of insertion of said body into the respiratory tract of the patient [0003].
2. The tube according to claim 1, wherein said at least one first filament extends substantially over the entire longitudinal extension of said body, said skeleton being entirely disengageable from said body (see Figs. 1 and 2, [0018], ball passes port 22).
5. The tube according to claim 1, wherein said skeleton is accommodated within a thickness of said body, said at least one first filament being longitudinally extractable from said thickness (skeleton is accommodated within a thickness defined by an outer diameter of the body running from one outer surface to the diametrically opposed other outer surface).
6. The tube according to claim 1, wherein said skeleton is engaged with either an internal lateral surface or an external lateral surface of said body (see [0019]).
9. The tube according to claim 1, further comprising a grip element, which is kept protruding from a proximal segment of said body and is anchored to said at least one first filament, said grip element being grippable by an operator in order to remove said at least one first filament (element 18).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 - 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holtz in view of Virag (US 5546936).
Regarding claim 7, Holtz discloses the tube according to claim 1. Virag discloses wherein at least one second portion of said skeleton, which is separate from said at least one useful portion of the skeleton and is integral with said body (portions 30 and 130 of Virag, which would correspond to the separate tube 10 of Holtz, and are integral thereto), comprises at least one second filament which is wound in a helical manner around the longitudinal axis of said body (c. 7: 10 – 25). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the tube 10 of Holtz to include the second filament of Virag for the benefit of designing a tube allowing improved access to the tracheal tube once intubation is complete (see c. 7: 43 – 65).
8. The tube according to claim 1, wherein at least one second portion of said skeleton, which is separate from said at least one useful portion of the skeleton and is integral with said body, is substantially constituted by a mesh composed of a plurality of wires that are mutually interwoven and wound around the longitudinal axis of said body (see rejection above, Virag, c. 7: 10 – 25, a filament mesh is mutually interwoven wires).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holtz in view of Sheridan (US 4990143).
Regarding claim 10, Holtz discloses the tube according to claim 1. Sheridan discloses further comprising an inflatable enclosure, which is wrapped externally around a distal segment of said body and is associated with an inflation line, for stabilization of said body in the respiratory tract of the patient (see Fig. 4, 14, c. 4: 24 – 28). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the tube 10 of Holtz to include the inflatable enclosure 14 of Sheridan for the benefit of enclosing the lungs to allow appropriate delivery of respiratory gas to the lungs, without diffusion therefrom.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Holtz fails to disclose wherein said skeleton is constituted substantially by a proximal part and a distal part, which are arranged in sequence along the longitudinal extension of said body and are mutually disengaged, said useful portion being constituted by said distal part. Cheer (US 6130406) discloses a skeleton having a proximal part and distal part which are mutually disengaged (see Fig. 2b, c. 6: 47 – 49). However, it would not have been obvious to modify the skeleton of Holtz with Cheer so that mutual disengagement is made via the useful portion, since the useful portion of Holtz 16 constitutes a stylet entirely removable from its tubular body. Similarly, it would not have been obvious to modify Cheer on top of Berard (US 20240100278), who discloses a helically wound filament at the distal end of the stylet (see Fig, 1a, 1f), since the distal part of Berard constitutes a stylet entirely removable from its tubular body, rather than via mutual disengagement from the tubular reinforcement skeleton.
Examiner notes that Cheer does not anticipate claim 1, since the distal part of Cheer is not reasonably capable of removal from the tubular body after completion of insertion of said body in the respiratory tract of the patient. Notably, the distal part of Cheer is removed from the distal end of tubular body, rather than the proximal end, see Fig. 2b. Furthermore, it would not have been obvious to modify Cheer for removal of the distal part via the proximal end of the tube, since such modification would greatly complicate the method of manufacture. See Cheer, c. 6: 47 – 53.
The examiner lastly notes prior art to Layer (US 20100269830), Zeldman (US 3948274), and Phythyon (US 7918227).
Conclusion
/BRADLEY H PHILIPS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799