DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5-6, 8, 10-12, 14-15, 17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martin et al. (US 8907803) and further in view of Fadell et al. (US20140266669), hereinafter referred as ‘Fadell’ and Zabetakis et al. (US20160061775) hereinafter referred to as ‘Zabetakis’.
Regarding Claim 1, Martin discloses a method of calibrating a detector comprising a volatile organic compound (VOC) sensor, the method comprising (The air quality monitor can filter conflicting readings associated with two or more of the particulate sensor, the volatile organic compound sensor, the nitrogen oxides sensor, the carbon monoxide sensor, the combustible gas sensor, the carbon dioxide sensor, or a formaldehyde sensor. Col. 7, Lines 54-59; Prior to deployment and/or periodically over the life expectancy of air quality monitor 102, air quality monitor 102 and/or the sensors included within air quality monitor 102 can be subjected to calibration and/or re-calibration, wherein the sensors can be calibrated by individually placing the sensors, placing two or more sensors, or placing air quality monitor 102 in a calibration chamber wherein gases, such as, nitrogen oxide, carbon monoxide, carbon dioxide, hydrogen sulfide, volatile organic compounds, combustible gases, and the like can be introduced into the calibration chamber at identified levels... The curves determined or ascertained from these calibration activities can be utilized by air quality monitor 102 and/or server 108 to provide indication of the air quality in the residential house, Col. 16, Lines 34-55): calibrating the VOC sensor using carbon monoxide (CO) as a calibrant prior to the field deployment (Prior to deployment and/or periodically over the life expectancy of air quality monitor 102, air quality monitor 102 and/or the sensors included within air quality monitor 102 can be subjected to calibration and/or re-calibration, wherein the sensors can be calibrated by individually placing the sensors, placing two or more sensors, or placing air quality monitor 102 in a calibration chamber wherein gases, such as, nitrogen oxide, carbon monoxide, carbon dioxide, hydrogen sulfide, volatile organic compounds, combustible gases, and the like can be introduced into the calibration chamber at identified levels…The curves determined or ascertained from these calibration activities can be utilized by air quality monitor 102 and/or server 108 to provide indication of the air quality in the residential house, Col. 16, Lines 34-55); and re-calibrating the VOC sensor using the CO as the calibrant following the field deployment (Additionally and/or alternatively, because sensor accuracy drifts over time, a self-calibration feature is provided wherein, once sensors have been deployed in the field, these sensors can be calibrated or recalibrated through communication with server 108, for example, Col. 16, Lines 53-57), wherein the calibrating and the re-calibrating of the VOC sensor comprises exposing the VOC sensor to the CO by positioning a sensor calibration tool sufficiently close to the VOC sensor to sense the CO (Prior to deployment and/or periodically over the life expectancy of air quality monitor 102, air quality monitor 102 and/or the sensors included within air quality monitor 102 can be subjected to calibration and/or re-calibration, wherein the sensors can be calibrated by individually placing the sensors, placing two or more sensors, or placing air quality monitor 102 in a calibration chamber, i.e. sufficiently close, wherein gases, such as, nitrogen oxide, carbon monoxide, carbon dioxide, hydrogen sulfide, volatile organic compounds, combustible gases, and the like can be introduced into the calibration chamber at identified levels…The curves determined or ascertained from these calibration activities can be utilized by air quality monitor 102 and/or server 108 to provide indication of the air quality in the residential house, Col. 16, Lines 34-55; Additionally and/or alternatively, because sensor accuracy drifts over time, a self-calibration feature is provided wherein, once sensors have been deployed in the field, these sensors can be calibrated or recalibrated through communication with server 108, for example, Col. 16, Lines 53-57).
However, Martin does not explicitly disclose the method comprising: assembling the detector with the VOC sensor for field deployment ; and re-calibrating the VOC sensor using the CO as the calibrant following the field deployment, wherein the calibrating and the re-calibrating of the VOC sensor comprises exposing the VOC sensor to the CO by positioning a sensor calibration tool sufficiently close to the VOC sensor to sense the CO, the calibrating of the VOC sensor comprises exposing the VOC sensor to the CO for a short exposure time and the re-calibrating of the VOC sensor comprises exposing the VOC sensor to the CO for a long exposure time.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Martin to assemble the detector with the VOC sensor for field deployment to calibrate/monitor each detector individually and improve detection accuracy and air quality.
However, Martin does not explicitly disclose re-calibrating the VOC sensor using the CO as the calibrant following the field deployment, wherein the calibrating and the re-calibrating of the VOC sensor comprises exposing the VOC sensor to the CO by positioning a sensor calibration tool sufficiently close to the VOC sensor to sense the CO, the calibrating of the VOC sensor comprises exposing the VOC sensor to the CO for a short exposure time and the re-calibrating of the VOC sensor comprises exposing the VOC sensor to the CO for a long exposure time.
Nevertheless, Fadell discloses the calibrating and the re-calibrating of the VOC sensor comprises exposing the VOC sensor to the CO by positioning a sensor calibration tool sufficiently close to the VOC sensor to sense the CO, the calibrating of the VOC sensor comprises exposing the VOC sensor to the CO for a short exposure time (…For example, the smart hazard detector meets the alarm response time requirements of UL standard 2034, which are as follows: at 70 PPM, the detector 104 must alarm within 60-240 minutes; at 150 PPM, the detector 104 must alarm within 10-50 minutes; and at 400 PPM, the detector 104 must alarm within 4 to 15 minutes [0166]) and the re-calibrating of the VOC sensor comprises exposing the VOC sensor to the CO for a long exposure time (…For example, the smart hazard detector meets the alarm response time requirements of UL standard 2034, which are as follows: at 70 PPM, the detector 104 must alarm within 60-240 minutes; at 150 PPM, the detector 104 must alarm within 10-50 minutes; and at 400 PPM, the detector 104 must alarm within 4 to 15 minutes [0166]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Martin with the teaching of Fadell to use short and long exposure time periods with corresponding concentrations as known in the art according to UL standards.
However, the combination does not explicitly disclose re-calibrating the VOC sensor using the CO as the calibrant following the field deployment.
Nevertheless, Zabetakis discloses .the VOC sensor … following the field deployment (Current technology deployed in the field for detection and identification of explosives has a number of limitations... Other developing technologies include detection of volatile organic compounds (VOCs), often referred to as electronic nose or tongue technology [0002]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Martin and Fadell with the teaching of Zabetakis to have analytical results available in the field at the site of characterization or remediation and improve the accuracy of calibration/re-calibration.
Regarding Claim 3, Martin, Fadell, and Zabetakis disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 1.
Martin discloses the detector comprises the VOC sensor and a CO sensor (The sensor component further comprises a temperature module and a relative humidity module. The sensor component includes a sensor power supply configured to supply power to a particulate sensor, a temperature sensor, a relative humidity sensor, a volatile organic compounds sensor, a nitrogen oxides sensor, a carbon monoxide sensor, a combustible gas sensor, a carbon dioxide sensor, or a formaldehyde sensor, Col. 6, Lines 23-27 ), exposing of the VOC sensor to the CO comprises positioning the sensor calibration tool sufficiently close to the VOC sensor to sense the CO and sufficiently close to the CO sensor to sense the CO during the calibrating of the VOC sensor and a simultaneous calibrating of the CO sensor (Prior to deployment and/or periodically over the life expectancy of air quality monitor 102, air quality monitor 102 and/or the sensors included within air quality monitor 102 can be subjected to calibration and/or re-calibration, wherein the sensors can be calibrated by individually placing the sensors, placing two or more sensors, or placing air quality monitor 102 in a calibration chamber, i.e., positioning a sensor … tool close, wherein gases, such as, nitrogen oxide, carbon monoxide, carbon dioxide, hydrogen sulfide, volatile organic compounds, combustible gases, and the like can be introduced into the calibration chamber at identified levels…The curves determined or ascertained from these calibration activities can be utilized by air quality monitor 102 and/or server 108 to provide indication of the air quality in the residential house, Col. 16, Lines 34-55).
Regarding Claim 5, Martin discloses a method of calibrating a detector comprising a volatile organic compound (VOC) sensor and a carbon monoxide (CO) sensor, the method comprising: (The air quality monitor can filter conflicting readings associated with two or more of the particulate sensor, the volatile organic compound sensor, the nitrogen oxides sensor, the carbon monoxide sensor, the combustible gas sensor, the carbon dioxide sensor, or a formaldehyde sensor. Col. 7, Lines 54-59; Prior to deployment and/or periodically over the life expectancy of air quality monitor 102, air quality monitor 102 and/or the sensors included within air quality monitor 102 can be subjected to calibration and/or re-calibration, wherein the sensors can be calibrated by individually placing the sensors, placing two or more sensors, or placing air quality monitor 102 in a calibration chamber wherein gases, such as, nitrogen oxide, carbon monoxide, carbon dioxide, hydrogen sulfide, volatile organic compounds, combustible gases, and the like can be introduced into the calibration chamber at identified levels... The curves determined or ascertained from these calibration activities can be utilized by air quality monitor 102 and/or server 108 to provide indication of the air quality in the residential house, Col. 16, Lines 34-55): calibrating the VOC sensor using carbon monoxide (CO) as a calibrant prior to the field deployment (Prior to deployment and/or periodically over the life expectancy of air quality monitor 102, air quality monitor 102 and/or the sensors included within air quality monitor 102 can be subjected to calibration and/or re-calibration, wherein the sensors can be calibrated by individually placing the sensors, placing two or more sensors, or placing air quality monitor 102 in a calibration chamber wherein gases, such as, nitrogen oxide, carbon monoxide, carbon dioxide, hydrogen sulfide, volatile organic compounds, combustible gases, and the like can be introduced into the calibration chamber at identified levels…The curves determined or ascertained from these calibration activities can be utilized by air quality monitor 102 and/or server 108 to provide indication of the air quality in the residential house, Col. 16, Lines 34-55); and re-calibrating the VOC sensor using the CO as the calibrant following the field deployment (Additionally and/or alternatively, because sensor accuracy drifts over time, a self-calibration feature is provided wherein, once sensors have been deployed in the field, these sensors can be calibrated or recalibrated through communication with server 108, for example, Col. 16, Lines 53-57), wherein the calibrating of the VOC sensor comprises exposing the VOC sensor to the CO by positioning a sensor calibration tool sufficiently close to the VOC sensor to sense the CO (Prior to deployment and/or periodically over the life expectancy of air quality monitor 102, air quality monitor 102 and/or the sensors included within air quality monitor 102 can be subjected to calibration and/or re-calibration, wherein the sensors can be calibrated by individually placing the sensors, placing two or more sensors, or placing air quality monitor 102 in a calibration chamber, i.e. sufficiently close, wherein gases, such as, nitrogen oxide, carbon monoxide, carbon dioxide, hydrogen sulfide, volatile organic compounds, combustible gases, and the like can be introduced into the calibration chamber at identified levels…The curves determined or ascertained from these calibration activities can be utilized by air quality monitor 102 and/or server 108 to provide indication of the air quality in the residential house, Col. 16, Lines 34-55; Additionally and/or alternatively, because sensor accuracy drifts over time, a self-calibration feature is provided wherein, once sensors have been deployed in the field, these sensors can be calibrated or recalibrated through communication with server 108, for example, Col. 16, Lines 53-57).
However, Martin does not explicitly disclose assembling the detector with the VOC sensor for field deployment ; and re-calibrating the VOC sensor using the CO as the calibrant following the field deployment, wherein the calibrating of the VOC sensor comprises exposing the VOC sensor to the CO by positioning a sensor calibration tool sufficiently close to the VOC sensor to sense the CO, the calibrating of the VOC sensor comprises exposing the VOC sensor to the CO for a short exposure time and the re-calibrating of the VOC sensor comprises exposing the VOC sensor to the CO for a long exposure time.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Martin to assemble the detector with the VOC sensor for field deployment to calibrate/monitor each detector individually and improve detection accuracy and air quality.
However, Martin does not explicitly disclose re-calibrating the VOC sensor using the CO as the calibrant following the field deployment, wherein the calibrating and the re-calibrating of the VOC sensor comprises exposing the VOC sensor to the CO by positioning a sensor calibration tool sufficiently close to the VOC sensor to sense the CO, the calibrating of the VOC sensor comprises exposing the VOC sensor to the CO for a short exposure time and the re-calibrating of the VOC sensor comprises exposing the VOC sensor to the CO for a long exposure time.
Nevertheless, Fadell discloses the calibrating of the VOC sensor comprises exposing the VOC sensor to the CO for a short exposure time (For example, the smart hazard detector meets the alarm response time requirements of UL standard 2034, which are as follows: at 70 PPM, the detector 104 must alarm within 60-240 minutes; at 150 PPM, the detector 104 must alarm within 10-50 minutes; and at 400 PPM, the detector 104 must alarm within 4 to 15 minutes [0166]) and the re-calibrating of the VOC sensor comprises exposing the VOC sensor to the CO for a long exposure time (For example, the smart hazard detector meets the alarm response time requirements of UL standard 2034, which are as follows: at 70 PPM, the detector 104 must alarm within 60-240 minutes; at 150 PPM, the detector 104 must alarm within 10-50 minutes; and at 400 PPM, the detector 104 must alarm within 4 to 15 minutes [0166]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Martin with the teaching of Fadell to use short and long exposure time periods with corresponding concentrations as known in the art according to UL standards.
However, the combination does not explicitly disclose re-calibrating the VOC sensor using the CO as the calibrant following the field deployment.
Nevertheless, Zabetakis discloses .the VOC sensor … following the field deployment (Current technology deployed in the field for detection and identification of explosives has a number of limitations... Other developing technologies include detection of volatile organic compounds (VOCs), often referred to as electronic nose or tongue technology [0002]).
Regarding Claim 6, Martin, Fadell, and Zabetakis disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 5.
Martins the assembling of the VOC sensor is executed and completed in a manufacturing facility (Volatile organic compound sensor 210 in accordance with one or more various embodiments can be a sensing element comprised of a metal oxide semiconductor layer formed on an alumina substrate of a sensing chip together with an integrated heater, Col. 14, Lines 23-27).
Regarding Claim 8, Martin, Fadell, and Zabetakis disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 5.
wherein: the calibrating of the VOC sensor comprises exposing the VOC sensor to the CO, and the exposing of the VOC sensor to the CO comprises positioning the sensor calibration tool sufficiently close to the VOC sensor to sense the CO and sufficiently close to the CO sensor of the detector to sense the CO during the calibrating of the VOC sensor and a simultaneous calibrating of the CO sensor.
Martin discloses the calibrating of the VOC sensor comprises exposing the VOC sensor to the CO, and the exposing of the VOC sensor to the CO comprises positioning the sensor calibration tool sufficiently close to the VOC sensor to sense the CO and sufficiently close to the CO sensor of the detector to sense the CO during the calibrating of the VOC sensor and a simultaneous calibrating of the CO sensor (as discussed above).
Regarding Claim 10, Martin, Fadell, and Zabetakis disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 5.
Martin discloses the CO sensor is configured to determine a verified amount of CO the detector is exposed to, the verified amount being used to calibrate the VOC sensor (as discussed above).
Regarding Claim 11, Martin, Fadell, and Zabetakis disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 5.
Martin discloses the calibrating of the VOC sensor comprises exposing the VOC sensor to the CO (as discussed above).
However, Martin does not explicitly disclose the calibrating of the VOC sensor comprises exposing the VOC sensor to the CO for at least the short exposure time of 4-15 minutes.
Nevertheless, Fadell discloses CO for at least a relatively short exposure time of about 4-15 minutes (as discussed above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Martin and Fadell with the teaching of Zabetakis to analyze different concentrations for short and long exposure periods and improve calibration procedures for optimal results.
Regarding Claim 12, Martin, Fadell, and Zabetakis disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 11.
Martins discloses re- calibrating of the VOC sensor comprises exposing the VOC sensor to the CO (as discussed above).
However, Martin does not explicitly disclose the CO has a 400 PPM concentration during the short exposure time and the re- calibrating of the VOC sensor comprises exposing the VOC sensor to the CO having a concentration of about 150 PPM for the long exposure time.
Nevertheless, Fadell discloses the CO has a 400 PPM concentration during the short exposure time and comprises exposing the VOC sensor to the CO having a concentration of about 150 PPM for the long exposure time (as discussed above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Martin and Fadell with the teaching of Zabetakis to analyze different concentrations of odors and improve calibration procedures for optimal results.
Regarding Claim 14, Martin, Fadell, and Zabetakis disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 5.
Martin discloses the re-calibrating is periodic, regularly scheduled or scheduled in response to a malfunction (as discussed above).
Regarding Claim 15, Martin discloses a method of calibrating a detector comprising a volatile organic compound (VOC) sensor and a carbon monoxide (CO) sensor, the method comprising: (The air quality monitor can filter conflicting readings associated with two or more of the particulate sensor, the volatile organic compound sensor, the nitrogen oxides sensor, the carbon monoxide sensor, the combustible gas sensor, the carbon dioxide sensor, or a formaldehyde sensor. Col. 7, Lines 54-59; Prior to deployment and/or periodically over the life expectancy of air quality monitor 102, air quality monitor 102 and/or the sensors included within air quality monitor 102 can be subjected to calibration and/or re-calibration, wherein the sensors can be calibrated by individually placing the sensors, placing two or more sensors, or placing air quality monitor 102 in a calibration chamber wherein gases, such as, nitrogen oxide, carbon monoxide, carbon dioxide, hydrogen sulfide, volatile organic compounds, combustible gases, and the like can be introduced into the calibration chamber at identified levels... The curves determined or ascertained from these calibration activities can be utilized by air quality monitor 102 and/or server 108 to provide indication of the air quality in the residential house, Col. 16, Lines 34-55): calibrating the VOC sensor using carbon monoxide (CO) as a calibrant prior to the field deployment (Prior to deployment and/or periodically over the life expectancy of air quality monitor 102, air quality monitor 102 and/or the sensors included within air quality monitor 102 can be subjected to calibration and/or re-calibration, wherein the sensors can be calibrated by individually placing the sensors, placing two or more sensors, or placing air quality monitor 102 in a calibration chamber wherein gases, such as, nitrogen oxide, carbon monoxide, carbon dioxide, hydrogen sulfide, volatile organic compounds, combustible gases, and the like can be introduced into the calibration chamber at identified levels…The curves determined or ascertained from these calibration activities can be utilized by air quality monitor 102 and/or server 108 to provide indication of the air quality in the residential house, Col. 16, Lines 34-55); and re-calibrating the VOC sensor using the CO as the calibrant following the field deployment (Additionally and/or alternatively, because sensor accuracy drifts over time, a self-calibration feature is provided wherein, once sensors have been deployed in the field, these sensors can be calibrated or recalibrated through communication with server 108, for example, Col. 16, Lines 53-57), wherein the calibrating and the re-calibrating of the VOC sensor comprises exposing the VOC sensor to the CO by positioning a sensor calibration tool sufficiently close to the VOC sensor to sense the CO (Prior to deployment and/or periodically over the life expectancy of air quality monitor 102, air quality monitor 102 and/or the sensors included within air quality monitor 102 can be subjected to calibration and/or re-calibration, wherein the sensors can be calibrated by individually placing the sensors, placing two or more sensors, or placing air quality monitor 102 in a calibration chamber, i.e. sufficiently close, wherein gases, such as, nitrogen oxide, carbon monoxide, carbon dioxide, hydrogen sulfide, volatile organic compounds, combustible gases, and the like can be introduced into the calibration chamber at identified levels…The curves determined or ascertained from these calibration activities can be utilized by air quality monitor 102 and/or server 108 to provide indication of the air quality in the residential house, Col. 16, Lines 34-55; Additionally and/or alternatively, because sensor accuracy drifts over time, a self-calibration feature is provided wherein, once sensors have been deployed in the field, these sensors can be calibrated or recalibrated through communication with server 108, for example, Col. 16, Lines 53-57).
However, Martin does not explicitly disclose the method comprising: assembling the detector with the VOC sensor for field deployment ; and re-calibrating the VOC sensor using the CO as the calibrant following the field deployment, wherein the calibrating and the re-calibrating of the VOC sensor comprises exposing the VOC sensor to the CO by positioning a sensor calibration tool sufficiently close to the VOC sensor to sense the CO, the calibrating of the VOC sensor comprises exposing the VOC sensor to the CO for a short exposure time and the re-calibrating of the VOC sensor comprises exposing the VOC sensor to the CO for a long exposure time.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Martin to assemble the detector with the VOC sensor for field deployment to calibrate/monitor each detector individually and improve detection accuracy and air quality.
However, Martin does not explicitly disclose re-calibrating the VOC sensor using the CO as the calibrant following the field deployment, wherein the calibrating and the re-calibrating of the VOC sensor comprises exposing the VOC sensor to the CO by positioning a sensor calibration tool sufficiently close to the VOC sensor to sense the CO, the calibrating of the VOC sensor comprises exposing the VOC sensor to the CO for a short exposure time and the re-calibrating of the VOC sensor comprises exposing the VOC sensor to the CO for a long exposure time.
Nevertheless, Fadell discloses exposing the VOC sensor to the CO for a short exposure time (For example, the smart hazard detector meets the alarm response time requirements of UL standard 2034, which are as follows: at 70 PPM, the detector 104 must alarm within 60-240 minutes; at 150 PPM, the detector 104 must alarm within 10-50 minutes; and at 400 PPM, the detector 104 must alarm within 4 to 15 minutes [0166]) and the re-calibrating of the VOC sensor comprises exposing the VOC sensor to the CO for a long exposure time (For example, the smart hazard detector meets the alarm response time requirements of UL standard 2034, which are as follows: at 70 PPM, the detector 104 must alarm within 60-240 minutes; at 150 PPM, the detector 104 must alarm within 10-50 minutes; and at 400 PPM, the detector 104 must alarm within 4 to 15 minutes [0166]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Martin with the teaching of Fadell to use short and long exposure time periods with corresponding concentrations as known in the art according to UL standards.
However, the combination does not explicitly disclose re-calibrating the VOC sensor using the CO as the calibrant following the field deployment.
Nevertheless, Zabetakis discloses .the VOC sensor … following the field deployment (Current technology deployed in the field for detection and identification of explosives has a number of limitations... Other developing technologies include detection of volatile organic compounds (VOCs), often referred to as electronic nose or tongue technology [0002]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Martin and Fadell with the teaching of Zabetakis to have analytical results available in the field at the site of characterization or remediation and improve the accuracy of calibration/re-calibration.
Regarding Claim 17, Martin, Fadell, and Zabetakis disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 15.
Martin discloses exposing of the VOC sensor to the CO comprises positioning the sensor calibration tool sufficiently close to the VOC sensor to sense the CO and sufficiently close to the CO sensor of the detector to sense the CO during the calibrating of the VOC sensor and a simultaneous calibrating of the CO sensor (as discussed above).
Regarding Claim 19, Martin, Fadell, and Zabetakis disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 15.
Martin discloses calibrating and re- calibrating of the VOC sensor comprises exposing the VOC sensor to the CO (as discussed above).
However, Martin does not explicitly disclose the calibrating of the VOC sensor comprises exposing the VOC sensor to the CO for at least a short exposure time of about 4-15 minutes.
Nevertheless, Fadell discloses CO for at least a short exposure time of about 4-15 minutes (The present inventors have determined that carbon dioxide (CO.sub.2) 1 produced by humans during respiration, is a particularly useful trace gas for a number of reasons. For example, the CO.sub.2 concentration of outside air remains fairly constant over short periods of time and is fairly uniform throughout the United States, ranging from approximately 370 to 440 parts per million (ppm), and generally about 400 (ppm) depending on location, Col. 7, Lines 33-40).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Martin and Fadell with the teaching of Zabetakis to analyze different components of odors and improve calibration procedures for optimal results.
Regarding Claim 20, Martin, Fadell, and Zabetakis disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 19.
Martin discloses the re- calibrating of the VOC sensor comprises exposing the VOC sensor to the CO (as discussed above).
However, Martin does not explicitly disclose the CO has a 400 PPM concentration during the short exposure time and the re- calibrating of the VOC sensor comprises exposing the VOC sensor to the CO having a concentration of about 150 PPM for the long exposure time.
Nevertheless, Fadell discloses the CO has about a 400 PPM concentration during the short exposure time (The present inventors have determined that carbon dioxide (CO.sub.2) 1 produced by humans during respiration, is a particularly useful trace gas for a number of reasons. For example, the CO.sub.2 concentration of outside air remains fairly constant over short periods of time and is fairly uniform throughout the United States, ranging from approximately 370 to 440 parts per million (ppm), and generally about 400 (ppm) depending on location, Col. 7, Lines 33-40).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Martin and Fadell with the teaching of Zabetakis to analyze different concentrations of odors and improve calibration procedures for optimal results.
Claims 2, 7, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martin, Fadell, and Zabetakis, further in view of Rangel et al. (US20190234920) hereinafter referred to as ‘Rangel’.
Regarding Claim 2, Martin, Fadell, and Zabetakis disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 1.
Martin discloses the VOC sensor comprises a metal oxide sensor and an electrochemical sensor (Volatile organic compound sensor 210 in accordance with one or more various embodiments can be a sensing element comprised of a metal oxide semiconductor layer formed on an alumina substrate of a sensing chip together with an integrated heater, Col. 14, Lines 23-26).
However, Martin does not explicitly disclose the VOC sensor comprises an electrochemical sensor.
Nevertheless, Rangel discloses the VOC sensor comprises an electrochemical sensor (In the examples described with reference to FIG. 3, the carbon monoxide sensor comprises a screen printed electrochemical sensor [0046]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Martin, Fadell, and Zabetakis with the teaching of Rangel to measure the concentration of VOCs in the air or environment while improving sensitivity and the ability to detect a wide range of VOCs.
Regarding Claim 7, Martin, Fadell, and Zabetakis disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 5.
Martin discloses the VOC sensor comprises a metal oxide sensor (The sensor component further comprises a temperature module and a relative humidity module. The sensor component includes a sensor power supply configured to supply power to a particulate sensor, a temperature sensor, a relative humidity sensor, a volatile organic compounds sensor, a nitrogen oxides sensor, a carbon monoxide sensor, a combustible gas sensor, a carbon dioxide sensor, or a formaldehyde sensor, Col. 6, Lines 23-27; The air quality monitor can filter conflicting readings associated with two or more of the particulate sensor, the volatile organic compound sensor, the nitrogen oxides sensor, the carbon monoxide sensor, the combustible gas sensor, the carbon dioxide sensor, or a formaldehyde sensor. Col. 7, Lines 54-59).
However, the combination does not explicitly disclose the VOC sensor comprises an electrochemical sensor.
Nevertheless, Rangel discloses the VOC sensor comprises an electrochemical sensor (In the examples described with reference to FIG. 3, the carbon monoxide sensor comprises a screen printed electrochemical sensor [0046]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Martin, Fadell, and Zabetakis with the teaching of Rangel to measure the concentration of VOCs in the air or environment while improving sensitivity and the ability to detect a wide range of VOCs.
Regarding Claim 16, Martin, Fadell, and Zabetakis disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 15.
Martin discloses the VOC sensor comprises a metal oxide sensor (The sensor component further comprises a temperature module and a relative humidity module. The sensor component includes a sensor power supply configured to supply power to a particulate sensor, a temperature sensor, a relative humidity sensor, a volatile organic compounds sensor, a nitrogen oxides sensor, a carbon monoxide sensor, a combustible gas sensor, a carbon dioxide sensor, or a formaldehyde sensor, Col. 6, Lines 23-27;The air quality monitor can filter conflicting readings associated with two or more of the particulate sensor, the volatile organic compound sensor, the nitrogen oxides sensor, the carbon monoxide sensor, the combustible gas sensor, the carbon dioxide sensor, or a formaldehyde sensor. Col. 7, Lines 54-59; Prior to deployment and/or periodically over the life expectancy of air quality monitor 102, air quality monitor 102 and/or the sensors included within air quality monitor 102 can be subjected to calibration and/or re-calibration, wherein the sensors can be calibrated by individually placing the sensors, placing two or more sensors, or placing air quality monitor 102 in a calibration chamber wherein gases, such as, nitrogen oxide, carbon monoxide, carbon dioxide, hydrogen sulfide, volatile organic compounds, combustible gases, and the like can be introduced into the calibration chamber at identified levels... The curves determined or ascertained from these calibration activities can be utilized by air quality monitor 102 and/or server 108 to provide indication of the air quality in the residential house, Col. 16, Lines 34-55).
However, the combination does not explicitly disclose the VOC sensor comprises an electrochemical sensor.
Nevertheless, Rangel discloses the VOC sensor comprises an electrochemical sensor (In the examples described with reference to FIG. 3, the carbon monoxide sensor comprises a screen printed electrochemical sensor [0046]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Martin, Fadell, and Zabetakis with the teaching of Rangel to measure the concentration of VOCs in the air or environment while improving sensitivity and the ability to detect a wide range of VOCs.
Claims 4, 9, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martin, Fadell, and Zabetakis, further in view of Shi et al. (US20200367543) hereinafter referred to as ‘Shi’.
Regarding Claim 4, Martin, Fadell, and Zabetakis disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 1.
Martin discloses the detector comprises the VOC sensor and a CO sensor, which is previously calibrated (as discussed above), the calibrating of the VOC sensor comprises exposing the VOC sensor to the CO (as discussed above), the exposing of the VOC sensor to the CO comprises positioning the sensor calibration tool sufficiently close to the VOC sensor to sense the CO and sufficiently close to the previously calibrated CO sensor to sense the CO during exposure of an unknown quantity of CO to the VOC sensor and the previously calibrated CO sensor, and the previously calibrated CO sensor is used to measure a quantity of the CO by which the VOC sensor is calibrated (In addition, in the context of calibration and re-calibration of sensors associated with deployed air quality monitors, measurements from various sensors deployed in one or more deployed air quality monitor located in a single residential house or multiple residential houses dispersed across various geographical areas can be employed for purposes of generating calibration curves that can be employed by server 108 for purposes of calibration and/or recalibration of sensors in deployed air quality monitors (e.g., air quality monitor 102). It should also be noted, that the calibration/recalibration of sensors in deployed air quality monitors can be automated, Col. 16, Lines 64 - Col. 17, Lines 1-7), and the previously calibrated CO sensor is used to measure a quantity of the CO by which the VOC sensor is calibrated (as discussed above).
However, the combination does not explicitly disclose the exposing of the VOC sensor to the CO comprises positioning the sensor calibration tool close to the VOC sensor and close to the previously calibrated CO sensor during exposure of an unknown quantity of CO to the VOC sensor and the previously calibrated CO sensor.
Nevertheless, Shi discloses the exposing of the VOC sensor to the CO comprises positioning the sensor calibration tool … to the VOC sensor to sense the CO and to the previously calibrated CO sensor to sense the CO during exposure of an unknown quantity of CO to the VOC sensor (As further described in embodiments, profiling of volatile compounds can be achieved using gas chromatography-mass spectrometry (GC-MS). In addition, in some embodiments, GC is combined with detection by electron impact mass spectrometry (EI-MS) for high chromatographic resolution, sensitivity, compound-specific detection, quantification, and properties and reproducible labeled spectra. It provides the possibility of identifying unknown volatiles, in addition to the retention time on a gas chromatograph [0414]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Martin, Fadell, and Zabetakis with the teaching of Shi to analyze different components of odors and improve detection accuracy of the sensor.
Regarding Claim 9, Martin, Fadell, and Zabetakis disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 5.
Martin discloses the calibrating of the VOC sensor comprises exposing the VOC sensor to the CO, the CO sensor is previously calibrated (as discussed above), as discussed above) and the previously calibrated CO sensor is used to measure a quantity of the CO by which the VOC sensor is calibrated (as discussed above).
However, the combination does not explicitly disclose exposing of the VOC sensor to the CO comprises positioning the sensor calibration tool sufficiently close to the VOC sensor to sense the CO and sufficiently close to the previously calibrated CO sensor to sense the CO during exposure of an unknown quantity of CO to the VOC sensor and the previously calibrated CO sensor.
Nevertheless, Shi discloses exposing of the VOC sensor to the CO comprises positioning the sensor calibration tool … to the VOC sensor to sense the CO and … to the previously calibrated CO sensor to sense the CO during exposure of an unknown quantity of CO to the VOC sensor and the previously calibrated CO sensor (As further described in embodiments, profiling of volatile compounds can be achieved using gas chromatography-mass spectrometry (GC-MS). In addition, in some embodiments, GC is combined with detection by electron impact mass spectrometry (EI-MS) for high chromatographic resolution, sensitivity, compound-specific detection, quantification, and properties and reproducible labeled spectra. It provides the possibility of identifying unknown volatiles, in addition to the retention time on a gas chromatograph [0414]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Martin, Fadell, and Zabetakis with the teaching of Shi to analyze different components of odors and improve detection accuracy of the sensor.
Regarding Claim 18, Martin, Fadell, and Zabetakis disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 15.
Martin discloses exposing of the VOC sensor to the CO comprises positioning the sensor calibration tool sufficiently close to the VOC sensor to sense the CO and sufficiently close to the CO sensor of the detector to sense the CO during exposure of the VOC sensor and the CO sensor (as discussed above), and the CO sensor is previously-calibrated and is used to measure the quantity of CO and to use the measured value to calibrate the VOC sensor (as discussed above).
However, the combination does not explicitly disclose exposing of the VOC sensor to the CO comprises positioning the sensor calibration tool sufficiently close to the VOC sensor to sense the CO and sufficiently close to the CO sensor of the detector to sense the CO during exposure of an unknown quantity of CO to the VOC sensor and the CO sensor, and the CO sensor is previously-calibrated and is used to measure the quantity of CO and to use the measured value to calibrate the VOC sensor.
Nevertheless, Shi discloses exposing of the VOC sensor to the CO comprises positioning the sensor calibration tool … to the VOC sensor to sense the CO and … to the CO sensor of the detector to sense the CO during exposure of an unknown quantity of CO to the VOC sensor and the CO sensor, (As further described in embodiments, profiling of volatile compounds can be achieved using gas chromatography-mass spectrometry (GC-MS). In addition, in some embodiments, GC is combined with detection by electron impact mass spectrometry (EI-MS) for high chromatographic resolution, sensitivity, compound-specific detection, quantification, and properties and reproducible labeled spectra. It provides the possibility of identifying unknown volatiles, in addition to the retention time on a gas chromatograph [0414]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Martin, Fadell, and Zabetakis with the teaching of Shi to analyze different components of odors and improve detection accuracy of the sensor.
Response to Arguments
35 USC § 112
Applicant’s arguments, filed 07/16/2026, with respect to claims 1-20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 1-20 have been withdrawn.
35 USC § 103
Applicant's arguments filed 07/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues (p. 8): “The applicant submits that, to whatever extent Janu teaches or suggests CO exposure at 400 ppm for a short exposure time for Martin's calibrating (the applicant does not accede to this point), Martin + Janu is silent as to any notion of VOC sensor calibration including "exposing the VOC sensor to the CO for a short exposure time" and VOC sensor re-calibration including "exposing the VOC sensor to the CO for a long exposure time." Certainly, it follows that Martin + Janu is silent as to any notion of VOC sensor re-calibration including "exposing the VOC sensor to the CO having a concentration of about 150 PPM for the long exposure time," since this concentration is significantly less than the concentration taught by Janu. “.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees and submits that Martin in combination with Fadell and Zabetakis discloses "exposing the VOC sensor to the CO for a short exposure time" and VOC sensor re-calibration including "exposing the VOC sensor to the CO for a long exposure time.", Fadell includes having concentrations of 150 ppm and 400 ppm with short and long exposure times (…For example, the smart hazard detector meets the alarm response time requirements of UL standard 2034, which are as follows: at 70 PPM, the detector 104 must alarm within 60-240 minutes; at 150 PPM, the detector 104 must alarm within 10-50 minutes; and at 400 PPM, the detector 104 must alarm within 4 to 15 minutes [0166]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHARAH ZAAB/Examiner, Art Unit 2857
/ALEXANDER SATANOVSKY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857