DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to Amendment filed 04/29/2026.
Claims 1-10 and 12-21 are pending in this application. In the Amendment, claims 1, 10, and 16 are amended. This action is made Final.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims amended 04/29/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-7, 9-10, 13, 15-17 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gupta (US 10,936,813) in view of Sarkar et al. (“Sarkar”, US 10,572,881) and further in view of Yiu et al. (“Yiu”, US 2010/0082674).
As per claim 1, Gupta teaches a method, comprising:
obtaining at least one message sent by a user (Gupta, col.5, lines 32-54, digital content 104 includes message);
obtaining an identifier of the user, wherein the identifier of the user (i) is automatically captured from the at least one message and (ii) comprises one or more of at least a portion of a telephone number of the user and at least a portion of an email address of the user (Gupta, col.5, lines 44-54, digital content 104 includes emails and therefore an email address);
obtaining a first identifier of a given item associated with the user (Gupta, col.18, lines 3-8, user entered text), wherein the first identifier of the given item comprises at least one typing error by the user when entering the first identifier using a keypad (Gupta, col.1, lines 61-66; col.3, lines 13-34; col.5, lines 32-54; col.10, lines 45-52; col.12, lines 24-38; col.18, lines 22-29; spell checker component 102 detects non-word spelling errors);
performing the following steps, responsive to the at least one typing error in the first identifier of the given item by the user when entering the first identifier using the keypad (Gupta, Fig.5, steps 506, 508; col.18, lines 3-8, 22-57, identification of error):
identifying one or more second identifiers prior to the obtaining the at least one message sent by the user (Gupta, col.3, lines 45-55; col.7, lines 11-36; col.18, lines 58-67; candidate suggestions i.e. second identifiers found in corpus 118);
evaluating a distance of the first identifier of the given item from at least some of the one or more second identifiers of the one or more items (Gupta, col.7, line 11-36; col.12, lines 41-57, col.19, lines 1-9, edit distance determines second identifiers);
selecting a given one of the one or more second identifiers of the one or more items based at least in part on the distance (Gupta, col.9, lines 64-67; col.13, lines 45-49, col.20, lines 21-33 user selects candidate suggestion or automatically replaced); and
initiating a processing of the at least one message using the selected second identifier (Gupta, col.10, lines 45-67; col.18, lines 3-8; real-time spell checking);
wherein the method is performed by at least one processing device comprising a processor coupled to a memory (Gupta, col.5, lines 55-57; Fig.1, memory 110, processor 108).
However, Gupta does not teach an alphanumeric identifier of a given item associated with the user; and identifying second alphanumeric identifiers of the one or more items were associated with the identifier of the user, wherein the one or more second alphanumeric identifiers of the one or more items were associated with the identifier of the user prior to the obtaining the at least one message sent by the user. Sarkar teaches a method of correcting search input errors using distance which includes an alphanumeric identifier of a given item associated with the user (Sarkar, Fig.1, serial number, customer ID; col.2, lines 40-49, 58-62, customer associated with product; col.3, lines 5-29, 43-67; col.4, line 1-5, customer information databases; col.5, lines 49-60, customer identifier); and identifying second alphanumeric identifiers of the one or more items were associated with the identifier of the user (Sarkar, col.4, lines 1-22, col.4, line 59-col.5, line 33; col.6, lines 4-30, similarity functions identify alternative values i.e. second identifiers), wherein the one or more second alphanumeric identifiers of the one or more items were associated with the identifier of the user prior to the obtaining the at least one message sent by the user (Sarkar, col.2, lines 40-49; col.4, lines 34-40, entitlement refers to customer associated with product). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Sarkar’s teaching with Gupta’s method in order to correct unique identifier typing errors.
Although, the method of Gupta and Sarkar teaches wherein the obtained identifier of the user comprises an identifier (Gupta, col.5, lines 44-54; Sarkar, col.5, lines 49-60, customer identifier), the method however does not explicitly teach that items were previously associated with the identifier of the user. Yiu teaches a method of detecting input errors wherein items are matched to items that were previously associated with the identifier of the user (Yiu, para.18, 21, 23, 56-57, 63-64, items stored in data sources associated with the user). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Yiu’s teaching with the method of Gupta and Sarkar in order to alert the user of incorrect input and saving time and financial resources of the user (Yiu, para.18).
As per claim 2, the method of Gupta, Sarkar and Yiu teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the at least one message comprising the first alphanumeric identifier of the given item is obtained from the user as part of a customer service interaction with the user related to the given item (Sarkar, col.1, lines 13-27; col.2, lines 58-62; col.3, lines 5-18, 43-55, technical support services).
As per claim 3, the method of Gupta, Sarkar and Yiu teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the at least one message is part of one or more a telephonic communication with the user and a text-based communication with the user (Gupta, col.18, lines 1-2; col.20, lines 39-43, text or audio)
As per claim 4, the method of Gupta, Sarkar and Yiu teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising requesting confirmation from the user of the selected second alphanumeric identifier (Gupta, col.13, lines 45-49, select the suggestion).
As per claim 6, the method of Gupta, Sarkar and Yiu teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the given item associated with the user comprises one or more of a product of the user, a service of the user and an account of the user (Sarkar, col.2, lines 40-49, 58-62; col.3, lines 5-18, 43-55; product/service of user).
As per claim 7, the method of Gupta, Sarkar and Yiu teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the at least one error comprises a transcription error of the first alphanumeric identifier of the given item spoken by the user (Gupta, col.18, lines 1-2; col.20, lines 39-43, speech-to-text).
As per claim 9, the method Gupta, Sarkar and Yiu teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the evaluating the distance of the first alphanumeric identifier of the given item from at least some of the one or more second alphanumeric identifiers of the one or more items employs one or more of a Jaro-Winkler distance approximation algorithm and a Levenshtein distance approximation algorithm (Gupta, col.7, line 11-20, Levenshtein distance; Sarkar, col.4, lines 64-67, Levenshtein/Jaro-Winkler distance).
Claims 10 and 16 are similar in scope to claim 1, and are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 17 is similar in scope to claim 4, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 13 is similar in scope to claim 7, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claims 15 and 20 are similar in scope to claim 9, and are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
As per claim 21, the method of Gupta, Sarkar and Yiu teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the evaluating the distance of the first alphanumeric identifier of the given item from at least some of the one or more second alphanumeric identifiers of the one or more items limits the evaluating to only the one or more second alphanumeric identifiers that were associated with the identifier of the user prior to the obtaining the at least one message sent by the user (Gupta, col.7, line 11-36; col.12, lines 41-57, col.19, lines 1-9, edit distance limits second identifiers; Sarkar, col.4, line 59-col.5, line 33; col.6, lines 4-30, similarity functions identify alternative values i.e. second identifiers; col.2, lines 40-49; col.4, lines 34-40, entitlement refers to customer associated with product).
Claims 5, 12 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gupta (US 10,936,813), Sarkar et al. (“Sarkar”, US 10,572,881) and Yiu et al. (“Yiu”, US 2010/0082674) in view of Kuo et al. (“Kuo”, US 2021/0125025).
As per claim 5, the method of Gupta, Sarkar and Yiu teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the obtained identifier of the user comprises an identifier (Gupta, col.5, lines 44-54; Sarkar, col.5, lines 49-60, customer identifier), however does not explicitly teach wherein the obtained identifier of the user comprises one or more of at least a portion of an identifier from a government-issued identity card of the user and at least a portion of a social security number of the user. Kuo teaches a method of providing assistance based on user identity wherein the obtained identifier of the user comprises a social security number of the user (Kuo, Fig.1, identifier 114; para.32, 39, 54, social security number). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Kuo’s teaching with the method of Gupta, Sarkar and Yiu in order to make user context based responses.
Claims 12 and 18 are similar in scope to claim 5, and are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claims 8, 14 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gupta (US 10,936,813), Sarkar et al. (“Sarkar”, US 10,572,881) and Yiu et al. (“Yiu”, US 2010/0082674) in view of Faizakof et al. (“Faizakof”, US 2015/0194149).
As per claim 8, the method of Gupta, Sarkar and Yiu teaches the method of claim 1, however does not teach wherein the processing the at least one message comprises routing one or more of the at least one message based at least in part on the selected second alphanumeric identifier. Faizakof teaches a method of generating suggestions including routing communications based on the user query (Faizakof, para.105-107, 110, routing server routes to appropriate agent based on query). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Faizakof’s teaching with the method of Gupta, Sarkar and Yiu in order to efficiently handle search request.
Claims 14 and 19 are similar in scope to claim 8, and are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Inquiries
/S.M./
Sajeda MuhebbullahExaminer, Art Unit 2174
/WILLIAM L BASHORE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2174