DETAILED ACTION
The following is a non final office action in response to applicant’s amendment filed on 12/05/2025 for response of the office action mailed on 09/05/2025. Interdependent claims 1, 8 and 16 are amended. No claims are cancelled. Therefore, claims 1-20 are pending and addressed below.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 1-14 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alireza Babaei (2021/0259040), Babaei, in view of Zhang et al. (2021/0235407), Zhang hereinafter.
Re. claims 1 and 16, Babaei teaches a method for determining a timing advance (TA) (Fig.29/Fig.31 &¶0285-¶0286/¶0295), and a terminal device (Fig. 15), comprising: a transceiver (Fig. 15, 1516) configured to receive first indication information from a network device, wherein the first indication information comprising a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) of a timing advance command (TAC) (Fig. 31 & ¶0295 – a wireless device in a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state may receive paging information via a paging channel. The paging information may indicate scheduling information for receiving a timing advance value. For example, the paging information may comprise a field indicating the scheduling information. For example, the paging information may indicate a control resource set and/or search space for receiving a downlink assignment of a downlink packet, wherein the downlink packet may comprise the timing advance value. For example, the paging information may comprise the configuration parameters of the control resource set and/or the search space for receiving the scheduling information/downlink assignment for receiving a downlink packet comprising the timing advance value. The wireless device may receive the paging information via the paging channel and may determine the paging information and/or scheduling information associated with the wireless device and included in the received paging information based on a wireless device identifier/RNTI associated with the wireless device. …. the downlink packet may comprise a timing advance command MAC CE comprising the timing advance value.);
Yet, Babaei does not expressly teach a processor coupled to the transceiver and configured to determine a Timing Advance (TA) of the terminal device in the non-connected state based on the first indication information.
However, in the analogous art, Zhang explicitly discloses a processor (Fig. 9, 940) coupled to the transceiver (Fig. 9, 920) and configured to determine a Timing Advance (TA) of the terminal device in the non-connected state based on the first indication information (Fig. 3/ Fig. 5/Fig. 14-17 & Abstract - A user equipment (UE) may be configured with a set of parameters to determine a valid timing advance (TA) to transmit data using preconfigured uplink resources (PUR) during an idle or inactive mode. In some cases, the parameters are one or more TA commands and one or more conditions associated with each TA command. The UE may identify the current condition of the UE and determine whether the current condition of the UE matches one of indicated conditions. The UE may select a TA command based on finding a match and use the TA command to transmit an uplink PUR transmission. Also, see step 1410 in Fig. 14 & step 1510 in Fig. 15, also, see ¶0011/¶0174, claim 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Babaei’s invention of a mechanism for wireless device and wireless network in inactive state in a wireless communication system to include Zhang’s invention of timing advance command implementations mechanism for preconfigured uplink resource transmissions in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for mitigating power consumption and transmission delay in the wireless communication system.(¶0002-¶0005, Zhang)
Re. claims 2 and 17, Babaei and Zhang teach claims 1 and 16.
Babaei further teaches receiving, by the terminal device in the non-connected state. second indication information from the network device, the second indication information indicating a candidate time-frequency location of a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH). (Fig. 7/Fig. 17-46 & ¶0227- RRCRelease message may be used to command the release of an RRC connection or the suspension of the RRC connection. A suspendconfig IE in the RRCRelease message may indicate configuration for the RRC_INACTIVE state. The suspendconfig may comprise a plurality of parameters comprising a full-RNTI, a short-RNTI, a ran-PagingCycle, a ran-NotificationAreaInfo and a t380. The ran-PagingCycle may indicate a UE specific cycle for RAN-initiated paging. Fig. 7/Fig. 17-46 & ¶0228 - an IE SearchSpace may define how/where to search for PDCCH candidates. A search space may be associated with a ControlResourceSet. In an example, a parameter common may indicate that a search space is common search space (CSS) and may indicate DCI formats to monitor. A parameter controlResourceSetId may indicate the CORESET applicable for the SearchSpace. … The parameter monitoringSlotPeriodicityAndOffset may indicate slots for PDCCH Monitoring configured as periodicity and offset. The parameter monitoringSymbolsWithinSlot may indicate the first symbol(s) for PDCCH monitoring in the slots configured for PDCCH monitoring. Fig. 7/Fig. 17-46 & ¶0230 - The IE PDCCH-Config may be used to configure UE specific PDCCH parameters such as control resource sets (CORESET), search spaces and additional parameters for acquiring the PDCCH. In an example, a parameter controlResourceSetToAddModList may indicate a list of UE specifically configured Control Resource Sets (CORESETs) to be used by the wireless device. In an example, an IE PDCCH-ConfigCommon may be used to configure cell specific PDCCH parameters provided in SIB as well as in dedicated signaling. In an example, an IE ControlResourceSet may be used to configure a time/frequency control resource set (CORESET) in which to search for downlink control information).
Re. claims 3 and 18, Babaei and Zhang teach claims 1 and 16.
Babaei further teaches wherein the first indication information is carried in a radio resource control release (RRC Release) message or a paging message. (Fig. 31 & ¶0295 – a wireless device in a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state may receive paging information via a paging channel. The paging information may indicate scheduling information for receiving a timing advance value. For example, the paging information may comprise a field indicating the scheduling information. For example, the paging information may indicate a control resource set and/or search space for receiving a downlink assignment of a downlink packet, wherein the downlink packet may comprise the timing advance value. For example, the paging information may comprise the configuration parameters of the control resource set and/or the search space for receiving the scheduling information/downlink assignment for receiving a downlink packet comprising the timing advance value. The wireless device may receive the paging information via the paging channel and may determine the paging information and/or scheduling information associated with the wireless device and included in the received paging information based on a wireless device identifier/RNTI associated with the wireless device.).
Re. claims 4 and 19, Babaei and Zhang teach claim teach claims 2 and 17.
Babaei further teaches wherein the second indication information is carried in a radio resource control release (RRC Release) message or a paging message. (Fig. 7/Fig. 17-46 & ¶0227- RRCRelease message may be used to command the release of an RRC connection or the suspension of the RRC connection. A suspendconfig IE in the RRCRelease message may indicate configuration for the RRC_INACTIVE state. The suspendconfig may comprise a plurality of parameters comprising a full-RNTI, a short-RNTI, a ran-PagingCycle, a ran-NotificationAreaInfo and a t380. The ran-PagingCycle may indicate a UE specific cycle for RAN-initiated paging. Fig. 7/Fig. 17-46 & ¶0228 - an IE SearchSpace may define how/where to search for PDCCH candidates. A search space may be associated with a ControlResourceSet. In an example, a parameter common may indicate that a search space is common search space (CSS) and may indicate DCI formats to monitor. A parameter controlResourceSetId may indicate the CORESET applicable for the SearchSpace. … The parameter monitoringSlotPeriodicityAndOffset may indicate slots for PDCCH Monitoring configured as periodicity and offset. The parameter monitoringSymbolsWithinSlot may indicate the first symbol(s) for PDCCH monitoring in the slots configured for PDCCH monitoring. Fig. 7/Fig. 17-46 & ¶0230 - The IE PDCCH-Config may be used to configure UE specific PDCCH parameters such as control resource sets (CORESET), search spaces and additional parameters for acquiring the PDCCH. In an example, a parameter controlResourceSetToAddModList may indicate a list of UE specifically configured Control Resource Sets (CORESETs) to be used by the wireless device. In an example, an IE PDCCH-ConfigCommon may be used to configure cell specific PDCCH parameters provided in SIB as well as in dedicated signaling. In an example, an IE ControlResourceSet may be used to configure a time/frequency control resource set (CORESET) in which to search for downlink control information).
Re. claims 5 and 20, Babaei and Zhang teach claims 2 and 17.
Babaei further teaches wherein the second indication information comprises a control resource set identifier and a search space identifier. (Fig. 7/Fig. 17-46 & ¶0228 - an IE SearchSpace may define how/where to search for PDCCH candidates. A search space may be associated with a ControlResourceSet. In an example, a parameter common may indicate that a search space is common search space (CSS) and may indicate DCI formats to monitor. A parameter controlResourceSetId may indicate the CORESET applicable for the SearchSpace. … The parameter monitoringSlotPeriodicityAndOffset may indicate slots for PDCCH Monitoring configured as periodicity and offset. The parameter monitoringSymbolsWithinSlot may indicate the first symbol(s) for PDCCH monitoring in the slots configured for PDCCH monitoring…. The parameter searchSpaceId may identity the search space. Fig. 7/Fig. 17-46 & ¶0229 - an IE SearchSpaceId may be used to identify Search Spaces. Fig. 7/Fig. 17-46 & ¶0230 - The IE PDCCH-Config may be used to configure UE specific PDCCH parameters such as control resource sets (CORESET), search spaces and additional parameters for acquiring the PDCCH. In an example, a parameter controlResourceSetToAddModList may indicate a list of UE specifically configured Control Resource Sets (CORESETs) to be used by the wireless device. In an example, an IE PDCCH-ConfigCommon may be used to configure cell specific PDCCH parameters provided in SIB as well as in dedicated signaling. …., an IE ControlResourceSet may be used to configure a time/frequency control resource set (CORESET) in which to search for downlink control information… a ControlResourceSetId IE may indicate a short identity, used to identify a control resource set within a serving cell.).
Re. claim 6, Babaei and Zhang teach claim 2.
Babaei further teaches receiving, by the terminal device, a periodic timing advance command (TAC) from the network device based on the first indication information and the second indication information (Fig. 42-43 & ¶0342 - a wireless device may receive first configuration parameters of a downlink semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) configuration. The downlink SPS configuration may be for receiving timing advance values for uplink transmissions during an RRC_INACTIVE state. For example, the first configuration parameters may comprise a parameter indicating that the downlink SPS configuration is for wireless device operation during the RRC_INACTIVE state and/or for receiving timing advance values during an RRC_INACTIVE state. Fig. 42-43 & ¶0343 - RRC release message or the suspend config IE in the RRC release message may comprise the first configuration parameters of the downlink SPS configuration and/or the second configuration parameters of the uplink configured grant configuration. Fig. 42-43 & ¶0344 - The wireless device may receive timing advance values, during the RRC_INACTIVE state, based on the first configuration parameters. The wireless device may receive downlink packets based on the first configuration parameters and via the downlink SPS resources, wherein the downlink packets may comprise the timing advance values. For example, the wireless device may receive timing advance command MAC CEs indicating the timing advance values, wherein the timing advance MAC CEs are multiplexed in the downlink packets. The first configuration parameters may comprise a first periodicity parameter. The wireless device may activate a plurality of downlink assignments based on the first periodicity parameter. For example, the wireless device may determine time occasions of the plurality of downlink assignments based on the first periodicity parameter. Fig. 42-43 & ¶0345 - The wireless device may transmit uplink packets, during the RRC_INACTIVE state, based on the second configuration parameters and based on the received timing advance values. The second configuration parameters may comprise a second periodicity parameter. The wireless device may determine a plurality of pre-configured/configured grant resources based on the second periodicity parameter.);
Yet, Babaei does not expressly teach wherein the determining, by the terminal device, the TA of the terminal device in the non-connected state comprises: determining, by the terminal device, the TA of the terminal device based on the periodic TAC.
However, in the analogous art, Zhang explicitly discloses wherein the determining, by the terminal device, the TA of the terminal device in the non-connected state comprises: determining, by the terminal device, the TA of the terminal device based on the periodic TAC. (Fig. 3/ Fig. 5/Fig. 14-17 & Abstract - A user equipment (UE) may be configured with a set of parameters to determine a valid timing advance (TA) to transmit data using preconfigured uplink resources (PUR) during an idle or inactive mode. In some cases, the parameters are one or more TA commands and one or more conditions associated with each TA command. The UE may identify the current condition of the UE and determine whether the current condition of the UE matches one of indicated conditions. The UE may select a TA command based on finding a match and use the TA command to transmit an uplink PUR transmission. Also, see step 1410 in Fig. 14 & step 1510 in Fig. 15, also, see ¶0011/¶0174, claim 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Babaei’s invention of a mechanism for wireless device and wireless network in inactive state in a wireless communication system to include Zhang’s invention of timing advance command implementations mechanism for preconfigured uplink resource transmissions in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for mitigating power consumption and transmission delay in the wireless communication system.(¶0002-¶0005, Zhang)
Re. claim 7, Babaei and Zhang teach claim 1.
Babaei further teaches parsing, by the terminal device based on the radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) of the timing advance command (TAC), downlink control information (DCI) that carries the TAC; receiving, by the terminal device, the TAC periodically delivered by the network device based on the DCI and the timing advance command sending period; (Fig. 26-Fig. 29 & ¶0285 - a wireless device may be in an RRC_INACTIVE state. The wireless device may receive a plurality of timing advance values via a control channel (e.g., PDCCH). In an example, the wireless device may receive downlink control information (i.e., DCI) comprising/indicating the plurality of timing advance values. In an example, the plurality of timing advance values may be for a plurality of wireless devices. The wireless device may receive the downlink control information via the downlink control channel (e.g., PDCCH). In an example, the downlink control information may be a common/group common downlink control information. The wireless device may receive the downlink control information via a common search space. The downlink control information (i.e., DCI) comprising the plurality of timing advance values may be associated with a wireless device identifier/RNTI. For example, a CRC of the downlink control information comprising the plurality of timing advance values may be scrambled with the wireless device identifier/RNTI. The wireless device may receive configuration parameters comprising the wireless device identifier/RNTI. For example, the wireless device may receive an RRC release message indicating transitioning of the wireless device from RRC_CONNECTED to RRC_INACTIVE wherein the RRC release message or a suspend config IE of the RRC release message may indicate the wireless device identifier/RNTI. The suspend config IE may comprise configuration parameters for wireless device operation during the RRC_INACTIVE state. Fig. 7/Fig. 17-46 & ¶0344 - The wireless device may receive timing advance values, during the RRC_INACTIVE state, based on the first configuration parameters. The wireless device may receive downlink packets based on the first configuration parameters and via the downlink SPS resources, wherein the downlink packets may comprise the timing advance values. For example, the wireless device may receive timing advance command MAC CEs indicating the timing advance values, wherein the timing advance MAC CEs are multiplexed in the downlink packets. The first configuration parameters may comprise a first periodicity parameter. The wireless device may activate a plurality of downlink assignments based on the first periodicity parameter. For example, the wireless device may determine time occasions of the plurality of downlink assignments based on the first periodicity parameter).
Yet, Babaei does not expressly teach wherein the determining, by the terminal device, the TA of the terminal device in the non-connected state based on the first indication information comprises: determining, by the terminal device, the TA of the terminal device based on the TAC.
However, in the analogous art, Zhang explicitly discloses wherein the determining, by the terminal device, the TA of the terminal device in the non-connected state based on the first indication information comprises: determining, by the terminal device, the TA of the terminal device based on the TAC. (Fig. 3/ Fig. 5/Fig. 14-17 & Abstract - A user equipment (UE) may be configured with a set of parameters to determine a valid timing advance (TA) to transmit data using preconfigured uplink resources (PUR) during an idle or inactive mode. In some cases, the parameters are one or more TA commands and one or more conditions associated with each TA command. The UE may identify the current condition of the UE and determine whether the current condition of the UE matches one of indicated conditions. The UE may select a TA command based on finding a match and use the TA command to transmit an uplink PUR transmission. Also, see step 1410 in Fig. 14 & step 1510 in Fig. 15, also, see ¶0011/¶0174, claim 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Babaei’s invention of a mechanism for wireless device and wireless network in inactive state in a wireless communication system to include Zhang’s invention of timing advance command implementations mechanism for preconfigured uplink resource transmissions in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for mitigating power consumption and transmission delay in the wireless communication system.(¶0002-¶0005, Zhang)
Re. claim 8, Babaei teaches a method for determining a timing advance (TA) (Fig.29/Fig.31 &¶0285-¶0286/¶0295), comprising: sending, by a network device (Fig. 31, Base Station), first indication information to a terminal device in a non- connected state , the first indication information comprising a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) of a timing advance command (TAC) (Fig. 31 & ¶0295 – a wireless device in a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state may receive paging information via a paging channel. The paging information may indicate scheduling information for receiving a timing advance value. For example, the paging information may comprise a field indicating the scheduling information. For example, the paging information may indicate a control resource set and/or search space for receiving a downlink assignment of a downlink packet, wherein the downlink packet may comprise the timing advance value. For example, the paging information may comprise the configuration parameters of the control resource set and/or the search space for receiving the scheduling information/downlink assignment for receiving a downlink packet comprising the timing advance value. The wireless device may receive the paging information via the paging channel and may determine the paging information and/or scheduling information associated with the wireless device and included in the received paging information based on a wireless device identifier/RNTI associated with the wireless device. …. the downlink packet may comprise a timing advance command MAC CE comprising the timing advance value.)
Yet, Babaei does not expressly teach the first indication information is used by the terminal device to determine a Timing Advance (TA) of the terminal device in the non-connected state.
However, in the analogous art, Zhang explicitly discloses the first indication information is used by the terminal device to determine a Timing Advance TA of the terminal device in the non-connected state. (Fig. 3/ Fig. 5/Fig. 14-17 & Abstract - A user equipment (UE) may be configured with a set of parameters to determine a valid timing advance (TA) to transmit data using preconfigured uplink resources (PUR) during an idle or inactive mode. In some cases, the parameters are one or more TA commands and one or more conditions associated with each TA command. The UE may identify the current condition of the UE and determine whether the current condition of the UE matches one of indicated conditions. The UE may select a TA command based on finding a match and use the TA command to transmit an uplink PUR transmission. Also, see step 1410 in Fig. 14 & step 1510 in Fig. 15, also, see ¶0011/¶0174, claim 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Babaei’s invention of a mechanism for wireless device and wireless network in inactive state in a wireless communication system to include Zhang’s invention of timing advance command implementations mechanism for preconfigured uplink resource transmissions in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for mitigating power consumption and transmission delay in the wireless communication system.(¶0002-¶0005, Zhang)
Re. claim 9, Babaei and Zhang teach claim 8.
Babaei further teaches sending, by the network device, second indication information to the terminal device in the non-connected state, the second indication information indicating a candidate time-frequency location of a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH). (Fig. 7/Fig. 17-46 & ¶0227- RRCRelease message may be used to command the release of an RRC connection or the suspension of the RRC connection. A suspendconfig IE in the RRCRelease message may indicate configuration for the RRC_INACTIVE state. The suspendconfig may comprise a plurality of parameters comprising a full-RNTI, a short-RNTI, a ran-PagingCycle, a ran-NotificationAreaInfo and a t380. The ran-PagingCycle may indicate a UE specific cycle for RAN-initiated paging. Fig. 7/Fig. 17-46 & ¶0228 - an IE SearchSpace may define how/where to search for PDCCH candidates. A search space may be associated with a ControlResourceSet. In an example, a parameter common may indicate that a search space is common search space (CSS) and may indicate DCI formats to monitor. A parameter controlResourceSetId may indicate the CORESET applicable for the SearchSpace. … The parameter monitoringSlotPeriodicityAndOffset may indicate slots for PDCCH Monitoring configured as periodicity and offset. The parameter monitoringSymbolsWithinSlot may indicate the first symbol(s) for PDCCH monitoring in the slots configured for PDCCH monitoring. Fig. 7/Fig. 17-46 & ¶0230 - The IE PDCCH-Config may be used to configure UE specific PDCCH parameters such as control resource sets (CORESET), search spaces and additional parameters for acquiring the PDCCH. In an example, a parameter controlResourceSetToAddModList may indicate a list of UE specifically configured Control Resource Sets (CORESETs) to be used by the wireless device. In an example, an IE PDCCH-ConfigCommon may be used to configure cell specific PDCCH parameters provided in SIB as well as in dedicated signaling. In an example, an IE ControlResourceSet may be used to configure a time/frequency control resource set (CORESET) in which to search for downlink control information).
Re. claim 10, Babaei and Zhang teach claim 8.
Babaei further teaches wherein the first indication information is carried in a radio resource control release (RRC Release) message or a paging message. (Fig. 31 & ¶0295 – a wireless device in a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state may receive paging information via a paging channel. The paging information may indicate scheduling information for receiving a timing advance value. For example, the paging information may comprise a field indicating the scheduling information. For example, the paging information may indicate a control resource set and/or search space for receiving a downlink assignment of a downlink packet, wherein the downlink packet may comprise the timing advance value. For example, the paging information may comprise the configuration parameters of the control resource set and/or the search space for receiving the scheduling information/downlink assignment for receiving a downlink packet comprising the timing advance value. The wireless device may receive the paging information via the paging channel and may determine the paging information and/or scheduling information associated with the wireless device and included in the received paging information based on a wireless device identifier/RNTI associated with the wireless device. …. the downlink packet may comprise a timing advance command MAC CE comprising the timing advance value).
Re. claim 11, Babaei and Zhang teach claim 9.
Babaei further teaches wherein the second indication information is carried in a radio resource control release (RRC Release) message or a paging message. (Fig. 7/Fig. 17-46 & ¶0227- RRCRelease message may be used to command the release of an RRC connection or the suspension of the RRC connection. A suspendconfig IE in the RRCRelease message may indicate configuration for the RRC_INACTIVE state. The suspendconfig may comprise a plurality of parameters comprising a full-RNTI, a short-RNTI, a ran-PagingCycle, a ran-NotificationAreaInfo and a t380. The ran-PagingCycle may indicate a UE specific cycle for RAN-initiated paging. Fig. 7/Fig. 17-46 & ¶0228 - an IE SearchSpace may define how/where to search for PDCCH candidates. A search space may be associated with a ControlResourceSet. In an example, a parameter common may indicate that a search space is common search space (CSS) and may indicate DCI formats to monitor. A parameter controlResourceSetId may indicate the CORESET applicable for the SearchSpace. … The parameter monitoringSlotPeriodicityAndOffset may indicate slots for PDCCH Monitoring configured as periodicity and offset. The parameter monitoringSymbolsWithinSlot may indicate the first symbol(s) for PDCCH monitoring in the slots configured for PDCCH monitoring. Fig. 7/Fig. 17-46 & ¶0230 - The IE PDCCH-Config may be used to configure UE specific PDCCH parameters such as control resource sets (CORESET), search spaces and additional parameters for acquiring the PDCCH. In an example, a parameter controlResourceSetToAddModList may indicate a list of UE specifically configured Control Resource Sets (CORESETs) to be used by the wireless device. In an example, an IE PDCCH-ConfigCommon may be used to configure cell specific PDCCH parameters provided in SIB as well as in dedicated signaling. In an example, an IE ControlResourceSet may be used to configure a time/frequency control resource set (CORESET) in which to search for downlink control information).
Re. claim 12, Babaei and Zhang teach claim 9.
Babaei further teaches wherein the second indication information comprises a control resource set identifier and a search space identifier. (Fig. 7/Fig. 17-46 & ¶0228 - an IE SearchSpace may define how/where to search for PDCCH candidates. A search space may be associated with a ControlResourceSet. In an example, a parameter common may indicate that a search space is common search space (CSS) and may indicate DCI formats to monitor. A parameter controlResourceSetId may indicate the CORESET applicable for the SearchSpace. … The parameter monitoringSlotPeriodicityAndOffset may indicate slots for PDCCH Monitoring configured as periodicity and offset. The parameter monitoringSymbolsWithinSlot may indicate the first symbol(s) for PDCCH monitoring in the slots configured for PDCCH monitoring…. The parameter searchSpaceId may identity the search space. Fig. 7/Fig. 17-46 & ¶0229 - an IE SearchSpaceId may be used to identify Search Spaces. Fig. 7/Fig. 17-46 & ¶0230 - The IE PDCCH-Config may be used to configure UE specific PDCCH parameters such as control resource sets (CORESET), search spaces and additional parameters for acquiring the PDCCH. In an example, a parameter controlResourceSetToAddModList may indicate a list of UE specifically configured Control Resource Sets (CORESETs) to be used by the wireless device. In an example, an IE PDCCH-ConfigCommon may be used to configure cell specific PDCCH parameters provided in SIB as well as in dedicated signaling. …., an IE ControlResourceSet may be used to configure a time/frequency control resource set (CORESET) in which to search for downlink control information… a ControlResourceSetId IE may indicate a short identity, used to identify a control resource set within a serving cell.)
Re. claim 13, Babaei and Zhang teach claim 9.
Babaei further teaches periodically sending, by the network device, the timing advance command (TAC) to the terminal device in the non-connected state (Fig. 42-43 & ¶0342 - a wireless device may receive first configuration parameters of a downlink semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) configuration. The downlink SPS configuration may be for receiving timing advance values for uplink transmissions during an RRC_INACTIVE state. For example, the first configuration parameters may comprise a parameter indicating that the downlink SPS configuration is for wireless device operation during the RRC_INACTIVE state and/or for receiving timing advance values during an RRC_INACTIVE state. Fig. 42-43 & ¶0343 - RRC release message or the suspend config IE in the RRC release message may comprise the first configuration parameters of the downlink SPS configuration and/or the second configuration parameters of the uplink configured grant configuration. Fig. 42-43 & ¶0344 - The wireless device may receive timing advance values, during the RRC_INACTIVE state, based on the first configuration parameters. The wireless device may receive downlink packets based on the first configuration parameters and via the downlink SPS resources, wherein the downlink packets may comprise the timing advance values. For example, the wireless device may receive timing advance command MAC CEs indicating the timing advance values, wherein the timing advance MAC CEs are multiplexed in the downlink packets. The first configuration parameters may comprise a first periodicity parameter. The wireless device may activate a plurality of downlink assignments based on the first periodicity parameter. For example, the wireless device may determine time occasions of the plurality of downlink assignments based on the first periodicity parameter. Fig. 42-43 & ¶0345 - The wireless device may transmit uplink packets, during the RRC_INACTIVE state, based on the second configuration parameters and based on the received timing advance values. The second configuration parameters may comprise a second periodicity parameter. The wireless device may determine a plurality of pre-configured/configured grant resources based on the second periodicity parameter).
Re. claim 14, Babaei and Zhang teach claim 10.
Babaei further teaches wherein the RRC Release message or the paging message further comprises time-frequency resource configuration information of a sounding reference signal (SRS). (Fig. 1-63 & ¶0319 - a wireless device may receive sounding reference signal (SRS) configuration parameters. The SRS configuration parameters may comprise first configuration parameters for SRS transmission while the wireless device is in an RRC_CONENCTED state and second configuration parameters for SRS transmission during an RRC_INACTIVE state. The wireless device may transmit SRS signals during the RRC_CONNECTED state using the first configuration parameters and may transmit SRS signals during the RRC_INACTIVE state use the second configuration parameters. Fig. 1-63 & ¶0320 - The wireless device may receive an RRC release message indicating transitioning from the RRC_CONNECTED state to the RRC_INACTIVE state and/or suspending an RRC connection for the wireless device. For example, the RRC release message may comprise a suspend config IE indicating the transition from the RRC_CONNECTED state to the RRC_INACTIVE state. The wireless device may transition from the RRC_CONNECTED state to the RRC_INACTIVE state based on the receiving the RRC release message. In an example, the suspend config IE may comprise second configuration parameters for SRS transmission during the RRC_INACTIVE state. Fig. 1-63 & ¶0322 - the second configuration parameters may comprise second parameters indicating second resources (e.g., second timing, second comb structure, etc.) for transmitting second SRS signals, during the RRC_INACTIVE state.)
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Babaei, in view of Zhang, further in view of Wang et al. (2022/0399976), Wang hereinafter
Re. claim 15, Babaei and Zhang teach claim 14.
Yet, Babaei and Zhang do not expressly teach performing, by the network device, related measurement on the SRS sent by the terminal device in the non-connected state to obtain a measurement result the measurement result assisting in positioning of the terminal device in the non-connected state.
However, in the analogous art, Wang explicitly discloses performing, by the network device, related measurement on the SRS sent by the terminal device in the non-connected state to obtain a measurement result the measurement result assisting in positioning of the terminal device in the non-connected state. (Fig. 1-13 & ¶0006: ¶0007 - provides a method for sending an SRS, applied to a terminal and including: sending a sounding reference signal SRS for positioning based on discontinuous reception DRX-related target information and/or a radio resource control RRC status. Fig. 1-13 & ¶0016 - where the third information includes at least one of the following: configuration information of an SRS for positioning and RRC state indicator information; and the third information is used to determine whether the terminal sends or does not send the SRS in an RRC non-connected state; Fig. 1-13 & ¶0205 - location management device may be implicitly notified to cancel, reconfigure, or re-request measurement on the SRS by the neighboring cell. That is, when the RRC connection state information in the RRC state indicator information indicates that the terminal is in an RRC idle state or an RRC inactive state, the location management device is implicitly notified to cancel, reconfigure, or re-request measurement on the SRS by the neighboring cell. Fig. 1-13 & ¶0272: ¶0274 - Step 125: The terminal sends an SRS for positioning based on DRX-related target information. Step 126: The location management device requests the neighboring cell by using the NRPPA to report a measurement result of the SRS. Step 127: The location management device requests the serving cell by using the NRPPA to report a measurement result of the SRS.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Babaei’s invention of a mechanism for wireless device and wireless network in inactive state in a wireless communication system and Zhang’s invention of timing advance command implementations mechanism for preconfigured uplink resource transmissions in a wireless communication system to include Wang’s invention of a mechanism for sending an SRS (Sounding reference signal) for positioning based on RRC status in new radio (NR)/5G wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in sending SRS (Sounding reference signal) measurement results with the help of neighboring cells of serving cells of a wireless device when the wireless device remains in RRC_INACTIVE state, improves radio resource utilization with signaling overhead for core network, thereby, improves latency sensitive application for small data transmission in the new radio (NR)/5G wireless communication system .(¶0002-¶0008, Wang)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 12/05/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding remarks in pages 7-9 for independent claims 1 and 16, the applicant argues that Lee fails to teach the amended claim, “receive first indication information from a network device, wherein the first indication information comprising a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) of a timing advance command (TAC)”.
Examiner agrees, however, in the analogous art, Babaei (2021/0259040), discloses the limitation as mapped in §103 rejection. For example, Babaei discloses that a wireless device in a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state may receive paging information via a paging channel. The paging information may indicate scheduling information for receiving a timing advance value. For example, the paging information may comprise a field indicating the scheduling information. For example, the paging information may indicate a control resource set and/or search space for receiving a downlink assignment of a downlink packet, wherein the downlink packet may comprise the timing advance value. For example, the paging information may comprise the configuration parameters of the control resource set and/or the search space for receiving the scheduling information/downlink assignment for receiving a downlink packet comprising the timing advance value. The wireless device may receive the paging information via the paging channel and may determine the paging information and/or scheduling information associated with the wireless device and included in the received paging information based on a wireless device identifier/RNTI associated with the wireless device. …. the downlink packet may comprise a timing advance command MAC CE comprising the timing advance value. See ¶0295 along with Fig. 31.
Similar, arguments are applicable to independent claim 8.
For these reasons, it is maintained that independent claims 1 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Babaei, in view of, Zhang.
For similar reasons, it is maintained that independent claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Babaei, in view of, Zhang.
As all other dependent claims depend either directly or indirectly from the independent claims 1, 8 and 16, similar rationale also applies to all respective dependent claims.
Lee et al. (2020/0107295) is NOT used in the instant application, hence, moot.
Conclusion
/MOHAMMED S CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467