Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on Application EP21213654.3 dated 12/10/2021 and applicant has filed a certified copy of this application on 01/26/2023.
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-21 were previously pending. Claims 1, 3, 8-9, 12-14 and 16-17 are amended. Claim 22 is cancelled. New claim 23 is added.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims and specification have overcome each and every objection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 04/30/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Putynkowski et al. (EP 3991926 A1) hereinafter Putynkowski.
Regarding claim 23, Fig. 5 of Putynkowski (reproduced and annotated below) teaches a gripping module for gripping and moving objects, the gripping module comprising: a module carrier; two active elements (22) that are displaceable relative to one another, wherein each of the two active elements has a gripping surface for gripping an object; and a drive system that is configured to displace at least one active element of the two active elements relative to the module carrier, wherein the drive system includes (25), an actuator element (23), (spring 26) configured to be biased by activation of the electromagnet such that deactivation of the electromagnet results in a biasing force exerted by the biasing element on the actuator element.
Fig. 6D of Putynkowski shows a drive system with an electric motor (29).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to add electric motor 29 to the drive system of the gripping module to make it possible to activate clamping with electric motor as well as electromagnet.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-21 are allowed.
Claim 1 is allowed for disclosing “a displacement of the actuator element, which is caused by an activation or a deactivation of the electromagnet occurring after the two active elements have contacted the object, results in a gripping force exerted by the at least one active element on the object”.
These limitations with other claimed limitations in a whole, make the instant invention neither anticipated nor rendered obvious by the best prior art in record.
The closest prior art to the claimed invention of claim 1 are Rose (US 3370213 A) and Putynkowski.
Rose teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. below) a gripping module (module shown in Fig. 2) for gripping and moving objects, the gripping module comprising: a module carrier (housing 26); two active elements (gripping jaws 28) that are displaceable relative to one another, wherein each of the two active elements has a gripping surface for gripping an object; and a drive system that is configured to displace at least one of the two active elements relative to the module carrier, wherein the drive system includes an electric motor (grip motor 34), an electromagnet (col. 3, lines 8-40: “a pair of diametrically opposed electromagnetic exciter coils 50”), and an actuator element (actuator element comprises at least 36, 38, 41, 40) displaceable by means of the electromagnet, wherein the electric motor and the actuator element are kinematically coupled to the at least one of the two active elements (see col. 3, lines 8-40).
However Rose does not teach functional relationship between the electric motor and the electromagnet with the electric motor contacting surfaces of the object and the electromagnet excreting gripping force to the object.
Putynkowski teaches a motor driven gripping module (Fig. 6D) and an electromagnet driven gripping module (Fig. 5 shown above). However Putynkowski does not teach functional relationship between the electric motor and the electromagnet with the electric motor contacting surfaces of the object and the electromagnet excreting gripping force to the object.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, with respect to amended claim 1 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The art rejection has been withdrawn.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Quan (CN 116277118 A) teaches a gripping module with combined electric motor and electromagnet.
MAHDI H. NEJAD
Examiner
Art Unit 3723
/MAHDI H NEJAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723