DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending in the application.
Claims 14-20 are allowed.
Examiner’s Note: The examiner has cited particular passages including column and line numbers, paragraphs as designated numerically and/or figures as designated numerically in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claims, other passages, paragraphs and figures of any and all cited prior art references may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing an eventual response, to fully consider the context of the passages, paragraphs and figures as taught by the prior art and/or cited by the examiner while including in such consideration the cited prior art references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention. MPEP 2141.02 VI: “PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS."
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burkus, II et al. US Pub. No. 2010/0250011 (“Burkus”) further in view of Sun and Floeder et al. WO2021/070745 (“Floeder”).
Regarding claim 1, Burkus teaches a method of characterizing a material dispenser that dispenses a material in a material bead, the method comprising:
receiving a model including at least one pre-pressure characteristic associated with the a lookup table of data based on time and temperature information or known initial viscosity];
calculating, using the pre-pressure characteristic, a pre-pressure value;
communicating the pre-pressure value to the material dispenser;
[0013] Referring to FIGS. 1 and 2, a control 40 is provided for operating the dispenser valve 12 and, more particularly, for providing suitable control or correcting signals to a voltage-to-pressure transducer 42 which converts the voltage to an air pressure such that a corrected air pressure is sent from a pressurized air supply 44 to an air line 46 connected with syringe 14. The voltage signal representing the corrected pressure is based at least in part on a value determined by the control 40. The voltage value may be stored or otherwise determined, such as by using a curve or algorithm, or a lookup table of data based on time and temperature information.
[0014] More specifically referring to the control flow diagram of FIG. 2 which represents the general operation of control 40, at the start of a dispensing process, a cartridge of PUR adhesive material is loaded into the heated syringe supply device 14 and a clock associated with the control 40 is set to "0." The temperature of the environment is also detected or recorded for use during the dispensing process. In accordance with the elapsed time and temperature, a value is determined by the control 40 and the pressure to the syringe 14 is adjusted accordingly. At the very start of the process, this value will keep the pressure at an initial setting appropriate for accurately dispensing the material at its known initial viscosity. Over time, however, the value will increase the pressure according to an amount based on a predetermined model that predicts viscosity changes of the material over time. This model may be based on experimentally determined data recorded previously for the same material under the same temperature and humidity conditions. The time period involved may, for example, be the expected production time over which the disposable cartridge (not shown) is used in syringe 14. This process may be used alone to establish more consistent cycle to cycle dispensing of the viscous material.
at the material dispenser, applying a pressure corresponding to the pre-pressure value to the material prior to applying the material bead [SEE fig. 1];
applying the material bead using the material dispenser;
generating, using data received from at least one sensor [camera 30] associated with the material bead dispenser, dimensions associated with the material bead [SEE fig. 1 and steps in fig. 2]; and
adjusting the pre-pressure characteristic based on the dimensions.
[0016] Further accuracy and consistency may be obtained by using the camera 30 illustrated in FIG. 1. Specifically, the camera 30 may be a model In-Sight 5100 available from Cognex Corp., using correlated In-Sight software. In this enhanced process, an image of the dispensed amount is captured with the camera 30. The dispensed amount may be a bead 22 dispensed on a work piece or another sample substrate. By using known functions and the mentioned software of the machine vision camera 30, the camera 30 may enhance the image, and detect the edges of the image to accurately estimate the bead width. The camera software may further determine whether the detected or estimated bead width is either above or below limits that are established and stored in the control 40 according to the desired bead width parameters. If the bead width is detected to be above the upper limit, the pressure to the syringe 14 is reduced, such as by an incremental predetermined value of 1 psi. On the other hand, if the bead width is detected to be below a lower limit, the control 40 sends a signal to adjust the air pressure upward, such as by adding an incremental amount of pressure of 1 psi. Incremental or decremental pressure adjustments in other amounts may be used instead, e.g., those with finer resolution such as 0.01 or 0.5 psi, for example. As another alternative, pressure adjustments may be made in percentage amounts such as 5% or 10% of the previous pressure value.
Burkus does not expressly teach receiving a model including at least one pre-pressure characteristic associated with the material dispenser.
Sun teaches a dispensing robot is programmed to apply a uniform bead of material such as glue or sealant along the regular trajectory where a definition of the path generated with CAD together with a characteristic data model of the output device are made available to an optimization routine. Specifically, Sun teaches receiving a model including at least one pre-pressure characteristic [time lag] associated with the material dispenser and determining, using the pre-pressure characteristic, an initial setting value [pump throughput and output parameter].
[0016] At step 120, a model of dispensing equipment characteristics is provided. The dispensing equipment characteristics model includes a relationship between an input signal to the dispensing equipment (such as a pump flow setting ranging from 0-10) and an output parameter (such as a volume flow rate of the dispensed material in cubic centimeters per second). The relationship between the input signal and the output parameter may be nonlinear, and may be described as a mathematical equation, a set of parametric curves, a table of values, or any other suitable format. The dispensing equipment characteristics model also includes a time lag between a change in input signal to the dispenser/pump and an actual change in flow rate at the dispenser tip. Because of the length of the supply line (from the dispenser to the dispensing tip), the compressible flow properties of the dispensed material, and other factors, there is a time lag between the time when the “dispenser on” signal is provided and the time when the material actually begins to flow out of the dispenser tip. Likewise, there is a time lag after a “dispenser off” signal, and a time lag after a change of flow rate signal. Flow rate change commands are particularly relevant, as they must be performed any time the dispenser tip velocity changes as the tip follows the path. Flow rate change lag times may not be constant, but instead they may be a function of flow rate, where lag times are longer when flow rate is lower, for example. These time lags can be characterized for a particular robot and dispenser system; this is what is contained in the model of dispensing equipment characteristics.
Before the effective filing data of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to has modify the method of Burkus with the step of receiving a model including at least one pre-pressure characteristic associated with the material dispenser of Sun. The motivation for doing so would has been to reduce the frequent adjustment of the pre-pressure by knowing the characteristics of an output device. Thus, save time.
Burkus teaches using data received from at least one sensor [camera 30] associated with the dimensions associated with the material bead. However, Burkus does not expressly teach the dimension include three-dimensional data associated with the material bead.
Floeder teaches systems and technique that use to measure the dimension of an output adhesive bead shape for a given automated liquid adhesive dispensing process, comparing it against a target bead shape, and automatically identifying controllable process parameters to be altered to achieve a stable and controlled process [SEE par. 0003, 0057]. Specifically, Floeder teaches the dimension include three-dimensional data associated with the material bead.
[0039] Bead 142 is analyzed by measuring device 114. Measuring device 114 is configured to measure bead shape along a longitudinal axis of bead 142. Bead shape includes, but is not limited to, height Hi from a surface of witness plate 140 to a crest of bead 142, a width Wi along a selected height of bead 142 such as at the surface of witness plate 140, cross sectional area Ai of bead 142 transverse to the longitudinal axis of bead 142, or a symmetry about an axis extending perpendicular from the surface of witness plate 140 to the crest of bead 142. In some examples, measuring device 114 may include a coordinate measuring machine (“CMM”) (e.g., the CMM probe may be mechanical, optical, laser, or the like), a structured-light three-dimensional scanner, a laser displacement sensor, another non-contacting optical measurement device, digital image correlation, photogrammetry, or the like. In some examples, measuring device 114 may include a DSMax 3D laser displacement sensor, available from Cognex, Natick, Massachusetts. In some examples, the bead shape may include other properties of the bead, such as a color or temperature of the bead. In example in which bead shape includes other bead properties, such as temperature or color, measuring device 114 may include, additionally or alternatively, an optical camera and/or a thermal camera.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the dimension include three-dimensional data associated with the material bead of Floeder. The motivation for doing so would has been to improve the accuracy and robustness of bead characterization. Such a combination would yield predictable results, since both references address the same problem – accurately controlling dispensed bead formation.
Regarding claim 2, Burkus teaches the dimensions include at least dimensions of an initial portion of the material bead [SEE step in fig. 2].
Regarding claim 3, Burkus teaches the pre-pressure characteristic is generated using data, captured by the at least one sensor, associated with at least one material dispensing test operation performed by the material dispenser [SEE step in fig. 2].
Regarding claim 4, Burkus teaches the model includes at least one of at least one ambient temperature measurement of an environment associated with the material dispenser [SEE par. 0019],
Regarding claim 5, Burkus in view of Floeder teaches the sensor includes at least one of a laser [par. 0039, 0051 of Floeder] and an image capturing device [SEE fig. 1 of Burkus]. Burkus does not expressly teach the sensor includes a laser.
Regarding claim 6, Burkus teaches iteratively adjusting at least one aspect of the model using other material bead dimensions associated with other material beads corresponding to other material bead dispensing operations, wherein the other material bead dimensions are generated using corresponding data received from the at least one sensor [SEE step in fig. 2].
Claim(s) 7-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davancens II et al. US Pub. No. 2015/0343487 (“Davancens”) further in view of Sun and Floeder.
Regarding claim 7, Davancens teaches a system [SEE fig. 1 and 2] comprising:
a robotic mechanism [122] for use with a material dispenser configured to dispense a material in a material bead [SEE fig. 2];
and
a control device [130] configured to:
receive a model of the robotic mechanism [par. 0027- the type of motor being used];
based on the model of the robotic mechanism, calculate a first robotic mechanism speed for a first period of a material bead dispensing operation;
communicate the first robotic mechanism speed to the robotic mechanism for use in applying the material bead;
[0021] Referring generally to FIGS. 1-6, and with particular reference to FIGS. 1 and 2, one example of the present disclosure relates to a system 100 for dispensing a substance 102 in a form of a bead 104 on a surface 106 in a progression direction (illustrated by the arrow “P”) along a path 108. The system 100 includes a dispenser 110 having, while the substance 102 is being dispensed: a leading edge 118, a contact portion 112 including two contact points 114, 116 (shown in FIGS. 3-6) with the surface 106, and a trailing edge 120 that extends between the two contact points 114, 116 and terminates therein. The system 100 also includes first means 122 for moving the dispenser 110 along a virtual travel plane 124 (shown in FIGS. 3-6), which is parallel to the path 108 and passes through the two contact points 114, 116, while maintaining the contact portion 112 in communication with the surface 106 as the substance 102 is being dispensed. The system 100 further includes second means 126 for monitoring a leading portion 128 of the bead 104 and for generating a signal responsive to at least one characteristic of the leading portion 128, wherein the leading portion 128 is located ahead of a portion of the leading edge 118 in the progression direction P along the path 108. The system 100 additionally includes third means 130 for controlling, responsive to the signal generated by the second means 126, at least one of a speed of the dispenser 110 along the path 108 or a flow rate of the substance 102 to the dispenser 110 to provide a substantially uniform cross-sectional shape of the bead 104 along the path 108.
[0027] The third means 130 may be any device or combination of devices that control the at least one of the speed of the dispenser 110 along the path 108 or the flow rate of the substance 102 to the dispenser 110 as supplied by the fourth means 132. For example, the third means 130 may be a controller (or control portion) with a motorized device or component that has an adjustable speed that allows for varying the speed at which the dispenser 110 is moved along the path 108. The third means 130 may include limiters to define or set the maximum speed at which the dispenser 110 is allowed to move, which may be based in part of the substance 102 being dispensed. In one aspect, the third means 130 includes a drive arrangement that is controllable to change the speed of the dispenser 110 along the path 108. The third means 130 may provide an incrementally varying speed control or continuously varying speed control, which may be determined, for example, based on the type of motor being used.
[0029] In one aspect of the disclosure, which may include at least a portion of the subject matter of any of the preceding and/or following examples and aspects, the first means 122 includes any structure or device capable of moving the dispenser 110 while maintaining the contact portion 112 in communication with the surface 106 as the substance 102 is being dispensed along the path 108 in the progression direction P, as explained in further detail below. The progression direction P generally refers to the direction of travel of the dispenser 110 along the path 108 as the bead 104 is formed on the surface 106. Accordingly, as the dispenser 110 is moved in the progression direction (illustrated as left to right in FIG. 2), the bead 104 is formed on the surface 106 as the substance 102 interacts with the trailing edge 120 of the dispenser 110.
[0030] By controlling the movement of the dispenser 110, including at least the speed that the dispenser 110 is moved along the surface 106 by the first means 122, a desired or required size and/or shape of the bead 104 is formed by the trailing edge 120.
generate, using at least one sensor, material bead dimensions associated with the material bead;
[0036] In one aspect of the disclosure, which may include at least a portion of the subject matter of any of the preceding and/or following examples and aspects, the second means 126 monitors the leading portion 128 of the bead 104, which in some examples includes a portion of the substance 102 forward of the leading edge 118 of the dispenser 110. The second means 126 may be any type of sensor, such as a monitoring or vision device or system that allows for monitoring the location of the substance 102 relative to the dispenser 110 along the path 108 while the substance 102 is being dispensed. In one example, the second means is a camera that captures images of the substance 102 as the substance 102 is being dispensed. For example, a video stream or series of still images may be generated by the second means 126. In one example, the second means 126 is a non-vision sensor system that does not capture images of the substance 102. The second means 126 in some examples may be a fiber-optic system, an optical sensor, a radar system, or an ultrasonic sensor, among others. Thus, the second means 126 may be a vision system, non-vision system, or a combination thereof.
update the first robotic mechanism speed
[0048] The second means 126 may be oriented or positioned to monitor one or more regions 800 (as shown in FIG. 8), thereby defining monitoring regions in front of the dispenser 110 in the progression direction P, which are used to change the adjustable speed of the dispenser 110 along the surface 106 (e.g., a workpiece) and/or a flow rate of the supplied substance 102 based on detection of the leading surface 700 in one or more of the plurality regions 800. By monitoring the leading surface 700 while the dispenser 110 is in contact with the surface 106 and dispensing the substance 102, thereby defining the fixed containment geometry, different conditions or states of the bead 104 may be determined and used to control the speed of the dispenser 110 and/or flow of substance to the dispenser 110. For example, as can be seen in FIG. 7, when the leading surface 700 is located below the Min level as viewed in the leftmost illustration of FIG. 7, the dispensing of the substance 102 is at an unacceptable low level and the desired uniform cross-sectional shape of the bead 104 is not maintained. [READ further paragraph 0049-0050; and SEE Fig. 7 and 10]
Davancens does not expressly teach update the model of the robotic mechanism based on the material bead dimensions; and update the first robotic mechanism speed based on the model of the robotic mechanism.
Sun teaches a dispensing robot is programmed to apply a uniform bead of material such as glue or sealant along the regular trajectory where a definition of the path generated with CAD together with a characteristic data model of the output device are made available to an optimization routine. Sun further teaches comprise a controlling device configure to receive a model of the robotic mechanism and based on the model of the robotic mechanism, calculate a first robotic mechanism speed for a first period of a material bead dispensing operation [READ pages 4-5].
Based on the simulation of an optimal movement of the tip and the model of the characteristics of the output device, commands of the output device can be calculated to adjust the position and speed of the tip. For example, the dispenser can be instructed to start 200 milliseconds (ms) before the robot starts moving the dispensing tip along the path 112 and the flow rate of the dispenser can be scaled down to a time of 200 milliseconds (or more or less depending on the model of the characteristics) before the tip speed decreases. In one example, the volume throughput of material dispensed is a linear function of the speed of the dispensing tip, with higher throughputs being used at higher speeds.
The optimization task at the step 130 can be carried out during a simulation phase, taking into account the route planning of a robot and the characteristics of the process equipment. The objective function of this iterative optimization process includes the smallest deviation of a path between the generated movement commands and a CAD model and the smallest deviation of a speed between the tool center point (TCP) and the process equipment. Other process-related tasks such as tool alignment can also be included in the optimization calculation. This computer-independent optimization process delivers controllable results for the next step by means of AR devices. When the specification of the objective function is met, the robot movement commands and corresponding command signals are made available to the processing apparatus of a robot control unit.
Specifically, Sun teaches update the model of the robotic mechanism based on the material bead dimensions; and update the first robotic mechanism speed based on the model of the robotic mechanism.
On the left of the AR display and at 142 shown, the current part, which is physically located in front of the AR user, is displayed as images from the camera of the AR device. The current robot is ordered to perform the empty attempt of the output process using optimized movement commands. That is, the current robot actually moves the dispensing tip along the prescribed path, but the dispenser is not turned on for the AR simulation, or the dispenser can be turned on but without any material in the dispenser. If If the robot follows the desired path, a virtual bead of material (calculated on the basis of commands from the dispenser and characteristics as well as the speed of the dispensing tip) is displayed in the AR system so that the user can check its uniformity. The speed of the tool center point (like a number of mm / sec) is also at 142 placed over the AR display with a corresponding indication of slowdowns.
On the right side of the AR display, track points follow the position curve (for 144 shown) and the speed curve (at 146 shown) in synchronism with the movement of the robot tip on the current part. The AR user can confirm the commands of the robot movement and commands of the output apparatus and / or can make final changes based on feedback from the AR system. The feedback can include an adaptation of the current path with the path prescribed by CAD, a detection of the mechanical limitation of a robot joint and a monitoring of the virtual caterpillar, which could require changes to the model of the output device or commands. [READ pages 5-6]
After any final changes that the operator can make to the commands of the robot movement and / or the output device based on the AR simulation, the confirmed commands of the robot movement and commands of the output device are approved for use in the production process, as in step 150 is shown. [READ page 6]
Based on the simulation of an optimal movement of the tip and the model of the characteristics of the output device, commands of the output device can be calculated to adjust the position and speed of the tip. [READ page 5]
Before the effective filing data of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Davancens with the update the model of the robotic mechanism based on the material bead dimensions; and update the first robotic mechanism speed based on the model of the robotic mechanism. The motivation for doing so would has been to reduce the frequent adjustment of the movement speed of the robotic mechanism. Thus, save time.
Davancens teaches a camera that captures dimensional associated with the material bead. However, Davancens does not teach the dimensional includes three-dimensional data associated with the material bead.
Floeder teaches systems and technique that use to measure the dimension of an output adhesive bead shape for a given automated liquid adhesive dispensing process, comparing it against a target bead shape, and automatically identifying controllable process parameters to be altered to achieve a stable and controlled process [SEE par. 0003, 0057]. Specifically, Floeder teaches the dimension include three-dimensional data associated with the material bead.
[0039] Bead 142 is analyzed by measuring device 114. Measuring device 114 is configured to measure bead shape along a longitudinal axis of bead 142. Bead shape includes, but is not limited to, height Hi from a surface of witness plate 140 to a crest of bead 142, a width Wi along a selected height of bead 142 such as at the surface of witness plate 140, cross sectional area Ai of bead 142 transverse to the longitudinal axis of bead 142, or a symmetry about an axis extending perpendicular from the surface of witness plate 140 to the crest of bead 142. In some examples, measuring device 114 may include a coordinate measuring machine (“CMM”) (e.g., the CMM probe may be mechanical, optical, laser, or the like), a structured-light three-dimensional scanner, a laser displacement sensor, another non-contacting optical measurement device, digital image correlation, photogrammetry, or the like. In some examples, measuring device 114 may include a DSMax 3D laser displacement sensor, available from Cognex, Natick, Massachusetts. In some examples, the bead shape may include other properties of the bead, such as a color or temperature of the bead. In example in which bead shape includes other bead properties, such as temperature or color, measuring device 114 may include, additionally or alternatively, an optical camera and/or a thermal camera.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the dimension include three-dimensional data associated with the material bead of Floeder. The motivation for doing so would has been to improve the accuracy and robustness of bead characterization. Such a combination would yield predictable results, since both references address the same problem – accurately controlling dispensed bead formation.
Regarding claim 8, Davancens in view of Sun teaches the model of the robotic mechanism is generated using data, captured by the at least one sensor, associated with at least one material dispensing operation performed by the material dispenser [READ page 6 of Sun].
Regarding claim 9, Davancens teaches he controlling device further calculates a second robotic mechanism speed for a second period of the material bead dispensing operation [SEE par. 0055].
Regarding claim 10, Davancens in view of Sun teaches iteratively revising the model of the robotic mechanism using a plurality of material bead dimensions, generated using the at least one sensor, associated with a plurality of other material beads corresponding to other material bead dispensing operations [SEE ABS of Sun and where a robot is used to apply a "bead" of material such as caulking, sealant, or adhesive to a part along a prescribed path].
Regarding claim 11, Sun teaches based on the model of the material dispenser, calculate a first characterization of the flow rate input; communicate the first characterization of the flow rate input to the material dispenser [Page 5 - the dispenser can be instructed to start 200 milliseconds(ms) before the robot starts moving the dispensing tip along the path 112 and the flow rate of the dispenser can be scaled down to a time of 200 milliseconds (or more or less depending on the model of the characteristics) before the tip speed decreases]; update the model of the material dispenser based on the material bead dimensions; and update the first characterization of flow rate input based on the model of the material dispenser [SEE discussed paragraph in claim 7 and page 6].
Regarding claim 12, Davancens teaches the model of the robotic mechanism includes a maximum speed of the robotic mechanism [SEE par. 0027, 0046].
Regarding claim 13, Davancens in view of Sun does not teach the model of the robotic mechanism includes a maximum rate of change of speed of the robotic mechanism. However, the examiner take official notice such feature is old and well known in the art of speed control. One of ordinary skill in the art would motivate to provide such feature in order to provide the system the ability to calculate the velocity value when moving along a path. Thus, prevent overrun.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US Pub. No. 2020/0338730 to Yamauchi et al. teach the joint information is information of respective joints constituting the robot arm, and includes information such as a joint name, a joint type, a joint position, a joint orientation, a joint operation lower limit, a joint operation upper limit, a maximum acceleration, and a maximum velocity as the item 412.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
VINCENT H TRAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2115
/VINCENT H TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2115