DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 02/11/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-10 are pending in the application.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because gap 314 does not match the specification and drawings. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term/phrase “for a distance” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term/phrase “for a distance” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The term/phrase “for a distance” is not limited to any particular amount and indicates there is some particular distance without providing a limit to determine the distance. Examiner suggest maybe replace “for a distance” with - - for a certain distance - - as recited in the specification.
Also, the phrase “clamping slot 314 is formed between the clamping platform 3121 and the inner end face of the limiting part 313” from the specification matches what is claimed. However, the drawings show clamping platform 3121 and a face of a larger diameter back end of connector 311 form a gap and the limiting part is on the edge of another larger diameter portion – the connector appears to have three diameter portions forming pyramidal/conical type shape in which the gap (314) is shown between the smallest and middle diameter portion tending toward confusion as to where the gap actually is. It appears the drawing is correct and the specification and claims need to be amended to match the drawings.
The term/phrase “consistent with the width of the clamping slot on the head” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term/phrase “consistent with the width” is not clear if the slot width or length has the same measure as the thickness/depth/height of the through hole. Also, as discussed above it is not clear what the slot is directed to.
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: the phrase “the drive ring” should be - - a drive ring - - since “drive ring” has not been prior recited. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6, and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over CHEN (CN 103722537 A) in view of Moylan et al. (US 20190015963 A1) and further in view of BILLINGS et al. (US 20180161951 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 10, CHEN discloses a head and body rapid replacing structure of a multi-functional power tool (1, fig. 1), comprising: a body shell (2); a torsion ring (5) which is rotationally arranged in the body shell (2) and near a socket (3/10) of the body shell and of which the axis is at least parallel to that of the socket (fig. 1); a head (6/9) detachably inserted in a jack (inner portion of ring 5 with blocking 15) of the torsion ring (5);
wherein a shell of the head comprises a connector (6), the connector comprises a square sleeving part (square part of 6, figs. 1-2 and 5-6) and a limiting part (face of square part 6), a clamping platform (16) extending from an inner end to an outer end for a distance is formed on at least one side wall of the sleeving part, and a clamping slot is formed between the clamping platform and an inner end face of the limiting part (slot formed between 16 and face of square part 6);
an energy storage device (12) resetting after driving the torsion ring (5) to rotate; head locking pieces (15 and/or embedding block 14) that can move between a first position and a second position the torsion ring (move with torsion ring 5) during the rotation of the torsion ring (5); in the first position, each head locking piece (15 and/or embedding block 14) has a blocking part (ramped/sloped portions of 15) which is located on the movement path of a clamping platform (6/16) of the head (9) in the jack (inner portion of ring 5 with blocking 15); in the second position, each head locking piece (16) does not have a part located in the movement path of the clamping platform (at second position blocks 15 are not located in movement path [0032-0049], figs. 1-4).
CHEN fails to disclose the head locking pieces that can move in a straight line between a first position and a second position along the direction perpendicular to the axis of the torsion ring during the rotation of the torsion ring (5).
Moylan et al. teaches a similar power tool (100) with different rapid replacing heads (110a/b/c, figs. 1-3), the power tool having a head locking pieces (protrusion 315 and 475 figs. 4-12) that can move in a straight line between a first position and a second position along the direction perpendicular to the axis of a torsion ring (spring 250 of ring 225 and includes a torsion spring [0028-0031], fig. 4) during the rotation of the torsion ring (ring 225 rotates to align 315 with 265 then moves axially [0029-0040], figs. 1-12).
BILLINGS et al. also/additionally teaches a similar power tool (10) with different rapid replacing heads (light unit 830), the power tool having a head locking pieces (L-shaped slot 836 with projection 824) that can move in a straight line (projection 824 moves straight portion of L-shaped slot 836) between a first position and a second position along the direction perpendicular to the axis of a torsion ring (832/834 with V-shaped leaf spring) during the rotation of the torsion ring (824 moves straight portion of L-shaped slot 836 that perpendicular to axis of rotation [0047], figs. 1 and 12).
Given the teachings of CHEN to have a head and body rapid replacing structure of a multi-functional power tool coupled with a torsion ring and blocking members, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the head with locking pieces that can move in a straight line between a first position and a second position along the direction perpendicular to the axis of the torsion ring during the rotation of the torsion ring to have secure attachment of the head to the tool, easier ergonomic attachment, and/or for proper alignment with the correct head (ensure correct head is attached) purposes as taught by Moylan et al. and BILLINGS et al.
Regarding claims 2 and 4, CHEN teaches the outer circumferential surface of the torsion ring (5) is provided with an operating panel (toggle 13), wherein the head locking piece (15 and/or embedding block 14) has an arc-shaped hole or an inclined hole, a drive pin (block 14) parallel to the axis of the torsion ring is inserted into the arc-shaped hole or the inclined hole (14 extends integrally on ring 5 from the hole), and the drive pin (block 14) drives the head locking piece (15) to move between the first position and the second position during the rotation of the torsion ring ([0039-0042], figs. 1-4).
CHEN fails to teach the head locking piece has an arc-shaped hole or an inclined hole, the drive pin parallel to the axis of the torsion ring is inserted into the arc-shaped hole or the inclined hole.
Moylan et al. teaches the head locking piece (protrusion 315 and 475 figs. 4-12) has an arc-shaped hole or an inclined hole (channel 345 and/or 265), a drive pin (notch 460) parallel to the axis of the torsion ring is inserted into the arc-shaped hole or the inclined hole [0029-0041], figs. 1-12).
BILLINGS et al. also teaches a nosepiece 817 that has an arc-shaped hole or an inclined hole (locking recess 828, fig. 12), a drive pin (curved vertex 839 of the leaf spring 838) parallel to the axis of the torsion ring is inserted into the arc-shaped hole or the inclined hole ([0047], figs. 1 and 12).
Given the teachings of CHEN to have a head and body rapid replacing structure of a multi-functional power tool coupled with a torsion ring and blocking members, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the head locking piece has an arc-shaped hole or an inclined hole, the drive pin parallel to the axis of the torsion ring is inserted into the arc-shaped hole or the inclined hole to have secure attachment of the head to the tool, easier ergonomic attachment, and/or for proper alignment with the correct head (ensure correct head is attached) purposes as taught by Moylan et al. and BILLINGS et al.
Regarding claims 5-6, CHEN teaches guide blocks (protrusion part 18 with step 17, fig. 5) close to two opposite end faces of the head blocking piece (6/15) are arranged in the body shell (2), wherein a guide sleeve (sleeve portion of 6 or 10) coaxial with the drive ring is arranged in the body shell (2), and the head (9) has a hole matched with the guide sleeve (fig. 1, [0032-0049], figs. 1-4).
Regarding claims 9, CHEN fails to teach a steering switch locking piece move in a straight line between a third position and a fourth position and restricts the steering switch key to a forward rotation position or a reverse rotation position, or restricts the steering switch key to a locked position and to movement to only one side.
Moylan et al. teaches a steering switch locking piece (475) that moves in a straight line between a third position and a fourth position and restricts a steering switch key (495) to a forward rotation position or a reverse rotation position, or restricts the steering switch key to a locked position and to movement to only one side ([0038-0052], figs. 8-12).
BILLINGS et al. teaches a steering switch locking piece (curved vertex 839 of the leaf spring 838 and/or flange portion 38 figs. 1 and 12) that moves in a straight line between a third position and a fourth position and restricts a steering switch key to a forward rotation position or a reverse rotation position, or restricts the steering switch key to a locked position and to movement to only one side (839 moves straight of slot 828 that restricts the steering switch key to a locked position and to movement to only one side and flange portion will secure in one direction [0047], figs. 1 and 12).
Given the teachings of CHEN to have a head and body rapid replacing structure of a multi-functional power tool coupled with a torsion ring and blocking members, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify teach a steering switch locking piece move in a straight line between a third position and a fourth position and restricts the steering switch key to a forward rotation position or a reverse rotation position, or restricts the steering switch key to a locked position and to movement to only one side to have secure attachment of the head to the tool, easier ergonomic attachment, and/or for proper alignment with the correct head (ensure correct head is attached) purposes as taught by Moylan et al. and BILLINGS et al.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 7-8 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Reasons for Allowable Subject Matter
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: the prior art of record fails to teach or render obvious a head and body coupling/replacing mechanism comprising all the structural and functional limitations and further comprising, amongst other limitations/features, a torsion ring having a jack/inner coupling portion for a head wherein the head has a protruding clamping platform that extends at least partially around the connecting end of head member and the head member is square shaped with a limiting part/protrusion on the other end forming a slot/recess between the protruding clamping platform and the limiting part/protrusion to mating couple with the torsion ring wherein “an inclined plane leaning from the inner end to the outer side of the outer end is formed on the clamping platform, and the head blocking piece (500) has chamfers matched with the inclined plane”. Though Viola CHEN 103722537 A teaches a similar head clamping member the equivalent head member is not square shaped along with an inclined plane leaning from the inner end to the outer side of the outer end is formed on the clamping platform, and the head blocking piece has chamfers matched with the inclined plane and it would not be obvious to change CHEN’s head to be square shaped since doing so would require changing motor output shaft jack member as well as the torsion ring as well as include the inclined plane leaning from the inner end to the outer side of the outer end is formed on the clamping platform, and the head blocking piece has chamfers matched with the inclined plane. Having the rotary locking/unlocking structure securely locks the head and body with a simple rotation, provides an effective simple replacing structure and also guiding structure for clamping the head onto the body. While various features of the claimed subject matter are found individually in the prior art, a skilled artisan would have to include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure to combine or modify the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed subject matter, and thus obviousness would not be proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). There is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine or modify the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention, and thus obviousness would not be proper. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ) rejection(s), Drawing objections and the updated new art rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Additional prior art considered pertinent: see form 892.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERT F LONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731