DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the Remark filed on 11/11/25.
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 20-22, 39 was/were amended.
Claim(s) 1-27, 34-39 is/are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-27, 34-39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng, U.S. Pub/Patent No. US 2024/0276251 A1 in view of Yuan, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 2024/0243985 A1.
As to claim 1, Zhen teaches a method implemented by processing circuitry of a user equipment (UE), the method comprising:
detecting a first beam failure associated with a first transmission and reception point (TRP) of a cell that includes a plurality of TRPs (Zheng, page 7, paragraph 66; i.e., [0066] A BFR procedure may be employed in a multi-TRP operation. For an SCell BFR, when a beam failure is detected in one TRP ( e.g., a first TRP) of one SCell, an SCell BFR procedure may be employed. When the beam failure is detected in the first TRP, the UE may transmit the SR via the PUCCH resource with a spatial relation towards a second TRP for BFR. A multi-TRP BFR MAC-CE (or truncated multi-TRP BFR MAC-CE) may include a failed TRP index. For an SpCell BFR, when a beam failure is detected in one TRP ( e.g., a first TRP) and BFR is triggered, the BFR procedure may be performed via another TRP ( e.g., a second TRP) rather than using a RACH);
determining whether a plurality of beam failures associated with the cell have been detected (Zheng, page 7, paragraph 66; i.e., [0066] A BFR procedure may be employed in a multi-TRP operation. For an SCell BFR, when a beam failure is detected in one TRP ( e.g., a first TRP) of one SCell, an SCell BFR procedure may be employed. When the beam failure is detected in the first TRP, the UE may transmit the SR via the PUCCH resource with a spatial relation towards a second TRP for BFR. A multi-TRP BFR MAC-CE (or truncated multi-TRP BFR MAC-CE) may include a failed TRP index. For an SpCell BFR, when a beam failure is detected in one TRP ( e.g., a first TRP) and BFR is triggered, the BFR procedure may be performed via another TRP ( e.g., a second TRP) rather than using a RACH).
But Zheng failed to teach the claim limitation wherein determining configuration information of the UE indicating whether a TRP beam failure recovery (BFR) procedure can be supported by the UE; initiating, after determining the configuration information of the UE, a cell BFR procedure based on the determining whether a plurality of beam failures have been detected and on the configuration information.
However, Yuan teaches the limitation wherein determining configuration information of the UE indicating whether a TRP beam failure recovery (BFR) procedure can be supported by the UE(Yuan, figure 5; page 2, paragraph 23; page 8, paragraph 71; page 9, paragraph 82-83; i.e., [0023] a cell specific BFR may enable the UE to provide the base station with beam failure information in a more efficient manner and may enable the base station to quickly address the beam failure; [0071] For example, when a beam failure is detected in a first TRP, the beam for the second TRP may be about to fail, in failure, or not in failure. In view of the possibility of separate operation of two TRP-specific BFRs, aspects presented herein provide conditions that may trigger the UE to send a cell-specific BFR instead of separate TRP-specific BFR; [0082] For example, the first TRP 503 may send one or more reference signals 507 for beam failure detections to the UE 502. The UE 502 may measure the one or more reference signals 507 and detect the first beam failure at the first TRP ); initiating, after determining the configuration information of the UE, a cell BFR procedure based on the determining whether a plurality of beam failures have been detected and on the configuration information (Yuan, figure 5; page 2, paragraph 23; page 8, paragraph 71; page 9, paragraph 82-83; i.e., [0023] a cell specific BFR may enable the UE to provide the base station with beam failure information in a more efficient manner and may enable the base station to quickly address the beam failure; [0071] For example, when a beam failure is detected in a first TRP, the beam for the second TRP may be about to fail, in failure, or not in failure. In view of the possibility of separate operation of two TRP-specific BFRs, aspects presented herein provide conditions that may trigger the UE to send a cell-specific BFR instead of separate TRP-specific BFR).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Zheng to substitute mMTC from Yuan for wireless communication system from Zheng to meet new requirements associated with latency, reliability, security, scalability ( e.g., with Internet of Things (IOT)), and other requirements (Yuan, page 1, paragraph 3).
As to claim 2, Zheng-Yuan teaches the method as recited in claim 1, wherein the cell is a special cell (SpCell) that includes a primary cell (PCell) or a primary secondary cell group cell (PSCell), and wherein the cell BFR procedure is performed upon determining that the plurality of beam failures are detected and upon determining that the TRP BFR procedure can be supported by the UE and has been initiated in association with a second TRP but has not been completed yet (Zheng, page 6, paragraph 56-57; i.e., [0056] the MAC entity may instruct a multiplexing and assembly procedure to generate the BFR MAC-CE. Otherwise, when the uplink shared channel resources are available for the new transmission and the uplink SCH resources may accommodate a truncated BFR MAC-CE and a sub-header as a result of LCP, the MAC entity may instruct the multiplexing and assembly procedure to generate the truncated BFR MAC-CE. [0057] A plurality of BFRs (e.g., all BFRs) triggered for an SCell may be canceled when a MAC protocol data unit (PDU) is transmitted, and the MAC PDU includes the BFR MAC-CE ( or the truncated BFR MAC-CE), which may contain beam failure information of the SCell).
As to claim 3, Zheng-Yuan teaches the method as recited in claim 1, wherein the TRP BFR procedure is configured for the UE based on configuration information, wherein the configuration information includes BFR special request (BFR-SR) resource on a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) (Zheng, page 6, paragraph 51, 56-57; i.e., [0051] means for detecting a beam failure at a second TRP associated with the serving cell or another serving cell; and/or means for transmitting, to the base station, the SR via a second SR PUCCH resource with a spatial relation configured for the SR; [0056] When the BFR procedure determines that at least one BFR has been triggered and not canceled for an SCell for which an evaluation of candidate beams has been completed, and the BFR MAC-CE and a sub-header as a result of logical channel prioritization (LCP), the MAC entity may instruct a multiplexing and assembly procedure to generate the BFR MAC-CE. [0057] A plurality of BFRs (e.g., all BFRs) triggered for an SCell may be canceled when a MAC protocol data unit (PDU) is transmitted, and the MAC PDU includes the BFR MAC-CE ( or the truncated BFR MAC-CE), which may contain beam failure information of the SCell).
As to claim 4, Zheng-Yuan teaches the method as recited in claim 1, wherein the cell is a special cell (SpCell) that includes a primary cell (PCell) or a primary secondary cell group cell (PSCell), and wherein the cell BFR procedure is performed upon determining that only one beam failure is detected and determining that no TRP BFR procedure can be supported by the UE (Zheng, page 7, paragraph 66; i.e., [0066] A BFR procedure may be employed in a multi-TRP operation. For an SCell BFR, when a beam failure is detected in one TRP ( e.g., a first TRP) of one SCell, an SCell BFR procedure may be employed. AUE may transmit an SR via a PUCCH resource in a workable TRP to request an uplink grant, where the workable TRP may be a non-failed TRP with a workable PUCCH resource. When the beam failure is detected in the first TRP, the UE may transmit the SR via the PUCCH resource with a spatial relation towards a second TRP for BFR. A multi-TRP BFR MAC-CE (or truncated multi-TRP BFR MAC-CE) may include a failed TRP index. For an SpCell BFR, when a beam failure is detected in one TRP ( e.g., a first TRP) and BFR is triggered, the BFR procedure may be performed via another TRP ( e.g., a second TRP) rather than using a RACH).
As to claim 5, Zheng-Yuan teaches the method as recited in claim 1, wherein the cell is a special cell (SpCell) that includes a primary cell (PCell) or a primary secondary cell group cell (PSCell), and wherein the cell BFR procedure is performed upon determining that a second beam failure associated with a second TRP of the cell is detected and upon determining that the TRP BFR procedure can be supported by the UE based on configuration information associated with the second TRP and not the first TRP (Zheng, page 7, paragraph 66; i.e., [0066] A BFR procedure may be employed in a multi-TRP operation. For an SCell BFR, when a beam failure is detected in one TRP ( e.g., a first TRP) of one SCell, an SCell BFR procedure may be employed. When the beam failure is detected in the first TRP, the UE may transmit the SR via the PUCCH resource with a spatial relation towards a second TRP for BFR. A multi-TRP BFR MAC-CE (or truncated multi-TRP BFR MAC-CE) may include a failed TRP indexFor an SpCell BFR, when a beam failure is detected in one TRP ( e.g., a first TRP) and BFR is triggered, the BFR procedure may be performed via another TRP ( e.g., a second TRP) rather than using a RACH).
As to claim 6, Zheng-Yuan teaches the method as recited in claim 1, wherein canceling the cell BFR procedure (Zheng, page 6, paragraph 56-57; i.e., [0056] When the BFR procedure determines that at least one BFR has been triggered and not canceled for an SCell for which an evaluation of candidate beams has been completed. Otherwise, when the uplink shared channel resources are available for the new transmission and the uplink SCH resources may accommodate a truncated BFR MAC-CE and a sub-header as a result of LCP, the MAC entity may instruct the multiplexing and assembly procedure to generate the truncated BFR MAC-CE).
As to claim 7, Zheng-Yuan teaches the method as recited in claim 1, further comprising:
determining, after the cell BFR procedure is initiated, an opportunity to send first BFR information associated with the first beam failure to a network (Zheng, page 6, paragraph 56-57; i.e., [0056] When the BFR procedure determines that at least one BFR has been triggered and not canceled for an SCell for which an evaluation of candidate beams has been completed, and the BFR MAC-CE and a sub-header as a result of logical channel prioritization (LCP), the MAC entity may instruct a multiplexing and assembly procedure to generate the BFR MAC-CE); and
canceling, based on the opportunity, the cell BFR procedure (Zheng, page 6, paragraph 56-57; i.e., [0056] When the BFR procedure determines that at least
one BFR has been triggered and not canceled for an SCell for which an evaluation of candidate beams has been completed. Otherwise, when the uplink shared channel resources are available for the new transmission and the uplink SCH resources may accommodate a truncated BFR MAC-CE and a sub-header as a result of LCP, the MAC entity may instruct the multiplexing and assembly procedure to generate the truncated BFR MAC-CE).
As to claim 8, Zheng-Yuan teaches the method as recited in claim 7, further comprising:
initiating the TRP BFR procedure for a second beam failure associated with a second TRP of the cell (Zheng, page 7, paragraph 66; i.e., [0066] A BFR procedure may be employed in a multi-TRP operation. For an SCell BFR, when a beam failure is detected in one TRP ( e.g., a first TRP) of one SCell, an SCell BFR procedure may be employed. When the beam failure is detected in the first TRP, the UE may transmit the SR via the PUCCH resource with a spatial relation towards a second TRP for BFR. A multi-TRP BFR MAC-CE (or truncated multi-TRP BFR MAC-CE) may include a failed TRP index);
processing an uplink grant based on the TRP BFR procedure (Zheng, page 7, paragraph 66; i.e., [0066] A BFR procedure may be employed in a multi-TRP operation. For an SCell BFR, when a beam failure is detected in one TRP ( e.g., a first TRP) of one SCell, an SCell BFR procedure may be employed. AUE may transmit an SR via a PUCCH resource in a workable TRP to request an uplink grant, where the workable TRP may be a non-failed TRP with a workable PUCCH resource); and
generating, for transmission to the network based on the uplink grant, a media access control (MAC) control element (CE), wherein the opportunity includes the sending of the MAC CE (Zheng, page 7, paragraph 66; i.e., [0066] When the beam failure is detected in the first TRP, the UE may transmit the SR via the PUCCH resource with a spatial relation towards a second TRP for BFR. A multi-TRP BFR MAC-CE (or truncated multi-TRP BFR MAC-CE) may include a failed TRP index. An indication of a VE-preferred new beam (when detected) may be transmitted via a granted uplink resource. For an SpCell BFR, when a beam failure is detected in one TRP ( e.g., a first TRP) and BFR is triggered, the BFR procedure may be performed via another TRP ( e.g., a second TRP) rather than using a RACH).
As to claim 9, Zheng-Yuan teaches the method as recited in claim 8, wherein the uplink grant is received after the cell BFR procedure is initiated and before the MAC CE is sent, wherein the MAC CE includes the first BFR information and second BFR information associated with the second beam failure (Zheng, page 8, paragraph 87; i.e., [0087] a UE (e.g., UE 120) may detect a beam failure in a first TRP, and an SR may be triggered via a PUCCH resource of a workable TRP, such as a second TRP. The workable TRP may be one SR PUCCH resource with a workable spatial relation. When the UE further detects the beam failure in the second TRP in the same and/or other SCells while no uplink grant is available, the UE may transmit the SR via a PUCCH resource with a spatial relation configured within the same SR).
As to claim 10, Zheng-Yuan teaches the method as recited in claim 8, wherein generating another MAC CE that includes the first BFR information (Zheng, page 8, paragraph 87; i.e., [0087] a UE (e.g., UE 120) may detect a beam failure in a first TRP, and an SR may be triggered via a PUCCH resource of a workable TRP, such as a second TRP. The workable TRP may be one SR PUCCH resource with a workable spatial relation. When the UE further detects the beam failure in the second TRP in the same and/or other SCells while no uplink grant is available, the UE may transmit the SR via a PUCCH resource with a spatial relation configured within the same SR).
As to claim 11, Zheng-Yuan teaches the method as recited in claim 7, further comprising:
processing an uplink grant received after the cell BFR procedure is initiated (Zheng, page 8, paragraph 84; i.e., [0084] The UE may receive, from the base station, an uplink grant prior to an expiry of the timer. The UE may transmit, to the base station via the uplink grant, a multi-TRP BFR MAC-CE or a truncated multi-TRP BFR MAC-CE that indicates a failed TRP index and a UE preferred new beam); and
generating, for transmission to the network based on the uplink grant, a media access control (MAC) control element (CE) that includes the first BFR information, wherein the opportunity includes the sending of the MAC CE (Zheng, page 7, paragraph 66; i.e., [0066] A BFR procedure may be employed in a multi-TRP operation. For an SCell BFR, when a beam failure is detected in one TRP ( e.g., a first TRP) of one SCell, an SCell BFR procedure may be employed. When the beam failure is detected in the first TRP, the UE may transmit the SR via the PUCCH resource with a spatial relation towards a second TRP for BFR. A multi-TRP BFR MAC-CE (or truncated multi-TRP BFR MAC-CE) may include a failed TRP index).
As to claim 12, Zheng-Yuan teaches the method as recited in claim 1, further comprising:
prior to initiating the cell BFR procedure, initiating the TRP BFR procedure for a 3 second beam failure associated with a second TRP of the cell (Zheng, page 8, paragraph 84; i.e., [0084] The UE may receive, from the base station, an uplink grant prior to an expiry of the timer. The UE may transmit, to the base station via the uplink grant, a multi-TRP BFR MAC-CE or a truncated multi-TRP BFR MAC-CE that indicates a failed TRP index and a UE preferred new beam); and
canceling the TRP BFR procedure based on the initiating of the cell BFR procedure (Zheng, page 6, paragraph 56-57; i.e., [0056] Otherwise, when the uplink shared channel resources are available for the new transmission and the uplink SCH resources may accommodate a truncated BFR MAC-CE and a sub-header as a result of LCP, the MAC entity may instruct the multiplexing and assembly procedure to generate the truncated BFR MAC-CE. Otherwise, the MAC entity may trigger an SR for an SCell BFR for each SCell for which BFR has been triggered, not canceled, and for which an evaluation of candidate beams has been completed; [0057] A plurality of BFRs (e.g., all BFRs) triggered for an SCell may be canceled when a MAC protocol data unit (PDU) is transmitted, and the MAC PDU includes the BFR MAC-CE ( or the truncated BFR MAC-CE), which may contain beam failure information of the SCell).
As to claim 13, Zheng-Yuan teaches the method as recited in claim 12, wherein the TRP BFR procedure includes receiving an uplink grant and sending, based on the uplink grant, BFR information associated with the first beam failure to a network, and wherein the TRP BFR procedure is canceled after the cell BFR procedure is initiated and before the BFR information is sent (Zheng, page 6, paragraph 56-57; i.e., [0056] When the BFR procedure determines that at least one BFR has been triggered and not canceled for an SCell for which an evaluation of candidate beams has been completed. Otherwise, when the uplink shared channel resources are available for the new transmission and the uplink SCH resources may accommodate a truncated BFR MAC-CE; [0057] A plurality of BFRs (e.g., all BFRs) triggered for an SCell may be canceled when a MAC protocol data unit (PDU) is transmitted, and the MAC PDU includes the BFR MAC-CE ( or the truncated BFR MAC-CE), which may contain beam failure information of the SCell).
As to claim 14, Zheng-Yuan teaches the method as recited in claim 12, wherein the TRP BFR procedure includes receiving an uplink grant and sending, based on the uplink grant, BFR information associated with the first beam failure to a network, and wherein the TRP BFR procedure is canceled after the cell BFR procedure is initiated and after the BFR information is sent (Zheng, page 6, paragraph 56-57; i.e., [0056] Otherwise, when the uplink shared channel resources are available for the new transmission and the uplink SCH resources may accommodate a truncated BFR MAC-CE and a sub-header as a result of LCP, the MAC entity may instruct the multiplexing and assembly procedure to generate the truncated BFR MAC-CE. Otherwise, the MAC entity may trigger an SR for an SCell BFR for each SCell for which BFR has been triggered, not canceled; [0057] A plurality of BFRs (e.g., all BFRs) triggered for an SCell may be canceled when a MAC protocol data unit (PDU) is transmitted, and the MAC PDU includes the BFR MAC-CE ( or the truncated BFR MAC-CE), which may contain beam failure information of the SCell).
As to claim 15, Zheng-Yuan teaches the method as recited in claim 1. further comprising:
prior to initiating the cell BFR procedure, initiating the TRP BFR procedure for a second beam failure associated with a second TRP of the cell (Zheng, page 8, paragraph 84; i.e., [0084] The UE may receive, from the base station, an uplink grant prior to an expiry of the timer. The UE may transmit, to the base station via the uplink grant, a multi-TRP BFR MAC-CE or a truncated multi-TRP BFR MAC-CE that indicates a failed TRP index and a UE preferred new beam);
generating, based on the TRP BFR procedure, second BFR information associated with the second beam failure for transmission to a network (Zheng, page 7, paragraph 66; i.e., [0066] A BFR procedure may be employed in a multi-TRP operation. For an SCell BFR, when a beam failure is detected in one TRP ( e.g., a first TRP) of one SCell, an SCell BFR procedure may be employed. A multi-TRP BFR MAC-CE (or truncated multi-TRP BFR MAC-CE) may include a failed TRP index. An indication of a VE-preferred new beam (when detected) may be transmitted via a granted uplink resource. For an SpCell BFR, when a beam failure is detected in one TRP ( e.g., a first TRP) and BFR is triggered, the BFR procedure may be performed via another TRP ( e.g., a second TRP) rather than using a RACH); and
generating, based on the cell BFR procedure, first BFR information associated with the first beam failure for transmission to the network (Zheng, page 7, paragraph 66; i.e., [0066] A BFR procedure may be employed in a multi-TRP operation. For an SCell BFR, when a beam failure is detected in one TRP ( e.g., a first TRP) of one SCell, an SCell BFR procedure may be employed. When the beam failure is detected in the first TRP, the UE may transmit the SR via the PUCCH resource with a spatial relation towards a second TRP for BFR. A multi-TRP BFR MAC-CE (or truncated multi-TRP BFR MAC-CE) may include a failed TRP index. An indication of a VE-preferred new beam (when detected) may be transmitted via a granted uplink resource. For an SpCell BFR, when a beam failure is detected in one TRP ( e.g., a first TRP) and BFR is triggered, the BFR procedure may be performed via another TRP ( e.g., a second TRP)).
As to claim 16, Zheng-Yuan teaches the method as recited in claim 15, wherein the first BFR information is sent in a message of the cell BFR procedure, and wherein the message indicates that the second BFR information has been previously sent (Zheng, page 6, paragraph 56-57; i.e., [0056] When the BFR procedure determines that at least one BFR has been triggered and not canceled for an SCell for which an evaluation of candidate beams has been completed; [0057] A plurality of BFRs (e.g., all BFRs) triggered for an SCell may be canceled when a MAC protocol data unit (PDU) is transmitted, and the MAC PDU includes the BFR MAC-CE ( or the truncated BFR MAC-CE), which may contain beam failure information of the SCell).
As to claim 17, Zheng-Yuan teaches the method as recited in claim 1, further comprising:
prior to initiating the cell BFR procedure, initiating the TRP BFR procedure for a second beam failure associated with a second TRP of the cell, wherein the TRP BFR procedure includes receiving an uplink grant and sending second BFR information associated with the second beam failure to a network (Zheng, page 8, paragraph 84; i.e., [0084] The UE may receive, from the base station, an uplink grant prior to an expiry of the timer. The UE may transmit, to the base station via the uplink grant, a multi-TRP BFR MAC-CE or a truncated multi-TRP BFR MAC-CE that indicates a failed TRP index and a UE preferred new beam);
generating, for transmission to the network based on the cell BFR procedure, a truncated media access control (MAC) control element (CE) that includes first BFR information associated with the first beam failure (Zheng, page 7, paragraph 66; i.e., [0066] When the beam failure is detected in the first TRP, the UE may transmit the SR via the PUCCH resource with a spatial relation towards a second TRP for BFR. A multi-TRP BFR MAC-CE (or truncated multi-TRP BFR MAC-CE) may include a failed TRP index. An indication of a VE-preferred new beam (when detected) may be transmitted via a granted uplink resource. For an SpCell BFR, when a beam failure is detected in one TRP ( e.g., a first TRP) and BFR is triggered, the BFR procedure may be performed via another TRP ( e.g., a second TRP));
processing, after the truncated MAC CE is sent, the uplink grant (Zheng, page 8, paragraph 84; i.e., [0084] The UE may receive, from the base station, an uplink grant prior to an expiry of the timer. The UE may transmit, to the base station via the uplink grant, a multi-TRP BFR MAC-CE or a truncated multi-TRP BFR MAC-CE that indicates a failed TRP index and a UE preferred new beam); and
generating, based on the uplink grant, at least a second portion of the second BFR information (Zheng, page 7, paragraph 66; i.e., [0066] A BFR procedure may be employed in a multi-TRP operation. For an SCell BFR, when a beam failure is detected in one TRP ( e.g., a first TRP) of one SCell, an SCell BFR procedure may be employed. AUE may transmit an SR via a PUCCH resource in a workable TRP to request an uplink grant, where the workable TRP may be a non-failed TRP with a workable PUCCH resource. An indication of a VE-preferred new beam (when detected) may be transmitted via a granted uplink resource. For an SpCell BFR, when a beam failure is detected in one TRP ( e.g., a first TRP) and BFR is triggered, the BFR procedure may be performed via another TRP ( e.g., a second TRP)).
As to claim 18, Zheng-Yuan teaches the method as recited in claim 1, further comprising:
prior to initiating the cell BFR procedure, initiating the TRP BFR procedure for a second beam failure associated with a second TRP of the cell (Zheng, page 8, paragraph 84; i.e., [0084] The UE may receive, from the base station, an uplink grant prior to an expiry of the timer. The UE may transmit, to the base station via the uplink grant, a multi-TRP BFR MAC-CE or a truncated multi-TRP BFR MAC-CE that indicates a failed TRP index and a UE preferred new beam); and
generating, for transmission to a network based on the cell BFR procedure, a message that includes first BFR information associated with the first beam failure and second BFR information with the second beam failure (Zheng, page 6, paragraph 56-57; i.e., [0056] When the BFR procedure determines that at least one BFR has been triggered and not canceled for an SCell for which an evaluation of candidate beams has been completed. Otherwise, when the uplink shared channel resources are available for the new transmission and the uplink SCH resources may accommodate a truncated BFR MAC-CE. Otherwise, the MAC entity may trigger an SR for an SCell BFR for each SCell for which BFR has been triggered, not canceled, and for which an evaluation of candidate beams has been completed; [0057] A plurality of BFRs (e.g., all BFRs) triggered for an SCell may be canceled when a MAC protocol data unit (PDU) is transmitted, and the MAC PDU includes the BFR MAC-CE ( or the truncated BFR MAC-CE), which may contain beam failure information of the SCell).
As to claim 19, Zheng-Yuan teaches the method as recited in claim 1, further comprising:
prior to initiating the cell BFR procedure, initiating the TRP BFR procedure for a second beam failure associated with a second TRP of the cell, wherein the TRP BFR procedure includes sending second BFR information with the second beam failure to a network (Zheng, page 8, paragraph 84; i.e., [0084] The UE may receive, from the base station, an uplink grant prior to an expiry of the timer. The UE may transmit, to the base station via the uplink grant, a multi-TRP BFR MAC-CE or a truncated multi-TRP BFR MAC-CE that indicates a failed TRP index and a UE preferred new beam);
selecting one of first BFR information or the second BFR information to send in a message associated with the cell BFR procedure, wherein the first BFR information is associated with the first beam failure (Zheng, page 8, paragraph 89; i.e., [0089] the UE may determine whether a beam failure is detected in a second TRP in the same and/or other SCells. When the beam failure is detected in the second TRP in the same and/or other SCells. As shown by reference number 610, after the VE transmits the SR via the PVCCH resource with the spatial relation configured within the same SR and after the uplink grant is received, the VE may transmit a BFR for a multi-TRP MAC-CE ( or a truncated multi-TRP MAC-CE) including a failed TRP index and a VE-preferred new beam (when detected) via a granted uplink resource); and
generating the message, wherein the message includes the selected one of the first BFR information or the second BFR information (Zheng, page 6, paragraph 56-57; i.e., [0056] Otherwise, the MAC entity may trigger an SR for an SCell BFR for each SCell for which BFR has been triggered, not canceled, and for which an evaluation of candidate beams has been completed; [0057] A plurality of BFRs (e.g., all BFRs) triggered for an SCell may be canceled when a MAC protocol data unit (PDU) is transmitted, and the MAC PDU includes the BFR MAC-CE ( or the truncated BFR MAC-CE), which may contain beam failure information of the SCell).
As to claim 20, Zheng teaches an apparatus comprising:
processing circuitry configured to:
detect a first beam failure associated with a first transmission and reception point (TRP) of a cell that includes a plurality of TRPs (Zheng, page 7, paragraph 66; i.e., [0066] A BFR procedure may be employed in a multi-TRP operation. For an SCell BFR, when a beam failure is detected in one TRP ( e.g., a first TRP) of one SCell, an SCell BFR procedure may be employed. A multi-TRP BFR MAC-CE (or truncated multi-TRP BFR MAC-CE) may include a failed TRP index. An indication of a VE-preferred new beam (when detected) may be transmitted via a granted uplink resource. For an SpCell BFR, when a beam failure is detected in one TRP ( e.g., a first TRP) and BFR is triggered, the BFR procedure may be performed via another TRP ( e.g., a second TRP) rather than using a RACH);
determine that no uplink grant exists for sending, to a network communicatively coupled with a user equipment (UE), first BFR information associated with the first beam failure (Zheng, page 9, paragraph 102; i.e., [0102] the VE may transmit an SR via a PVCCH resource of a workable TRP (e.g., a second TRP) in the SpCell. When a beam failure is further detected in the second TRP ( or another TRP) of the same SpCell and no uplink grant is available, the UE may consider that both TRPs are failed in the SpCell. The UE may perform a RACH for BFR instead of using an SR for BFR, due to no workable TRP when both TRPs have failed. A multi-TRP BFR MACCE (or truncated multi-TRP BFR MAC-CE) may be transmitted via the RACH);
cause, based on the determining whether a first TRP BFR is configured, transmission of the first BFR information from the UE to the network by using the first TRP BFR procedure or a cell BFR procedure (Zheng, page 7, paragraph 66; page 10, paragraph 108; i.e., [0066] A BFR procedure may be employed in a multi-TRP operation. For an SCell BFR, when a beam failure is detected in one TRP ( e.g., a first TRP) of one SCell, an SCell BFR procedure may be employed. When the beam failure is detected in the first TRP, the UE may transmit the SR via the PUCCH resource with a spatial relation towards a second TRP for BFR. For an SpCell BFR, when a beam failure is detected in one TRP ( e.g., a first TRP) and BFR is triggered, the BFR procedure may be performed via another TRP ( e.g., a second TRP) rather than using a RACH; [0108] For example, the UE (e.g., using communication manager 140 and/or transmission component 1104, depicted in FIG. 11) may transmit, to a base station via a second TRP, an SR for a BFR via a first SR PUCCH resource).
But Zheng failed to teach the claim limitation wherein determine configuration information of the UE indicating whether a first TRP beam failure recovery (BFR) procedure can be supported by the UE.
However, Yuan teaches the limitation wherein determine configuration information of the UE indicating whether a first TRP beam failure recovery (BFR) procedure can be supported by the UE (Yuan, figure 5; page 2, paragraph 23; page 8, paragraph 71; page 9, paragraph 82-83; i.e., [0023] a cell specific BFR may enable the UE to provide the base station with beam failure information in a more efficient manner and may enable the base station to quickly address the beam failure; [0071] For example, when a beam failure is detected in a first TRP, the beam for the second TRP may be about to fail, in failure, or not in failure; [0082] As illustrated at 508, the UE 502 may detect a first beam failure. The UE may detect the first beam failure at a first TRP 503 of a cell. The first TRP 503 may be associated with the base station 504. For example, the first TRP 503 may send one or more reference signals 507 for beam failure detections to the UE 502. The UE 502 may measure the one or more reference signals 507 and detect the first beam failure at the first TRP ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Zheng to substitute mMTC from Yuan for wireless communication system from Zheng to meet new requirements associated with latency, reliability, security, scalability ( e.g., with Internet of Things (IOT)), and other requirements (Yuan, page 1, paragraph 3).
As to claim 21, Zheng-Yuan teaches the apparatus as recited in claim 20, wherein the cell is a secondary cell (SCell), and wherein 2 the first TRP BFR procedure is used instead of the cell BFR procedure based on determining that the first TRP BFR can be supported by the UE (Zheng, page 7, paragraph 66; i.e., [0066] A BFR procedure may be employed in a multi-TRP operation. For an SCell BFR, when a beam failure is detected in one TRP ( e.g., a first TRP) of one SCell, an SCell BFR procedure may be employed. When the beam failure is detected in the first TRP, the UE may transmit the SR via the PUCCH resource with a spatial relation towards a second TRP for BFR. An indication of a VE-preferred new beam (when detected) may be transmitted via a granted uplink resource. For an SpCell BFR, when a beam failure is detected in one TRP ( e.g., a first TRP) and BFR is triggered, the BFR procedure may be performed via another TRP ( e.g., a second TRP) rather than using a RACH).
As to claim 22, Zheng-Yuan teaches the apparatus as recited in claim 20, wherein the cell is a secondary cell (SCell), and wherein the cell BFR procedure is used instead of the first TRP BFR procedure based on determining that the first TRP BFR cannot be supported by the UE (Zheng, page 7, paragraph 66; i.e., [0066] A BFR procedure may be employed in a multi-TRP operation. For an SCell BFR, when a beam failure is detected in one TRP ( e.g., a first TRP) of one SCell, an SCell BFR procedure may be employed. When the beam failure is detected in the first TRP, the UE may transmit the SR via the PUCCH resource with a spatial relation towards a second TRP for BFR. A multi-TRP BFR MAC-CE (or truncated multi-TRP BFR MAC-CE) may include a failed TRP index. An indication of a VE-preferred new beam (when detected) may be transmitted via a granted uplink resource. For an SpCell BFR, when a beam failure is detected in one TRP ( e.g., a first TRP) and BFR is triggered).
As to claim 23, Zheng-Yuan teaches the apparatus as recited in claim 20, wherein the cell is a secondary cell (SCell), wherein the TRP BFR procedure is used instead of the cell BFR procedure, and wherein the processing circuity is further configured to:
detect a second beam failure associated with a second TRP of the cell (Zheng, page 7, paragraph 66; i.e., [0066] For an SCell BFR, when a beam failure is detected in one TRP ( e.g., a first TRP) of one SCell, an SCell BFR procedure may be employed. When the beam failure is detected in the first TRP, the UE may transmit the SR via the PUCCH resource with a spatial relation towards a second TRP for BFR. A multi-TRP BFR MAC-CE (or truncated multi-TRP BFR MAC-CE) may include a failed TRP index. An indication of a VE-preferred new beam (when detected) may be transmitted via a granted uplink resource. For an SpCell BFR, when a beam failure is detected in one TRP ( e.g., a first TRP) and BFR is triggered, the BFR procedure may be performed via another TRP ( e.g., a second TRP) rather than using a RACH); and
initiate a second TRP BFR procedure to send, to the network, second BFR information associated with the second beam failure (Zheng, page 7, paragraph 66; i.e., [0066] A BFR procedure may be employed in a multi-TRP operation. For an SCell BFR, when a beam failure is detected in one TRP ( e.g., a first TRP) of one SCell, an SCell BFR procedure may be employed. When the beam failure is detected in the first TRP, the UE may transmit the SR via the PUCCH resource with a spatial relation towards a second TRP for BFR. A multi-TRP BFR MAC-CE (or truncated multi-TRP BFR MAC-CE) may include a failed TRP index. An indication of a VE-preferred new beam (when detected) may be transmitted via a granted uplink resource. For an SpCell BFR, when a beam failure is detected in one TRP ( e.g., a first TRP) and BFR is triggered, the BFR procedure may be performed via another TRP ( e.g., a second TRP) rather than using a RACH).
As to claim 24, Zheng-Yuan teaches the apparatus as recited in claim 23, wherein the first TRP procedure and the second TRP procedure are used separately to send the first BFR information and the second BFR information separately (Zheng, page 7, paragraph 66; i.e., [0066] A BFR procedure may be employed in a multi-TRP operation. For an SCell BFR, when a beam failure is detected in one TRP ( e.g., a first TRP) of one SCell, an SCell BFR procedure may be employed. AUE may transmit an SR via a PUCCH resource in a workable TRP to request an uplink grant, where the workable TRP may be a non-failed TRP with a workable PUCCH resource. When the beam failure is detected in the first TRP, the UE may transmit the SR via the PUCCH resource with a spatial relation towards a second TRP for BFR. A multi-TRP BFR MAC-CE (or truncated multi-TRP BFR MAC-CE) may include a failed TRP index).
As to claim 25, Zheng-Yuan teaches the apparatus as recited in claim 23, wherein the processing circuity is further configured to:
initiate the first TRP BFR procedure (Zheng, page 7, paragraph 66; i.e., [0066] A BFR procedure may be employed in a multi-TRP operation. For an SCell BFR, when a beam failure is detected in one TRP ( e.g., a first TRP) of one SCell, an SCell BFR procedure may be employed. When the beam failure is detected in the first TRP, the UE may transmit the SR via the PUCCH resource with a spatial relation towards a second TRP for BFR. A multi-TRP BFR MAC-CE (or truncated multi-TRP BFR MAC-CE) may include a failed TRP index. An indication of a VE-preferred new beam (when detected) may be transmitted via a granted uplink resource. For an SpCell BFR, when a beam failure is detected in one TRP ( e.g., a first TRP) and BFR is triggered); and
cancel, after the first TRP BFR procedure, the second TRP BFR procedure (Zheng, page 6, paragraph 56-57; i.e., [0056] When the BFR procedure determines that at least one BFR has been triggered and not canceled for an SCell for which an evaluation of candidate beams has been completed, and the uplink SCH resources may accommodate the BFR MAC-CE and a sub-header as a result of logical channel prioritization (LCP), the MAC entity may instruct a multiplexing and assembly procedure to generate the BFR MAC-CE. Otherwise, the MAC entity may trigger an SR for an SCell BFR for each SCell for which BFR has been triggered, not canceled, and for which an evaluation of candidate beams has been completed; [0057] A plurality of BFRs (e.g., all BFRs) triggered for an SCell may be canceled when a MAC protocol data unit (PDU) is transmitted, and the MAC PDU includes the BFR MAC-CE ( or the truncated BFR MAC-CE), which may contain beam failure information of the SCell).
As to claim 26, Zheng-Yuan teaches the apparatus as recited in claim 25, wherein the first BFR information and the second BFR information are sent using the first TRP BFR procedure (Zheng, page 8, paragraph 87; i.e., [0087] a UE (e.g., UE 120) may detect a beam failure in a first TRP, and an SR may be triggered via a PUCCH resource of a workable TRP, such as a second TRP. The workable TRP may be one SR PUCCH resource with a workable spatial relation. When the UE further detects the beam failure in the second TRP in the same and/or other SCells while no uplink grant is available, the UE may transmit the SR via a PUCCH resource with a spatial relation configured within the same SR).
As to claim 27, Zheng-Yuan teaches the apparatus as recited in claim 26, wherein the first BFR information and the second BFR information are sent in a same media access control (MAC) control element (CE) or separate MAC CEs (Zheng, page 7, paragraph 66; i.e., [0066] A BFR procedure may be employed in a multi-TRP operation. For an SCell BFR, when a beam failure is detected in one TRP ( e.g., a first TRP) of one SCell, an SCell BFR procedure may be employed. When the beam failure is detected in the first TRP, the UE may transmit the SR via the PUCCH resource with a spatial relation towards a second TRP for BFR. A multi-TRP BFR MAC-CE (or truncated multi-TRP BFR MAC-CE) may include a failed TRP index).
As to claim 34, Zheng-Yuan teaches the apparatus as recited in claim 20, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to:
generate a media access control (MAC) control element (CE) that indicates the first BFR information associated with the first beam failure and second information about a second TRP of the cell (Zheng, page 7, paragraph 66; i.e., [0066] When the beam failure is detected in the first TRP, the UE may transmit the SR via the PUCCH resource with a spatial relation towards a second TRP for BFR. A multi-TRP BFR MAC-CE (or truncated multi-TRP BFR MAC-CE) may include a failed TRP index. An indication of a VE-preferred new beam (when detected) may be transmitted via a granted uplink resource. For an SpCell BFR, when a beam failure is detected in one TRP ( e.g., a first TRP) and BFR is triggered, the BFR procedure may be performed via another TRP ( e.g., a second TRP) rather than using a RACH); and
cause transmission of the MAC CE to the network (Zheng, page 7, paragraph 66; i.e., [0066] A multi-TRP BFR MAC-CE (or truncated multi-TRP BFR MAC-CE) may include a failed TRP index. An indication of a VE-preferred new beam (when detected) may be transmitted via a granted uplink resource. For an SpCell BFR, when a beam failure is detected in one TRP ( e.g., a first TRP) and BFR is triggered, the BFR procedure may be performed via another TRP ( e.g., a second TRP) rather than using a RACH).
As to claim 35, Zheng-Yuan teaches the apparatus as recited in claim 34, wherein the MAC CE includes a first field associated with the first TRP and a second field associated with the second TRP, wherein the first field indicates the first beam failure, and wherein the second field indicates whether a second beam failure associated with the second TRP is detected (Zheng, page 6, paragraph 56-57; i.e., [0056] When the BFR procedure determines that at least one BFR has been triggered and not canceled for an SCell for which an evaluation of candidate beams has been completed. Otherwise, when the uplink shared channel resources are available for the new transmission and the uplink SCH resources may accommodate a truncated BFR MAC-CE and a sub-header as a result of LCP, the MAC entity may instruct the multiplexing and assembly procedure to generate the truncated BFR MAC-CE. Otherwise, the MAC entity may trigger an SR for an SCell BFR for each SCell for which BFR has been triggered, not canceled, and for which an evaluation of candidate beams has been completed; [0057] A plurality of BFRs (e.g., all BFRs) triggered for an SCell may be canceled when a MAC protocol data unit (PDU) is transmitted, and the MAC PDU includes the BFR MAC-CE ( or the truncated BFR MAC-CE), which may contain beam failure information of the SCell).
As to claim 36, Zheng-Yuan teaches the apparatus as recited in claim 34, wherein the MAC CE is a truncated MAC CE that includes a first field associated with the first TRP and a second field that includes BFR information associated with the first beam failure (Zheng, page 7, paragraph 66; i.e., [0066] A BFR procedure may be employed in a multi-TRP operation. For an SCell BFR, when a beam failure is detected in one TRP ( e.g., a first TRP) of one SCell, an SCell BFR procedure may be employed. When the beam failure is detected in the first TRP, the UE may transmit the SR via the PUCCH resource with a spatial relation towards a second TRP for BFR. A multi-TRP BFR MAC-CE (or truncated multi-TRP BFR MAC-CE) may include a failed TRP index. An indication of a VE-preferred new beam (when detected) may be transmitted via a granted uplink resource. For an SpCell BFR, when a beam failure is detected in one TRP ( e.g., a first TRP) and BFR is triggered).
As to claim 37, Zheng-Yuan teaches the apparatus as recited in claim 34, wherein the MAC CE is a truncated MAC CE that includes a first field associated with the first TRP and a second field that excludes BFR information associated with the first beam failure (Zheng, page 7, paragraph 66; i.e., [0066] A BFR procedure may be employed in a multi-TRP operation. For an SCell BFR, when a beam failure is detected in one TRP ( e.g., a first TRP) of one SCell, an SCell BFR procedure may be employed. AUE may transmit an SR via a PUCCH resource in a workable TRP to request an uplink grant, where the workable TRP may be a non-failed TRP with a workable PUCCH resource. When the beam failure is detected in the first TRP, the UE may transmit the SR via the PUCCH resource with a spatial relation towards a second TRP for BFR. A multi-TRP BFR MAC-CE (or truncated multi-TRP BFR MAC-CE) may include a failed TRP index).
As to claim 38, Zheng-Yuan teaches the apparatus as recited in claim 28, wherein the MAC CE includes a first field indicating whether a plurality of beam failures are detected for the cell and a second field indicating a TRP index of the first TRP (Zheng, page 6, paragraph 56-57; i.e., [0056] When the BFR procedure determines that at least one BFR has been triggered and not canceled for an SCell for which an evaluation of candidate beams has been completed. Otherwise, when the uplink shared channel resources are available for the new transmission and the uplink SCH resources may accommodate a truncated BFR MAC-CE and a sub-header as a result of LCP, the MAC entity may instruct the multiplexing and assembly procedure to generate the truncated BFR MAC-CE; [0057] A plurality of BFRs (e.g., all BFRs) triggered for an SCell may be canceled when a MAC protocol data unit (PDU) is transmitted, and the MAC PDU includes the BFR MAC-CE ( or the truncated BFR MAC-CE), which may contain beam failure information of the SCell).
As to claim 39, Zheng teaches one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media storing instructions, that upon execution, cause operations comprising:
generating, for transmission to a user equipment (UE), configuration information indicating that a plurality of beam failure recovery (BFR) procedures are configured for the UE, the plurality of BFR procedures including a transmission and reception point (TRP) BFR procedure and a cell BFR procedure (Zheng, page 7, paragraph 66; i.e., [0066] A BFR procedure may be employed in a multi-TRP operation. For an SCell BFR, when a beam failure is detected in one TRP ( e.g., a first TRP) of one SCell, an SCell BFR procedure may be employed. AUE may transmit an SR via a PUCCH resource in a workable TRP to request an uplink grant, where the workable TRP may be a non-failed TRP with a workable PUCCH resource. When the beam failure is detected in the first TRP, the UE may transmit the SR via the PUCCH resource with a spatial relation towards a second TRP for BFR. A multi-TRP BFR MAC-CE (or truncated multi-TRP BFR MAC-CE) may include a failed TRP index);
generating, for transmission to the UE via TRP of a cell that includes a plurality of TRPs, a signal (Zheng, page 7, paragraph 66; i.e., [0066] A BFR procedure may be employed in a multi-TRP operation. For an SCell BFR, when a beam failure is detected in one TRP ( e.g., a first TRP) of one SCell, an SCell BFR procedure may be employed. When the beam failure is detected in the first TRP, the UE may transmit the SR via the PUCCH resource with a spatial relation towards a second TRP for BFR. An indication of a VE-preferred new beam (when detected) may be transmitted via a granted uplink resource. For an SpCell BFR, when a beam failure is detected in one TRP ( e.g., a first TRP) and BFR is triggered, the BFR procedure may be performed via another TRP ( e.g., a second TRP) rather than using a RACH);
completing a BFR procedure based on the information, the BFR procedure being one of the TRP BFR procedure or the cell BFR procedure (Zheng, page 7, paragraph 66; i.e., [0066] A BFR procedure may be employed in a multi-TRP operation. For an SCell BFR, when a beam failure is detected in one TRP ( e.g., a first TRP) of one SCell, an SCell BFR procedure may be employed. When the beam failure is detected in the first TRP, the UE may transmit the SR via the PUCCH resource with a spatial relation towards a second TRP for BFR. A multi-TRP BFR MAC-CE (or truncated multi-TRP BFR MAC-CE) may include a failed TRP index. For an SpCell BFR, when a beam failure is detected in one TRP ( e.g., a first TRP) and BFR is triggered, the BFR procedure may be performed via another TRP ( e.g., a second TRP) rather than using a RACH).
But Zheng failed to teach the claim limitation wherein exchanging information with the UE about a beam failure associated with the transmission of the signal, wherein the information is based on a UE determination of whether the UE can support the TRP BFR procedure.
However, Yuan teaches the limitation wherein exchanging information with the UE about a beam failure associated with the transmission of the signal, wherein the information is based on a UE determination of whether the UE can support the TRP BFR procedure (Yuan, figure 5; page 2, paragraph 23; page 8, paragraph 71; page 9, paragraph 82-83; i.e., [0023] a cell specific BFR may enable the UE to provide the base station with beam failure information in a more efficient manner and may enable the base station to quickly address the beam failure; [0071] For example, when a beam failure is detected in a first TRP, the beam for the second TRP may be about to fail, in failure, or not in failure. In view of the possibility of separate operation of two TRP-specific BFRs, aspects presented herein provide conditions that may trigger the UE to send a cell-specific BFR instead of separate TRP-specific BFR; [0082] As illustrated at 508, the UE 502 may detect a first beam failure. The UE may detect the first beam failure at a first TRP 503 of a cell).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Zheng to substitute mMTC from Yuan for wireless communication system from Zheng to meet new requirements associated with latency, reliability, security, scalability ( e.g., with Internet of Things (IOT)), and other requirements (Yuan, page 1, paragraph 3).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-27 & 39 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Listing of Relevant Arts
Wang, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 20250175238 A1 discloses cancelling a plurality of beam failure recovery (BFR), PCell.
Koskela, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 20240396612 A1 discloses TRP beam failure recovery, SpCell, PCell.
Contact Information
THUONG NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571)272-3864. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday 9:00-6:00.
/THUONG NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416