DETAILED ACTION
This is an office action on the merits in response to the communication filed on 9/2/2026.
Claims’ Status
Claims 1-20 are pending and are considered in this office action.
Priority
CONTINUATION
This application is a continuation application of U.S. application no. 16/243401 filed on January 09, 2019, now U.S. Patent US11551212B2 (“Parent Application”). See MPEP §201.07. In accordance with MPEP §609.02 A. 2 and MPEP §2001.06(b) (last paragraph), the Examiner has reviewed and considered the prior art cited in the Parent Application. Also in accordance with MPEP §2001.06(b) (last paragraph), all documents cited or considered ‘of record’ in the Parent Application are now considered cited or ‘of record’ in this application. Additionally, Applicant(s) are reminded that a listing of the information cited or ‘of record’ in the Parent Application need not be resubmitted in this application unless Applicants desire the information to be printed on a patent issuing from this application. See MPEP §609.02 A. 2. Finally, Applicants are reminded that the prosecution history of the Parent Application is relevant in this application. See e.g., Microsoft Corp. v. Multi-Tech Sys., Inc., 357 F.3d 1340, 1350, 69 USPQ2d 1815, 1823 (Fed. Cir. 2004) (holding that statements made in prosecution of one patent are relevant to the scope of all sibling patents).
Response to Arguments
103 Rejection
Due to prior art deficiency in the previous office action issued on 6/16/2026, Examiner decides to issue a second Final.
With respect to Shah reference, a different paragraph from Shah is used to teach the limitations, see below for the new rejection.
With respect to Li teaching on “the multi-layered structure comprises a blockchain layer having a first right wrapper instance and a sidechain layer having a second right wrapper instance”, Examiner now uses a different reference Back to teach the limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being obvious over Ma (US20180285996A1) in view of Shah (US20170236094A1) in view of Quinn et al. (US20170237747A1) in view of Li et al. (US20180337847A1)
With respect to claim 1
Ma teaches the limitation: a plurality of participant systems comprising an asset mining system and at least one of an asset user system, or an asset holder system, wherein each of the asset user system, the asset holder system, and the asset mining system is associated with a respective participant entity registered with the marketplace system through a respective digital and uniquely identifiable profile (see [0072] and [0145-0146]);
a blockchain device to execute a blockchain smart contract for the exchange of the digital asset (see [0067, 0072, and 0058]);
registers the digital asset by the asset holder system with the digital marketplace ([0055], A data store 308 accessible by the server 300 may contain one or more databases. The data may comprise any information pertinent to one or more users 101 input into the system 100 including information on or describing one or more users 101, information on or describing one or more intellectual properties, such as Title, Author, Short abstract, Full content, Fee authorized and Access Policy, information about the inventor, timing of invention, ownership information via a set of transactions, timestamps, licensing and royalty requirements for collaboration, mining reward, and nonce, area of endeavor, background, abstract, brief summary, detailed description, connection of elements, description of variations and alternate embodiments, figures, claims, index, non-disclosure agreements, or any other information which may describe intellectual property and the creators and users of the intellectual property.);
controls access to the digital asset by one or more of the plurality of participant systems by executing at least one of the plurality of executable layers of the access rights management codec ([0129, 0130], In some embodiments, a secure distributed IP Ledger blockchain database 109 may be used as an integration framework that supports search of and between parties, communications between parties, the transfer of funds from one party to another party, and the ability to for the provisioning or transfer of deliverables by a seller to a buyer or for the benefit of a buyer……..Referring also to FIG. 18 and in preferred embodiments, the system 100 may provide a method for performing a partial transparency transactionalized search of intellectual property (“the method 1800”). The method may start 1801 and data having a number of content fields which describe intellectual property may be received in step 1802 from a user 101 via their client device 4400. They may have content which may include Title, Author, Short abstract, Full content, Fee authorized and Access Policy.)
a processing circuit that (The term “client device” as used herein is a type of electronic device comprising circuitry.)
Ma doesn’t explicitly teach, but Shah teaches:
….the asset mining system validating the digital asset for a plurality of pre-determined criteria including at least one of novelty or non-obviousness ([0102], The evaluation device 202 may be coupled to an obviousness decision module 212 that may be used to assess uniqueness of an initiative such as an innovation or a sub-innovation regarding its non-obviousness with reference to corresponding parent innovation of a sub-innovation. The obviousness decision module provides a result quantifying another component of patentability; i.e., non-obviousness; see also [0135], The processing circuit 112 may utilize the trends and the map as a template for defining sub-innovations and evaluating the sub-innovations based on obviousness and novelty criteria and various other criteria; see also [0033], In an embodiment, the central initiatives management device 116 creates a collated list of computer executable files containing the initiatives, innovation documents, invention disclosures, innovators' profiles, manage details about credentialed expertise of each of the innovators digitally, classify initiatives under various technology or initiative classes, and maintain a record of the initiatives in an enterprise asset library 118 digitally. The enterprise asset library 118 serves as a knowledge repository for digitally storing information pertinent to the initiatives including the computer executable initiatives documents, invention disclosures, innovator profiles, innovator credentialing details, evaluation output corresponding to the initiatives, and the associated scores for innovations and sub-innovations tracked by each of the innovations.)
creates an asset wrapper corresponding to the digital asset, wherein the asset wrapper is created with the computer executable access rights management codec ([0008], The crowdsourced initiatives exchange ecosystem includes a memory device containing an enterprise asset library to store the computer executable files tracked and extracted from the computing terminals and indicative of the innovations including computer executable initiatives documents; see also [0014], In an example, each innovation and its respective sub-innovations may be defined through a computer executable data structure stored in the form of a computer executable file (computer executable access rights management codec) such that the computer executable data structure may associate a digital relationship between an innovation and its respective sub-innovations through relational structures maintained in the distributed trusted ledgers.)
configures the asset wrapper with the asset-specific computer executable access rights management codec ([0008], The crowdsourced initiatives exchange ecosystem includes a memory device containing an enterprise asset library to store the computer executable files tracked and extracted from the computing terminals and indicative of the innovations including computer executable initiatives documents; see also [0014], In an example, each innovation and its respective sub-innovations may be defined through a computer executable data structure stored in the form of a computer executable file (computer executable access rights management codec) such that the computer executable data structure may associate a digital relationship between an innovation and its respective sub-innovations through relational structures maintained in the distributed trusted ledgers.) and a validity score for the digital asset based on the asset mining system validating the digital asset ([0099], In some embodiments, the reputation assessment engine 206 may also be configured for aggregating various discrete reputations from individual crowdsourced innovators 302 so as to determine an aggregate reputation for a group of crowdsourced innovators 302 used in evaluation, reviewing, and scoring of a document. The aggregate score may be a net equivalent score that may be associated with the crowdsourced innovators 302 to indicate the reputation of the entire crowdsourced community of the innovators 302 contributing toward document review and scoring.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Ma with the teaching of Shah as they relate to a system/method of managing IP on a blockchain. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made would have modified the system of storing data set on a blockchain in Ma to include a system of evaluating innovations and sub-innovations (IP digital asset) in a distributed technological ecosystem as taught in Shah for the predicated result of cost-efficient networks where innovation or sub-innovation may be tracked, see [0142 of Shah].
Ma in view of Shah don’t explicitly teach, but Quinn teaches:
Conditionally generates an asset-specific computer executable access rights management codec comprising a plurality of executable layers in response to the asset mining system validating the digital asset based on one or more of the plurality of pre-determined criteria ([0038], The data asset (e.g., a document) for which the policy is being evaluated is encrypted prior to policy evaluation. Upon being encrypted or otherwise protected from access, the digital access can be referred to as a protected data asset. In one embodiment, a user (e.g., by way of a user device) can only access a protected data asset (e.g., an encrypted document) if that user is determined to be an authorized user, who is attempting to access the protected data asset on an authorized device, and is doing so while using an authorized application in an authorized location. Until those conditions are satisfied, the protected data asset is encrypted and unreadable. In other embodiments, different criteria may be used to determine when to grant access (e.g., decrypt) the protected data asset; see also ABSTRACT; see also [0046] which describes codec comprising a plurality of executable layers)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Ma/Shah with the teaching of Quinn as they relate to a system/method of managing digital assets on a blockchain. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made would have modified the combined systems of Ma/Shah, for example providing access to protected digital asset in Shah, to include a method generating access rights to digital asset as taught in Quinn for the predicted result of improving system efficiency, responsiveness, and robustness of a multi-layer blockchain system.
Ma in view of Shah in view of Quinn don’t explicitly teach, but Li teaches:
…wherein the asset wrapper …..includes a multi-layered structure including a blockchain layer and a sidechain layer ([0006], The Bitcoin-derived pegged sidechains is similar to pegging Pound (currency) to gold. Unlike other cryptocurrencies which exclude the existing systems, sidechain technology may be integrated into the existing cryptocurrency systems. Sidechain technology enables the transfer of Bitcoin and other digital assets across multiple blockchains, which means that users can access new cryptocurrency systems using existing assets. Multiple sidechains can be linked to Bitcoin, each with different characteristics and purposes. All of these sidechains rely on the flexibility and scarcity guaranteed by the Bitcoin's main chain. On this basis, the sidechain technology further expands the application and innovation of blockchain technology, enabling traditional blockchains to support multiple types of assets, as well as micropayments, smart contracts, security processing mechanisms, and real-world assets registration. It can also enhance the privacy protection of the blockchain; [0033], A method for indexing a multi-layer blockchain system and maintaining the chain topological structure satisfies the following three characteristics: (1) organizing the entire blockchain system through the hierarchical structure, using a top layer blockchain to index a lower layer blockchain allows layering and customizing different functions.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Ma/Shah/Quinn with the teaching of Li as they relate to a system/method of managing digital assets on a blockchain. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made would have modified the combined systems of Ma/Shah/Quinn, for example the method of storing data set on a blockchain in Ma, to include the system of a multi-layered structure having sidechain as taught in Li for the predicated result of improving system efficiency, responsiveness, and robustness of a multi-layer blockchain system.
With respect to claim 2
The combination of Ma, Quinn, Li, and Shah teaches the limitation of claim 1. Ma further teaches: wherein the access rights management codec controls access rights to metadata and keywords of information stored in the asset wrapper based on the asset mining system approving access by the user system to the digital asset based on a pre-determined criterion ([0072], In preferred embodiments, the system 100 may include one or more computer processors and/or client devices 4400 which may be configured by machine-readable instructions for providing services to a plurality of entities (users 101) through a network 105 which may comprise: at least one distributed ledger subsystem configured to manage intellectual property information associated with the plurality of entities (IP Ledger blockchain database 109), using a Merkle directed acyclic graph 120; at least one digital policy server 3300 configured to manage intellectual property policies associated with a plurality of entities and integrated into the functionality of the Merkle directed acyclic graph 120; at least one trust validation subsystem configured to authenticate the reputation among the plurality of entities based on predefined rules.)
Claims 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being obvious over Ma (US20180285996A1) in view of Shah (US20170236094A1) in view of Quinn et al. (US20170237747A1) in view of Hunn et al. (US20190122317A1). and further in view of Back et al. (US20160330034A1).
With respect to claim 15
Ma teaches the limitation:
wherein each of the asset user system, the asset holder system, and the asset mining system are associated with a respective participant entity registered with the blockchain device through respective digital and uniquely identifiable profiles (see [0072] & [0145-0146]);
receiving an external request to register a digital asset as a computer executable file from one or more participant systems of a plurality of participant systems (see [0043]);
storing metadata and keywords of information contained within the asset wrapper in the first right wrapper instance of the blockchain layer ([0055], A data store 308 accessible by the server 300 may contain one or more databases. The data may comprise any information pertinent to one or more users 101 input into the system 100 including information on or describing one or more users 101, information on or describing one or more intellectual properties, such as Title, Author, Short abstract, Full content, Fee authorized and Access Policy, information about the inventor, timing of invention, ownership information via a set of transactions, timestamps, licensing and royalty requirements for collaboration, mining reward, and nonce, area of endeavor, background, abstract, brief summary, detailed description, connection of elements, description of variations and alternate embodiments, figures, claims, index, non-disclosure agreements, or any other information which may describe intellectual property and the creators and users of the intellectual property.);
wherein the asset wrapper is created …………a plurality of data fields ([0130], The method may start 1801 and data having a number of content fields which describe intellectual property may be received in step 1802 from a user 101 via their client device 4400. They may have content which may include Title, Author, Short abstract, Full content, Fee authorized and Access Policy.)
Ma doesn’t explicitly teach, but Shah teaches:
wherein the plurality of participant systems include at least one of an asset user system, an asset holder system, and an asset mining system that validates the digital asset for at least one of novelty or non-obviousness ([0102], The evaluation device 202 may be coupled to an obviousness decision module 212 that may be used to assess uniqueness of an initiative such as an innovation or a sub-innovation regarding its non-obviousness with reference to corresponding parent innovation of a sub-innovation. The obviousness decision module provides a result quantifying another component of patentability; i.e., non-obviousness; see also [0033], In an embodiment, the central initiatives management device 116 creates a collated list of computer executable files containing the initiatives, innovation documents, invention disclosures, innovators' profiles, manage details about credentialed expertise of each of the innovators digitally, classify initiatives under various technology or initiative classes, and maintain a record of the initiatives in an enterprise asset library 118 digitally. The enterprise asset library 118 serves as a knowledge repository for digitally storing information pertinent to the initiatives including the computer executable initiatives documents, invention disclosures, innovator profiles, innovator credentialing details, evaluation output corresponding to the initiatives, and the associated scores for innovations and sub-innovations tracked by each of the innovations.)
creating an asset wrapper corresponding to the digital asset, wherein the asset wrapper is created with a multi-layered structure and a plurality of data fields ([0008], The crowdsourced initiatives exchange ecosystem includes a memory device containing an enterprise asset library to store the computer executable files tracked and extracted from the computing terminals and indicative of the innovations including computer executable initiatives documents; see also [0014], In an example, each innovation and its respective sub-innovations may be defined through a computer executable data structure stored in the form of a computer executable file (computer executable access rights management codec) such that the computer executable data structure may associate a digital relationship between an innovation and its respective sub-innovations through relational structures maintained in the distributed trusted ledgers.)
configures the asset wrapper with the asset-specific computer executable access rights management codec ([0008], The crowdsourced initiatives exchange ecosystem includes a memory device containing an enterprise asset library to store the computer executable files tracked and extracted from the computing terminals and indicative of the innovations including computer executable initiatives documents; see also [0014], In an example, each innovation and its respective sub-innovations may be defined through a computer executable data structure stored in the form of a computer executable file (computer executable access rights management codec) such that the computer executable data structure may associate a digital relationship between an innovation and its respective sub-innovations through relational structures maintained in the distributed trusted ledgers.), configuring the asset wrapper with a validity score for the digital asset based on the asset mining system validating the digital asset ([0099], In some embodiments, the reputation assessment engine 206 may also be configured for aggregating various discrete reputations from individual crowdsourced innovators 302 so as to determine an aggregate reputation for a group of crowdsourced innovators 302 used in evaluation, reviewing, and scoring of a document. The aggregate score may be a net equivalent score that may be associated with the crowdsourced innovators 302 to indicate the reputation of the entire crowdsourced community of the innovators 302 contributing toward document review and scoring.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Ma with the teaching of Shah as they relate to a system/method of managing IP on a blockchain. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made would have modified the system of storing data set on a blockchain in Ma to include a system of evaluating innovations and sub-innovations (IP digital asset) in a distributed technological ecosystem as taught in Shah for the predicated result of cost-efficient networks where innovation or sub-innovation may be tracked, see [0142 of Shah].
Ma in view of Shah don’t explicitly teach, but Quinn teaches:
Conditionally generates an asset-specific computer executable access rights management codec comprising a plurality of executable layers corresponding to the plurality of data fields of the asset wrapper in response to the asset mining system validating the digital asset based on one or more of the plurality of pre-determined criteria ([0038], The data asset (e.g., a document) for which the policy is being evaluated is encrypted prior to policy evaluation. Upon being encrypted or otherwise protected from access, the digital access can be referred to as a protected data asset. In one embodiment, a user (e.g., by way of a user device) can only access a protected data asset (e.g., an encrypted document) if that user is determined to be an authorized user, who is attempting to access the protected data asset on an authorized device, and is doing so while using an authorized application in an authorized location. Until those conditions are satisfied, the protected data asset is encrypted and unreadable. In other embodiments, different criteria may be used to determine when to grant access (e.g., decrypt) the protected data asset; see also ABSTRACT; see also [0046] which describes codec comprising a plurality of executable layers)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Ma/Shah with the teaching of Quinn as they relate to a system/method of managing digital assets on a blockchain. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made would have modified the combined systems of Ma/Shah, for example providing access to protected digital asset in Shah, to include a method generating access rights to digital asset as taught in Quinn for the predicted result of improving system efficiency, responsiveness, and robustness of a multi-layer blockchain system.
Ma in view of Shah in view of Quinn don’t explicitly teach, but Hunn teaches: storing the asset-specific computer executable access rights management codec as computer executable file comprising the plurality of executable layers corresponding to the plurality of data fields in the second right wrapper instance of the ([0076], Events from external resources (e.g., freight being shipped, delivered, signed-for, etc.) are exposed to the contract. Events that pertain to the contract are preferably stored as content addressed objects that act as inputs. Such objects are exposed to the runtime as data inputs through an integration architecture such as a data layer (see FIG. 14). These events are routed to the logic to perform an appropriate action; see also [0090], Preferably, the content-addressed data system takes the form of a content-addressed directed acyclic object graph (“contract object graph” or “COG”). The COG is preferably an append-only data structure comprised of a plurality of objects that together represent the state of the contract (e.g. inputs, computational events, state, and outputs). The append-only quality ensures that any change to an object is preserved, and data can only be added, not removed. References to an input, output, state, etc. being stored/exchanged, preferably involves access of such an object being stored in a COG or other suitable content-addressable data system. State changes, as a result of computation, and outputs from the execution engine runtime are appended to the COG (see FIGS. 8, 9A and 9B). These changes function to enable verifiable and auditable execution cycles; see also [0214], FIG. 18 provides an exemplary interface between a BDL system and the system and method deployed in an off-chain execution environment. A BDL system may be an account-based BDL system, Unspent Transaction Output-based system, or any other form of BDL, database or similar. Multiple BDL systems may be used with an off-chain contract. ‘Call’ (i.e. calling functions in on-chain code) and ‘Create’ are examples of on-chain operations that may be performed (e.g. via API) 101. Additional and/or alternative operations may be performed to enable any necessary operation to be performed ‘on-chain’. Parameters and other data may be passed to on-chain code from the off-chain contract execution 102 to perform the on-chain computation/transaction. For example, on-chain code may be instantiated upon execution/signature of the off-chain contract (e.g. by compilation or cross-compilation—103) or on-chain code may be an on-chain library of standardized operations, transactions, events etc. This script/on-chain code may later be called by the system. The transaction may be signed by the private key(s) of public-private key pair for a contracting party 104.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Ma/Shah/Quinn with the teaching of Hunn as they relate to a system/method of managing digital assets on a blockchain. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made would have modified the combined systems of Ma/Shah/Quinn, for example storing data set on a blockchain in Ma, to include the method of handshaking mechanism for performing authentication tasks based on private key as taught in Hunn for the predicated result of improving the efficiency of processing a transaction.
Ma in view of Shah, Quinn, and Hunn don’t explicitly teach, but Back teaches:
….wherein the multi-layered structure comprises a blockchain layer having a first right wrapper instance and a sidechain layer having a second right wrapper instance ([0054], The system is preferably implemented as a dual-layer system (e.g., computation layer and output layer) to facilitate managing evaluation of content-addressed data by the computation layer and verifiable interactions with other systems as directed by the output layer, such as interacting with external resources such as blockchains/distributed ledgers (BDLs), external REST APIs, and the like; [0094], The computation layer of a preferred embodiment functions to access inputs (e.g. data, events, etc.) and current clause logic for performing a variety of sequences of computations; [0096], The output layer of a preferred embodiment functions to perform actions as directed by the output of the computation layer. This may include performing external actions on external systems (see FIG. 14). The output layer can facilitate updates to internal resources such as updates to a current or other clause, updates to programmatically accessible resource, and/or update integration with one or more BDL systems. The output layer preferably also integrates with the content-addressable data system to store contract state and other computational outputs.)
registering the digital asset on the blockchain device ([0033], Assets are transferred to the pegged sidechains by providing proofs of possession in the transferring transactions themselves, avoiding the need for nodes to track the sending chain. On a high level, when moving assets from one blockchain to another, a transaction is created on the first blockchain locking the assets.);
associating the digital asset with the blockchain layer; pushing the digital asset to the sidechain layer ([0043], After creating the special output on the parent chain, the user waits out the confirmation period, then creates a transaction on the sidechain referencing this output. The sidechain, using a sidechain validator server, is providing with an SPV proof that shows the parent chain asset was created and buried under sufficient work on the parent chain. A sidechain validator server may validate that the SPV proof associated with the parent chain asset meets the threshold level of work indicated by the SPV proof at step 130. A sidechain asset corresponding to the parent chain asset may be generated.)
controlling the access rights to the stored metadata and keywords by executing the codec from the second right wrapper instance of the sidechain layer ([0046]. To redeem the sidechain asset in the parent chain, the sidechain asset may be sent to an output of the sidechain at step 140. A SPV proof associated with the sidechain asset may be generated. A parent chain validator server may validate the SPV proof associated with the sidechain asset at step 145. The validating the SPV proof associated with the sidechain asset may include, for example, validating, by the parent validator server, that the SPV proof associated with the sidechain asset meets the threshold level of work indicated by the SPV proof associated with the sidechain asset.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Ma/Shah/Quinn/Hunn with the teaching of Back as they relate to a system/method of managing digital assets on a blockchain. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made would have recognized the combined systems of Ma/Shah/Quinn/Hunn, for example by modifying the method of storing data set on a blockchain in Ma, to include the system of having blockchain/parent chain and sidechain as taught in Back for the predicated result of improving the efficiency of processing a transaction.
With respect to claim 16
Ma teaches the limitation:
a plurality of asset user systems, a plurality of asset holder systems, a plurality of asset mining systems, and a plurality of blockchain devices, wherein each asset user system, each asset holder system, and each asset mining system is associated with a respective participant entity registered with the blockchain computer system through respective digital and uniquely identifiable profiles (see [0072] & [0145-0146]);
receiving an external request to register a digital asset as a computer executable file from a participant system (see [0043]);
wherein the asset wrapper is created …………a plurality of data fields ([0130], The method may start 1801 and data having a number of content fields which describe intellectual property may be received in step 1802 from a user 101 via their client device 4400. They may have content which may include Title, Author, Short abstract, Full content, Fee authorized and Access Policy.)
Ma doesn’t explicitly teach, but Shah teaches:
Wherein at least one of the plurality of asset mining systems validates the digital asset for a plurality of pre-determined criteria including at least one of novelty or non-obviousness ([0102], The evaluation device 202 may be coupled to an obviousness decision module 212 that may be used to assess uniqueness of an initiative such as an innovation or a sub-innovation regarding its non-obviousness with reference to corresponding parent innovation of a sub-innovation. The obviousness decision module provides a result quantifying another component of patentability; i.e., non-obviousness; see also [0033], In an embodiment, the central initiatives management device 116 creates a collated list of computer executable files containing the initiatives, innovation documents, invention disclosures, innovators' profiles, manage details about credentialed expertise of each of the innovators digitally, classify initiatives under various technology or initiative classes, and maintain a record of the initiatives in an enterprise asset library 118 digitally. The enterprise asset library 118 serves as a knowledge repository for digitally storing information pertinent to the initiatives including the computer executable initiatives documents, invention disclosures, innovator profiles, innovator credentialing details, evaluation output corresponding to the initiatives, and the associated scores for innovations and sub-innovations tracked by each of the innovations.)
creating an asset wrapper corresponding to the digital asset, wherein the asset wrapper is created with a multi-layered structure and a plurality of data fields [0008], The crowdsourced initiatives exchange ecosystem includes a memory device containing an enterprise asset library to store the computer executable files tracked and extracted from the computing terminals and indicative of the innovations including computer executable initiatives documents; see also [0014], In an example, each innovation and its respective sub-innovations may be defined through a computer executable data structure stored in the form of a computer executable file (computer executable access rights management codec) such that the computer executable data structure may associate a digital relationship between an innovation and its respective sub-innovations through relational structures maintained in the distributed trusted ledgers.)
Configuring the asset wrapper with a validity score for the digital asset based on the validating the digital asset ([0099], In some embodiments, the reputation assessment engine 206 may also be configured for aggregating various discrete reputations from individual crowdsourced innovators 302 so as to determine an aggregate reputation for a group of crowdsourced innovators 302 used in evaluation, reviewing, and scoring of a document. The aggregate score may be a net equivalent score that may be associated with the crowdsourced innovators 302 to indicate the reputation of the entire crowdsourced community of the innovators 302 contributing toward document review and scoring.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Ma with the teaching of Shah as they relate to a system/method of managing IP on a blockchain. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made would have modified the system of storing data set on a blockchain in Ma to include a system of evaluating innovations and sub-innovations (IP digital asset) in a distributed technological ecosystem as taught in Shah for the predicated result of cost-efficient networks where innovation or sub-innovation may be tracked, see [0142 of Shah].
Ma in view of Shah don’t explicitly teach, but Quinn teaches:
Conditionally generates an asset-specific computer executable access rights management codec comprising a plurality of executable layers in response to the asset mining system validating the digital asset based on one or more of the plurality of pre-determined criteria ([0038], The data asset (e.g., a document) for which the policy is being evaluated is encrypted prior to policy evaluation. Upon being encrypted or otherwise protected from access, the digital access can be referred to as a protected data asset. In one embodiment, a user (e.g., by way of a user device) can only access a protected data asset (e.g., an encrypted document) if that user is determined to be an authorized user, who is attempting to access the protected data asset on an authorized device, and is doing so while using an authorized application in an authorized location. Until those conditions are satisfied, the protected data asset is encrypted and unreadable. In other embodiments, different criteria may be used to determine when to grant access (e.g., decrypt) the protected data asset; see also ABSTRACT; see also [0046] which describes codec comprising a plurality of executable layers)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Ma/Shah with the teaching of Quinn as they relate to a system/method of managing digital assets on a blockchain. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made would have modified the combined systems of Ma/Shah, for example providing access to protected digital asset in Shah, to include a method generating access rights to digital asset as taught in Quinn for the predicted result of improving system efficiency, responsiveness, and robustness of a multi-layer blockchain system.
Ma in view of Shah in view of Quinn don’t explicitly teach, but Hunn teaches:
storing the asset-specific computer executable access rights management codec as a computer executable file comprising the plurality of executable layers corresponding to the plurality of data fields in the second right wrapper instance of the ([0076], Events from external resources (e.g., freight being shipped, delivered, signed-for, etc.) are exposed to the contract. Events that pertain to the contract are preferably stored as content addressed objects that act as inputs. Such objects are exposed to the runtime as data inputs through an integration architecture such as a data layer (see FIG. 14). These events are routed to the logic to perform an appropriate action; see also [0090], Preferably, the content-addressed data system takes the form of a content-addressed directed acyclic object graph (“contract object graph” or “COG”). The COG is preferably an append-only data structure comprised of a plurality of objects that together represent the state of the contract (e.g. inputs, computational events, state, and outputs). The append-only quality ensures that any change to an object is preserved, and data can only be added, not removed. References to an input, output, state, etc. being stored/exchanged, preferably involves access of such an object being stored in a COG or other suitable content-addressable data system. State changes, as a result of computation, and outputs from the execution engine runtime are appended to the COG (see FIGS. 8, 9A and 9B). These changes function to enable verifiable and auditable execution cycles; see also [0214], FIG. 18 provides an exemplary interface between a BDL system and the system and method deployed in an off-chain execution environment. A BDL system may be an account-based BDL system, Unspent Transaction Output-based system, or any other form of BDL, database or similar. Multiple BDL systems may be used with an off-chain contract. ‘Call’ (i.e. calling functions in on-chain code) and ‘Create’ are examples of on-chain operations that may be performed (e.g. via API) 101. Additional and/or alternative operations may be performed to enable any necessary operation to be performed ‘on-chain’. Parameters and other data may be passed to on-chain code from the off-chain contract execution 102 to perform the on-chain computation/transaction. For example, on-chain code may be instantiated upon execution/signature of the off-chain contract (e.g. by compilation or cross-compilation—103) or on-chain code may be an on-chain library of standardized operations, transactions, events etc. This script/on-chain code may later be called by the system. The transaction may be signed by the private key(s) of public-private key pair for a contracting party 104.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Ma/Shah/Quinn with the teaching of Hunn as they relate to a system/method of managing digital assets on a blockchain. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made would have modified the combined systems of Ma/Shah/Quinn, for example storing data set on a blockchain in Ma, to include the method of handshaking mechanism for performing authentication tasks based on private key as taught in Hunn for the predicated result of improving the efficiency of processing a transaction.
Ma in view of Shah, Quinn, and Hunn don’t explicitly teach, but Back teaches:
….wherein the multi-layered structure comprises a blockchain layer having a first right wrapper instance and a sidechain layer having a second right wrapper instance ([0054], The system is preferably implemented as a dual-layer system (e.g., computation layer and output layer) to facilitate managing evaluation of content-addressed data by the computation layer and verifiable interactions with other systems as directed by the output layer, such as interacting with external resources such as blockchains/distributed ledgers (BDLs), external REST APIs, and the like; [0094], The computation layer of a preferred embodiment functions to access inputs (e.g. data, events, etc.) and current clause logic for performing a variety of sequences of computations; [0096], The output layer of a preferred embodiment functions to perform actions as directed by the output of the computation layer. This may include performing external actions on external systems (see FIG. 14). The output layer can facilitate updates to internal resources such as updates to a current or other clause, updates to programmatically accessible resource, and/or update integration with one or more BDL systems. The output layer preferably also integrates with the content-addressable data system to store contract state and other computational outputs.)
registering the digital asset with at least one of the plurality of blockchain devices ([0033], Assets are transferred to the pegged sidechains by providing proofs of possession in the transferring transactions themselves, avoiding the need for nodes to track the sending chain. On a high level, when moving assets from one blockchain to another, a transaction is created on the first blockchain locking the assets.); associating the digital asset with the blockchain layer ([0043], After creating the special output on the parent chain, the user waits out the confirmation period, then creates a transaction on the sidechain referencing this output. The sidechain, using a sidechain validator server, is providing with an SPV proof that shows the parent chain asset was created and buried under sufficient work on the parent chain. A sidechain validator server may validate that the SPV proof associated with the parent chain asset meets the threshold level of work indicated by the SPV proof at step 130. A sidechain asset corresponding to the parent chain asset may be generated.); controlling the access rights to the metadata and keywords by executing at least one executable layer of the codec from the second right wrapper instance of the sidechain layer ([0046]. To redeem the sidechain asset in the parent chain, the sidechain asset may be sent to an output of the sidechain at step 140. A SPV proof associated with the sidechain asset may be generated. A parent chain validator server may validate the SPV proof associated with the sidechain asset at step 145. The validating the SPV proof associated with the sidechain asset may include, for example, validating, by the parent validator server, that the SPV proof associated with the sidechain asset meets the threshold level of work indicated by the SPV proof associated with the sidechain asset.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Ma/Shah/Quinn/Hunn with the teaching of Back as they relate to a system/method of managing digital assets on a blockchain. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made would have modified the combined systems of Ma/Shah/Quinn/Hunn, for example modifying the method of storing data set on a blockchain in Ma, to include the system of having blockchain/parent chain and sidechain as taught in Back for the predicated result of improving the efficiency of processing a transaction.
With respect to claim 17
The combination of Ma, Shah, Quinn, Hunn, and Back teaches the limitation of claim 16. Back further teaches: wherein the processor is further configured to push the digital asset to the sidechain layer after associating the digital asset with the blockchain layer ([0043], After creating the special output on the parent chain, the user waits out the confirmation period, then creates a transaction on the sidechain referencing this output. The sidechain, using a sidechain validator server, is providing with an SPV proof that shows the parent chain asset was created and buried under sufficient work on the parent chain. A sidechain validator server may validate that the SPV proof associated with the parent chain asset meets the threshold level of work indicated by the SPV proof at step 130. A sidechain asset corresponding to the parent chain asset may be generated.)
With respect to claim 18
The combination of Ma, Shah, Quinn, Hunn, and Back teaches the limitation of claim 16. Ma further teaches:
wherein the processor is further configured to store metadata and keywords of information contained within the asset wrapper in the first right wrapper instance of the blockchain layer ([0055], A data store 308 accessible by the server 300 may contain one or more databases. The data may comprise any information pertinent to one or more users 101 input into the system 100 including information on or describing one or more users 101, information on or describing one or more intellectual properties, such as Title, Author, Short abstract, Full content, Fee authorized and Access Policy, information about the inventor, timing of invention, ownership information via a set of transactions, timestamps, licensing and royalty requirements for collaboration, mining reward, and nonce, area of endeavor, background, abstract, brief summary, detailed description, connection of elements, description of variations and alternate embodiments, figures, claims, index, non-disclosure agreements, or any other information which may describe intellectual property and the creators and users of the intellectual property.)
Claims 3-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being obvious over Ma (US20180285996A1) in view of Shah (US20170236094A1) in view of Quinn et al. (US20170237747A1) in view of Li et al. (US20180337847A1), and further view of DEONARINE et al. (US20180046766A1).
With respect to claim 3
The combination of Ma, Shah, Quinn, and Li teaches the limitation of claim 2. The combination does not explicitly disclose, but DEONARINE teaches: wherein the multi-layered structure of the asset wrapper is configured to support:
a first metadata layer, a first sub-layer, and a first extendible layer template configured to create more layers in a first right wrapper instance of the blockchain layer ([0036], a four layer implementation model, with the first layer/data layer consisting of the raw biomedical information to be transmitted, a second layer/metadata layer for generating associated metadata such as date, time, location, facility, author, and related fields; a third layer/indexing layer which consists of generating a blockchain or similar cryptographic/hashing method (such as SHA256, MD6, AES, etc.) to identify this information, and a fourth layer/encryption layer for optionally compressing and/or encrypting the data using a secure encryption method (such as Secure Socket Layer (SSL), quantum-secure methods, etc.). It is further contemplated that storing the data locally such as on a computer or electronic device co-located with the original location of the raw data, or transmitting the data usually with encryption to another computer system or electronic device over a network/link, and then decrypting the data if required, and then storing, analyzing, displaying the data or performing a similar activity while also storing the distributed cryptographic hash ledger, will facilitate auditing, quality control, and versioning of data.);
storing of hashes associated with the asset wrapper in the first sub-layer of the first right wrapper instance of the blockchain layer ([0036], the method comprising: a four layer implementation model, with the first layer/data layer consisting of the raw biomedical information to be transmitted, a second layer/metadata layer for generating associated metadata such as date, time, location, facility, author, and related field; a third layer/indexing layer which consists of generating a blockchain or similar cryptographic/hashing method (such as SHA256, MD6, AES, etc.) to identify this information,…)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Ma/Shah/Quinn/Li with the teaching of DEONARINE as they relate to a system/method of accessing digital asset. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made would have modified the combined systems of Ma/Shah/Quinn/Li, for example by modifying the method of storing data set on a blockchain, in Ma, to include the system of additional layers on a blockchain as taught in DEONARINE for the predicated result of improving the secure exchange and tracking of information based on indexing of the layers.
Ma further teaches:
storing of the metadata and keywords of information contained within the asset wrapper in the first metadata layer of the first right wrapper instance of the blockchain layer ([0055], A data store 308 accessible by the server 300 may contain one or more databases. The data may comprise any information pertinent to one or more users 101 input into the system 100 including information on or describing one or more users 101, information on or describing one or more intellectual properties, such as Title, Author, Short abstract, Full content, Fee authorized and Access Policy, information about the inventor, timing of invention, ownership information via a set of transactions, timestamps, licensing and royalty requirements for collaboration, mining reward, and nonce, area of endeavor, background, abstract, brief summary, detailed description, connection of elements, description of variations and alternate embodiments, figures, claims, index, non-disclosure agreements, or any other information which may describe intellectual property and the creators and users of the intellectual property.)
With respect to claim 4
The combination of Ma, Quinn, Li, Shah, and DEONARINE teaches the limitation of claim 3. DEONARINE further teaches: wherein the extendible layer template is configured to create additional layers to contain additional digital data types related to the digital asset ([0036], a four layer implementation model, with the first layer/data layer consisting of the raw biomedical information to be transmitted, a second layer/metadata layer for generating associated metadata such as date, time, location, facility, author, and related fields; a third layer/indexing layer which consists of generating a blockchain or similar cryptographic/hashing method (such as SHA256, MD6, AES, etc.) to identify this information, and a fourth layer/encryption layer for optionally compressing and/or encrypting the data using a secure encryption method (such as Secure Socket Layer (SSL), quantum-secure methods, etc.). It is further contemplated that storing the data locally such as on a computer or electronic device co-located with the original location of the raw data, or transmitting the data usually with encryption to another computer system or electronic device over a network/link, and then decrypting the data if required, and then storing, analyzing, displaying the data or performing a similar activity while also storing the distributed cryptographic hash ledger, will facilitate auditing, quality control, and versioning of data.)
With respect to claim 5
The combination of Ma, Quinn, Li, Shah, and DEONARINE teaches the limitation of claim 3. Ma further teaches: wherein the information contained in the first metadata layer comprises computer-executable rights information at a metadata level associated with at least one of abstracts, cluster, and other right sections, basic documents, and images (see [0180].)
With respect to claim 6
The combination of Ma, Quinn, Li, and Shah teaches the limitation of claim 1. Li further teaches:
A sidechain layer ([0006], The Bitcoin-derived pegged sidechains is similar to pegging Pound (currency) to gold. Unlike other cryptocurrencies which exclude the existing systems, sidechain technology may be integrated into the existing cryptocurrency systems. Sidechain technology enables the transfer of Bitcoin and other digital assets across multiple blockchains, which means that users can access new cryptocurrency systems using existing assets. Multiple sidechains can be linked to Bitcoin, each with different characteristics and purposes. All of these sidechains rely on the flexibility and scarcity guaranteed by the Bitcoin's main chain. On this basis, the sidechain technology further expands the application and innovation of blockchain technology, enabling traditional blockchains to support multiple types of assets, as well as micropayments, smart contracts, security processing mechanisms, and real-world assets registration. It can also enhance the privacy protection of the blockchain; [0033], A method for indexing a multi-layer blockchain system and maintaining the chain topological structure satisfies the following three characteristics: (1) organizing the entire blockchain system through the hierarchical structure, using a top layer blockchain to index a lower layer blockchain allows layering and customizing different functions.))
Ma further teaches:
wherein the access rights management codec is stored as a computer executable file in a second right wrapper instance of the (see [0111].),
The combination does not explicitly disclose, but DEONARINE teaches:
the sidechain layer is configured to support:
a second metadata layer, a second sub-layer, and a second extendible layer template configured to create more layers in the second right wrapper instance of the ([0036], a four layer implementation model, with the first layer/data layer consisting of the raw biomedical information to be transmitted, a second layer/metadata layer for generating associated metadata such as date, time, location, facility, author, and related fields; a third layer/indexing layer which consists of generating a blockchain or similar cryptographic/hashing method (such as SHA256, MD6, AES, etc.) to identify this information, and a fourth layer/encryption layer for optionally compressing and/or encrypting the data using a secure encryption method (such as Secure Socket Layer (SSL), quantum-secure methods, etc.). It is further contemplated that storing the data locally such as on a computer or electronic device co-located with the original location of the raw data, or transmitting the data usually with encryption to another computer system or electronic device over a network/link, and then decrypting the data if required, and then storing, analyzing, displaying the data or performing a similar activity while also storing the distributed cryptographic hash ledger, will facilitate auditing, quality control, and versioning of data.); and
storing of hashes associated with the asset wrapper in the second sub-layer of the second right wrapper instance of the sidechain layer ([0036], the method comprising: a four layer implementation model, with the first layer/data layer consisting of the raw biomedical information to be transmitted, a second layer/metadata layer for generating associated metadata such as date, time, location, facility, author, and related field; a third layer/indexing layer which consists of generating a blockchain or similar cryptographic/hashing method (such as SHA256, MD6, AES, etc.) to identify this information,…).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Ma/Shah/Quinn/Li with the teaching of DEONARINE as they relate to a system/method of accessing digital asset. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made would have recognized the combined systems of Ma/Shah/Quinn/Li, for example by modifying the method of storing data set on a blockchain, in Ma, to include the system of additional layers on a blockchain as taught in DEONARINE for the predicated result of improving the secure exchange and tracking of information based on indexing of the layers.
With respect to claim 7
The combination of Ma, Quinn, Li, Shah, and DEONARINE teaches the limitation of claim 6. DEONARINE further teaches: wherein the second extendible layer template is configured to create additional layers to contain additional digital data types related to the digital as set ([0036], a four layer implementation model, with the first layer/data layer consisting of the raw biomedical information to be transmitted, a second layer/metadata layer for generating associated metadata such as date, time, location, facility, author, and related fields; a third layer/indexing layer which consists of generating a blockchain or similar cryptographic/hashing method (such as SHA256, MD6, AES, etc.) to identify this information, and a fourth layer/encryption layer for optionally compressing and/or encrypting the data using a secure encryption method (such as Secure Socket Layer (SSL), quantum-secure methods, etc.). It is further contemplated that storing the data locally such as on a computer or electronic device co-located with the original location of the raw data, or transmitting the data usually with encryption to another computer system or electronic device over a network/link, and then decrypting the data if required, and then storing, analyzing, displaying the data or performing a similar activity while also storing the distributed cryptographic hash ledger, will facilitate auditing, quality control, and versioning of data.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a duplication of parts of the same limitation. It is well within the knowledge of one of ordinary skill to duplicate the characteristics of an element, i.e., “wherein the second extendible layer template”, which is a similar duplicate of the same limitation of “wherein the first extendible layer template” in claim 4. Furthermore, the mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance and does not produce new and unexpected results. For example, the processing of the secrets are performed in parallel and have no bearing on each other. See MPEP 2144.04 VI B; In re Harza, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being obvious over Ma (US20180285996A1) in view of Shah (US20170236094A1) in view of Quinn et al. (US20170237747A1) In view of Hunn et al. (US20190122317A1) in view of Back et al. (US20160330034A1), and further in view of Pierce et al. (US20190028276A1).
With respect to claim 19
The combination of Ma, Hunn, Quinn, Shah, and Back teaches the limitation of claim 16. The combination doesn’t explicitly disclose, but Pierce teaches: wherein the processor is further configured to calculate and process micro-payments associated with the digital asset ([0064], The issuer creates digital tradeable tokens on a blockchain corresponding to the physical gold deposited in the vault, such that one digital tradeable token corresponds to a defined net weight of gold, e.g., a gram, a troy ounce, etc. The issuer may auction the newly created digital tradeable tokens for fiat currencies (e.g. US dollars, pounds sterling, etc.) in which case the issuer receives fiat currency from the winning bidder(s) and transfers ownership of the digital tradeable tokens to the winning bidder(s). Alternately, the issuer may retain some or all of the digital tradeable tokens. The transfer of ownership of the digital tradeable tokens occurs using a transaction on the blockchain.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Ma/Shah/Quinn/Hunn/Back with the teaching of Pierce as they relate to a system/method of accessing digital asset. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made would have recognized the combined systems of Ma/Shah/Quinn/Hunn/Back, for example by modifying the method of storing data set on a blockchain, in Ma, to include the system of a permissioned blockchain as taught in Pierce for the predicated result of improving the efficiency of processing a transaction.
Claims 8, 14, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being obvious over Ma (US20180285996A1) in view of Shah (US20170236094A1) in view of Quinn et al. (US20170237747A1) in view of Li et al. (US20180337847A1) in view of DEONARINE et al. (US20180046766A1) in view of Back et al. (US20160330034A1), and further in view of Pierce et al. (US20190028276A1).
With respect to claim 8
The combination of Ma, Quinn, Li, Shah, and DEONARINE teaches the limitation of claim 6.
DEONARINE further teaches:
a right token ledger communicatively coupled to the blockchain device ([0035], If required, an encryption processor can also be used to perform the encryption operations with the data (980). Once the data has been processed and indexed using distributed cryptographic hash ledgers, it is then transmitted to another device using the input/output module (950). Such a device could be used in a clinical setting for storing, analyzing, securing, and otherwise handling biomedical information, with appropriate FDA approval (or such other regulatory entities in other jurisdictions) when required.)
The combination doesn’t explicitly disclose, but Back teaches:
a codec authorizing cluster connected to the permissioned ledger and to the access rights management codec stored in the second right wrapper instance of the sidechain layer ([0046]. To redeem the sidechain asset in the parent chain, the sidechain asset may be sent to an output of the sidechain at step 140. A SPV proof associated with the sidechain asset may be generated. A parent chain validator server may validate the SPV proof associated with the sidechain asset at step 145. The validating the SPV proof associated with the sidechain asset may include, for example, validating, by the parent validator server, that the SPV proof associated with the sidechain asset meets the threshold level of work indicated by the SPV proof associated with the sidechain asset.)
wherein the right token ledger is a public ledger of the blockchain device and which holds a fungible right token ([0014], The systems and methods for pegged sidechains described herein allow bitcoins and other ledger assets to be transferred between multiple blockchains. This gives users access to new and innovative cryptocurrency systems using the assets they already own, without requiring the consensus that Bitcoin does to implement innovative new abilities (e.g., regarding security, transferability, etc.). By being linked to Bitcoin's currency via two-way pegs, the separate currency systems can more easily interoperate with each other and with Bitcoin, avoiding liquidity shortages and market fluctuations associated with new currencies.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Ma/Shah/Quinn/Li DEONARINE with the teaching of Back as they relate to a system/method of accessing digital asset. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made would have recognized the combined systems of Ma/Shah/Quinn/Li / DEONARINE, for example by modifying the method of storing data set on a blockchain, in Ma, to include the system of having blockchain/parent chain and sidechain as taught in Back for the predicated result of improving the efficiency of processing a transaction.
The combination does not explicitly disclose, but Pierce teaches: a permissioned ledger communicatively coupled to the blockchain device and a plurality of public nodes ([0107-0109].), wherein the permissioned ledger allows registering the digital asset with the blockchain device ([0055], An example of a private and/or alternatively, a permissioned blockchain, is a blockchain used to record transactions associated with the creation, transfer and spending of a digital asset, namely, a digital tradeable token, that is backed by or is associated with a physical asset characterized by some value, such as a precious metal, e.g., gold. )
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Ma/Shah/Quinn/Li/Back/DEONARINE with the teaching of Pierce as they relate to a system/method of accessing digital asset. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made would have recognized the combined systems of Ma/Shah/Quinn/Li/Back/DEONARINE, for example by modifying the method of storing data set on a blockchain in Ma, to include the system of a permissioned blockchain as taught in Pierce for the predicated result of improving the efficiency of processing a transaction.
With respect to claim 14
The combination of Ma, Shah, Quinn, Li, Back, DEONARINE, and Pierce teaches the limitation of claim 8. The combination doesn’t explicitly disclose, but Hunn teaches: wherein the computer executable access rights management codec authorizing cluster is configured to initiate a handshake mechanism for performing a set of computer-controlled authorization tasks based on a private user key ([0076], Events from external resources (e.g., freight being shipped, delivered, signed-for, etc.) are exposed to the contract. Events that pertain to the contract are preferably stored as content addressed objects that act as inputs. Such objects are exposed to the runtime as data inputs through an integration architecture such as a data layer (see FIG. 14). These events are routed to the logic to perform an appropriate action; see also [0090], Preferably, the content-addressed data system takes the form of a content-addressed directed acyclic object graph (“contract object graph” or “COG”). The COG is preferably an append-only data structure comprised of a plurality of objects that together represent the state of the contract (e.g. inputs, computational events, state, and outputs). The append-only quality ensures that any change to an object is preserved, and data can only be added, not removed. References to an input, output, state, etc. being stored/exchanged, preferably involves access of such an object being stored in a COG or other suitable content-addressable data system. State changes, as a result of computation, and outputs from the execution engine runtime are appended to the COG (see FIGS. 8, 9A and 9B). These changes function to enable verifiable and auditable execution cycles; see also [0214], FIG. 18 provides an exemplary interface between a BDL system and the system and method deployed in an off-chain execution environment. A BDL system may be an account-based BDL system, Unspent Transaction Output-based system, or any other form of BDL, database or similar. Multiple BDL systems may be used with an off-chain contract. ‘Call’ (i.e. calling functions in on-chain code) and ‘Create’ are examples of on-chain operations that may be performed (e.g. via API) 101. Additional and/or alternative operations may be performed to enable any necessary operation to be performed ‘on-chain’. Parameters and other data may be passed to on-chain code from the off-chain contract execution 102 to perform the on-chain computation/transaction. For example, on-chain code may be instantiated upon execution/signature of the off-chain contract (e.g. by compilation or cross-compilation—103) or on-chain code may be an on-chain library of standardized operations, transactions, events etc. This script/on-chain code may later be called by the system. The transaction may be signed by the private key(s) of public-private key pair for a contracting party 104.), , wherein a result of performing the set of computer-controlled authorization tasks authorizes access by the asset user system and its associated user entity to the digital asset under existing access rights ([0224], In one variation, these external actions may be ‘queued up’ in a task manager, requiring a user of the CMS to authorize their execution. For example, a BDL transaction may be configured for execution as a result of a contracting party receiving the external action event (e.g. B1) and displayed to the user for authorization to complete (e.g. by signing the proposed BDL transaction with the user's private key as depicted in FIG. 18).)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Ma/Shah/Quinn/Li/Back/DEONARINE/Pierce with the teaching of Hunn as they relate to a system/method of accessing digital asset. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made would have modified the combined systems of Ma/Shah/Quinn/Li/Back/DEONARINE/Pierce, for example storing data set on a blockchain in Ma, to include the method of handshaking mechanism for performing authentication tasks based on private key as taught in Hunn for the predicated result of improving the efficiency of processing a transaction.
With respect to claim 20
The combination of Ma, Shah, Hunn, Quinn, and Back teaches the limitation of claim 16. The combination does not explicitly disclose, but Pierce teaches:
a permissioned ledger communicatively coupled to the at least one of the plurality of blockchain devices ([0107-0109].), wherein the permissioned ledger allows registering the digital asset with the at least one of the plurality of blockchain devices ([0055], An example of a private and/or alternatively, a permissioned blockchain, is a blockchain used to record transactions associated with the creation, transfer and spending of a digital asset, namely, a digital tradeable token, that is backed by or is associated with a physical asset characterized by some value, such as a precious metal, e.g., gold.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Ma/Shah/Quinn/Hunn/Back with the teaching of Pierce as they relate to a system/method of accessing digital asset. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made would have recognized the combined systems of Ma/Shah/Quinn/Hunn/Back, for example by modifying the method of storing data set on a blockchain, in Ma, to include the system of a permissioned blockchain as taught in Pierce for the predicated result of improving the efficiency of processing a transaction.
The combination does not explicitly disclose, but DEONARINE teaches:
a right token ledger communicatively coupled to the at least one of the plurality of blockchain devices ([0035], If required, an encryption processor can also be used to perform the encryption operations with the data (980). Once the data has been processed and indexed using distributed cryptographic hash ledgers, it is then transmitted to another device using the input/output module (950). Such a device could be used in a clinical setting for storing, analyzing, securing, and otherwise handling biomedical information, with appropriate FDA approval (or such other regulatory entities in other jurisdictions) when required.),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Ma/Shah/Quinn/Hunn/Back /Pierce with the teaching of DEONARINE as they relate to a system/method of accessing digital asset. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made would have recognized the combined systems of Ma/Shah/Quinn/Hunn/Back /Pierce, for example by modifying the method of storing data set on a blockchain, in Ma, to include the system of additional layers on a blockchain as taught in DEONARINE for the predicated result of improving the secure exchange and tracking of information based on indexing of the layers.
Back further teaches:
wherein the right token ledger is a public ledger of the at least one of the plurality of blockchain devices and which holds a fungible right token ([0014], The systems and methods for pegged sidechains described herein allow bitcoins and other ledger assets to be transferred between multiple blockchains. This gives users access to new and innovative cryptocurrency systems using the assets they already own, without requiring the consensus that Bitcoin does to implement innovative new abilities (e.g., regarding security, transferability, etc.). By being linked to Bitcoin's currency via two-way pegs, the separate currency systems can more easily interoperate with each other and with Bitcoin, avoiding liquidity shortages and market fluctuations associated with new currencies.),
Ma further teaches: wherein the right token ledger allows committing at least one payment transaction on the blockchain device (see [0155-0156].)
Claims 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being obvious over Ma (US20180285996A1) in view of Shah (US20170236094A1) in view of Quinn et al. (US20170237747A1) in view of Li et al. (US20180337847A1) in view of DEONARINE et al. (US20180046766A1) in view of Back et al. (US20160330034A1) in view of Pierce et al. (US20190028276A1), and further in view of Hunn et al. (US20190122317A1).
With respect to claim 9
The combination of Ma, Shah, Quinn, Li, DEONARINE, Back, and Pierce teaches the limitation of claim 8. The combination doesn’t explicitly disclose, but Hunn teaches:
wherein the asset wrapper comprises a plurality of data fields comprising one or more of a general description field storing digital information associated with the digital asset ([0177-0178]).
a contractual field storing digital information containing licensing and contractual terms for retaining the digital asset,
a report infringement field digitally storing information related to procedures for reporting infringements on the associated digital asset,
an additional links field for digitally storing details about the asset holder system and its respective participant entity, or a transaction history field for digitally storing information related to contact details of the asset holder system and the respective participant entity.
Examiner’s Comment - Non-functional Descriptive Material
Claim 9 recites: “a contractual field storing digital information containing licensing and contractual terms for retaining the digital asset, a report infringement field digitally storing information related to procedures for reporting infringements on the associated digital asset, an additional links field for digitally storing details about the asset holder system and its respective participant entity, or a transaction history field for digitally storing information related to contact details of the asset holder system and the respective participant entity”, and that it considers containing non-functional descriptive material. The “a contractual field; a report infringement field; an additional links field; a transaction history field” are non-functional descriptive material because they describe the characteristics of the “data fields”. There are no operations that use any of the data fields; and simply describing what is being stored in the data field is considered as non-functional descriptive material. These characteristics are nor processed or used to carry out any steps or functions that rely on these specific characteristics. When descriptive material is not functionally related to the substrate, the descriptive material will not distinguish the invention from prior art in terms of patentability. It has been held that where the printed matter is not functionally related to the substrate, the printed matter will not distinguish the invention from the prior art in terms of patentability, thus the three public keys are not entitled to any patentable weight. [T]he critical question is whether there exists any new and unobvious functional relationship between the printed matter and the substrate (In re Gulack, 217 USPQ 401 (Fed. Cir. 1983), In re Ngai, 70 USPQ2d (Fed. Cir. 2004), In re Lowry, 32 USPQ2d 1031 (Fed. Cir. 1994); MPEP 2111.05), Ex parte Nehls 88 USPQ2d 1883 (BPAI 2008) (precedential); see also MPEP 2111.05 (I)(A) and (B), or (II)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Ma/Shah/Quinn/Li/Back/ DEONARINE/Pierce with the teaching of Hunn as they relate to a system/method of accessing digital asset. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made would have modified the combined system of Ma/Shah/Quinn/Li/Back/ DEONARINE/Pierce, for example storing data set on a blockchain in Ma, to include a system of asset wrapper comprising a plurality of data fields as taught in Hunn for the predicated result of improving the efficiency of processing a transaction.
With respect to claim 10
The combination of Ma, Shah, Quinn, Li, DEONARINE, Back, Pierce and Hunn teaches the limitation of claim 9. Ma further teaches: wherein the right token ledger allows committing at least one payment transaction on the blockchain device based on the smart contract executed by the blockchain device (see [0155-0156].)
With respect to claim 11
The combination of Ma, Shah, Quinn, Li, DEONARINE, Back, Pierce and Hunn teaches the limitation of claim 10. Ma further teaches:
wherein the blockchain device stores the digital asset in the form of distributed electronic ledgers across the plurality of participant systems to manage the at least one payment transaction involving the digital asset (see [0155-0156].)
With respect to claim 12
The combination of Ma, Shah, Quinn, Li, DEONARINE, Back, Pierce and Hunn teaches the limitation of claim 9. Pierce further teaches:
wherein the permissioned ledger is configured to give the computer executable access rights management codec a permission for allowing access to the digital asset ([0054], Another alternative to a public blockchain may be a permissioned blockchain where different entities are given different rights to interact with and use the blockchain. For example, some entities may be allowed to write and read data, whereas other entities may only be able to read the blockchain.)
With respect to claim 13
The combination of Ma, Shah, Quinn, Li, DEONARINE, Back, Pierce and Hunn teaches the limitation of claim 9. Pierce further teaches: wherein the plurality of public nodes includes decentralized systems that are replicated at multiple instances (see [0003].)
Ma further teaches:
wherein the plurality of public nodes synchronize data with the permissioned ledger and control transactions directly through the permissioned ledger ([0085-0086], the inventor may make an initial commitment to a remote repository, taking all the files and associated information, creates a hash, uploads all the files to a decentralized persistent storage system, and contacts a remote idea graph repository to request synchronization. The local and remote repositories maintain the structure of the “tree of hashes”, known as a Merkle tree. However, this implementation of the tree uses a cyclic, rather than acyclic, as is normally done. The address of the remote repository could be an http: ssh: or dig: address. However, it should be noted that this is “content addressing” and not “host addressing”, in that the hash generated serves as the locator of the content and invention file…..In some embodiments, in order to update or make a change to a Merkle directed idea graph 120, the inventor may make changes to the local repository by creating a commit data set 1302, make a “commit” to the source control system, and then synchronize the changes to the persistent decentralized file storage and remote idea graph repository.)
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL, necessitated by amendment. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YIN Y CHOI/Examiner, Art Unit 3699
9/6/2026
/NILESH B KHATRI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3699