DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status: Claims 1, 21, and 22 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on July 27, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
1) Applicant made an argument that pending claims require a carbon-fiber heating element embedded between the inner and outer layers of the face mask while Jeon’s heating structure is a detachable far-infrared heating plate. Applicant argued why a skilled artisan would use Jeon’s mask disclosure while abandoning the detachable-plate architecture emphasized by Jeon, embedding Wei’s different carbon-fiber element into one of those protective masks, and expecting the modified mask to retain the claimed physical relationships and protective-mask operation.
This argument has been considered but is not persuasive.
Jeon’s teaching is a reusable respirator mask and a surgical 3-ply face mask for the purpose of removing fine dust and viruses when wearing the mask (page 2). Jeon also discloses a heat plate that generates far infrared rays to block the virus (page 2).
Since Jeon teaches a reusable respirator mask or a surgical 3-ply face mask that can be used together with a heat plate, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate a reusable respirator mask or a surgical 3-ply face mask to be used together with the infrared radiation element consisting of a carbon-fiber heating element for the purpose of removing fine dust and viruses.
Additionally, it would have been obvious to configure the infrared radiation element to be permanently embedded and non-removably retained between an inner layer and an outer layer of the face mask, since it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04.
2) Applicant made an argument that Yan discloses a vest pocket that carries a rechargeable battery but not a clothing pocket on the face mask.
This argument has been considered but is not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that Yan does not disclose power source carried by the face mask in a clothing pocket on the face mask, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
Yan teaches that a battery power source is carried in a clothing pocket of a vest. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate this teaching to a face mask to carry a power source in a clothing pocket.
3) Applicant made an argument that it does not identify evidence that the 1-3 mm spacing was recognized in the prior art as a result-effective range for the claimed carbon-fiber protective-mask device.
This argument has been considered but is not persuasive.
Molina discloses that the distance between the infrared radiation element and the skin of the user can be adjusted if so desired by the user by simply adjusting the straps to pull the mask closer or farther away (para. [0047], [0056], Table 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify Wei as modified by Yang, Jeon, Yan, and Molina, by configuring the infrared radiation element to be positioned within 1-3 mm or 1-2 mm of a user's skin when the face mask is worn, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.05.
Additionally, in response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
4) Applicant made an argument that Havell does not disclose the claimed integrated arrangement in which a portable power bank is carried in a pocket on the face mask and is electrically connected by wiring having a plug and a power button. Applicant made an argument that Stewart’s disclosure of connecting battery unit to infrared coils through a USB port does not teach the portable power bank battery power having a USB style plug.
These arguments have been considered but are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
In response to Applicant's argument that importing Havell’s separate power-and-switch box would add an operative device element not recited by the closed claims, Examiner notes that the claim has not specified the physical form of the wiring having a plug and a power button. Havell’s switch box 34 is a power button that is part of the wiring. The modification with Havell is not adding an additional element not recited by the closed claims.
In response to Applicant's argument that Stewart’s connection of battery unit to infrared coils through a USB port does not teach the portable power bank battery power having a USB style plug, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been used Stewart’s teaching to implement a USB style plug to the battery power source since Stewart clearly teaches connection of battery unit through a USB port.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 21, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei (CN 104553123) in view of Yang (CN 106113788), Jeon (KR 20210123487), Yan (CN 107713087), Molina (US 2005/0070977), Havell (US 2007/0156208), and Stewart (US 2016/0106574).
Re Claims 1, 21, and 22, Wei discloses a wearable device for therapeutic skin treatment using infrared radiation, consisting of:
a base member in the form of a medical protective face mask selected from a reusable mask (abstract, a composite fabric for a thermal therapy mask; page 2, thermotherapy face shield);
an infrared radiation element consisting of a carbon-fiber heating element embedded between an inner layer and an outer layer of the face mask in a U-shaped pattern (pages 2 and 3, Detailed description of the invention, carbon fiber far infrared heating coil 31 is in a U-shaped pattern; annotated fig. 1 shows a carbon-fiber heating element embedded between the inner layer 1 and the outer layer 4);
a power source electrically connected to the infrared radiation element (page 2, carbon fiber far infrared heating coil is connected with power supply separably).
Wei is silent regarding a medical protective face mask selected from a KN95 mask, a reusable respirator mask, a surgical 3-ply face mask, or a reusable cotton mask; a portable battery power source carried by the face mask in a fabric pocket on the face mask; the infrared radiation element being configured to emit middle-infrared radiation at about 8.5 µm, wherein, when the face mask is worn, the infrared radiation element is configured to be positioned within 1-3 mm of a user's skin.
Wei discloses that the far infrared radiation is for promoting blood circulation and metabolism (abstract).
Yang discloses a physiotherapy product for promoting blood circulation and metabolism (abstract). Yang discloses a base member in the form of a medical protective face mask (page 2, masks) and discloses an infrared radiation element being configured to emit middle-infrared radiation at about 8.5 µm (abstract, The wavelength of the far infrared light wave can reach 5-15 μm, the actual peak wavelength is about 9 μm through detection).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify Wei, by configuring the infrared radiation element to emit middle-infrared radiation at about 8.5 µm, as taught by Yang, for the purpose of promoting blood circulation and metabolism (abstract).
Yang is silent regarding a medical protective face mask selected from a KN95 mask, a reusable respirator mask, a surgical 3-ply face mask, or a reusable cotton mask; a portable battery power source carried by the face mask in a fabric pocket on the face mask, wherein, when the face mask is worn, the infrared radiation element is configured to be positioned within 1-3 mm of a user's skin.
Jeon discloses a far infrared ray emitting mask (abstract) selected from a reusable respirator mask and a surgical 3-ply face mask (page 2, abstract, a mask with a detachable far-infrared heating plate, and more particularly, in order to have the effect of removing fine dust and removing viruses, the inner skin and outer skin are provided as a filter member to block fine dust, and at the same time, when wearing the mask. Due to contamination caused by long-time use of the mask, the far-infrared heating plate can be separated from the mask and washed during washing to extend the lifespan of the mask. The heat plate generates far infrared rays and heat to block the virus that is weak to heat in the respiratory tract, thereby eliminating virus infection, the moisturizing effect to keep moisture in the respiratory tract, and the benefit for toothache.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify Wei as modified by Yang, by configuring the medical protective face mask to be selected from a reusable respirator mask and a surgical 3-ply face mask, as taught by Jeon, for the purpose of removing fine dust, removing viruses, and keeping moisture in the respiratory tract (abstract).
Wei as modified by Yang and Jeon is silent regarding the infrared radiation element permanently embedded and non-removably retained between an inner layer and an outer layer of the face mask.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify Wei as modified by Yang and Jeon by configuring the infrared radiation element to be permanently embedded and non-removably retained between an inner layer and an outer layer of the face mask, since it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04.
Jeon is silent regarding a portable power bank battery power source carried by the face mask in a clothing pocket on the face mask, wherein, when the face mask is worn, the infrared radiation element is configured to be positioned within 1-3 mm of a user's skin.
However, Yan discloses a portable battery power source carried by a wearable in a clothing pocket on the wearable (page 2, the vest is double-layer structure, and outer layer is common fabric, and liner is that nanometer is remote Infrared weaving face fabric, vest inner side set battery pocket, set power supply in the pocket, described power supply is through outlet and battery connection. Described battery is rechargeable lithium batteries. Activated carbon fiber conduct can discharge far infrared.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify Wei as modified by Yang and Jeon, by adding a portable power bank battery power source carried by the face mask in a clothing pocket formed on an exterior surface of the face mask and electrically connected to the infrared radiation element, as taught by Yan, for the purpose of making the power source portable (page 2).
Yan is silent regarding wherein, when the face mask is worn, the infrared radiation element is configured to be positioned within 1-3 mm or 1-2 mm of a user's skin.
However, Molina discloses a light emitting mask and teaches the distance between the skin of the user and the infrared radiation element being at 6 mm (para. [0047], table 2, light source distance to skin: 0.6 cm; para. [0056], The distance from the LEDs and magnetics to the user's skin is typically a predetermined distance. However, it is within the purview of this invention that the distance can be adjusted if so desired by the user by simply adjusting the straps to pull the mask closer or farther away.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify Wei as modified by Yang, Jeon, and Yan, by configuring the distance between the skin of the user and the infrared radiation element to be at 6 mm when the face mask is worn, as taught by Molina, for the purpose of positioning the light source at a predetermined distance but in proximity for effective radiation distribution and emission on the treatment area.
Molina further discloses that the distance can be adjusted if so desired by the user by simply adjusting the straps to pull the mask closer or farther away (para. [0056]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify Wei as modified by Yang, Jeon, Yan, and Molina, by configuring the infrared radiation element to be positioned within 1-3 mm or 1-2 mm of a user's skin when the face mask is worn, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.05.
Wei, Yang, Jeon, Yan, and Molina are silent regarding the portable battery power source being electrically connected to the infrared radiation element by wiring having a plug and a power button, the portable power bank battery power source having a USB style plug.
However, Havell discloses a light therapy device electrically connected to a portable battery power source by wiring having a plug and a power button (fig. 8a, 8b, para. [0047], Cord 36 has second end 74 that connects to connection element 48 of the light device in fig. 9a; fig. 1a, 1b, para. [0034], Cord 36 connects to a switch 34 in fig. 1b. One end 71 of the power supply element 38 attaches to holes 70 of the power and switch box 34); para. [0047], The power and switch box housing area 72 has diametrically opposed holes 70. One end is for the power supply 38 (i.e., AC/DC transformer, battery power source, etc.) while the other is for receiving the cord 36 that runs from the power and switch box 34 to the flexible circuit substrate 22.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify Wei as modified by Yang, Jeon, Yan, and Molina, by electrically connecting the portable battery power source to the infrared radiation element by wiring having a plug and a power button, as taught by Havell, for the purpose of having an accessible power switch.
Havell is silent regarding the portable power bank battery power source having a USB style plug.
However, Stewart discloses a thermal body suite that provides heat therapy and teaches that a power source, such as a rechargeable battery unit, is in electrical communication with the FIR infrared coils via a USB port (para. [0026]). Stewart teaches that the battery unit is an external unit that is connected to the body suite via the USB port (para. [0026]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify Wei as modified by Yang, Jeon, Yan, Molina, and Havell, by configuring the portable power bank battery power source to have a USB style plug, as taught by Stewart, for the purpose of connecting the external battery unit to the infrared radiation element (para. [0026]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Benjamin J Klein/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3792
/V.V.H./
Vynn Huh, October 2, 2026
Examiner, Art Unit 3792