DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Applicant’s amendment filed 12 August 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 12 and 16 have been amended, new claims 20-24 have been introduced, and claims 2-8, 10-12, and 14-24 remain pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4, 7, 8, 10-12, and 14-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Collins (US 2020/0153062), in view of JI et al. (US 2024/0021947; hereinafter “Ji”), and MASCIANICA et al. (US 2016/0141569, hereinafter “Mascianica”).
Regarding claim 12, Collins teaches a battery module of a traction battery of a motor vehicle (battery pack 10, see Figs. 1-3), said battery module comprising:
a plurality of battery cells (battery cells 12, see Figs. 1-3; [0025]) arranged in at least two battery cell levels positioned one above the other (see Figs. 1-3),
a device (cold plate 14, see Figs. 1-9; [0025]) for cooling the plurality of battery cells, said device including:
a first cooling plate (cold plate 14, see Figs. 1-9; [0025]-[0026]), which is arranged between a first battery cell level and a second battery cell level of the at least two battery cell levels (see Figs. 1-3 – first battery cell level equated to first group 24 and second battery cell level equated to second group 25; [0029]-[0030]) and which is in thermal contact with the battery cells of the first and second battery cell levels (see Figs. 1-3),
wherein a first coolant channel (channel section 74, see Fig. 11; [0047]-[0052]) fluidly coupled to the coolant inflow (inlet port 72, see Fig. 11; [0046]) extends from the first side towards the second side (see Fig. 11 – first side equated to left side of Fig. 11 and second side equated to right side of Fig. 11),
wherein a second coolant channel (channel section 75, see Fig. 11; [0047]-[0052]) fluidly coupled to the first coolant channel (channel section 74, see Fig. 11; [0047]-[0052]) extends from the second side towards the first side (see Fig. 11), and
wherein a third coolant channel (channel section 76, see Fig. 11; [0047]-[0052]) fluidly coupled to the second coolant channel (channel section 75, see Fig. 11; [0047]-[0052]) and the coolant outflow (outlet port 73, see Fig. 11; [0046]) extends from the first side towards the second side (see Fig. 11).
Collins is silent to:
second cooling plates arranged within the first battery cell level (???) and oriented orthogonally to the first cooling plate (???), and
further second cooling plates arranged within the second battery cell level (???) and oriented orthogonally to the first cooling plate (???), said second and further second cooling plates being in thermal contact with a plurality of battery cells of the corresponding battery cell level (???),
wherein each of the second cooling plates is a cooling plate comprising:
(a) a first plate body,
(b) a second plate body connected to the first plate body,
(c) a coolant inflow formed by the first plate body and the second plate body at a first side of the cooling plate,
(d) a coolant outflow formed by the first plate body and the second plate body at a second side of the cooling plate, and
(e) coolant channels formed by the first plate body and the second plate body,
wherein a first coolant channel fluidly coupled to the coolant inflow extends from the first side towards the second side,
wherein a second coolant channel fluidly coupled to the first coolant channel extends from the second side towards the first side, and
wherein a third coolant channel fluidly coupled to the second coolant channel and the coolant outflow extends from the first side towards the second side,
wherein the first and second cooling plates are fluidly connected such that a cooling fluid travels from the first cooling plate, into the second cooling plates, and back into the first cooling plate.
Ji teaches:
second cooling plates arranged within a first battery cell level (combination of connecting members 130 and cooling plates 140, see Figs. 3 and 11; [0055] and [0079]), said second cooling plates being in thermal contact with a plurality of battery cells of the corresponding battery cell level (battery cells 110, see Fig. 3; [0055]), and
said second cooling plates being in thermal contact with a plurality of battery cells of the corresponding battery cell level (see Figs. 3, 4, and 16),
wherein each of the second cooling plates is a cooling plate comprising:
(a) a first plate body (left half of connecting members 131, see Fig. 15, and left half of cooling plates 140, see Fig. 12),
(b) a second plate body connected to the first plate body (right half of connecting members 131, see Fig. 15, and right half of cooling plates 140, see Fig. 12),
(c) a coolant inflow formed by the first plate body and the second plate body at a first side of the cooling plate (see [0078]-[0081]),
(d) a coolant outflow formed by the first plate body and the second plate body at a second side of the cooling plate (see [0078]-[0081]), and
(e) coolant channels formed by the first plate body and the second plate body (multiple water cooling channels 1312, see Fig. 15, and at least one second cooling channel 141 inside water cooling plate 140, see Fig. 12; [0076]-[0081]).
Ji teaches that these cooling plates help to absorb as much heat as possible to cool down the battery cells 110 (see [0080]).
In view of Ji’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the battery module of Collins to include
second cooling plates arranged within a first battery cell level and oriented orthogonally to the first cooling plate, said second cooling plates being in thermal contact with a plurality of battery cells of the corresponding battery cell level, and
further second cooling plates arranged within the second battery cell level and oriented orthogonally to the first cooling plate, said second and further second cooling plates being in thermal contact with a plurality of battery cells of the corresponding battery cell level,
wherein each of the second cooling plates is a cooling plate comprising:
(a) a first plate body,
(b) a second plate body connected to the first plate body,
(c) a coolant inflow formed by the first plate body and the second plate body at a first side of the cooling plate,
(d) a coolant outflow formed by the first plate body and the second plate body at a second side of the cooling plate, and
(e) coolant channels formed by the first plate body and the second plate body, because the second and further second cooling plates help to absorb as much heat as possible to cool down the battery cells.
Though the combination of Collins and Ji is silent to specifically teaching wherein each of the second cooling plates is a cooling plate comprising
wherein a first coolant channel fluidly coupled to the coolant inflow extends from the first side towards the second side,
wherein a second coolant channel fluidly coupled to the first coolant channel extends from the second side towards the first side, and
wherein a third coolant channel fluidly coupled to the second coolant channel and the coolant outflow extends from the first side towards the second side, Collins teaches that this structure is known for the first cooling plate (see Fig. 11; [0046]-[0052]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the combination of Collins and Ji for each of the second cooling plates is a cooling plate comprising wherein a first coolant channel fluidly coupled to the coolant inflow extends from the first side towards the second side, wherein a second coolant channel fluidly coupled to the first coolant channel extends from the second side towards the first side, and wherein a third coolant channel fluidly coupled to the second coolant channel and the coolant outflow extends from the first side towards the second side because it is a known coolant channel structure for a cooling plate. Furthermore, the configuration of the claimed coolant channel structure is a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed coolant channel structure was significant. See MPEP §2144.04(IV)(B).
The combination of Collins and Ji is silent to wherein the first and second cooling plates are fluidly connected such that a cooling fluid travels from the first cooling plate, into the second cooling plates, and back into the first cooling plate.
Mascianica teaches a cooling structure wherein a first and second cooling plate (first thermal plate 54 and second thermal plate 66, see Fig. 3; [0027]-[0030]) are fluidly connected such that a cooling fluid travels from the first cooling plate (fluid circulating within pipe 76 of the first thermal plate 54, see Fig. 3; [0027]-[0030]) into the second cooling plate (coolant fluid diverted into the inlet leg 90 and through second thermal plate 66 within pipe 98 of the second thermal plate 66, see Fig. 3; [0027]-[0030]), and back into the first cooling plate (fluid flows from the second thermal plate 66 to the first thermal plate 58 via the outlet leg 92, see Fig. 3; [0027]-[0030]). This configuration allows for one or both of the thermal devices 54, 66 to remove excess heat from components (see [0026]).
In view of Mascianica’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the battery module of the combination of Collins and Ji to include wherein the first and second cooling plates are fluidly connected such that a cooling fluid travels from the first cooling plate, into the second cooling plates, and back into the first cooling plate, because it allows for a single inlet to feed multiple cooling plates and allows for one or both of the thermal devices to remove excess heat from components.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Collins, Ji, and Mascianica teaches wherein the coolant inflow (Collins: inlet port 72, see Fig. 11; [0046]), the coolant channels (Collins: channel sections 74-76, see Fig. 11) and the coolant outflow (Collins: outlet port 73, see Fig. 11; [0046] ) are delimited in portions by portions of the plate bodies which rest against one another and are connected to one another (Collins: see Figs. 4-13).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Collins, Ji, and Mascianica teaches wherein the portions of the plate bodies resting against one another and connected to one another are formed by elevations formed in the plate bodies (Collins: see Figs. 4-13), and
recesses of the plate bodies extend between the elevations of the plate bodies and are spaced apart from one another and enclose the coolant inflow, the coolant channels and the coolant outflow (Collins: see Figs. 4-13).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Collins, Ji, and Mascianica teaches wherein the coolant inflow (Collins: inlet port 72, see Fig. 11; [0046]), the coolant channels (Collins: channel sections 74-76, see Fig. 11) and the coolant outflow (Collins: outlet port 73, see Fig. 11; [0046]) are integral components of the plate bodies (Collins: see Figs. 4-13).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Collins, Ji, and Mascianica is silent to wherein the plate bodies comprise stamped metal sheets which are soldered to one another but Teng is silent to wherein the sheets are soldered to one another. However, it is the Examiner’s position that stamped sheets for plate bodies is well known, and soldering is a conventional process used to join cooling plate bodies together and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to solder the stamped plate bodies together to form the plate bodies.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Collins, Ji, and Mascianica teaches wherein each cooling plate is configured to cool a plurality of battery cells of the battery module of the traction battery (Collins: see Figs. 1-3; Ji: see Figs. 3 and 16), and each cooling plate has a corrugated course between the first side and the second side adapted to a contour of the battery cells to be cooled of the battery module of the traction battery (Ji: see [0061] - if the battery cell 110 is cylindrical, the first connecting plate 131 is formed with a cambered surface to fit with the cylindrical battery cell 110).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Collins, Ji, and Mascianica teaches a traction battery comprising the battery module of claim 12 (see rejection for claim 12 above).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Collins, Ji, and Mascianica teaches a motor vehicle comprising the traction battery of claim 10 (see rejection for claim 10 above).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Collins, Ji, and Mascianica teaches wherein the first, second and third coolant channels are arranged in parallel (Collins: channel sections 74-76, see Fig. 11).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Collins, Ji, and Mascianica teaches wherein at least some of the battery cells are positioned above (Collins: see Figs. 1-3 – first group of battery cells 24) the first cooling plate (Collins: cold plate 14, see Figs. 1-9; [0025]-[0026]) and between two of the second cooling plates arranged within the first battery cell level (Ji: see Figs. 3 and 16).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Collins, Ji, and Mascianica teaches wherein the device for cooling the plurality of battery cells includes a cooling fluid inlet (Mascianica: thermal plate 54 includes an entrance port; see [0027]) through which the cooling fluid is delivered into the device and a cooling fluid outlet (Mascianica: exit port 80, see Fig. 3; [0027]) through which the cooling fluid is expelled from the device.
Regarding the functional language (e.g., through which a cooling fluid is delivered into the device, through which the cooling fluid is expelled from the device ), the Examiner has considered it. However, the Applicant is reminded that apparatus claims are not limited by the function they perform, as per MPEP §2114. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. As the apparatus of the prior art and the claimed apparatus are patentably indistinguishable in terms of structure, the apparatus of the prior art is reasonably expected to be able to perform the claimed functionalities.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Collins, Ji, and Mascianica teaches wherein the cooling fluid outlet is a port (Collins: outlet port 73, see Fig. 11; [0046]; Ji: see [0078]-[0081]) that is fixed to the first cooling plate (Collins: see Figs. 4-13).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Collins, Ji, and Mascianica is silent to wherein the port of the cooling fluid outlet extends above the first cooling plate and is arranged between two of the second cooling plates arranged within the first battery cell level. However, absent persuasive evidence to the contrary, the particular placement of the port of the cooling fluid outlet in relation to the first cooling plate and being in between two of the second cooling plates arranged within the first battery cell level is held to be an obvious matter of design choice. See MPEP §2144.04(VI)(C).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Collins, Ji, and Mascianica teaches wherein at least some of the battery cells are positioned above (Collins: see Figs. 1-3 – first group of battery cells 24) the first cooling plate (Collins: cold plate 14, see Figs. 1-9; [0025]-[0026]) and between said two of the second cooling plates arranged within the first battery cell level (Ji: see Figs. 3 and 16).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Collins, Ji, and Mascianica teaches wherein the cooling fluid outlet (Mascianica: exit port 80, see Fig. 3; [0027]) is a cooling fluid outlet port that is disposed on the first cooling plate (Mascianica: thermal plate 54 includes exit port 80, see Fig. 3; [0027]) and the cooling fluid inlet (Mascianica: thermal plate 54 includes an entrance port; see [0027]) is a cooling fluid inlet port that is disposed on the first cooling plate (Mascianica: thermal plate 54 includes an entrance port; see [0027]).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Collins, Ji, and Mascianica teaches wherein for each of the second cooling plates, the first cooling plate includes (i) a port that is fluidly connected to the coolant inflow of the second cooling plate for distributing coolant from the first cooling plate into the second cooling plate (Mascianica: equated to port 88, see Fig. 3; [0027]-[0030]), and (ii) a port that is fluidly connected to the coolant outflow of the second cooling plate for distributing coolant from the second cooling plate back into the first cooling plate (Mascianica: equated to port 86, see Fig. 3; [0027]-[0030]).
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Collins, Ji, and Mascianica teaches wherein for each of the second cooling plates, the first cooling plate includes (i) a port that is fluidly connected to the coolant inflow of the second cooling plate for distributing coolant from the first cooling plate into the second cooling plate (Mascianica: equated to port 88, see Fig. 3; [0027]-[0030]), and (ii) a port that is fluidly connected to the coolant outflow of the second cooling plate for distributing coolant from the second cooling plate back into the first cooling plate (Mascianica: equated to port 86, see Fig. 3; [0027]-[0030]).
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Collins, Ji, and Mascianica teaches wherein for each of the second cooling plates, the first cooling plate is: (i) fluidly connected to the coolant inflow of the second cooling plate for distributing coolant from the first cooling plate into the second cooling plate (Mascianica: during operation, a portion of the fluid circulating within pipe 76 of the first thermal plate 54 is diverted into the inlet leg 90 and flows to the second thermal plate 66; [0027]-[0030]), and (ii) fluidly connected to the coolant outflow of the second cooling plate for distributing coolant from the second cooling plate back into the first cooling plate (Mascianica: fluid flows from the second thermal plate 66 to the first thermal plate via the outlet leg 92, see Fig. 3; [0027]-[0030]).
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Collins, Ji, and Mascianica teaches wherein for each of the second cooling plates, the coolant inflow and the coolant outflow are disposed at opposite sides of the second cooling plate (Mascianica: see Fig. 3 – coolant inflow disposed at where inlet leg 90 joins second thermal plate 66, and cooling outflow disposed at where outlet leg 92 joins second thermal plate 66, which are on opposite sides of second thermal plate 66; see [0027]-[0030]).
Claim(s) 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Collins, Ji, and Mascianica as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Kiser et al. (US 5,730,213; hereinafter “Kiser”).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Collins, Ji, and Mascianica is silent to wherein:
in a transition region between the coolant inflow and the first coolant channel, round or oval portions of the plate bodies rest against one another and are connected to one another, and/or
in a transition region between the third coolant channel and the coolant outflow, round or oval portions of the plate bodies rest against one another and are connected to one another.
Kiser teaches an improved cooling tube 24 in accordance with the present invention is illustrated in top and bottom views in FIG. 4 and 5 wherein the flattened tube 24 is shown to include a array of inwardly projecting dimples, bumps or turbulators 34 for increasing heat transfer from the contained fluid to the tube 24 by agitating the flow of fluid through the tube 24. It will be appreciated by those skilled in the art that the turbulators 34 by projecting into the cross-section flow area of the tube 24 create obstructions that locally divert the fluid flow and thereby induce agitation or turbulence in the fluid. In comparison of FIGS. 4 and 5 it can be seen that one or more of the dimples or turbulators 34 can be aligned with each other. It will be appreciated that the dimples 34 locally constrict the tube causing a localized pressure increase to further energize and agitate the flow. In a particularly preferred embodiment, the dimples 34 can be located in oppositely disposed relation opposite each other on the upper and lower surfaces 25 and 26 respectively and can be aligned to narrow the flow path therethrough. In a particularly preferred embodiment opposed dimples 34 can contact each other to thereby improve the strength and structural rigidity of the flattened tube with the fluid flow being diverted around the restriction and the local turbulence of the fluid being increased (see Fig. 8 and 4:19-55).
In view of Kiser’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the battery module of the combination of Collins, Ji, and Mascianica to include in a transition region between the coolant inflow and the first coolant channel, round or oval portions of the plate bodies rest against one another and are connected to one another, and/or in a transition region between the third coolant channel and the coolant outflow, round or oval portions of the plate bodies rest against one another and are connected to one another because it helps to improve the strength and structural rigidity of cooling plate with the fluid flow being diverted around the restriction and the local turbulence of the fluid being increased.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Collins, Ji, and Mascianica is silent to wherein:
in a transition region between the first coolant channel and the second coolant channel, bent, curved or sickle-shaped portions of the plate bodies rest against one another and are connected to one another, and/or
in a transition region between the second coolant channel and the third coolant channel, bent, curved or sickle-shaped portions of the plate bodies rest against one another and are connected to one another.
Kiser teaches an improved cooling tube 24 in accordance with the present invention is illustrated in top and bottom views in FIG. 4 and 5 wherein the flattened tube 24 is shown to include an array of inwardly projecting dimples, bumps or turbulators 34 for increasing heat transfer from the contained fluid to the tube 24 by agitating the flow of fluid through the tube 24. It will be appreciated by those skilled in the art that the turbulators 34 by projecting into the cross-section flow area of the tube 24 create obstructions that locally divert the fluid flow and thereby induce agitation or turbulence in the fluid. In comparison of FIGS. 4 and 5 it can be seen that one or more of the dimples or turbulators 34 can be aligned with each other. It will be appreciated that the dimples 34 locally constrict the tube causing a localized pressure increase to further energize and agitate the flow. In a particularly preferred embodiment, the dimples 34 can be located in oppositely disposed relation opposite each other on the upper and lower surfaces 25 and 26 respectively and can be aligned to narrow the flow path therethrough. In a particularly preferred embodiment, opposed dimples 34 can contact each other to thereby improve the strength and structural rigidity of the flattened tube with the fluid flow being diverted around the restriction and the local turbulence of the fluid being increased (see Fig. 8 and 4:19-55).
In view of Kiser’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the battery module of the combination of Collins, Ji, and Mascianica to include in a transition region between the first coolant channel and the second coolant channel, bent, curved or sickle-shaped portions of the plate bodies rest against one another and are connected to one another, and/or in a transition region between the second coolant channel and the third coolant channel, bent, curved or sickle-shaped portions of the plate bodies rest against one another and are connected to one another, because it helps to improve the strength and structural rigidity of cooling plate with the fluid flow being diverted around the restriction and the local turbulence of the fluid being increased.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5 September 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 7-10 of the remarks, Applicant argues, with respect to amended claim 12, that neither Collins nor Ji, either taken alone or in combination, teaches the limitation “the first and second cooling plates are fluidly connected such that a cooling fluid travels from the first cooling plate, into the second cooling plates, and back into the first cooling plate.”
The Examiner finds this argument moot as amended claim 12 is now being rejected in view of Collins, Ji, and Mascianica. Mascianica teaches a cooling structure wherein a first and second cooling plate (first thermal plate 54 and second thermal plate 66, see Fig. 3; [0027]-[0030]) are fluidly connected such that a cooling fluid travels from the first cooling plate (fluid circulating within pipe 76 of the first thermal plate 54, see Fig. 3; [0027]-[0030]) into the second cooling plate (coolant fluid diverted into the inlet leg 90 and through second thermal plate 66 within pipe 98 of the second thermal plate 66, see Fig. 3; [0027]-[0030]), and back into the first cooling plate (fluid flows from the second thermal plate 66 to the first thermal plate 58 via the outlet leg 92, see Fig. 3; [0027]-[0030]). This configuration allows for one or both of the thermal devices 54, 66 to remove excess heat from components (see [0026]).
Conclusion
/S.S.H/Examiner, Art Unit 1735 5 September 2026
/KEITH WALKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1735