This office action is in response to applicant’s amendments filed July 8, 2026. Claims 1-6,8-10,12,13 and 15-18 are pending. Claims 7,11 and 14 have been cancelled. Claims 16-18 are new. Claims 1,10 and 12 have been amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6, 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “several” in claims 1,8 and 9 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “several” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The examiner is unclear how many steps meets several and interpreted several to mean 2 or more for examination purposes. Claims 2-6 are also rejected for being dependent upon claim 1 and inheriting the same deficiency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6,8-10,12,13 and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Allen (US 2,134,898) in view of Votteler (DE4206021A1), Horikawa (Development of colorless wood via two-step delignification involving alcoholysis and bleaching with maintaining natural hierarchical structure. J Wood Sci (2020) 66:37), Kritchevsky (US 2,096,400) and Armstrong (US 5,242,464).
Van Allen teaches bleaching wood veneers in patterns by selectively applying a masking agent as a stencil to parts of the veneer to be bleached in any design, contour, shape, shading or pattern and applying bleach such that the masked or stenciled regions are selectively bleached to a desired degree (page 1, left column, lines 1-45; page 1, right column, lines 40-50).
Van Allen does not teach the veneer is joined to a substrate on a rear side with the bleached surface being visible.
Votteler teaches that wood veneers are known to be joined to substrates by gluing the rear surface to the substrate and with the bleach surface being the visible surface (paragraph 0001).
Horikawa teaches that in bleaching wood it is known to perform multiple immersions such as 4-8 immersions in a bleach solution (page 5, preparation of colorless wood by bleaching, figure 5).
Kritchevsky teaches effectively bleaching wood veneers and wood panels by immersing the veneer in the bleach (page 2, lines 34-40) wherein the time of immersion, temperature of immersion can be controlled to obtain the desired bleaching effects or by spraying or brushing the bleach on the wood veneer (page 2, lines 25-54).
Armstrong teaches it is known to bleach wood in patterns wherein different segments of the wood have different colorations by different applications of bleach for different lengths of time, for example 4 separate segments of wood were treated differently with bleach and produced different bleaching patterns (column 4, lines 27-64).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the methods of Van Allen by bleaching the visible surface of a veneer and attaching the bleached veneer by a rear surface to a substrate or bleaching the veneer first and then attaching it by the rear surface to show a pattern on the visible surface as Votteler teaches bleaching is effectively accomplished on wood veneers to produce a bleached veneer and attached to a substrate such that the bleached veneer surface is visible. The bleaching order before attaching the veneer or after attaching the veneer to a substrate such as a wood panel or furniture is simply and order of steps as in both cases the same effect is achieved of a bleached veneer attached to a substrate with the visible bleach pattern showing. "As a general rule, no invention is involved in the broad concept of performing simultaneously operations which have been previously been performed in sequence ." In re Tatincloux and Guy, 108 USPQ 125(CCPA 1955). In general, the transposition of process steps or the splitting of one step into two, where the processes are substantially identical or equivalent in terms of function, manner and result, was held to not patentably distinguish the processes, see Ex parte Rubin, 128 USPQ 159 (PO BdPatApp 1959).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the methods of Van Allen by immersing the veneer several times in a bleaching medium and changing the position between each immersion to produce a different alignments as Horikawa teaches it is known to dip wood in bleach solutions 4-8 times to arrive at a desired degree of bleaching and Armstrong teaches wood can be bleaches in different sections in different patterns based on the interaction with the bleach and time of exposure to the bleach.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the methods of Van Allen and Votteler by immersing the veneers alone or the veneers attached to the substrate into a bleach solution and bleaching for different lengths of time, bleaching continuously or stepwise and changing the position and alignment of each immersion as Kritchevsky teaches the immersion including time of immersion controls the degree of bleaching. Nothing unobvious is seen is selecting different parts of the veneer and immersing in bleach several times in different alignments to control the bleaching pattern or shading to arrive at a custom bleaching pattern. Performing a continuous immersion by gradually lowering the veneer into the bleach to get a gradient effect of stepwise immersion to get different regions of different bleach patterns is obvious as Van Allen clearly teaches different patterns and shadings can be produced. The bleach contact with the wood is responsible for the coloring pattern and the immersion trajectory, the contact surface of the veneer with the bleach and stencil and the bleach exposure time would directly impact the bleaching pattern and can be determined through routine experimentation based on the desired bleach design.
It is noted that the part of the wood that enters the bleach solution first has a longer time of exposure than other parts of the wood as it is first to enter the bleach and last to leave the bleach. Since it is well known in the art to perform multiple applications of bleach solutions to wood and veneer of wood by multiple immersions and treat different parts of wood differently including variations in time of bleach exposure to effect coloration, nothing unobvious is seen in producing gradient or continuous color patterns by repeated immersions as this is simply a design choice to form the final desired coloration, whether it be uniform bleaching or patterned bleaching. These are well recognized result effective variables. Each bleaching immersion meets the limitation of a separate bleaching cycle, so multiple dips into a bleach comprises an initial bleaching cycle and subsequent bleaching cycles. Furthermore the lowest point of the wood always spend a fractionally greater time in the bleach than upper portions as it is first in the bleach and last out. Each portion of the wood spends a different time in the bleach as upper sections have less exposure with lower sections having greater exposure due to immersion of all parts not happening simultaneously due to the small amount of time required to lower the wood into the bleach. Since the time of contact with bleach is known to impact the final coloration, it is within routine skill to optimize this art recognized variable to control the desired color and since patterning with bleach is recognized, controlling bleaching time and exposure to determine the final coloration pattern of the wood and veneer is obvious.
Regarding the different bleaching intensities, bleaching pattern of graduated strips or continuous transition, it would have been obvious to achieve these intensities and patterns as Van Allen teaches producing any bleached design, contour, shape, shading or pattern and applying bleach such that the masked or stenciled regions are selectively bleached to a desired degree. The selection of the bleaching intensities, graduated strip or continuous transition patterns is simply a design choice.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to art applied in the new rejections above have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The examiner argues that all elements of applicant’s claims are previously understood practices in the prior art including multiple immersions into bleach to impact degree of bleaching, using time of bleach exposure as a variable to produce different degrees of bleaching performance on wood and veneers, providing wood with separate areas of different bleaching effects and using stenciling and masking to produce desired bleaching patterns. Using any known method of bleaching wood or combination of methods such as immersion and stenciling to produce wood bleaching patterns is obvious as substituting one effective method for achieving bleaching of wood for another effective method is obvious. Similar methods for uniform bleaching can be modified to produce patterned bleaching as the exposure time to the bleach and area of exposure are well recognized result effective variable known to control the bleaching degree. Furthermore even in a single immersion in bleach, the lowest point of the wood always spend a fractionally greater time in the bleach solutions than upper portions as it is first in the bleach and last out. Each portion of the wood spends a different time in the bleach as upper sections have less exposure with lower sections having greater exposure due to immersion of all parts not happening simultaneously due to the small amount of time required to lower the wood into the bleach and the lowering is a continuous or stepwise process depending if the wood is lowered at a constant rate or in a stepwise manner. The four strip segmented bleached wood demonstrates that in the prior art it is understood that exposing different parts of the wood to different exposures of bleaching produces different results and producing the effect by immersion for different times and orientations would also produce the same effect. It is the examiner’s position that applicant’s invention an easily arrived at combination of known bleaching protocols with the understanding the different patterns can be made by different exposure times to bleach.
Conclusion
/AMINA S KHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761