DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim 1, 3, 6-7, and 9 are amended. Claims 1-11 are pending. The rejection over Morimoto in view of Bauer is withdrawn in light of the amendment; however, claims 1-11 remain rejected over Woo in view of Sakamoto and Bauer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woo et al. (US 2020/0075982) in view of Sakamoto et al. (US 2014/0127608) and Bauer (US 2014/0302418).
Regarding claim 1, Woo teaches a membrane electrode assembly for fuel cells comprising:
a pair of electrodes (100a, 100b);
an electrolyte membrane (50) with extension member extending outside the electrodes (see Fig. 4);
a subgasket (200a, 200b) bonded to both surfaces of the membrane extension member, comprising an upper and (200a) and lower (200b) gasket (Fig. 1);
and an opening, or moisture drain hole (205a, 205b), in both gaskets, to discharge moisture generated in the membrane (Fig. 3, [0002], [0042]). It is seen in Figure 4 of Woo that the upper gasket (200a) is directly bonded to the upper surface of the upper electrode (100a) and an upper surface of the membrane extension member.
Further regarding claim 1, Woo fails to teach that the upper and lower gasket extend outside the membrane extension membrane and are bonded to each other. Woo does not explicitly teach the structure of the lower gasket with respect to the lower electrode.
Sakamoto teaches a membrane electrode assembly as in claim 1, including electrodes (6), a membrane (5) having membrane extension member, and gaskets (1), and wherein the upper and lower gaskets are directly bonded to the respective upper and lower surfaces of the electrodes (Figure 4). It is seen in Figure 4 that the gaskets extend beyond the membrane extension member and are bonded together.
It would have been obvious to the skilled artisan to substitute the known structure of Sakamoto of extending gaskets beyond the edge of the membrane in the assembly of Woo and the results, i.e. a gasketed MEA, would have been predictable. MPEP 2143 I B
With further regard to claim 1, Woo in view of Sakamoto fails to teach the claimed void.
Bauer teaches a membrane electrode assembly including a void, or cavity volume (150), provided between upper and lower gaskets, or sealing cover sections (125, 135) (Figure 2, [0045]). Bauer further teaches that the void is desirable for creating a buffer to allow for swelling and shrinkage of the membrane, thereby reducing the risk of damage to the membrane ([0090]).
It would have been obvious to provide a void in the membrane electrode assembly of Woo in view of Sakamoto such as suggested by Bauer in order to reduce the risk of damage to the membrane.
As for claim 2, it is seen in Figure 1 of Woo that the openings (205) are plural and spaced apart from each other in a circumferential direction of the membrane.
As for claims 2-5, it is seen in Figures 3 and 4 that the openings (205) are provided and extend completely though both gaskets and have a width less than the width of the extension member.
Regarding claims 6 and 7, it is seen in Figure 4 of Sakamoto that the gaskets include base film layers (1) and adhesive layers (2).
Regarding claim 8, Sakamoto teaches that the adhesive layers have an adhesive strength of 0.5N/mm, or 5 N/cm and is made of epoxy resin ([0042], [0070]). As to the water content, the examiner finds that, since the material of Sakamoto is the same as the disclosed material and has the same adhesive strength, it would inherently have the same water content. MPEP 2112
Regarding claim 9, it is seen in Figure 2 of Woo that the gaskets (200a, 200b) cover edges of the electrodes (100a, 100b).
As for claims 10 and 11, Woo teaches the MEA in a PEMFC, which is known for use in vehicles ([0003], [0030]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/26/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With regard to the rejection over Woo in view of Sakamoto and Bauer, Applicant alleges, on pages 8-9 of the Remarks, that the references fails to teach the newly added limitations of claim 1 to the gaskets being directly bonded to the electrodes and membrane extension members. The examiner disagrees, and directs Applicant to the rejection above, and to Figure 4 of Woo and Figures 4-5 of Sakamoto.
With further regard to the teachings of Bauer, and with regard to Applicant’s arguments concerning the teachings of Bauer found on pages 6-7 of the Remarks, the examiner maintains that Bauer obviates the claimed void, or cavity volume, for the reasons provided above and in the Final Rejection of 2/24/26.
Applicant argues that the gaskets, or sealing cover sections (125, 135), of Bauer are not the same as the claimed gaskets. However, the claimed gaskets are obviated by Woo and Sakamoto for the reasons provided above. Bauer is relied upon for the teachings of the void limitation, and provides clear motivation to the skilled artisan to provide a void.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Additionally, Applicant is reminded that the skilled artisan is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton, and is able to fit the teachings of multiple patents together like pieces of a puzzle, using the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ. MPEP 2141.03 I
Conclusion
/ALIX E EGGERDING/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1729