DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1 and 5-7 are examined in the office action of which claims 1, 5 and 7 were amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2013/0095347 A1 of Kawasaki (US’347).
Regarding claims 1 and 5-6, US 2013/0095347 A1 of Kawasaki (US’347) teaches “[0001] The present invention relates to a hot-stamped steel that is excellent in terms of balance between strength and toughness. Particularly, the present invention relates to a hot-stamped steel having a strength of 1470 MPa or more and a sufficient energy absorption capability. In addition, the present invention relates to a method of producing a steel sheet for hot stamping that is applied to parts manufactured through hot stamping, and a method of producing a hot-stamped steel in which this steel sheet for hot stamping is used.” “[0012] (1) A hot-stamped steel according to an aspect of the present invention includes, by mass %, C: 0.20% to 0.35%, Si: 0.1% to 0.5%, the total of at least one selected from Mn and Cr: 1% to 3%, Al: 0.005% to 0.06%, Ti: 0.002% to 0.1%, Nb: 0.002% to 0.1%, O: 0.003% to 0.007%, and a balance of iron and inevitable impurities, wherein P is limited to 0.015% or less, S is limited to 0.01% or less, and N is limited to 0.004% or less, the dimensional ratio of the lengths of prior austenite grains in a rolling direction to the lengths of the prior austenite in the sheet thickness direction is 1.3 to 2.5, the average grain size of the prior austenite grains is 6 μm or less, the microstructure includes 98% or more of martensite, and the tensile strength is 1470 MPa or more. [0013] (2) The hot-stamped steel according to the above (1) may further include, by mass %, one or more of B: 0.005% or less, V: 0.1% or less, Mo: 0.5% or less, Ca: 0.03% or less, Mg: 0.03% or less, REM: 0.03% or less, Cu: 0.5% or less, Sn: 0.1% or less, Ni: 0.5% or less, and W: 1% or less. [0014] (3) The hot-stamped steel according to the above (1) or (2) may further comprise a coating layer formed by solidification of molten metal on the surface.” and points out a specific examples in Table 2 for instance Steel A-D & G,H {Table 2 [0083]} that has PAG diameter and martensite that lies within the claimed range thereby anticipating the instant claims. See MPEP § 2131.03 I.
Regarding the properties of claims 1 and 5, it is noted that the prior art is silent regarding its alloy having the properties (amounts of low-grain boundary, special grain boundary and random grain boundary) of as recited in the instant claims. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP § 2112.01 I. “Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP § 2112.01 II. Therefore, it is expected that the alloy of the prior art possesses the properties as claimed in the instant claims since a) the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, b) the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition (martensite with PAG of specific size) and c) the claimed and prior art products are produced by identical or substantially identical processes {Prior art: [0001], [0010]-[0026], [0083]}. Since the Office does not have a laboratory to test the reference alloy, it is applicant’s burden to show that the reference alloy does not possess the properties as claimed in the instant claims. See In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977); In re Marosi, 218 USPQ 289, 292-293 (Fed. Cir. 1983); In re Fitzgerald et al., 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2013/0095347 A1 of Kawasaki (US’347).
Regarding claim 7, US 2013/0095347 A1 of Kawasaki (US’347) teaches “[0001] The present invention relates to a hot-stamped steel that is excellent in terms of balance between strength and toughness. Particularly, the present invention relates to a hot-stamped steel having a strength of 1470 MPa or more and a sufficient energy absorption capability. In addition, the present invention relates to a method of producing a steel sheet for hot stamping that is applied to parts manufactured through hot stamping, and a method of producing a hot-stamped steel in which this steel sheet for hot stamping is used.” with a composition wherein the claimed ranges of the constituent elements ([0010]-[0026], [0047]-[0068]) of the instant alloy of the instant claims overlap or lie inside the ranges of various elements of the alloy of the prior art as shown in the List 1 above. As the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness is established as it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to select the claimed composition over the prior art disclosure since the prior art teaches the similar property/utility throughout the disclosed ranges. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See MPEP § 2144.05 I.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 5-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of copending Application No. 18/079,402 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the copending application teaches a hot stamping component with substantially identical composition, microstructure and properties.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1 and 5-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of copending Application No. 18/079,493 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the copending application teaches a hot stamping component with substantially identical composition, microstructure and properties.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/2/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the arguments that the prior art would not have the recited properties, Applicant's arguments filed 9/2/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. As noted above, it is expected that the alloy of the prior art possesses the properties as claimed in the instant claims since a) the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, b) the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition (martensite with PAG of specific size) and c) the claimed and prior art products are produced by identical or substantially identical processes {Prior art: [0001], [0010]-[0026], [0083]}. Furthermore, Applicant’s own data buttresses the position that prior art would have the recited limitations of the grain boundary as Applicant’s data in Table 2 shows that all samples having prior austenite grain size between 5 and 35 microns would also have the recited fractions of low-angle grain boundary and special grain boundary {See instant specification Table 2 Examples 1-4}.
Regarding the double patenting rejections, the rejections have been maintained and modified in view of the amendments.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOPHY S. KOSHY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1733