The examiner has considered the amendment filed by applicants on May 26, 2026. In light of the amendment, the examiner has withdrawn the rejections made in the previous Office Action. However, the amendment has necessitated the following new rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-14, and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rath (US 6,693,129) in view of Vinson et al. (Am. J. Clin. Nutr., 1988), and Kleiman et al. (WO 01/03664).
The instant claims are drawn to a vitamin C preparation comprising a homogeneous mixture of a vitamin C component comprising at least about 90% by wt. of the preparation, and a lipophilic component comprising at least one saturated straight-chain C16 to C34 fatty alcohol, and at least one unsaturated omega-9 C18 to C24 fatty acid, wherein the lipophilic molecule component is dispersed within said homogenous mixture together with the vitamin C component. Further limitations include the presence of a bioflavonoid component.
Rath teaches a composition for lowering plasma lipoproteins and risk factors of cardiovascular diseases in humans (abstract). The composition comprises ascorbic acid (vitamin C) and its salts, and citrus bioflavonoids (col. 3, lines 20-34; table 1). The composition may be administered by pharmaceutically acceptable means of delivery, including oral, nasal, parenteral, topical, or transdermal administration, or delivered in the form of solid, semi-solid, liquid, or powder dosage forms. This includes tablets, pills, etc. (col. 5, lines 44-56).
Rath does not expressly teach the presence of fatty acids and/or fatty alcohols; however, Kleiman et al. teach stabilized ascorbic acid (vitamin C) compositions dispersed in wax, e.g., jojoba esters, in an amount of at least 5% by weight (abstract). Compounds present in the jojoba wax include fatty acids such as stearic acid, oleic acid, and linoleic acid, and fatty alcohols such as cetyl alcohol, stearyl alcohol, and oleyl alcohol (page 4).
Vinson et al. teach a study on the bioavailability of ascorbic acid alone or in a citrus extract, The citric extract contains ascorbic acid along with bioflavonoids naringin, naringenin, and hesperidin.
The instant claims are rendered obvious by the combined reference teachings, since Kleiman et al. teach that the addition of fatty acids and fatty alcohols to vitamin C formulations help to stabilize such formulation and increase the bioavailability of the vitamin C therein. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have seen the benefit of adding such compounds to the vitamin C composition taught by Rath, in order to stabilize and increase the bioavailability of such a vitamin C composition, as suggested by Kleiman et al.
A person having ordinary skill in the art would also be able to adjust the concentration of the components of the ascorbic acid composition taught by Rath in order to afford a composition that provides optimal results in lowering plasma lipoproteins according to Rath, and allows for minimal unpleasantness for the subject requiring such as composition.
Vinson et al. was cited to teach the specific bioflavonoids that would be present in citrus bioflavonoid composition taught by Rath. The fact that Rath teaches compounds in its composition that are not recited in the instant claims is immaterial, since the instant claims do not preclude such compounds from the vitamin C preparation, due to the open-ended, i.e., “comprising” language used in the claims. Therefore, the instant claims are found to be obvious in view of the combined reference teachings.
Claims 4, 5, and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3, 6-14, and 16-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection relies on a combination of references not previously considered by applicant, and therefore the matters specifically challenged in applicant’s arguments are not germane to the current rejection.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SIKARL A WITHERSPOON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1692