Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are currently pending;
Claims 1, 3, 6, 9, 14-15, and 17-19 are currently amended;
Status of Objections and Rejections Pending Since the Office Action of 11/04/2025
The objections to claim 14 are withdrawn;
The 102(a)(1) rejection of claims 1, 3-7, 9-12, 15, and 17-19 is withdrawn and replaced by a 103 rejection;
The 103 rejections of claims 2, 8, 13-14, 16, and 20 are withdrawn and replaced with new 103 rejections.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 02/02/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under 102(a)(1) and 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Nicholls in view of Kim, Nicholls in view of Kim and US ’272, and Nicholls in view of Kim and Meintschel.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-7, 9-13, 15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nicholls et al. (US-20170331142-A1), hereinafter Nicholls, in view of Kim et al. (US-20170005382-A1), hereinafter Kim.
Regarding claim 1, Nicholls teaches a battery assembly comprising: a battery housing ([0025] battery pack); a battery cell located in the battery housing ([0025] battery pack comprising a plurality of rechargeable cells) and including a cell case (fig. 1A; [0060] outer casing/can 38), the cell case having a case wall ([0060] can 38) integrally formed with a coolant tube as a single-piece wall structure ([0075] the base portion of the core insert 44 can be welded to the case of the outer casing 38, making the coolant tube and case wall a single-piece structure), the coolant tube extending into the cell case and opening through the case wall (fig. 1B [0062]-[0066] core insert 44 in hollow core 34 provides means for central cooling).
Nicholls does teach a cold plate assembly located inside the battery housing and attached to the battery cell (figs. 3-4, [0067]-[0068] cooling system 200), a cold plate assembly including a first plate ([0068] fig. 4 first plate is interpreted as block 204) integrally formed with a first coolant shaft as a first single-piece plate structure, the first coolant shaft projecting outward from the first plate into the coolant tube ([0068] fig. 4 route 214 is considered the first coolant shaft and is defined by the first plate 204, the flow path extending into the coolant tube), a second coolant shaft projecting into the first coolant shaft and the coolant tube (fig. 4 conduit 212 under the first coolant plate and first coolant shaft), wherein the cold plate assembly is configured to circulate coolant fluid between the first plate, into the cell case via the coolant tube and one of the first and second coolant shafts, and out of the cell case via the coolant tube and the other one of the first and second coolant shafts (fig. 4; [0068] flow of coolant). However, this cold plate assembly of Nicholls fails to include a second plate that defines the second coolant shaft, instead relying on conduit 212 to define the second coolant shaft rather than a plate. As such, Nicholls fails to teach a second plate stacked with the first plate, the second plate integrally formed with a second coolant shaft as a second single-piece structure, the second coolant shaft projecting outward from the second plate into the first coolant shaft and the coolant tube wherein the cold plate assembly is configured to circulate coolant fluid between the first and second plates, into the cell case via the coolant tube and one of the first and second coolant shafts, and out of the cell case via the coolant tube and the other one of the first and second coolant shafts.
Kim is considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of cooling system for batteries ([0010]). Kim teaches a cold plate assembly located inside the battery housing and attached to the battery cell (fig. 1; fig. 6; fig. 9), a cold plate assembly including a first plate (fig. 9; top plate as a first plate) integrally formed with a first coolant shaft as a first single-piece plate structure (fig. 9; [0066]; [0082]; first coolant shaft 602b defined by the first plate), the first coolant shaft projecting outward from the first plate into the coolant tube (fig. 9; [0066]; [0082]; 602b projects upward into 502b), the second plate integrally formed with a second coolant shaft as a second single-piece plate structure (fig. 9; [0082] multi-layered cooling plate structure defining an outflow layer 602a with outflow part 502a), the second coolant shaft projecting outward from the second plate into the first coolant shaft and the coolant tube (fig. 9; [0082] multi-layered cooling plate structure with second coolant shaft 502a projecting from the second plate through/into the first coolant shaft 502b and into the coolant tube), wherein the cold plate assembly is configured to circulate coolant fluid between the first and second plates, into the cell case via the coolant tube and one of the first and second coolant shafts, and out of the cell case via the coolant tube and the other one of the first and second coolant shafts (fig. 9; [0080]-[0085]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nicholls and replaced the cooling plate structure of Nicholls with the multi-layered plate of Kim that includes a second plate. Doing so is a simple substitution that yields the predictable result of cooling the battery module by allowing inflow and outflow of coolant fluid into a shaft that extends in the length direction of a battery cell (Kim fig. 9 and fig. 1). Furthermore, the configuration of Kim allows for improved cooling efficiency of the battery (Kim [0069]; [0025]).
Regarding claim 3, modified Nicholls teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Nicholls also teaches the coolant tube is a hollow, right-circular cylinder projecting substantially orthogonally from the case wall (fig. 1B core insert 44; [0062]; fig. 2B).
Regarding claim 4, modified Nicholls teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Nicholls teaches the coolant tube defines therein a blind hole projecting substantially orthogonally from a central region of the case wall (fig. 1A and 1B; blind hole 34/core insert 44 projects orthogonally from a central region of the bottom case wall).
Regarding claim 5, modified Nicholls teaches all of the limitations of claim 4. Nicholls also teaches the cell case is cylindrical or prismatic (cylindrical [0060]; figs. 1A and 1B) and has a case height (figs. 1A and 1B), and wherein the blind hole extends through a center of the cell case and has a hole length extending at least 70% of the case height (figs. 1A and 1B the hole length extends effectively the entire height of the case).
Regarding claim 6, modified Nicholls teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Nicholls also teaches wherein the first coolant shaft is a hollow, right-circular cylinder projecting substantially orthogonally from the first plate (Nicholls fig. 4; Kim fig. 9).
Regarding claim 7, modified Nicholls teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Modified Nicholls also teaches the first coolant shaft defines therein a blind hole projecting substantially orthogonally from and opening through the first plate (Nicholls fig. 4; [0068] route 214 projects orthogonally from and opens through the first plate 204; Kim fig. 9).
Regarding claim 9, modified Nicholls teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Modified Nicholls also teaches wherein the second coolant shaft is a hollow right-circular cylinder projecting substantially orthogonally from the second plate (Kim fig. 7).
Regarding claim 10, modified Nicholls teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Modified Nicholls also teaches the second coolant shaft defines therethrough a through hole projecting substantially orthogonally from and opening through the second plate (Kim fig. 9; figs. 6-7).
Regarding claim 11, modified Nicholls teaches all of the limitations of claim 10. Modified Nicholls also teaches the through hole of the second coolant shaft extends through the second plate, the first plate, and the case wall and terminates proximal a terminal end of the first coolant shaft (Kim fig. 9 second coolant shaft extends through the second plate, the first plate; Kim fig. 6 shows that the second coolant shaft terminates proximal a terminal end of the first coolant shaft; Nicholls fig. 4 shows that the second coolant shaft of Nicholls would extend through the case wall).
Regarding claim 12, modified Nicholls teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Modified Nicholls also teaches the first plate is substantially parallel to and vertically spaced from the second plate (Kim fig. 9).
Regarding claim 13, modified Nicholls teaches all of the limitations of claim 12. Nicholls fails to explicitly teach that the cold plate assembly further includes a coolant inlet channel located between the first and second plates, and a coolant exhaust channel located within the second plate.
Nicholls does state that the flow path shown in fig. 4 is optional ([0068]) and that various changes can be made within the scope of the invention ([0077]). As such, it would be obvious that the flow paths could be reversed as demonstrated in Kim. Kim is considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of cooling batteries ([0010]). Kim does teach that the cold plate assembly further includes a coolant inlet channel located between the first and second plates, and a coolant exhaust channel located within the second plate (fig. 9 [0082] inflow layer 602b between the first and second plates and an outflow layer 602a within the second plate).
Therefore, it would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the flow path of Nicholls such that the cold plate assembly further includes a coolant inlet channel located between the first and second plates, and a coolant exhaust channel located within the second plate such as in Kim. Doing so is a simple substitution that yields the predictable result of cooling the battery module.
Regarding claim 15, Nicholls teaches a method of constructing a battery assembly, the method comprising: receiving a battery housing ([0025] battery pack); locating a battery cell in the battery housing ([0025] battery pack comprising a plurality of rechargeable cells), the battery cell including a cell case having a case wall (fig. 1A; [0060] outer casing/can 38) integral with a coolant tube as a single-piece wall structure ([0075] the base portion of the core insert 44 can be welded to the case of the outer casing 38, making the coolant tube and case wall a single-piece structure), the coolant tube extending into the cell case and opening through the case wall (fig. 1B [0062]-[0066] core insert 44 in hollow core 34 provides means for central cooling).
Nicholls does teach locating a cold plate assembly inside the battery housing (figs. 3-4, [0067]-[0068] cooling system 200), the cold plate assembly including a first plate ([0068] fig. 4 first plate is interpreted as block 204) integrally formed with a first coolant shaft as a first single-piece plate structure, the first coolant shaft projecting outward from the first plate into the coolant tube ([0068] fig. 4 route 214 is considered the first coolant shaft and is defined by the first plate 204, the flow path extending into the coolant tube), a second coolant shaft projecting outward into the first coolant shaft and the coolant tube (fig. 4 conduit 212 under the first coolant plate and first coolant shaft), wherein the cold plate assembly is configured to circulate coolant fluid between the first plate, into the cell case via the coolant tube and one of the first and second coolant shafts, and out of the cell case via the coolant tube and the other one of the first and second coolant shafts (fig. 4; [0068] flow of coolant). a first plate ([0068] fig. 4 first plate is interpreted as block 204), However, this cold plate assembly of Nicholls fails to include a second plate that defines the second coolant shaft, instead relying on conduit 212 to define the second coolant shaft rather than a plate. As such, Nicholls fails to teach a second plate stacked with the first plate, the second plate integrally formed with a second coolant shaft as a second single-piece structure, the second coolant shaft projecting outward from the second plate into the first coolant shaft and the coolant tube wherein the cold plate assembly is configured to circulate coolant fluid between the first and second plates, into the cell case via the coolant tube and one of the first and second coolant shafts, and out of the cell case via the coolant tube and the other one of the first and second coolant shafts.
Kim is considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of cooling system for batteries ([0010]). Kim teaches a cold plate assembly located inside the battery housing and attached to the battery cell (fig. 1; fig. 6; fig. 9), a cold plate assembly including a first plate (fig. 9; top plate as a first plate) integrally formed with a first coolant shaft as a first single-piece plate structure (fig. 9; [0066]; [0082]; first coolant shaft 602b defined by the first plate), the first coolant shaft projecting outward from the first plate into the coolant tube (fig. 9; [0066]; [0082]; 602b projects upward into 502b), the second plate integrally formed with a second coolant shaft as a second single-piece plate structure (fig. 9; [0082] multi-layered cooling plate structure defining an outflow layer 602a with outflow part 502a), the second coolant shaft projecting outward from the second plate into the first coolant shaft and the coolant tube (fig. 9; [0082] multi-layered cooling plate structure with second coolant shaft 502a projecting from the second plate through/into the first coolant shaft 502b and into the coolant tube), wherein the cold plate assembly is configured to circulate coolant fluid between the first and second plates, into the cell case via the coolant tube and one of the first and second coolant shafts, and out of the cell case via the coolant tube and the other one of the first and second coolant shafts (fig. 9; [0080]-[0085]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nicholls and replaced the cooling plate structure of Nicholls with the multi-layered plate of Kim that includes a second plate. Doing so is a simple substitution that yields the predictable result of cooling the battery module by allowing inflow and outflow of coolant fluid into a shaft that extends in the length direction of a battery cell (Kim fig. 9 and fig. 1). Furthermore, the configuration of Kim allows for improved cooling efficiency of the battery (Kim [0069]; [0025]).
Regarding claim 17, modified Nicholls teaches all of the limitations of claim 15. Nicholls also teaches integrally forming the coolant tube with the case wall as the single-piece structure ([0075] the base portion of the core insert 44 can be welded to the case of the outer casing 38, making the coolant tube and case wall a single-piece structure), the coolant tube defining therein a blind hole projecting substantially orthogonally from a central region of the case wall (fig. 1A and 1B; blind hole 34/core insert 44 projects orthogonally from a central region of the bottom case wall).
Regarding claim 18, Nicholls teaches all of the limitations of claim 15. Nicholls also teaches integrally forming the first coolant shaft with the first plate as the first single-piece structure, the first coolant shaft defining therein a blind hole projecting substantially orthogonally from and opening through the first plate (Nicholls fig. 4; Kim figs. 6-7, 9)
Regarding claim 19, modified Nicholls teaches all of the limitations of claim 15. Modified Nicholls also teaches integrally forming the second coolant shaft with the second plate as the second single-piece structure, the second coolant shaft defining therethrough a through hole projecting substantially orthogonally from and opening through the second plate (Kim fig. 9; figs. 6-7).
Regarding claim 20, modified Nicholls teaches all of the limitations of claim 15. Modified Nicholls also teaches locating the cold plate assembly inside the battery housing includes locating the first plate substantially parallel to and vertically spaced from the second plate (Kim fig. 9).
Nicholls fails to explicitly teach that wherein the cold plate assembly further includes a coolant inlet channel located between the first and second plates, and a coolant exhaust channel located within the second plate.
Nicholls does state that the flow path shown in fig. 4 is optional ([0068]) and that various changes can be made within the scope of the invention ([0077]). As such, it would be obvious that the flow paths could be reversed as demonstrated in Kim. Kim is considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of cooling batteries ([0010]). Kim does teach that the cold plate assembly further includes a coolant inlet channel located between the first and second plates, and a coolant exhaust channel located within the second plate (fig. 9 [0082] inflow layer 602b between the first and second plates and an outflow layer 602a within the second plate).
Therefore, it would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the flow path of Nicholls such that the cold plate assembly further includes a coolant inlet channel located between the first and second plates, and a coolant exhaust channel located within the second plate such as in Kim. Doing so is a simple substitution that yields the predictable result of cooling the battery module.
Claims 2 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nicholls in view of Kim, as applied to claims 1 and 15 above, and further in view of Kim (US- 20050181272-A1), hereinafter US ‘272.
Regarding claim 2, modified Nicholls teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Nicholls also teaches the battery cell further includes a rolled cell stack located in the cell case and having multiple electrodes, a separator sheet between the electrodes, the rolled cell stack mounted on and surrounding the coolant tube (Nicholls figs. 1A-1B; fig. 6; [0060]).
Nicholls fails to explicitly teach an electrolyte. However, it would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art that a battery cell would include an electrolyte, as evidenced by US ‘272. US ‘272 teaches an electrolyte in a rolled (or wound) cell ([0005]). Therefore, it would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the battery cell of Nicholls would inherently have an electrolyte as is evidenced by US ‘272 as the electrolyte is necessary for the movement of lithium ions in the can (US ‘272 [0005]).
Regarding claim 16, modified Nicholls teaches all of the limitations of claim 15. Nicholls also teaches the battery cell further includes a rolled cell stack located in the cell case and having multiple electrodes, a separator sheet stacked between the electrodes ([0060] jelly roll with separator 32i in between active material layers 32a), wherein the rolled cell stack is mounted on and surrounds the coolant tube (fig. 1A; [0060]; fig. 1B [0062]).
Nicholls fails to explicitly teach an electrolyte. However, it would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art that a battery cell would include an electrolyte, as evidenced by US ‘272. US ‘272 teaches an electrolyte in a rolled (or wound) cell ([0005]). Therefore, it would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the battery cell of Nicholls would inherently have an electrolyte as is evidenced by US ‘272 as the electrolyte is necessary for the movement of lithium ions in the can (US ‘272 [0005]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nicholls in view of Kim, as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Meintschel et al. (DE-102008034880-A1), hereinafter Meintschel.
Regarding claim 8, modified Nicholls teaches all of the limitations of claim 7. Modified Nicholls also teaches a first end of the first coolant shaft opens through the first plate, and a second end of the first coolant shaft, opposite the first end, includes a toroidal diverter channel configured to divert flow of the coolant fluid (Nicholls fig. 4 toroidal diverted channel that diverts fluid from the second coolant shaft into the first coolant shaft; Kim figs. 6 and 9)
Nicholls fails to teach a hemispherical cap.
Meintschel is considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of temperature control for batteries ([0001]). Meintschel teaches a hemispherical cap (fig. 8 hemispherical cap at the end of the flow path).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nicholls and provide a hemispherical cap. Doing so is a simple substitution of the open-ended top of Nicholls with the hemispherical cap of Meintschel that both obtain the predictable result of redirecting the flow of temperature control fluid.
Nicholls fails to explicitly teach that the toroidal divider channel diverts flow of the coolant fluid from the first coolant shaft into the second coolant shaft. Instead, Nicholls shows a reversed flow path from the second coolant shaft into the first coolant shaft.
Nicholls does state that the flow path shown in fig. 4 is optional ([0068]) and that various changes can be made within the scope of the invention ([0077]). As such, it would be obvious that the flow paths could be reversed as demonstrated in Kim. Kim does teach that the toroidal divider channel diverts flow of the coolant fluid from the first coolant shaft into the second coolant shaft (fig. 9 [0082] inflow layer 602b between the first and second plates and an outflow layer 602a within the second plate).
Therefore, it would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the flow path of Nicholls such that the toroidal divider channel diverts flow of the coolant fluid from the first coolant shaft into the second coolant shaft such as in Kim. Doing so is a simple substitution that yields the predictable result of cooling the battery module.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nicholls in view of Kim et al. (US-20170005382-A1), hereinafter Kim, and Kim (US-20050181272-A1), hereinafter US ‘272.
Regarding claim 14, Nicholls teaches a motor vehicle, comprising: a vehicle body with a passenger compartment (fig. 8); a plurality of road wheels attached to the vehicle body (fig. 8); a traction motor attached to the vehicle body and operable to drive one or more of the road wheels to thereby propel the motor vehicle; and a traction battery pack attached to the vehicle body and electrically connected to the traction motor ([0001] battery packs utilized in electric vehicles which would inherently have a traction motor and the battery packs would inherently be traction battery packs), the traction battery pack including: a pack housing (fig. 8; [0006] battery pack comprising a plurality of rechargeable cylindrical cells); a row of battery cells located inside the pack housing and electrically coupled to one another (fig. 5A and fig. 5B), each of the battery cells including a cell case ([0060] outer casing 38) enclosing therein a rolled cell stack with multiple electrodes, a separator sheet stacked between the electrodes ([006] jelly roll with separator 32i in between active material layers 32a), each of the cell cases including a case wall integrally formed with an elongated coolant tube as a single-piece wall structure (figs. 1A and 1B [0064]-[0066] hollow core provides a means to centrally cool the cell; core insert is formed from the same material as the outer casing 38 and is affixed to the outer casing 38; [0075] can be welded, therefore, forming a single-piece structure), the coolant tube projecting into the cell case, mounting thereon the rolled cell stack, and opening through the case wall (figs. 1A, 1B, [0064]-[0066]);
Nicholls does teach a cold plate assembly located inside the pack housing and mounting thereon the row of battery cells (fig. 4), the cold plate assembly including a first plate (block 204; fig. 4), multiple coolant feed shafts integrally formed as a first single-piece plate structure with and projecting from the first plate into the coolant tubes of the cell cases (fig. 4), and multiple coolant exhaust shafts projecting into the coolant feed shafts and coolant tubes (fig. 4), wherein the cold plate assembly is configured to circulate coolant fluid between the top plate, into the cell cases via the coolant tubes and the coolant feed shafts, and out of the cell cases via the coolant exhaust shafts (fig. 4).
However, this cold plate assembly of Nicholls fails to include a second plate that defines the second coolant shaft, instead relying on conduit 212 to define the second coolant shaft rather than a plate. As such, Nicholls fails to teach a second plate stacked with the first plate, and multiple coolant exhaust shafts integrally formed as single-piece plate structure with and projecting from the second plate into the coolant feed shafts and the coolant tubes
Kim is considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of cooling system for batteries ([0010]). Kim teaches a cold plate assembly located inside the pack housing (fig. 1; fig. 6; fig. 9), the cold plate assembly including a first plate (fig. 9; top plate as a first plate), a second plate stacking thereon the first plate (fig. 9; [0082] multi-layered cooling plate structure, the second plate defining an outflow layer 602a with outflow part 502a), multiple coolant feed shafts integrally formed as a first single-piece plate structure with and projecting from the first plate into the coolant tubes of the cell cases (fig. 9; [0082]), and multiple coolant exhaust shafts integrally formed as a second single-piece plate structure with and projecting from the second plate into the coolant feed shafts and the coolant tubes (fig. 9; [0082] multi-layered cooling plate structure with second coolant shaft 502a projecting from the second plate through/into the first coolant shaft 502b and into the coolant tube), wherein the cold plate assembly is configured to circulate coolant fluid between the top and bottom plates, into the cell cases via the coolant tubes and the coolant feed shafts, and out of the cell cases via the coolant exhaust shafts (fig. 9; [0080]-[0085]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nicholls and replaced the cooling plate structure of Nicholls with the multi-layered plate of Kim that includes a second plate. Doing so is a simple substitution that yields the predictable result of cooling the battery module by allowing inflow and outflow of coolant fluid into a shaft that extends in the length direction of a battery cell (Kim fig. 9 and fig. 1). Furthermore, the configuration of Kim allows for improved cooling efficiency of the battery (Kim [0069]; [0025]).
Nicholls also fails to explicitly teach that multiple coolant feed shafts integral with and projecting from the top plate into the coolant tubes of the cell cases, and multiple coolant exhaust shafts integral with and projecting from the bottom plate into the coolant feed shafts and the coolant tubes. Instead, Nicholls teaches the reverse flow path of the coolant exhaust shafts integral with and projecting from the top plate into the coolant tubes of the cell cases, and multiple coolant feed shafts integral with and projecting from the bottom plate into the coolant feed shafts and the coolant tubes (fig. 4). Nicholls does state that the flow path shown in fig. 4 is optional ([0068]) and that various changes can be made within the scope of the invention ([0077]). As such, it would be obvious that the flow paths could be reversed as demonstrated in Kim. Kim does teach that multiple coolant feed shafts integral with and projecting from the top plate into the coolant tubes of the cell cases, and multiple coolant exhaust shafts integral with and projecting from the bottom plate into the coolant feed shafts and the coolant tubes. (fig. 9 [0082] inflow layer 602b between the first and second plates and an outflow layer 602a within the second plate).
Therefore, it would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the flow path of Nicholls such that that multiple coolant feed shafts integral with and projecting from the top plate into the coolant tubes of the cell cases, and multiple coolant exhaust shafts integral with and projecting from the bottom plate into the coolant feed shafts and the coolant tubes such as in Kim. Doing so is a simple substitution that yields the predictable result of cooling the battery module.
Nicholls also fails to explicitly teach an electrolyte. However, it would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art that a battery cell would include an electrolyte, as evidenced by Kim ‘272. Kim ‘272 teaches an electrolyte in a rolled (or wound) cell ([0005]). Therefore, it would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the battery cell of Nicholls would inherently have an electrolyte as is evidenced by Kim ‘272 as the electrolyte is necessary for the movement of lithium ions in the can (Kim ‘272 [0005]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.L.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1722
/ANCA EOFF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722