DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claims 1 & 8 are amended. Claims 2, 4, 6, 12, 14 & 16 are canceled. Claims 1, 3, 5, 7-11, 13, 15 & 17 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 8-11, 13, 15 & 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamada (US 2023/0231182 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 3, 5, 8-11, 13 & 15, Yamada teaches a solid electrolyte free-standing membrane having a thickness of 150 microns for an all-solid state battery, comprising an amount of preferably 95% to 99% by weight of a sulfide-based solid electrolyte and an amount of preferably 1% to 5% by weight of a fibrillated polymer such as PTFE having a diameter of 15 nm to 70 nm and comprising PTFE ([0007], [0017]-[0019], [0044]-[0047] & [0161]-[0164]), wherein the solid electrolyte membrane is produced by: preparing a mixture excluding a solvent and comprising a sulfide-based solid electrolyte and a polymer powder such as PTFE capable of fibrillating and having an average diameter (D50) of 300 microns to 700 microns; applying a shear stress to the mixture so that the mixture becomes clay and the polymer powder undergoes fibrillation; and forming the clay into a film to obtain the solid electrolyte free-standing membrane ([0037]-[0038] & [0107]-[0111]). Yamada is silent as to a lithium ion conductivity of the solid electrolyte membrane being about 2.51 S/cm or more and does not explicitly teach the solid electrolyte free-standing membrane being divided into area 1, area 2 and area 3 along a thickness direction from one surface with respect to a cross section thereof, wherein thickness ratio of the area 1, area 2 and area 3 is 1 : 2.5 : 3.5, and wherein when content of elemental sulfur in area 1 is represented as 100, content of element sulfur in each of area 2 and area 3 are in range of about 80 to 120. However, as noted above, the maximum preferred content of the fibrillated polymer in the membrane is 5% by mass (where the corresponding minimum preferred content of the solid electrolyte is 95% by mass). Accordingly, when Yamada’s membrane thickness is divided in 7 equal parts such that the top 1/7th of the thickness of the membrane is arbitrarily set as area 1, the next 2.5/7th of the thickness of the membrane is arbitrarily set as area 2, and the last 3.5/7th of the thickness of the membrane is arbitrarily set as area 3, the minimum content of the solid electrolyte that can be contained in each area would be 95% by mass. For instance, when all of the polymer binder in the membrane is contained in either one of areas 1, 2 or 3, the resulting content of the solid electrolyte in the other two areas would be 100% by mass. Therefore, the difference in the content of the solid electrolyte in any two of the areas 1, 2 and 3 would be from 0% by mass (i.e case where the solid electrolyte and polymer are uniformly distributed throughout the thickness) to 5% by mass (i.e case where all the polymer is contained in one of the areas are described above). If we denote, the content of elemental sulfur in each solid electrolyte particle as X (where X is a percentage), the content of elemental sulfur in each area 1, 2 and 3 would be X multiplied by the solid electrolyte content in the respective area. Thus, if the content of elemental sulfur in area 1 is denoted as 100, the content of element sulfur in each area 2 and 3 would be in a range of about 95:105. While Yamada is silent as to the ionic conductivity, it is noted that Yamada discloses a solid electrolyte membrane having substantially the same composition (i.e same material and content of the solid electrolyte and polymer in the free-standing membrane as the claimed invention) and structure (i.e free-standing membrane with the same thickness in which a fibrillated polymer with the claimed diameter and solid electrolyte are mixed). “Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977)”. See MPEP 2112.01 I. Accordingly, the claimed ionic conductivity would be expected to be inherently present in Yamada’s membrane.
Regarding claims 7 & 17, Yamada teaches the solid electrolyte and method of respective claims 1 & 8 but is silent as to a tensile strength of about 0.5 MPa or more and a breaking elongation of about 29.6% or more for the solid electrolyte free-standing membrane. However, Yamada discloses a solid electrolyte membrane having substantially the same composition (i.e same material and content of the solid electrolyte and polymer in the free-standing membrane as the claimed invention) and structure (i.e free-standing membrane in which a fibrillated polymer with the claimed diameter and solid electrolyte as mixed). “Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977)”. See MPEP 2112.01 I. Accordingly, the claimed tensile strength and breaking elongation would be expected to be inherently present in Yamada’s membrane.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 & 8 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The amendments to instant claims 1 & 8 have prompted a new ground of rejection in view of the newly cited Yamada reference. The subject matter of claims 1, 3, 5, 7-11, 13, 15 & 17 is found to be anticipated by the teachings of Yamada.
Thus, in view of foregoing, claims 1, 3, 5, 7-11, 13, 15 & 17 stand rejected.
Contact Information
/NATHANAEL T ZEMUI/Examiner, Art Unit 1727