DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitation
“an etched exothermic pattern is formed between the first insulating layer and the second insulating layer of the lower surface” in claim 10
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9 and 12-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 9, the limitation “the first insulating layer, the second insulating layer, and the sensor layer have an extension portion partially extending to the outside of the body” is indefinite. It is unclear whether each of the first insulating layer, the second insulating layer, and the sensor layer have the extension portion, or one of the first insulating layer, the second insulating layer and the sensor layer has the extension portion.
For the purpose of examination, the limitation “the first insulating layer, the second insulating layer, and the sensor layer have an extension portion partially extending to the outside of the body” is interpreted to a portion of the first insulating layer, a portion of the second insulating layer, and a portion of the sensor layer form an extension portion partially extending to the outside of the body.
Regarding claim 12, the limitation “A laminated heater pipe formed by vertically laminating a plurality of heater pipes of claim 1, wherein a cross-sectional area of a hollow of a heater pipe laminated at the bottom is smaller than or equal to a cross-sectional area of a hollow of a heater pipe laminated at the top” is indefinite. 1) Claim 1 does not disclose a plurality of heater pipes, but only one heater pipe. It is unclear whether the heater pipes is same as the heater pipe in claim 1. 2) It is unclear whether the heater pipes of “a cross-sectional area of a hollow of a heater pipe” is one of the plurality of heater pipes in the preamble, and whether the heater pipes of “a cross-sectional area of a hollow of a heater pipe” is same as the heater pipe in claim 1. The metes and bounds of the limitation is unclear.
For the purpose of examination, the limitation “A laminated heater pipe formed by vertically laminating a plurality of heater pipes of claim 1, wherein a cross-sectional area of a hollow of a heater pipe laminated at the bottom is smaller than or equal to a cross-sectional area of a hollow of a heater pipe laminated at the top” is interpreted to a laminated heater pipe formed by vertically laminating a plurality of the heater pipes of claim 1, wherein a cross-sectional area of a hollow of a heater pipe of the plurality of the heater pipes laminated at the bottom is smaller than or equal to a cross-sectional area of a hollow of a heater pipe of the plurality of the heater pipes laminated at the top.
Regarding claim 16, the limitation “an exothermic layer is formed on the electrode layer, and is a thin film formed by applying a paste composition including at least one of platinum-based ruthenium, palladium, and silver and then sintering” is indefinite. It is unclear the “exothermic layer” is the same exothermic layer in claim 1 or an additional exothermic layer.
For the purpose of examination, the limitation “an exothermic layer is formed on the electrode layer, and is a thin film formed by applying a paste composition including at least one of platinum-based ruthenium, palladium, and silver and then sintering” is interpreted to the exothermic layer of the heater pipe is formed on the electrode layer, and is a thin film formed by applying a paste composition including at least one of platinum-based ruthenium, palladium, and silver and then sintering.
Regarding claims 13-20, these claims are rejected due to its dependency on an indefinite claim as shown above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fraser (WO 2021/170758) (cited in IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Fraser teaches a heater pipe (heater assembly 1) for an aerosol generating device for transferring heat to an aerosol-forming article, the heater pipe (heater assembly 1) comprising:
a body (heating chamber 60) formed of metal and having a shape of a hollow pipe for accommodating the aerosol-forming article (see figures 3-5 and page 16, line 24, “The heating chamber preferably comprises a metal”. Heating chamber 60 has a shape of a hollow pipe and it is capable for accommodating an article.);
a first insulating layer (flexible electrically insulating backing film 30) formed on an outer surface of the body (heating chamber 60) (See fig.5);
an exothermic layer (heating element track 21) formed on the first insulating layer (backing film 30) by deposition (See fig.5); and
a second insulating layer (heat shrink film 50) formed on the exothermic layer (heating element track 21).
Regarding claim 22, Fraser teaches an aerosol generating device comprising the heater pipe of claim 1 (See the rejection of claim 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fraser in view of Gage (US 2020/0128880) (cited in IDS).
Regarding claim 2, Fraser does not explicitly teach the exothermic layer is a graphene layer.
However, Gage teaches in the same field of endeavor of an heating device comprising an exothermic layer that is made of a graphene (See para.[0072] “a heat or thermally conductive material such as, for example, a metallic foil (e.g., silver), a conductive carbon material (e.g., graphene), or any other suitable heat conductive material or combinations thereof, may be deposited on or otherwise attached in various configurations (e.g., discrete strip, full sheet, complete coating, etc.) to a conventional cigarette paper, e.g., using a “island placement” or selective deposition/engagement technology”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date the claimed invention was made to modify the heater pipe of Fraser by replacing the material of exothermic layer of Fraser with a exothermic layer made of graphene as taught by Gage, in order to improve the taste or sensory perception of the generated aerosol to the user (para.[0072] of Gage).
Regarding claim 3, the modification of Fraser and Gage teaches a connector portion formed by removing a portion of the second insulating layer, and exposed to the outside, wherein the graphene layer is connected to an external power source through the connector portion (see fig.5 of Fraser, the portion of heat shrink film connecting heating element track 21 is the connector portion).
Regarding claim 4, the modification of Fraser and Gage teaches the graphene layer is formed by depositing graphene in a pattern [Examiner note: The claimed limitation is a product-by-process limitation. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. See para.[0072] of Gage “a heat or thermally conductive material such as, for example, a metallic foil (e.g., silver), a conductive carbon material (e.g., graphene), or any other suitable heat conductive material or combinations thereof, may be deposited on or otherwise attached in various configurations (e.g., discrete strip, full sheet, complete coating, etc.) to a conventional cigarette paper, e.g., using a “island placement” or selective deposition/engagement technology.”]
Regarding claim 5, the modification of Fraser and Gage teaches at least one of the first insulating layer (flexible electrically insulating backing film 30) and the second insulating layer (heat shrink film 50) is a polyimide film (see page.16, lines 6-9 of Fraser “The flexible dielectric backing film 30 must have suitable properties to provide a flexible substrate to support and electrically insulate the heating element 20. Appropriate materials include polyimide, PEEK and fluoropolymers such as PTFE.”)
Regarding claim 6, the modification of Fraser and Gage teaches the first insulating layer, the graphene layer, and the second insulating layer partially extend from the outer surface of the body to form a lower surface of a pipe heater (see figs.3-5 of Fraser, flexible electrically insulating backing film 30, heating element track 21, and heat shrink film 50 from the outer surface of the body to form a lower surface of a pipe heater).
Regarding claim 7, the modification of Fraser and Gage teaches the first insulating layer and the second insulating layer have an extension portion partially extending to the outside of the body, and a connector portion connecting the graphene layer to an external power source is formed on the extension portion (see figs.3-5 of Fraser, flexible electrically insulating backing film 30, heating element track 21, and heat shrink film 50 from the outer surface of the body, and a connector portion connecting the heating element track 21 to an external power source.).
Regarding claim 8, the modification of Fraser and Gage teaches a sensor layer (temperature sensor 70 of Fraser) attached to an outer surface of the second insulating layer (heat shrink film 50) and having a sensor pattern (temperature sensor 70 of Fraser) for sensing a temperature printed on the insulating film (See page 12, lines 24-25 of Fraser “Because the temperature sensor is arranged such that the temperature sensing element 71 overlaps with a portion 21a of the heating element track 21.”)
Regarding claim 9, the modification of Fraser and Gage teaches the first insulating layer (flexible electrically insulating backing film 30 of Fraser), the second insulating layer (heat shrink film 50 of Fraser), and the sensor layer (temperature sensor 70 of Fraser) have an extension portion partially extending to the outside of the body (see fig.3 of Fraser), and a connector portion connecting the graphene layer (heating element track 21 of Fraser) to an external power source and a terminal portion extending from the sensor pattern are provided on the extension portion (See page 15, lines 24-28 of Fraser “The heating element is preferably a planar heating element 20 including a heater track 21 which follows a circuitous path over a heating area 22 within the plane of the heating element 20. The heating element has two contact legs 23 allowing connection to a power source, the contact legs 23 extending away from the heater track 21 in the plane of the heating element 20.”).
Regarding claim 10, the modification of Fraser and Gage teaches the first insulating layer and the second insulating layer partially extend from the outer surface of the body to form a lower surface of a pipe heater [Examiner’s note: This is an intended function of first and second insulating layers. Partial portions of the first and second insulating layers are capable to form lower surface of a pipe heater.], and an etched exothermic pattern (heating element track 21 of Fraser) is formed between the first insulating layer (flexible electrically insulating backing film 30 of Fraser) and the second insulating layer (heat shrink film 50 of Fraser) of the lower surface (See fig.3 of Fraser).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the modification of Fraser and Gage in view of Qiu (US 2021/0195960).
Regarding claim 11, the modification of Fraser and Gage does not explicitly teach the graphene layer is connected to an external power source through a boost converter to increase a supplied voltage.
However, Qiu teaches in the same field of endeavor of an aerosol generating device comprising a heating device (atomizer 40) is connected to an external power source (battery 30) through a boost converter (voltage transformation device 10) (See para.[0048] “the voltage transformation device 10 is a chip integrated with a buck converter and a boost converter”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date the claimed invention was made to modify the heater pipe of the modification of Fraser and Gage by adding a boost converter as taught Qiu, in order to provide a conventional device to control voltage of the heater pipe.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fraser.
Regarding claim 12, Fraser does not explicitly teach a plurality of heater pipes.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date the claimed invention was made to modify the heater pipe of Fraser to be two heater pipe stacked together, so that the cross-sectional area of the stacked heater pipe at the bottom equal to the cross-sectional area of the stacked heater pipe at the top, in order to provide a desired length or form of a heater, since it has been held that mere duplication of the heater pipe of Fraser and it involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fraser in view of Qi (WO2021129677) (cited in IDS).
Regarding claim 13, Fraser does not explicitly teach wherein a cross-section of an outer surface of the laminated heater pipe is circular, and a cross-section of the hollow thereof is also circular.
However, Qi teaches in the same field of endeavor of an aerosol generating device comprising heater pipe has a circular a cross-section of an outer surface and circular a cross-section of the hollow (see fig.1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date the claimed invention was made to modify the shape of the heater pipe of Fraser with a heater pipe has a circular a cross-section of an outer surface and circular a cross-section of the hollow as taught by Qi, in order to a heater pipe with desired shape, since applicant states the shape of the heater pipe is optional in the specification and does not disclose the shape of the heater pipe solved any stated problem or is for any particular purpose, and therefore the shape of the heater pipe is an obvious design choice (MPEP 2144).
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fraser in view of Cheng (CN 110842472).
Regarding claim 14, Fraser does not explicitly teach a cross-section of an outer surface of the laminated heater pipe is quadrangular, and a cross-section of the hollow thereof is circular.
However, Cheng teaches in the same field of endeavor of a heater pipe has a quadrangular a cross-section of an outer surface and circular a cross-section of the circular (see fig.12)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date the claimed invention was made to modify the shape of the heater pipe of Fraser with a heater pipe has a quadrangular a cross-section of an outer surface and circular a cross-section of the hollow as taught by Cheng, in order to a heater pipe with desired shape, since applicant states the shape of the heater pipe is optional in the specification and does not disclose the shape of the heater pipe solved any stated problem or is for any particular purpose, and therefore the shape of the heater pipe is an obvious design choice (MPEP 2144).
Regarding claim 15, Fraser does not explicitly teach a cross-section of an outer surface of the laminated heater pipe is quadrangular, and a cross-section of the hollow thereof is also quadrangular.
However, Cheng teaches in the same field of endeavor of a heater pipe has a quadrangular a cross-section of an outer surface and circular a cross-section of the quadrangular (see fig.6)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date the claimed invention was made to modify the shape of the heater pipe of Fraser with a heater pipe has a quadrangular a cross-section of an outer surface and quadrangular a cross-section of the hollow as taught by Cheng, in order to privoide a heater pipe with desired shape, since applicant states the shape of the heater pipe is optional in the specification and does not disclose the shape of the heater pipe solved any stated problem or is for any particular purpose, and therefore the shape of the heater pipe is an obvious design choice (MPEP 2144).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fraser in view of Jeong (US 2021/0161212).
Regarding claim 16, Fraser does not explicitly teach an electrode layer printed on the first insulating layer, wherein an exothermic layer is formed on the electrode layer, and is a thin film formed by applying a paste composition including at least one of platinum-based ruthenium, palladium, and silver and then sintering.
However, Jeong teaches in the same field of endeavor of a heater pipe comprising an electrode layer (sensor pattern 113) printed on the first insulating layer (first insulating layer 112 a), wherein an exothermic layer (heating layer 111) is formed on the electrode layer, and is a thin film formed by applying a paste composition including at least one of platinum-based ruthenium, palladium, and silver and then sintering (See para.[0087] “the sensor pattern 113 may include metal, and the metal forming the sensor pattern 113 may include at least one of silver (Ag) and palladium (Pd)”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date the claimed invention was made to modify the heater pipe with the electrode layer as taught by Jeong, in order to measure the temperature of the heating layer (see para.[0082] of Jeong).
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the modification of Fraser and Jeong in view of Qi (WO2021129677).
Regarding claim 17, the modification of Fraser and Jeong does not explicitly teach the exothermic layer has an electrical resistance of 0.6Ω to 1.4Ω.
However, Qi teaches in the same field of endeavor of an aerosol generating device comprising heater pipe has an exothermic layer (resistance heating layer 131) has an electrical resistance of 0.6Ω to 1.4Ω (see line 401 “the resistance value of the resistance heating layer 131 may be 0.5 ohm-3 ohm”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date the claimed invention was made to modify the heater pipe of the modification of Fraser and Jeong with a heater pipe has an exothermic layer (resistance heating layer 131) has an electrical resistance of 0.6Ω to 1.4Ω as taught by Qi, in order to generate proper heat for the heater pipe.
Regarding claim 18, the modification of Fraser and Jeong does not explicitly teach the electrode layer includes one or more negative (−) electrodes and two or more positive (+) electrodes.
However, Qi teaches in the same field of endeavor of an aerosol generating device comprising heater pipe has an electrode layer includes one or more negative (−) electrodes and one or more positive (+) electrodes. (see line 330 and fig.6, Qi teaches electrodes 132 and 133, which are a positive electrode and a negative electrode.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date the claimed invention was made to modify the electrode layer of modification of Fraser and Jeong with a electrode layer with a negative electrode and a positive electrode, in order to supply power to the electrodes (see line 330 of Qi), and further modify the positive electrodes to be two positive electrodes, in order to provide a desired heating circuit for the heater pipe, since it has been held that mere duplication of the working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04).
Conclusion
/CHRIS Q LIU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761