DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12-12-2025 is acknowledged. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Swain (420,125).
Regarding claim 1, Swain discloses a gripping device (figs 1-3) comprising:
a first arm; a second arm opposing at least a portion of the first arm and having a proximal end and a distal end operable to shift toward the first arm (member A, left and right portions); and
a tip (member C) shiftably coupled to the distal end of the second arm so that the tip is operable to longitudinally shift between a retracted position in which the tip is relatively closer to the proximal end of the second arm and an extended position in which the tip is relatively farther from the proximal end of the second arm (figs 1-3).
Regarding claim 2, Swain discloses the distal end of the second arm includes a slot (member B), and the tip comprises a protruding member (member D) that extends into the slot of the distal end of the second arm.
Regarding claim 3, Swain discloses the tip includes a tab (member E) that maintains the protruding member within the slot.
Regarding claim 4, Swain discloses the distal end of the second arm includes an outer surface, the protruding member extends through the slot to the outer surface, and the tab includes a bottom surface that faces the outer surface of the distal end of the second arm and a top surface opposite to the bottom surface that faces away from the outer surface of the distal end of the second arm (figs 1-3).
Regarding claim 5, Swain discloses the top surface of the tab comprises a gripping structure (outside portion of member E).
Regarding claim 7, Swain discloses the second arm is biased toward a position at a distance from the first arm (lines 20-50).
Regarding claim 8, Francis discloses the first arm includes a proximal end attached to the proximal end of the second arm (figs 1-3).
Regarding claim 9, Francis discloses the tip is a second tip, and the first arm comprises a proximal end and a distal end, further comprising a first tip shiftably coupled to the distal end of the first arm so that the first tip is operable to longitudinally shift between a retracted position in which the first tip is relatively closer to the proximal end of the first arm and an extended position in which the first tip is relatively farther from the proximal end of the first arm (figs 1-3).
Regarding claim 10, Francis discloses a gripping device comprising: a first arm having a proximal end and a distal end; a second arm having a proximal end fixed relative to the proximal end of the first arm and a distal end spaced apart from and opposing the distal end of the first arm, the distal end of the second arm being operable to shift toward the distal end of the first arm (member A);
a first tip shiftably coupled to the distal end of the first arm so that the first tip is operable to longitudinally shift between a retracted position in which the first tip is relatively closer to the proximal end of the first arm and an extended position in which the first tip is relatively farther from the proximal end of the first arm; and a second tip shiftably coupled to the distal end of the second arm so that the second tip is operable to longitudinally shift between a retracted position in which the second tip is relatively closer to the proximal end of the second arm and an extended position in which the second tip is relatively farther from the proximal end of the second arm (member C).
Regarding claim 11, Francis discloses the distal end of the first arm includes a slot, and the first tip comprises a protruding member (member D) that extends into the slot (member B) of the distal end of the first arm and a tab (member E) that maintains the protruding member within the slot.
Regarding claim 12, Francis discloses the distal end of the second arm includes a slot, and the second tip comprises a protruding member that extends into the slot of the distal end of the second arm and a tab that maintains the protruding member of the second tip within the slot of the distal end of the second arm (figs 1-3).
Regarding claim 13, Francis discloses the tab of the first tip includes an inner surface facing a direction toward the second arm and an outer surface facing away from the inner surface and including a gripping structure (outside portion of member E).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Swain (420,125) as applied to claims 5 and 13 above, and further in view of Cho (2004/0145201).
Regarding claims 6 and 14, Francis teaches all limitations except the gripping structure comprises a concave surface.
Cho teaches a gripping device (fig 5) the gripping structure (member 29) comprises a concave surface (member 36).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claim invention to modify the gripping structure of Francis by using the concave surface as taught by Cho in order to ergonomically accommodate the fingers which help to slide the tip easier.
Regarding claim 15, the modified structure Francis-Cho discloses the tab of the second tip includes an inner surface facing a direction toward the first arm and an outer surface facing away from the inner surface of the second tip and including a gripping structure (Francis, figs 1-3).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16-20 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: none of the prior art in record discloses a device with 3 prongs having a tip shiftably connect to a one arm and slidable relatively to the one arm.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon, is listed on the attached PTO-892.
BAO-THIEU L. NGUYEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3732
/BAO-THIEU L NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732