RESPONSE TO AMENDMENT
This communication is responsive to the amendment filed 16-January-2026 with respect to application 18/079,533 filed 12-December-2022.
Applicant has amended claims 1, 3, 21, 23-25, 27-31, 33 and 34, and has cancelled claim 4.
Claims 1-3, 5-7 and 21-34 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §102
Claims 1, 7, 24, 27, 30 and 33 are rejected under 35 USC §102(a)(2) as anticipated by Sun (United States Patent Application Publication # US 2006/0197756 A1).
Consider claim 1: A system, Sun discloses a multi-mode pointer for an interactive display system [Title; Abstract; Fig. 1, 2, 7; Para. 0003, 0016-0018], comprising:
a light projector configured to project light wherein the light projector is configured to be physically coupled to a media device by an adjustable connector, and wherein the adjustable connector is configured to be adjustable to position the light projector to project light onto a display surface of the media device; Sun discloses an optical pointer (26) (light projector) equipped with three switches for controlling three modes of operation, and wherein the third switch, comprises a stylus (50) which actuates a switch (S3) to the closed circuit operating mode or condition when the stylus is manually engaged or pushed against the presentation screen (22), thereby broadly physically in contact with the display screen by an adjustable connector (a human hand) [Fig. 2, 6; Para. 0056-0058]; and
a controller configured to control the light projector, wherein controlling the light projector, the optical pointer (light projector) comprising various control circuits including a driver module (60) [Fig. 7; Para. 0061-0062; Claim 16], comprises:
controlling the light projector to project light onto a first projection area of the display surface of the media device based on a first pulse pattern; upon closure of the control switch S3, an operating voltage is applied to the laser driver circuit 60 and to the modulation signal circuit 80. Actuation of the third mode selection control switch S3 by pressure engagement of the stylus 50 against the display screen enables pointer operation (light projection) in the presentation function mode in which an optical control curser signal is characterized by one or more primary attributes, for example blink rate [Fig. 1-2, 6; Para. 0033-0038, 0068-0069]. An image processor (28) scans the display to determine the location and attributes of the visual curser and translates these to a digital code (pulse pattern, when communicated) to reproduce the cursor with desired attribute on the display [Para. 0038-0041]; and
controlling the light projector to project light onto a second projection area of the display surface of the media device based on a second pulse pattern; and wherein primary (including blink rate) and secondary cursor characteristics may each be associated with a corresponding command, and where other operations to underline a word, highlight an object, circle an object, strike out a word or object, insert a note next to a word or object, or annotate an object or word with a check mark (such as shown in Fig. 6) may be position dependent (different command, blink rate and/or annotation at a different projection area [Fig. 1-2, 6; Para. 0038-0042].
Consider claim 7 and as applied to claim 1: The system of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to deactivate the light projector in response to at least one of receipt of user input or expiration of a time period without receipt of any user input. Sun discloses that the optical pointer is controlled by a plurality of switches (S1-S3) which operate in a normally open mode, such that the pointer only operates when a switch is pressed by the user, and is deactivated when the user releases the switch (user input) [Para. 0056, 0060].
Consider claim 24: A method, Sun discloses a multi-mode pointer for an interactive display system, and various methods of its operation [Title; Abstract; Fig. 1-4, 7; Para. 0003, 0016-0018], comprising:
controlling, by a controller, a light projector to project light onto a first projection area of a display surface of a media device based on a first pulse pattern; a hand-held optical pointer (26) which may be pointed (to a particular projection area) by a user, but may be some other device which could include another computer, an optical image projector, or the like, and which comprises a plurality of buttons (S1-S3) for controlling operation [Fig. 1, 7; Para. 0016, 0019, 0036, 0038], and wherein the optical cursor projects a control cursor (24) which is superimposed (at a particular area) on a projected video program (20) generated and projected by a presentation computer (12), the program presented on a display screen (22) [Fig. 1; Para. 0033-0036], and also that the characteristics of the cursor may include intensity, color and or blink rate (pulse pattern) [Para. 0037-0038]. An image processor (28) scans the display in the third mode to determine the location and attributes of the visual curser and translates these to a digital code (pulse pattern, when communicated) to reproduce the cursor with desired attribute on the display [Para. 0038-0041];
wherein the light projector is configured to be physically coupled to the media device by an adjustable connector, the optical pointer (26) (light projector) equipped with three switches for controlling three modes of operation, and wherein the third switch, comprises a stylus (50) which actuates a switch (S3) to the closed circuit operating mode or condition when the stylus is manually engaged or pushed against the presentation screen (22), thereby broadly physically in contact with the display screen by an adjustable connector (a human hand) [Fig. 2, 6; Para. 0056-0058]; and
wherein the adjustable connector is configured to be adjustable to position the light projector to project light onto the display surface of the media device; the optical pointer position against the display surface is controlled by a human hand (an adjustable connector) [Fig. 2, 6; Para. 0056-0058]; and
controlling, by the controller, the light projector to project light onto a second projection area of the display surface of the media device based on a second pulse pattern; and wherein primary (including blink rate) and secondary cursor characteristics may each be associated with a corresponding command, and where other operations to underline a word, highlight an object, circle an object, strike out a word or object, insert a note next to a word or object, or annotate an object or word with a check mark (such as shown in Fig. 6) may be position dependent (different command, blink rate and/or annotation at a different projection area [Fig. 1-2, 6; Para. 0038-0042].
Consider claim 27 and as applied to claim 24: The method of claim 24, further comprising:
deactivating the light projector in response to at least one of receipt of user input or expiration of a time period without receipt of any user input. Sun discloses that the optical pointer is controlled by a plurality of switches (S1-S3) which operate in a normally open mode, such that the pointer only operates when a switch is pressed by the user, and is deactivated when the user releases the switch (user input) [Para. 0056, 0060].
Consider claim 30: A non-transitory computer readable storage medium having stored therein instructions that, upon execution by at least one processor, Sun discloses a multi-mode pointer for an interactive display system, and various methods of its operation and which may be performed by a computer [Title; Abstract; Fig. 1-4, 7; Para. 0003, 0016-0018, 0036], cause performance of operations comprising:
controlling, by a controller, a light projector to project light onto a first projection area of a surface based on a first pulse pattern, a hand-held optical pointer (26) which may be pointed (to a particular projection area) by a user, but may be some other device which could include another computer, an optical image projector, or the like, and which comprises a plurality of buttons (S1-S3) for controlling operation [Fig. 1, 7; Para. 0016, 0019, 0036, 0038], and wherein the optical cursor projects a control cursor (24) which is superimposed (at a particular area) on a projected video program (20) generated and projected by a presentation computer (12), the program presented on a display screen (22) [Fig. 1; Para. 0033-0036], and also that the characteristics of the cursor may include intensity, color and or blink rate (pulse pattern) [Para. 0037-0038]. An image processor (28) scans the display in the third mode to determine the location and attributes of the visual curser and translates these to a digital code (pulse pattern, when communicated) to reproduce the cursor with desired attribute on the display [Para. 0038-0041];
wherein the light projector is configured to be physically coupled to the media device by an adjustable connector, the optical pointer (26) (light projector) equipped with three switches for controlling three modes of operation, and wherein the third switch, comprises a stylus (50) which actuates a switch (S3) to the closed circuit operating mode or condition when the stylus is manually engaged or pushed against the presentation screen (22), thereby broadly physically in contact with the display screen by an adjustable connector (a human hand) [Fig. 2, 6; Para. 0056-0058]; and
wherein the adjustable connector is configured to be adjustable to position the light projector to project light onto the display surface of the media device; wherein optical pointer position against the display surface is controlled by a human hand (an adjustable connector) [Fig. 2, 6; Para. 0056-0058]; and
controlling, by the controller, the light projector to project light onto a second projection area of the display surface of the media device based on a second pulse pattern; and wherein primary (including blink rate) and secondary cursor characteristics may each be associated with a corresponding command, and where other operations to underline a word, highlight an object, circle an object, strike out a word or object, insert a note next to a word or object, or annotate an object or word with a check mark (such as shown in Fig. 6) may be position dependent (different command, blink rate and/or annotation at a different projection area [Fig. 1-2, 6; Para. 0038-0042].
Consider claim 33 and as applied to claim 30: The non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 30, wherein the operations further comprise: deactivating the light projector in response to at least one of receipt of user input or expiration of a time period without receipt of any user input. Sun discloses that the optical pointer is controlled by a plurality of switches (S1-S3) which operate in a normally open mode, such that the pointer only operates when a switch is pressed by the user, and is deactivated when the user releases the switch (user input) [Para. 0056, 0060].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §103
Claims 1, 3, 7, 23, 24, 27, 29, 30, 33 and 34 are rejected under 35 USC §103(a) as unpatentable over Sun (United States Patent Application Publication # US 2006/0197756 A1), in view of Yee (United States Patent Application Publication # US 2007/0046625 A1).
Consider claim 1: A system, Sun discloses an interactive display system comprising a multi-mode pointer [Title; Abstract; Fig. 1, 2, 7; Para. 0003, 0016-0018], comprising:
a light projector configured to project light wherein the light projector is configured to be physically coupled to a media device by an adjustable connector, and wherein the adjustable connector is configured to be adjustable to position the light projector to project light onto a display surface of the media device; a hand-held optical pointer (26) which may be pointed (to a particular projection area) by a user, but may be some other device which could include another computer, an optical image projector, or the like, and which comprises a plurality of buttons (S1-S3) for controlling operation in a position-dependent, control cursor spot projection mode (S1), in a presentation function mode (S2) for remotely "gesturing" a control function image on the screen, or in a close proximity scribe mode (S3) by pressing the projector to the display screen [Fig. 1, 7; Para. 0016, 0019, 0036, 0038. 0065]; and
a controller configured to control the light projector, the optical pointer (light projector) comprising various control circuit including a driver module (60) [Fig. 7; Para. 0061-0062; Claim 16], wherein controlling the light projector comprises:
controlling the light projector to project light onto a first projection area of the display surface of the media device based on a first pulse pattern wherein the optical cursor projects a control cursor (24) which is superimposed (at a particular area) on a projected video program (20) generated and projected by a presentation computer (12), the program presented on a display screen (22) [Fig. 1; Para. 0033-0036], and also that the characteristics of the cursor may include intensity, color and or blink rate (pulse pattern) [Para. 0037-0038]; and
controlling the light projector to project light onto a second projection area of the display surface of the media device based on a second pulse pattern; and wherein primary (including blink rate) and secondary cursor characteristics may each be associated with a corresponding command, and may be position dependent (different command and/or blink rate at a different projection area [Fig. 1; Para. 0038-0042].
Sun discloses a mode in which the optical pointer (light projector) is pressed in contact with the display screen, thus broadly physically coupled to the display in an adjustable manner, but does not disclose a structural physical attachment. This was known in analogous prior art, however, and for example
Yee discloses an apparatus and method for detection an object or user input on an interactive display [Title; Abstract; Fig. 1-4a; Para. 0004], directed to an exemplary interactive display table (60) comprising a video (light) projector (70) physically coupled to a frame (62), including adjustable (74a-c) mirrors (72a-b), and which also contains a computer (20) and an interactive (media) display surface (64), the projected light directed to the display surface. Yee further discloses an additional infrared light source (66) also physically attached to the display device and directed toward the display surface [Fig. 2; Para. 0028-0029, 0038-0039].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing for the invention, to physically attach a light projection device to a display device, in an adjustable manner, so as to position the projected light or image onto a display surface as taught by Yee, and applied to a multi-mode pointer for an interactive display system as taught by Sun in order to allow proximity scribe functions to be performed with a passive device.
Consider claim 3 and as applied to claim 1: The system of claim 1, wherein the system further comprises:
a housing structured to position the system on top of the media device, and
a hinged connector.
Sun disclose an optical pointed which may contact the display screen but is not attached to the screen.
Yee, however discloses an apparatus comprising a video projector (70) and ancillary mirrors (72) for projecting an image on the display screen (64); where the angle of the screens may be varied using alignment devices (74) by a hinged arraignment; and, in addition, an infrared scanning source (66) also attached and illuminating the display screen [Fig. 2; Para. 0028-0029, 0038-0039].
Yee discloses the projector on the side of the display table, and where the display is viewed from above, but it would have been obvious to an artisan that the arrangement may also be rotated 90 degrees such that the projector is mounted on the top surface, and so that the display is viewed from the side.
Consider claim 7 and as applied to claim 1: The system of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to deactivate the light projector in response to at least one of receipt of user input or expiration of a time period without receipt of any user input. Sun discloses that the optical pointer is controlled by a plurality of switches (S1-S3) which operate in a normally open mode, such that the pointer only operates when a switch is pressed by the user, and is deactivated when the user releases the switch (user input) [Para. 0056, 0060].
Consider claim 23 and as applied to claim 1: The system of claim 1, wherein controlling the light projector to project light onto the second projection area of the display surface comprises: controlling the light projector to project light onto the second projection area in response to expiration of a time period without receipt of any user input.
Sun does not disclose determining an expiration of a time period, but this is known in analogous prior art, and for example:
Yee discloses an input method and apparatus for detection an object or user input on an interactive display [Title; Abstract; Fig. 1-4a; Para. 4], and particularly that a (first) portion of the surface is illuminated for a predetermined time period, after which a different (second) portion is illuminated for a second interval, allowing systematic scanning of the entire surface, by the one or more light sources and detectors (720) [Fig.7; Para. 0057-0063].
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing for the invention to use a one or more light sources to illuminate a portion of surface within each of a predetermined time periods such that the whole surface is scanned in order to detect user input and or objects on or behind the surface as taught by Yee and applied to a multi-mode pointer for an interactive display system as taught by Sun in order that the entire surface may be scanned at high resolution.
Consider claim 24: A method, Sun discloses a multi-mode pointer for an interactive display system, and various methods of its operation [Title; Abstract; Fig. 1-4, 7; Para. 0003, 0016-0018], comprising:
controlling, by a controller, a light projector to project light onto a first projection area of a display surface of a media device based on a first pulse pattern; a hand-held optical pointer (26) which may be pointed (to a particular projection area) by a user, but may be some other device which could include another computer, an optical image projector, or the like, and which comprises a plurality of buttons (S1-S3) for controlling operation [Fig. 1, 7; Para. 0016, 0019, 0036, 0038], and wherein the optical cursor projects a control cursor (24) which is superimposed (at a particular area) on a projected video program (20) generated and projected by a presentation computer (12), the program presented on a display screen (22) [Fig. 1; Para. 0033-0036], and also that the characteristics of the cursor may include intensity, color and or blink rate (pulse pattern) [Para. 0037-0038]. An image processor (28) scans the display in the third mode to determine the location and attributes of the visual curser and translates these to a digital code (pulse pattern, when communicated) to reproduce the cursor with desired attribute on the display [Para. 0038-0041];
wherein the light projector is configured to be physically coupled to the media device by an adjustable connector, the optical pointer (26) (light projector) equipped with three switches for controlling three modes of operation, and wherein the third switch, comprises a stylus (50) which actuates a switch (S3) to the closed circuit operating mode or condition when the stylus is manually engaged or pushed against the presentation screen (22) [Fig. 2, 6; Para. 0056-0058]; and
wherein the adjustable connector is configured to be adjustable to position the light projector to project light onto the display surface of the media device; wherein optical pointer position against the display surface is controlled by a human hand [Fig. 2, 6; Para. 0056-0058]; and
controlling, by the controller, the light projector to project light onto a second projection area of the display surface of the media device based on a second pulse pattern; and wherein primary (including blink rate) and secondary cursor characteristics may each be associated with a corresponding command, and where other operations to underline a word, highlight an object, circle an object, strike out a word or object, insert a note next to a word or object, or annotate an object or word with a check mark (such as shown in Fig. 6) may be position dependent (different command, blink rate and/or annotation at a different projection area [Fig. 1-2, 6; Para. 0038-0042].
Sun discloses a mode in which the optical pointer (light projector) is pressed in contact with the display screen, thus broadly physically coupled to the display in an adjustable manner, but does not disclose a structural physical attachment. This was known in analogous prior art, however, and for example:
Yee discloses an apparatus and method for detection an object or user input on an interactive display [Title; Abstract; Fig. 1-4a; Para. 0004], directed to an exemplary interactive display table (60) comprising a video (light) projector (70) physically coupled to a frame (62), including adjustable (74a-c) mirrors (72a-b), and which also contains a computer (20) and an interactive (media) display surface (64), the projected light directed to the display surface. Yee further discloses an additional infrared light source (66) also physically attached to the display device and directed toward the display surface [Fig. 2; Para. 0028-0029, 0038-0039].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing for the invention, to physically attach a light projection device to a display device, in an adjustable manner, so as to position the projected light or image onto a display surface as taught by Yee, and applied to a multi-mode pointer for an interactive display system and method of operation as taught by Sun in order to allow proximity scribe functions to be performed with a passive device.
Consider claim 27 and as applied to claim 24: The method of claim 24, further comprising: deactivating the light projector in response to at least one of receipt of user input or expiration of a time period without receipt of any user input. Sun discloses that the optical pointer is controlled by a plurality of switches (S1-S3) which operate in a normally open mode, such that the pointer only operates when a switch is pressed by the user, and is deactivated when the user releases the switch (user input) [Para. 0056, 0060].
Consider claim 29 and as applied to claim 24: The method of claim 24, wherein controlling the light projector to project light onto the second projection area of the display surface comprises: controlling the light projector to project light onto the second projection area in response to expiration of a time period without receipt of any user input.
This claim is rejected based on the same references, citations and analysis as for claim 23 previously, and applied to claim 24.
Consider claim 30: A non-transitory computer readable storage medium having stored therein instructions that, upon execution by at least one processor, Sun discloses a multi-mode pointer for an interactive display system, and various methods of its operation and which may be performed by a computer [Title; Abstract; Fig. 1-4, 7; Para. 0003, 0016-0018, 0036], cause performance of operations comprising:
controlling, by a controller, a light projector to project light onto a first projection area of a display surface of a media device based on a first pulse pattern; a hand-held optical pointer (26) which may be pointed (to a particular projection area) by a user, but may be some other device which could include another computer, an optical image projector, or the like, and which comprises a plurality of buttons (S1-S3) for controlling operation [Fig. 1, 7; Para. 0016, 0019, 0036, 0038], and wherein the optical cursor projects a control cursor (24) which is superimposed (at a particular area) on a projected video program (20) generated and projected by a presentation computer (12), the program presented on a display screen (22) [Fig. 1; Para. 0033-0036], and also that the characteristics of the cursor may include intensity, color and or blink rate (pulse pattern) [Para. 0037-0038]. An image processor (28) scans the display in the third mode to determine the location and attributes of the visual curser and translates these to a digital code (pulse pattern, when communicated) to reproduce the cursor with desired attribute on the display [Para. 0038-0041];
wherein the light projector is configured to be physically coupled to the media device by an adjustable connector, the optical pointer (26) (light projector) equipped with three switches for controlling three modes of operation, and wherein the third switch, comprises a stylus (50) which actuates a switch (S3) to the closed circuit operating mode or condition when the stylus is manually engaged or pushed against the presentation screen (22) [Fig. 2, 6; Para. 0056-0058]; and
wherein the adjustable connector is configured to be adjustable to position the light projector to project light onto the display surface of the media device; wherein optical pointer position against the display surface is controlled by a human hand [Fig. 2, 6; Para. 0056-0058]; and
controlling, by the controller, the light projector to project light onto a second projection area of the display surface of the media device based on a second pulse pattern; and wherein primary (including blink rate) and secondary cursor characteristics may each be associated with a corresponding command, and where other operations to underline a word, highlight an object, circle an object, strike out a word or object, insert a note next to a word or object, or annotate an object or word with a check mark (such as shown in Fig. 6) may be position dependent (different command, blink rate and/or annotation at a different projection area [Fig. 1-2, 6; Para. 0038-0042].
Sun discloses a mode in which the optical pointer (light projector) is pressed in contact with the display screen, thus broadly physically coupled to the display in an adjustable manner, but does not disclose a structural physical attachment. This was known in analogous prior art, however, and for example:
Yee discloses an apparatus and method for detection an object or user input on an interactive display [Title; Abstract; Fig. 1-4a; Para. 0004], directed to an exemplary interactive display table (60) comprising a video (light) projector (70) physically coupled to a frame (62), including adjustable (74a-c) mirrors (72a-b), and which also contains a computer (20) and an interactive (media) display surface (64), the projected light directed to the display surface. Yee further discloses an additional infrared light source (66) also physically attached to the display device and directed toward the display surface [Fig. 2; Para. 0028-0029, 0038-0039].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing for the invention, to physically attach a light projection device to a display device, in an adjustable manner, so as to position the projected light or image onto a display surface as taught by Yee, and applied to a multi-mode pointer for an interactive display system and method of operation as taught by Sun in order to allow proximity scribe functions to be performed with a passive device.
Consider claim 33 and as applied to claim 30: The non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 30, wherein the operations further comprise: deactivating the light projector in response to at least one of receipt of user input or expiration of a time period without receipt of any user input. Sun discloses that the optical pointer is controlled by a plurality of switches (S1-S3) which operate in a normally open mode, such that the pointer only operates when a switch is pressed by the user, and is deactivated when the user releases the switch (user input) [Para. 0056, 0060].
Consider claim 34 and as applied to claim 30: The non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 30, wherein the light projector is configured to be activated in response to activation of a prompting indicator. This claim is rejected based on the same references, citations and analysis as for claim 21 and as applied to claim 30.
Claims 5, 6, 21, 22, 25, 26, 28, 31, 32 and 34 are rejected under 35 USC §103(a) as unpatentable over Sun (United States Patent Application Publication # US 2006/0197756 A1), and Yee (United States Patent Application Publication # US 2007/0046625 A1), further in view of Dufresne et al. (United States Patent # US 5,373,315), hereinafter Dufresne.
Consider claim 5 and as applied to claim 1: The system of claim 1, further including a speaker and a prompting indicator, and wherein the prompting indicator includes an audible indicator to be emitted from the speaker.
Sun does not disclose use of audio prompting, but:
Dufresne discloses the use of audio prompt when a user response is desired [Col. 9, 23-35].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing for the invention, to use visual (flashing) or audio (beep) prompts as taught by Dufresne and as applied to a multi-mode pointer for an interactive display system as taught by Sun modified by Yee to notify a user when a response or input is requested.
Consider claim 6 and as applied to claim 1: The system of claim 1, further comprising a timing source configured to track expiration of a time period without receipt of user input.
Sun does not disclose determining an expiration of a time period, but:
Dufresne discloses that: “….the CPU can be programmed to automatically shut off the power to the TV if no viewer ID has been keyed in for a predetermined period of time after the beginning of a prompt, such as five minutes….” [Col. 9, 3-20].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing for the invention, to monitor a time period after a prompt has been issued as taught by Dufresne and as applied to a multi-mode pointer for an interactive display system as taught by Sun modified by Yee to take action, such as deactivation of the system if the user is no longer engaged, in order to save energy
Consider claim 21 and as applied to claim 1: The system of claim 1, further comprising a user interface configured to accept user input in response to activation of a prompting indicator.
Sun discloses a hand-held optical pointer (26) which may be pointed (to a particular projection area) by a user, but may be some other device which could include another computer, an optical image projector, or the like, and which comprises a plurality of buttons (S1-S3) for providing user input [Fig. 1, 7; Para. 0016, 0019, 0036, 0038];
Sun does not specifically disclose a prompting indicator, but:
Dufresne discloses the use of a visual or audio prompt when a user response is desired [Col. 9, 3-35].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing for the invention to provide an audio or visual prompt as taught by Dufresne and applied to and as applied to a multi-mode pointer for an interactive display system as taught by Sun modified by Yee in order to notify a user when input is requested.
Consider claim 22 and as applied to claim 1: The system of claim 1, wherein the light projector is configured to be activated in response to activation of a prompting indicator.
Sun discloses a hand-held optical pointer (26), or some other device, which may be pointed (to a particular projection area) by a user, and which comprises a plurality of buttons (S1-S3) for providing user input, and specifically that the laser driver circuit is powered when one of these buttons is depressed [Fig. 1-4, 7; Para. 0016, 0019, 0036, 0038, 0061].
Sun does not specifically disclose a prompting indicator, but:
Dufresne discloses the use of a visual or audio prompt when a user response is desired [Col. 9, 3-35].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing for the invention to provide an audio or visual prompt as taught by Dufresne and applied to and as applied to a multi-mode pointer for an interactive display system, where a user input response (comprising the depressing of one of the buttons, activates the pointer light projection as taught by Sun modified by Yee limiting light projection to times of active user input to reduce energy consumption.
Consider claim 25 and as applied to claim 24: The method of claim 24, further comprising: activating a prompting indicator, wherein the prompting indicator includes an audible indicator to be emitted by a speaker. This claim is rejected based on the same references, citations and analysis as for claim 5 previously, and applied to claim 24.
Consider claim 26 and as applied to claim 24: The method of claim 24, further comprising:
tracking expiration of a time period without receipt of any user input. This claim is rejected based on the same references, citations and analysis as for claim 6 previously, and applied to claim 24.
Consider claim 28 and as applied to claim 24: The method of claim 24, wherein the light projector is configured to be activated in response to activation of a prompting indicator. This claim is rejected based on the same references, citations and analysis as for claim 21 and as applied to claim 24.
Consider claim 31 and as applied to claim 30: The non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 30,wherein the operations further comprise activating a prompting indicator, and wherein the prompting indicator includes an audible indicator to be emitted by a speaker. This claim is rejected based on the same citations and analysis as for claim 5 previously, and applied to claim 30.
Consider claim 32 and as applied to claim 30: The non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 30, wherein the operations further comprise: tracking expiration of a time period without receipt of any user input. This claim is rejected based on the same citations and analysis as for claim 6 previously, and applied to claim 30.
Consider claim 34 and as applied to claim 30: The non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 30, wherein the light projector is configured to be activated in response to activation of a prompting indicator. This claim is rejected based on the same references, citations and analysis as for claim 21 and as applied to claim 30.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 16-January-2026 have been carefully and fully considered by the Examiner, and responses are provided as follow:
Consider Applicant’s remarks with respect to the Examiner interview conducted 16-January-2026 [Remarks: Page 7]: Applicant’s summary of the interview mischaracterizes conclusions, reached by the Examiner (see Interview Summary filed 21-January-2026) wherein it was noted that the proposed claim amendment did not include all limitations of claims indicated allowable, and as such would require additional search and consideration with respect to allowability.
Consider Applicant’s remarks with respect to rejection of claims 1, 5-7, 21, 22, 24-28 and 30-34 under 35 USC §103 over Sun (US 2006/0197756 A1), Yee (US 2007/0046625 A1) and Dufresne (US 5,373,315) [Remarks: page 8]:
Regarding independent claim 1: Applicant asserts allowability of amended claim based on an indication of allowability based on a previous indication that claim 3 was allowable, portions of which are included in the amended base claim. The amended base claim has been extensively amended, and does not include all limitations of the base and allowed claims. Claim 1 is now rejected under 35 USC §102 as anticipated by Sun and alternatively rejected under 35 USC §103 over Sun and Yee, based on the citations and analysis presented in this Office action; the new rejections necessitated by amendment of the claim.
Regarding independent claims 24 and 30: These claims have been amended in similar fashion as for claim 1, and the same arguments have been made. These claims are now also rejected under 35 USC §102 over Sun and alternatively under 35 USC §103 over Sun and Yee.
Regarding claims 5-7, 21, 22, 25-28 and 31-34: These claims depend from claims 1, 24 and 30 respectively, and allowability asserted over the alleged allowability of their respective base claims. These claims are now rejected, based on the citations and analysis presented for each in this Office action, as follows:
Claims 7, 27 and 33: These claims are rejected under 35 USC §102 over Sun.
Claims 3, 7, 23, 25, 27, 29 and 33: These claims are rejected 35 USC §103 over Sun and Yee.
Claims 5, 6, 21, 22, 25, 26, 28, 31, 32 and 34: These claims are rejected 35 USC §103 over Sun, Yee and Dufresne.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
Kim (U.S. Patent Application Publication # US 2013/0321256 A1) disclosing a method and home device for outputting response to user input.
Price et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # US 2011/0154385 A1) disclosing a system, methos, and apparatus for viewer detection and action.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Quan-Zhen Wang can be reached at (571)272-3114. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571)273-8300.
/STEPHEN R BURGDORF/ Examiner, Art Unit 2685