RESPONSE TO AMENDMENT
Continued Examination under 37 CFR 1.114
A request for continued examination (RCE) under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on 20-April-2026 has been entered.
This communication is responsive to the amendment filed 20-April-2026 with respect to application 18/079,533 filed 12-December-2022.
Applicant has amended claims 1, 24 and 30.
Claims 1, 3, 5-7 and 21-34 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §103
Claims 1, 7, 24, 27, 30 and 33 are rejected under 35 USC §103(a) as unpatentable over Sun (United States Patent Application Publication # US 2006/0197756 A1), in view of Kepley (United States Patent Application Publication # US 2011/0242501 A1).
Consider claim 1: A system, Sun discloses an interactive display system comprising a multi-mode pointer [Title; Abstract; Fig. 1, 2, 7; Para. 0003, 0016-0018], comprising:
a light projector configured to project light wherein the light projector is configured to be physically coupled to a media device by an adjustable connector, wherein the adjustable connector comprises a hinge, and wherein the adjustable connector is configured to be adjustable to position the light projector to project light onto a display surface of the media device; a hand-held optical pointer (26) which may be pointed (to a particular projection area) by a user, but may be some other device which could include another computer, an optical image projector, or the like, and which comprises a plurality of buttons (S1-S3) for controlling operation in a position-dependent, control cursor spot projection mode (S1), in a presentation function mode (S2) for remotely "gesturing" a control function image on the screen, or in a close proximity scribe mode (S3) by pressing the projector to the display screen [Fig. 1, 7; Para. 0016, 0019, 0036, 0038. 0065]; and
a controller configured to control the light projector, the optical pointer (light projector) comprising various control circuit including a driver module (60) [Fig. 7; Para. 0061-0062; Claim 16], wherein controlling the light projector comprises:
controlling the light projector to project light onto a first projection area of the display surface of the media device based on a first pulse pattern; wherein the optical cursor projects a control cursor (24) which is superimposed (at a particular area) on a projected video program (20) generated and projected by a presentation computer (12), the program presented on a display screen (22) [Fig. 1; Para. 0033-0036], and also that the characteristics of the cursor may include intensity, color and or blink rate (pulse pattern) [Para. 0037-0038]; and
controlling the light projector to project light onto a second projection area of the display surface of the media device based on a second pulse pattern; and wherein primary (including blink rate) and secondary cursor characteristics may each be associated with a corresponding command, and may be position dependent (different command and/or blink rate at a different projection area [Fig. 1; Para. 0038-0042].
Sun discloses a mode in which the optical pointer (light projector) is pressed in contact with the display screen, thus broadly physically coupled to the display in an adjustable manner, but does not disclose a structural physical attachment. This was known in analogous prior art, however, and for example
Kepley discloses a portable and transportable display system [Title; Abstract; Fig. 1; Para. 0001, 0003], and specifically that an image (light) projector (136) may be physically attached to a screen frame (100) to which a screen is also attached. The projector is attached to two support arms (138) which are attached the screen frame using a pair of hinged bracket assemblies (158) [Fig. 1, 17-19; Para. 0036-0037, 0040-0044].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing for the invention, to physically attach a light projection device to a display device, in an adjustable manner, using a hinged arrangement, so as to position the projected light or image onto a display surface, and allow for easy setup and compact storage as taught by Kepley, and applied to a multi-mode pointer for an interactive display system as taught by Sun in order to free a user’s hand and/or to allow pre-programmed or automated projection functions.
Consider claim 7 and as applied to claim 1: The system of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to deactivate the light projector in response to at least one of receipt of user input or expiration of a time period without receipt of any user input. Sun discloses that the optical pointer is controlled by a plurality of switches (S1-S3) which operate in a normally open mode, such that the pointer only operates when a switch is pressed by the user, and is deactivated when the user releases the switch (user input) [Para. 0056, 0060].
Consider claim 24: A method, Sun discloses a multi-mode pointer for an interactive display system, and various methods of its operation [Title; Abstract; Fig. 1-4, 7; Para. 0003, 0016-0018], comprising:
controlling, by a controller, a light projector to project light onto a first projection area of a display surface of a media device based on a first pulse pattern; a hand-held optical pointer (26) which may be pointed (to a particular projection area) by a user, but may be some other device which could include another computer, an optical image projector, or the like, and which comprises a plurality of buttons (S1-S3) for controlling operation [Fig. 1, 7; Para. 0016, 0019, 0036, 0038], and wherein the optical cursor projects a control cursor (24) which is superimposed (at a particular area) on a projected video program (20) generated and projected by a presentation computer (12), the program presented on a display screen (22) [Fig. 1; Para. 0033-0036], and also that the characteristics of the cursor may include intensity, color and or blink rate (pulse pattern) [Para. 0037-0038]. An image processor (28) scans the display in the third mode to determine the location and attributes of the visual curser and translates these to a digital code (pulse pattern, when communicated) to reproduce the cursor with desired attribute on the display [Para. 0038-0041];
wherein the light projector is configured to be physically coupled to the media device by an adjustable connector, the optical pointer (26) (light projector) equipped with three switches for controlling three modes of operation, and wherein the third switch, comprises a stylus (50) which actuates a switch (S3) to the closed circuit operating mode or condition when the stylus is manually engaged or pushed against the presentation screen (22) [Fig. 2, 6; Para. 0056-0058],
wherein the adjustable connector comprises a hinge; and
wherein the adjustable connector is configured to be adjustable to position the light projector to project light onto the display surface of the media device; wherein optical pointer position against the display surface is controlled by a human hand [Fig. 2, 6; Para. 0056-0058]; and
controlling, by the controller, the light projector to project light onto a second projection area of the display surface of the media device based on a second pulse pattern; and wherein primary (including blink rate) and secondary cursor characteristics may each be associated with a corresponding command, and where other operations to underline a word, highlight an object, circle an object, strike out a word or object, insert a note next to a word or object, or annotate an object or word with a check mark (such as shown in Fig. 6) may be position dependent (different command, blink rate and/or annotation at a different projection area [Fig. 1-2, 6; Para. 0038-0042].
Sun discloses a mode in which the optical pointer (light projector) is pressed in contact with the display screen, thus broadly physically coupled to the display in an adjustable manner, but does not disclose a structural physical attachment. This was known in analogous prior art, however, and for example:
Kepley discloses a portable and transportable display system [Title; Abstract; Fig. 1; Para. 0001, 0003], and specifically that an image (light) projector (136) may be physically attached to a screen frame (100) to which a screen is also attached. The projector is attached to two support arms (138) which are attached the screen frame using a pair of hinged bracket assemblies (158) [Fig. 1, 17-19; Para. 0036-0037, 0040-0044].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing for the invention, to physically attach a light projection device to a display device, in an adjustable manner, using a hinged arrangement, so as to position the projected light or image onto a display surface, and allow for easy setup and compact storage as taught by Kepley, and applied to a multi-mode pointer for an interactive display system and method of operation as taught by Sun in order to free a user’s hand and/or to allow pre-programmed or automated projection functions.
Consider claim 27 and as applied to claim 24: The method of claim 24, further comprising: deactivating the light projector in response to at least one of receipt of user input or expiration of a time period without receipt of any user input. Sun discloses that the optical pointer is controlled by a plurality of switches (S1-S3) which operate in a normally open mode, such that the pointer only operates when a switch is pressed by the user, and is deactivated when the user releases the switch (user input) [Para. 0056, 0060].
Consider claim 30: A non-transitory computer readable storage medium having stored therein instructions that, upon execution by at least one processor, Sun discloses a multi-mode pointer for an interactive display system, and various methods of its operation and which may be performed by a computer [Title; Abstract; Fig. 1-4, 7; Para. 0003, 0016-0018, 0036], cause performance of operations comprising:
controlling, by a controller, a light projector to project light onto a first projection area of a display surface of a media device based on a first pulse pattern; a hand-held optical pointer (26) which may be pointed (to a particular projection area) by a user, but may be some other device which could include another computer, an optical image projector, or the like, and which comprises a plurality of buttons (S1-S3) for controlling operation [Fig. 1, 7; Para. 0016, 0019, 0036, 0038], and wherein the optical cursor projects a control cursor (24) which is superimposed (at a particular area) on a projected video program (20) generated and projected by a presentation computer (12), the program presented on a display screen (22) [Fig. 1; Para. 0033-0036], and also that the characteristics of the cursor may include intensity, color and or blink rate (pulse pattern) [Para. 0037-0038]. An image processor (28) scans the display in the third mode to determine the location and attributes of the visual curser and translates these to a digital code (pulse pattern, when communicated) to reproduce the cursor with desired attribute on the display [Para. 0038-0041];
wherein the light projector is configured to be physically coupled to the media device by an adjustable connector, the optical pointer (26) (light projector) equipped with three switches for controlling three modes of operation, and wherein the third switch, comprises a stylus (50) which actuates a switch (S3) to the closed circuit operating mode or condition when the stylus is manually engaged or pushed against the presentation screen (22) [Fig. 2, 6; Para. 0056-0058],
wherein the adjustable connector comprises a hinge; and
wherein the adjustable connector is configured to be adjustable to position the light projector to project light onto the display surface of the media device; wherein optical pointer position against the display surface is controlled by a human hand [Fig. 2, 6; Para. 0056-0058]; and
controlling, by the controller, the light projector to project light onto a second projection area of the display surface of the media device based on a second pulse pattern; and wherein primary (including blink rate) and secondary cursor characteristics may each be associated with a corresponding command, and where other operations to underline a word, highlight an object, circle an object, strike out a word or object, insert a note next to a word or object, or annotate an object or word with a check mark (such as shown in Fig. 6) may be position dependent (different command, blink rate and/or annotation at a different projection area [Fig. 1-2, 6; Para. 0038-0042].
Sun discloses a mode in which the optical pointer (light projector) is pressed in contact with the display screen, thus broadly physically coupled to the display in an adjustable manner, but does not disclose a structural physical attachment. This was known in analogous prior art, however, and for example:
Kepley discloses a portable and transportable display system [Title; Abstract; Fig. 1; Para. 0001, 0003], and specifically that an image (light) projector (136) may be physically attached to a screen frame (100) to which a screen is also attached. The projector is attached to two support arms (138) which are attached the screen frame using a pair of hinged bracket assemblies (158) [Fig. 1, 17-19; Para. 0036-0037, 0040-0044].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing for the invention, to physically attach a light projection device to a display device, in an adjustable manner, using a hinged arrangement, so as to position the projected light or image onto a display surface, and allow for easy setup and compact storage as taught by Kepley, and applied to a multi-mode pointer for an interactive display system and method of operation performed by instructions stored in memory as taught by Sun in order to free a user’s hand and/or to allow pre-programmed or automated projection functions.
Consider claim 33 and as applied to claim 30: The non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 30, wherein the operations further comprise: deactivating the light projector in response to at least one of receipt of user input or expiration of a time period without receipt of any user input. Sun discloses that the optical pointer is controlled by a plurality of switches (S1-S3) which operate in a normally open mode, such that the pointer only operates when a switch is pressed by the user, and is deactivated when the user releases the switch (user input) [Para. 0056, 0060].
Claims 5, 6, 21, 22, 25, 26, 28, 31, 32 and 34 are rejected under 35 USC §103(a) as unpatentable over Sun (United States Patent Application Publication # US 2006/0197756 A1), and Kepley (United States Patent Application Publication # US 2011/0242501 A1), further in view of Dufresne et al. (United States Patent # US 5,373,315), hereinafter Dufresne.
Consider claim 5 and as applied to claim 1: The system of claim 1, further including a speaker and a prompting indicator, and wherein the prompting indicator includes an audible indicator to be emitted from the speaker.
Sun does not disclose use of audio prompting, but:
Dufresne discloses a method and apparatus for collecting data from a television audience [Title; Abstract; Fig. 1-4; Col. 2, 47 to Col. 3, 2], and particularly the use of audio prompt when a user response is desired [Col. 9, 23-35].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing for the invention, to use visual (flashing) or audio (beep) prompts as taught by Dufresne and as applied to a multi-mode pointer for an interactive display system as taught by Sun modified by Kepley to notify a user when a response or input is requested.
Consider claim 6 and as applied to claim 1: The system of claim 1, further comprising a timing source configured to track expiration of a time period without receipt of user input.
Sun does not disclose determining an expiration of a time period, but:
Dufresne discloses a method and apparatus for collecting data from a television audience [Title; Abstract; Fig. 1-4; Col. 2, 47 to Col. 3, 2], and particularly that: “….the CPU can be programmed to automatically shut off the power to the TV if no viewer ID has been keyed in for a predetermined period of time after the beginning of a prompt, such as five minutes….” [Col. 9, 3-20].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing for the invention, to monitor a time period after a prompt has been issued as taught by Dufresne and as applied to a multi-mode pointer for an interactive display system as taught by Sun modified by Kepley to take action, such as deactivation of the system if the user is no longer engaged, in order to save energy
Consider claim 21 and as applied to claim 1: The system of claim 1, further comprising a user interface configured to accept user input in response to activation of a prompting indicator.
Sun discloses a hand-held optical pointer (26) which may be pointed (to a particular projection area) by a user, but may be some other device which could include another computer, an optical image projector, or the like, and which comprises a plurality of buttons (S1-S3) for providing user input [Fig. 1, 7; Para. 0016, 0019, 0036, 0038];
Sun does not specifically disclose a prompting indicator, but:
Dufresne discloses a method and apparatus for collecting data from a television audience [Title; Abstract; Fig. 1-4; Col. 2, 47 to Col. 3, 2], and particularly the use of a visual or audio prompt when a user response is desired [Col. 9, 3-35].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing for the invention to provide an audio or visual prompt as taught by Dufresne and applied to and as applied to a multi-mode pointer for an interactive display system as taught by Sun modified by Kepley in order to notify a user when input is requested.
Consider claim 22 and as applied to claim 1: The system of claim 1, wherein the light projector is configured to be activated in response to activation of a prompting indicator.
Sun discloses a hand-held optical pointer (26), or some other device, which may be pointed (to a particular projection area) by a user, and which comprises a plurality of buttons (S1-S3) for providing user input, and specifically that the laser driver circuit is powered when one of these buttons is depressed [Fig. 1-4, 7; Para. 0016, 0019, 0036, 0038, 0061].
Sun does not specifically disclose a prompting indicator, but:
Dufresne discloses a method and apparatus for collecting data from a television audience [Title; Abstract; Fig. 1-4; Col. 2, 47 to Col. 3, 2], and particularly the use of a visual or audio prompt when a user response is desired [Col. 9, 3-35].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing for the invention to provide an audio or visual prompt as taught by Dufresne and applied to and as applied to a multi-mode pointer for an interactive display system, where a user input response (comprising the depressing of one of the buttons, activates the pointer light projection as taught by Sun modified by Kepley limiting light projection to times of active user input to reduce energy consumption.
Consider claim 25 and as applied to claim 24: The method of claim 24, further comprising: activating a prompting indicator, wherein the prompting indicator includes an audible indicator to be emitted by a speaker. This claim is rejected based on the same references, citations and analysis as for claim 5 previously, and applied to claim 24.
Consider claim 26 and as applied to claim 24: The method of claim 24, further comprising:
tracking expiration of a time period without receipt of any user input. This claim is rejected based on the same references, citations and analysis as for claim 6 previously, and applied to claim 24.
Consider claim 28 and as applied to claim 24: The method of claim 24, wherein the light projector is configured to be activated in response to activation of a prompting indicator. This claim is rejected based on the same references, citations and analysis as for claim 21 and as applied to claim 24.
Consider claim 31 and as applied to claim 30: The non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 30,wherein the operations further comprise activating a prompting indicator, and wherein the prompting indicator includes an audible indicator to be emitted by a speaker. This claim is rejected based on the same citations and analysis as for claim 5 previously, and applied to claim 30.
Consider claim 32 and as applied to claim 30: The non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 30, wherein the operations further comprise: tracking expiration of a time period without receipt of any user input. This claim is rejected based on the same citations and analysis as for claim 6 previously, and applied to claim 30.
Consider claim 34 and as applied to claim 30: The non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 30, wherein the light projector is configured to be activated in response to activation of a prompting indicator. This claim is rejected based on the same references, citations and analysis as for claim 21 and as applied to claim 30.
Claims 23 and 29 are rejected under 35 USC §103(a) as unpatentable over Sun (United States Patent Application Publication # US 2006/0197756 A1), in view of Kepley (United States Patent Application Publication # US 2011/0242501 A1), further in view of Yee (United States Patent Application Publication # US 2007/0046625 A1).
Consider claim 23 and as applied to claim 1: The system of claim 1, wherein controlling the light projector to project light onto the second projection area of the display surface comprises: controlling the light projector to project light onto the second projection area in response to expiration of a time period without receipt of any user input.
Sun does not disclose determining an expiration of a time period, but this is known in analogous prior art, and for example:
Yee discloses an input method and apparatus for detection an object or user input on an interactive display [Title; Abstract; Fig. 1-4a; Para. 4], and particularly that a (first) portion of the surface is illuminated for a predetermined time period, after which a different (second) portion is illuminated for a second interval, allowing systematic scanning of the entire surface, by the one or more light sources and detectors (720) [Fig.7; Para. 0057-0063].
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing for the invention to use a one or more light sources to illuminate a portion of surface within each of a predetermined time periods such that the whole surface is scanned in order to detect user input and or objects on or behind the surface as taught by Yee and applied to a multi-mode pointer for an interactive display system as taught by Sun, and as modified by Kepley, in order that the entire surface may be scanned at high resolution.
Consider claim 29 and as applied to claim 24: The method of claim 24, wherein controlling the light projector to project light onto the second projection area of the display surface comprises: controlling the light projector to project light onto the second projection area in response to expiration of a time period without receipt of any user input.
This claim is rejected based on the same references, citations and analysis as for claim 23 previously, and applied to claim 24.
Allowable Subject Matter
The following subject matter has been identified as allowable over discovered prior art:
Objection is made to claim 3 as dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 1 would be allowable if rewritten to include limitations of both claims 22 and 23.
Claim 24 would be allowable if rewritten to include limitations of both claims 28 and 29.
Claim 30 would be allowable if rewritten to include limitations of both claims 29 and 34.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 20-April-2026 have been carefully and fully considered by the Examiner, and responses are provided as follow:
Consider Applicant’s remarks with respect to the rejection of claims 1, 7, 24, 27, 30 and 33 under 35 USC §102(a)(2) as anticipated by Sun (US 2006/0197756 A1) [Remarks: page 7-8]: Amendment of independent claims 1, 24 and 30, overcomes these rejections, and the rejections have been withdrawn.
Consider Applicant’s remarks with respect to the rejection of claims 1, 3, 7, 23, 24, 27, 29, 30, 33 and 34 under USC §103 as obvious over Sun and Yee (US 2007/0046625 A1) [Remarks: page 8-10]:
Regarding independent claim 1: Applicant’s arguments, with respect to the claim as amended to specify that the light projector is physically connected to the screen by an adjustable connector comprising a hinge, are in summary: (1) that neither Sun nor Yee discloses an adjustable physical connection with a hinge, (2) that a person pressing a projector on the screen is not a connector, and (3) that no reasonable motivation for such combination has been provided.
These arguments are, however, rendered moot by a new rejection of the claim under USC §103 over Sun and Kepley (US 2011/0242501 A1), the rejection necessitated by the amendment, and where Kepley teaches a physical hinged adjustable connection between a light projector and screen. The second argument is moot because Kepley teaches the feature without consideration of direct contact.
The combination is further obvious and motivated because it frees the user’s hands to perform other tasks, and also allows the projection task to be automated. The choices are, moreover, not exclusive; it would also be obvious that a hand held projector as taught by Sun, might be used manually by the user at times, and at other times be attached for fixed or automatic use using a mechanism and hinged connection as taught by Kepley. For these reasons, the arguments are not persuasive.
Regarding independent claims 24 and 30: These claims have been amended in similar fashion as for claim 1, and the same arguments presented. These claims are now also rejected under USC §103 over Sun and Kepley, and the arguments are moot and unpersuasive for the same reasons as for claim 1.
Regarding claim 3: This claim would be allowable if presented in independent form, including all limitations of the base claim.
Regarding claims 7, 27 and 33: These claims depend from claim 1, 24 or 30; no specific or additional arguments have been made with respect to these claims, and allowability asserted based on the alleged allowability of their respective base claims. These claims are now also rejected under USC §103 over Sun and Kepley based on the new rejections of the base claims, and the particular citations and analysis presented for each in this Office action.
Regarding claims 23 and 29: These claims depend from claim 1 or 24; no specific or additional arguments have been made with respect to these claims, and allowability asserted based on the alleged allowability of their respective base claims. These claims are now rejected under USC §103 over Sun, Kepley and Yee based on the new rejections of the base claims, and the particular citations and analysis presented for each in this Office action.
Regarding claim 34: The rejection of claim 34 under USC §103 over Sun and Yee was in error and this rejection has been withdrawn. The claim was also rejected under USC §103 over Sun and Yee.
Consider Applicant’s remarks with respect to the rejection of claims 5, 6, 21, 22, 25, 26, 28, 31, 32 and 34 under USC §103 as obvious over Sun, Yee and Dufresne (US 5,373,315) [Remarks: page 10]: No specific or additional arguments have been made with respect to these claims, and allowability asserted based on the alleged allowability of their respective base claims. These claims are now rejected under USC §103 over Sun, Kepley and Dufresne, based on the new rejection of the base claims, and the particular citations and analysis presented for each in this Office action.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
McNeil (U.S. Patent Application Publication # US 2017/0357336 A1) disclosing a remote computer mouse by camera and laser pointer.
Estevez et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # US 2010/0045569 A1) disclosing display systems and methods for mobile devices
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Quan-Zhen Wang can be reached on (571)270-3114. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/STEPHEN R BURGDORF/Examiner, Art Unit 2684