DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, a sensor mounted within the respective sensor housing (claims 1 and 10) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). The Examiner notes that the drawings appear to show the sensor (e.g. 310a or 310b) and sensor housing (e.g. 306a or 306b) as the same component, without the sensor being within the sensor housing. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 8, 10, 11, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Slanec (US2003/0188600).
Re claim 1
Slanec discloses:
A non-contact brake (para. [0039]) pedal (1) position sensing system comprising, for each of a first brake pedal unit (1, see Fig. 4) and a second brake pedal unit (other “1” in Fig. 4) configured for angular displacement about a rotation axis at respective first ends thereof, responsive to manual engagement at respective second ends thereof:
a sensor cam (4; See Figs. 1 and 4) located at the first end of the respective brake pedal unit and configured for angular displacement along therewith;
a bracket assembly (5) fixed relative to a shaft (2) about which the first and second brake pedal units (1 and 1) rotate, the brake assembly compromising:
a first elongate support member (elongated vertical portion of 5 on the right as seen in Fig. 5) coupled on a first end to the shaft and extending substantially orthogonally with respect to the rotation axis; and
a second elongate support member (the upper horizontal portion of 5 as seen in Fig. 4) coupled to a second end of the first elongate support member and extending substantially parallel to the shaft;
a sensor housing (8) for each of the first brake pedal unit and the second brake pedal unit, wherein the sensor housing is to the second elongate support member at a fixed position with respect to the rotation axis (See Figs. 1, 5); and
a sensor (3) mounted within the sensor housing and configured to generate output signals corresponding to a sensed air gap between the sensor and the sensor cam, wherein the sensed air gap between the sensor cam and the sensor corresponds to an amount of angular displacement for the respective brake pedal unit (para. [0032]).
While Slanec discloses a sensor housing (8), Slanec does not disclose a respective sensor housing for each of the first brake pedal unit and the second brake pedal unit.
In In reHarza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In reJapikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) teaches a rearrangement of parts is unpatentable when it would not have modified the operation of the device. Additionally, In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) teaches the particular placement of a part when it does not modify the operation of the device is an obvious matter of design choice.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the device of Slanec by duplicating the sensor housing and rearranging parts as necessary, as held by the courts, since the duplication would not produce in any new and unexpected result and since any rearrangement of parts would not modify the operation of the device.
Re claim 10
Slanec discloses a work vehicle comprising:
a frame supported by one or more ground engaging apparatus (para. [0001] - an automobile is known to have a frame and wheels engaging with the ground);
one or more power sources configured to drive an advance speed for the work vehicle (para. [0001] - an automobile is known to have at least one power source), responsive at least in part to control signals from a braking unit (para. [0003] - “a clutch pedal and a neighboring braking pedal are combined in a mutual body, on which the pedal levers are supported.” Additionally, the Examiner notes that engaging a clutch pedal and therefore the clutch has a braking-like effect during which power from the engine is either transmitted less or not at all to the wheel(s));
a first brake pedal unit and a second brake pedal unit configured for angular displacement about a rotation axis at respective first ends thereof, responsive to manual engagement at respective second ends thereof; (See rejection of claim 1 hereinabove) and
a non-contact brake pedal position sensing system comprising (See rejection of claim 1 hereinabove), for each of the first brake pedal unit and the second brake pedal unit:
a sensor cam located at the first end of the respective brake pedal unit and configured for angular displacement along therewith (See rejection of claim 1 hereinabove);
a bracket assembly (5) fixed relative to a shaft (2) about which the first and second brake pedal units (1 and 1) rotate, the brake assembly compromising:
a first elongate support member (elongated vertical portion of 5 on the right as seen in Fig. 4) coupled on a first end to the shaft and extending substantially orthogonally with respect to the rotation axis; and
a second elongate support member (the upper horizontal portion of 5 as seen in Fig. 4) coupled to a second end of the first elongate support member and extending substantially parallel to the shaft;
a sensor housing (8) for each of the first brake pedal unit and the second brake pedal unit, wherein the sensor housing is to the second elongate support member at a fixed position with respect to the rotation axis (See Figs. 1, 5); and
a sensor (3) mounted within the sensor housing and configured to generate output signals corresponding to a sensed air gap between the sensor and the sensor cam, wherein the sensed air gap between the sensor cam and the sensor corresponds to an amount of angular displacement for the respective brake pedal unit (para. [0032]).
While Slanec discloses a sensor housing (8), Slanec does not disclose a respective sensor housing for each of the first brake pedal unit and the second brake pedal unit.
In In reHarza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In reJapikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) teaches a rearrangement of parts is unpatentable when it would not have modified the operation of the device. Additionally, In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) teaches the particular placement of a part when it does not modify the operation of the device is an obvious matter of design choice.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the device of Slanec by duplicating the sensor housing and rearranging parts as necessary, as held by the courts, since the duplication would not produce in any new and unexpected result and since any rearrangement of parts would not modify the operation of the device.
Slanec as modified above further suggests:
Re claims 2 and 11.
The non-contact brake pedal position sensing system of claim 1, wherein the respective (respective as taught above) sensor housing is oriented orthogonally with respect to the rotation axis (See Figs. 1, 4).
Re claims 8 and 17.
The non-contact brake pedal position sensing system of claim 1, further comprising:
a controller (para. [0015]) functionally linked to receive the output signals from each respective sensor, and further configured to generate braking command signals to a braking unit based on the received output signals (para. [0039]).
Claim(s) 9 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Slanec (US2003/0188600) in view of Ding (US10,501,011).
Re claims 9 and 18
Slanec suggests all claim dependency limitations, see above, but does not disclose a display unit configured to display information corresponding to an amount of angular displacement for the respective brake pedal unit, based on the output signals from the sensor.
Ding teaches a display unit (402) configured to display information corresponding to an amount of angular displacement for the respective brake pedal unit, based on the output signals from the sensor (C6/L33-56), for the purpose of indicating an amount or a level of brake force exerted on a brake pedal of a driving apparatus (abstract).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing/invention to modify the device of Slanec such that a display unit configured to display information corresponding to an amount of angular displacement for the respective brake pedal unit, based on the output signals from the sensor, as taught by Ding, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of indicating an amount or a level of brake force exerted on a brake pedal of a driving apparatus.
Claim(s) 3-4 and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Slanec (US2003/0188600) in view of McDearmon (US2004/0017190).
Re claims 3 and 12
Slanec suggests all claim dependency limitations, see above, but does not disclose for each of the first brake pedal unit and the second brake pedal unit a magnet coupled to the respective sensor cam, wherein the respective sensor is configured to detect variations in a magnetic field produced by the magnet with manual engagement of the respective brake pedal unit.
McDearmon teaches for each of the first brake pedal unit and the second brake pedal unit a magnet coupled to the respective sensor cam, wherein the respective sensor is configured to detect variations in a magnetic field produced by the magnet (para. [0022] - “magnet sensor such as a Hall0Effect sensor”) with manual engagement of the respective brake pedal unit, for the purpose of providing an inexpensive sensor but one that can sense absolute position (para. [0011]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing/invention to modify the device of Slanec such that for each of the first brake pedal unit and the second brake pedal unit a magnet is coupled to the respective sensor cam, wherein the respective sensor is configured to detect variations in a magnetic field produced by the magnet with manual engagement of the respective brake pedal unit, as taught by McDearmon, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of providing an inexpensive sensor but one that can sense absolute position.
Re claim 4 and 13
Slanec suggests all claim dependency limitations, see above, but does not disclose wherein the sensor comprises a back-biased Hall effect sensor. (The Examiner notes that dependent claims 3 and 4, respectively, and 12 and 13, respectively, appear to claim mutually exclusive embodiments. I.e. in claims 3 and 12, the magnet is located not on the “sensor(s)” but located on the sensor cam(s), and in claims 4 and 13 the magnet(s) is/are implicitly located in the back-biased Hall effect sensor(s), since that is how a person of ordinary skill in the art would understand the term “back-biased Hall effect sensor”. Slanec teaches multiple embodiments including both claimed embodiments.)
McDearmon teaches wherein the sensor comprises a back-biased Hall effect sensor (para. [0022] - “Hall-Effect sensor […] with a back-biased magnet”), for the purpose of providing an inexpensive sensor but one that can sense absolute position (para. [0011]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing/invention to modify the device of Slanec such that wherein the sensor comprises a back-biased Hall effect sensor, as taught by McDearmon, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of providing an inexpensive sensor but one that can sense absolute position.
Claim(s) 19-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Slanec (US2003/0188600) in view of Bingeman (US6,446,005).
Re claims 19 and 22
Slanec suggests all claim dependency limitations, see above, but is silent to wherein each respective sensor housing is cylindrical in shape.
Bingeman teaches wherein each respective sensor (30) housing (31) is cylindrical in shape (C11/L53-C12/L4), for the purpose of readily attaching the sensors, for the purpose of achieving high tolerance alignment or adjustment during manufacturing/assembly (C13/L64-C14/L13), and for the purpose of readily servicing for replacement of parts if and when the need arises (C15/L12-19).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing/invention to further modify the device of Slanec such that each respective sensor housing is cylindrical in shape, as taught by Bingeman, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of readily attaching the sensors, for the purpose of achieving high tolerance alignment or adjustment during manufacturing/assembly, and for the purpose of readily servicing for replacement of parts if and when the need arises.
Re claims 20 and 23
Slanec as modified above further suggests:
wherein a longitudinal axis of each respective sensor (30 in Bingeman; 3 in Slanec) housing (31 in Bingeman) is arranged substantially orthogonal to the rotation axis (The respective sensor and sensor housing taught by and modified by Bingeman is mounted in bracket 26, which corresponds to second elongate support member (the upper horizontal portion of 5 as seen in Fig. 4) in Slanec. The longitudinal axis will thus be substantially orthogonal to the rotation axis when mounted in bracket 26).
Re claims 21 and 24
Slanec suggests all claim dependency limitations, see above, but is silent to wherein each respective sensor housing extends through the second elongate support member.
Bingeman teaches wherein each respective sensor housing extends through (See Fig. 5A of Bingeman) the second elongate support member (the upper horizontal portion of 5 as seen in Fig. 5 in Slanec, bracket 26 in Fig. 5A of Bingeman), for the purpose of achieving high tolerance alignment or adjustment during manufacturing/assembly (C13/L64-C14/L13), and for the purpose of readily servicing for replacement of parts if and when the need arises (C15/L12-19).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing/invention to further modify the device of Slanec such that each respective sensor housing extends through the second elongate support member, as taught by Bingeman, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of achieving high tolerance alignment or adjustment during manufacturing/assembly, and for the purpose of readily servicing for replacement of parts if and when the need arises.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/12/2025 have been fully considered.
The Applicant’s amendment has overcome the prior 35 USC 112(b) rejection(s).
In regards to the prior and pending drawing objections, the Applicant states in their remarks that replacement drawings have been filed. However, the Examiner notes that no replacement drawings appear to have been filed with Applicant’s response. The last set of drawings appears to be those filed on 12/12/2022 with the original application.
The Examiner has clarified that the first elongate support member in Slanec corresponds to elongated vertical portion of 5 on the right as seen in Fig. 4, although notes that alternatively the elongated vertical portion of 5 on the right as seen in Fig. 4 could alternatively be considered the first elongate support member.
The Applicant argues Slanec does not disclose a second elongate support member coupled to a second end of the first elongate support member. The Examiner notes however the first and second elongate support members in Slanec are integrally coupled to each other by virtue of being different portions of the same single-piece component, and that the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) of the term “coupled” encompasses both coupling of different, distinct, single-piece components as well as integral coupling of different portions of the same single-piece component. The Examiner notes additionally that the specification of the instant application does not define or limit the term member to being a distinct single-piece component. Furthermore, the specification only uses the term “elongate support member” in paragraph [0009], and does not identify in the drawings the “first elongate support member” and the “second elongate support member”, and so it cannot be reasonably implicitly concluded from the drawings that the BRI of the term “member” should be limited to only distinct single-piece components in their entirety, rather than also encompassing different portions that may be different portions of the same single-piece component. The term “member” itself is only found in paragraph [0009] and paragraph [0060]. In paragraph [0009] no drawing numbers are provided, and in paragraph [0060] only a single “support member 304” is identified. Assuming arguendo that the first and second elongate support members are each separate and distinct components, then one would expect to see these separate and distinct components separately and distinctly identified by different reference numbers in the drawings and the specification. That said, even if the specification identified in the drawings a “first elongate support member” and a “second elongate support member”, that in and of itself would not necessarily limit the BRI of the term member to only encompass single-piece members in their entirety, absent other language. The claims must be given their broadest reasonable interpretation, which the Examiner has applied.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GREGORY T PRATHER/
Examiner, Art Unit 3618
/MINNAH L SEOH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3618