DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to amended application filed on 08/14/2026.
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments/amendments with respect to claims 1, 9, 17 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of 35 USC 101 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments/amendments with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 9, and 17 under 35 USC 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of US Publication No. 2017/0138154 issued to Burdick et al.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 08/11/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US publication No. 2010/0206559 A1 issued to Sequeira et al in view of US Publication No. 2017/0138154 issued to Burdick et al.
Claim 1. Sequeira et al discloses a method implemented using a system for managing operations involving a gas production system (See: [0002] The invention relates generally to the field of oil and gas production, and more particularly to reservoir management and surveillance. Specifically, the invention is a method for improving the ability of geoscientists and engineers to analyze and monitor the performance of a producing field or a planned producing field), the method comprising:
obtaining surface production data of wells in the gas production system (See: par [0021] (d) obtaining simulated historical production data from the reservoir simulator);
generating, using a well simulation module and a surface network module, predictions about a plurality of conditions in the gas production system (See: [0018] In one general aspect, a method for making production forecasts for a field containing one or more oil or gas reservoirs includes (a) developing a three-dimensional earth model of the field. (b) A geologic model of at least one reservoir is developed, based at least in part on the earth model, the geologic model being a cellular-based representation of at least one reservoir, each cell being assigned a value for a plurality of properties describing distribution of pore space, fluid types and amounts in place. (c) A reservoir simulator based at least in part on the geologic model is developed, said simulator being capable of predicting production rates. (d) Simulated historical production data is obtained from the reservoir simulator and (e) the simulated production data is compared with actual production data. (f) The earth model is adjusted to reduce any differences between simulated and actual data. Steps (b)-(f) are repeated using the adjusted earth model, adjusting the geologic model and simulator consistent with the adjustment to the earth model. (h) The adjusted earth model is used to make production forecasts for the field; [0020] The step of adjusting the earth model to reduce any differences between simulated and actual data may include displaying the 3D earth model in a computer-assisted visualization viewer; and concurrently displaying actual and predicted production data with the 3D earth model viewer, said displays being interactive such that adjustments to the earth model produce corresponding changes in predicted production data; [0033] Production data may be actual (field production to data) or predicted (simulated model results) to allow for a comparison of actual vs. predicted in the analysis. The method will allow for comparing and analyzing actual to predicted production or multiple realizations of simulated production data if historical data are not yet available, e.g. pre-production development planning; [0052] 15) Display all production data and animate in time-synchronized and interactive 2D and 3D plots and views to show actual vs. predicted performance (step 208). The flow chart of FIG. 3 represents potential 3D and 2D views of the invention and illustrates how production data are animated in one embodiment of the invention);
computing a difference between measured conditions obtained from the production data and predicted conditions obtained from the predictions about the plurality of conditions in the gas production system (See: [0079] The linked 2D charts and 3D views provide for the ability to quickly review production and field history and identify anomalies and deviations from expected in a spatial context as well as to quickly query down to a specific well or group of wells that are performing anomalously. In addition to the visual analysis and comparison capabilities, additional functionality may be provided with algorithms to statistically analyze the degree of data similarity or non-similarity);
determining, based on the computed difference, a performance deviation in the gas production system (See: [0081] In the example given in FIGS. 4A-D and 5, the ability to animate sporadic and dynamic production data in interactive and linked 2D and 3D charts allows the user to identify if production performance is deviating from expected and provide the tools to quickly determine where, when and why the deviations occurred. For instance, it may be noted in FIG. 4B that the field, cumulative performance was not performing as expected. From FIG. 4C, the user can identify which well or wells are contributing to the problem: the production in well #3 is half of what was expected. Examining well #3's individual production data, the user can determine if other data are anomalous (FIG. 4D). In this case, in addition to cumulative production, reservoir pressure is also dropping suggesting that the well is not in communication with other wells in the field. The interactive 3D viewer, FIG. 4A, allows the user to compare the spatial relationship of the anomalous well to nearby wells to ascertain if the problem is limited to the individual well or affects a larger area);
comparing the performance deviation to a predetermined threshold value that represents an acceptable tolerance for variance in performance of the gas production system (See: [0082] FIG. 6 is a flow diagram to illustrate one specific use case. In this example well #3 is located in a pressure low (see FIG. 4A), which appears isolated from the other wells. The first step, 601, is to identify if the problem is isolated to Well #3 or is field wide. If the pressure drop is field wide then adjusting permeability globally, step 606, may be acceptable. A global update of the geologic model and a re-run the simulation may be sufficient to test a new realization. For this particular example, however, it will be assumed that the pressure drop is limited to Well #3. In step 602, the 3D Earth Model and its associated data are used to identify potential causes of the segmentation of Well #3 from the rest of the field. Visual and analytical tools, such as slicing and filtering, within the invention allow the identification of an area of lower rock quality in the vicinity of Well #3. Once causes for the anomalous well are identified, the user can query the 3D Earth Model to identify possible corrections, step 603. Using the 3D Earth model and the visual and analytical tools, it is determined that the reservoir interval was originally interpreted too thick and needs to thin. In addition, porosity and permeability in the area around Well #3 needs to be adjusted downward. Since the 3D Earth Model has all the pertinent data, the analyst has all the information necessary to make comprehensive adjustments. In step 604 the grids of the 3D Earth Model are adjusted interactively in the 3D viewer in the area around Well #3. Through the interrogation of the 3D Earth Model, the area to limit the downward adjustments to the permeability and porosity functions are also determined. The new grids, permeability, and porosity functions are sent to re-run the geologic model, step 605. The updated geologic model is then used to update the simulation model to re-run the simulated production, step 607. The re-run simulated production can be compared to the actual production data, step 608, to determine if there is an acceptable match, step 609. If the match is still not acceptable then the Earth Model can be re-examined for potential solutions to iterate again, steps 603 through 609. If independent fluid movement data is available, such as 4D seismic, it can be integrated into the analysis at any step, 601 through 609); and
triggering, when the performance deviation exceeds the predetermined threshold value, a particular type of automated response comprising an action that addresses the variance in performance of the gas production system (See: [0080] Throughout the analysis, if it is determined that the simulated production data is not statistically comparable or is incorrect with the actual production data or the original input models are incorrect, then the 3D Earth Model will need to be updated and the process re-run. (Steps 22, 23) Techniques for determining which model properties to adjust may be found in references such as Tavassoli et al., Mattox et. al, and Boberg et. al. which discuss history matching techniques. (Step 24) The invention facilitates adjusting model properties and grids interactively. Model cells that need to be adjusted can be selected through a threshold filter or other methods. Properties associated with these cells can be passed to other models and derivative properties can be generated. Grids can also be adjusted and the properties associated with the cells bounding these surfaces can be adjusted as well. (Step 25) Once the grid and cell properties are selected and adjusted, these can be passed to the geologic model as shown in FIG. 1. Due to the changes to the geologic model, a new simulation model will be generated as well as new simulated production data. Adjusted properties can also be passed directly to the simulation model if the adjustments are deemed minor prior to generating new simulated production data. (Step 26) This process will be repeated until an acceptable match is achieved, i.e. actual vs. predicted production are statistically similar. (Step 27)).
Sequeira et al does not specify but Burdick et al discloses transmitting a control signal to at least one device of the gas production system, the control signal causing the at least one device to change a production flow rate of at least one of the wells to reduce the variance in performance of the gas production systems (See: [0006] In a first aspect, a process control valve includes a fluid valve body having an inlet for receiving fluid, an outlet for discharging fluid, a fluid flow passage connecting the inlet and outlet, and a controllable throttling element which is moveable to selectively vary the cross-sectional area of flow of at least a portion of the passage, a valve actuator coupled to the valve body and responsive to control signals for selectively moving the throttling element, a sensor for producing at least one signal representative of at least one of absolute pressure, gage pressure, differential pressure, flow, and temperature within the fluid flow passage, a communication system for receiving configuration information and transmitting status information, and a controller comprising a processor for receiving said signal and configuration information, for developing an output dependent upon the configuration information and the received signal, and for developing the status information; [0007] The process control valve can also include a temperature sensor for producing a temperature signal representing the temperature of the fluid in the fluid flow passage, and a throttling element position sensor for producing a flow signal representing the flow capacity of the valve body, and wherein said controller can be configured to determine the flow rate of the fluid in the passage from the signal, the temperature signal, and the flow signal. The processor can be adapted for storing a predetermined flow rate value, comparing the determined flow rate with the stored flow rate value and for producing a difference signal whose magnitude represents the difference between the compared values, and producing control signals for application to the actuator to cause it to move the throttling element to thereby vary the flow rate to more closely match the stored flow rate value and reduce the magnitude of the difference signal. The process control valve can also include a power system for powering one or more of said valve actuator, said sensor, said communication system, and said controller, wherein the instantaneous power drawn from said power system does not exceed 3 Watts. The process control valve can include an enclosure configured to protect said valve actuator, said sensor, said communication system, and said controller in hazardous locations requiring Class I, Division 1 rated equipment. The processor can be configured for receiving program instructions operable to perform control functions comprising one or more of pressure regulation, flow control, level control, and plunger lift control; [0030] FIG. 1 illustrates an example natural gas well production system 14 which is an exemplary application and operational environment for an example electrical actuator 10. The well-head valve 12 regulates the production output of a natural gas production well 16 through a collection pipe 18. The well-head valve 12 is mounted in the collection pipe 18 in fluid series with a gas flow sensor 20. The degree of opening of the well-head valve 12 and the natural gas pressure of the well 16 (which typically ranges between about 10-900 psi or even higher for most production wells) determine the natural gas flow rate through the collection pipe 18. The gas flow sensor 20 measures the amount of natural gas that flows through the pipe 18. The gas flow sensor 20 provides electrical feedback representative of the sensed flow rate to an electronic controller 22 for closed loop control over the electrical actuator 10 and well-head valve 12).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to combine wireless control valve as taught by Burdick et al to iterative reservoir surveillance method of Sequeira et al would be to control the flow of a fluid through the valve and of monitoring various parameters of the fluid (Burdick et al, [0002]).
Claim 2. Sequeira et al discloses the method of claim 1, wherein determining a performance deviation comprises: determining a magnitude of the performance deviation; or determining a magnitude of the variance in performance of the gas production system (See: [0081] In the example given in FIGS. 4A-D and 5, the ability to animate sporadic and dynamic production data in interactive and linked 2D and 3D charts allows the user to identify if production performance is deviating from expected and provide the tools to quickly determine where, when and why the deviations occurred. For instance, it may be noted in FIG. 4B that the field, cumulative performance was not performing as expected. From FIG. 4C, the user can identify which well or wells are contributing to the problem: the production in well #3 is half of what was expected. Examining well #3's individual production data, the user can determine if other data are anomalous (FIG. 4D). In this case, in addition to cumulative production, reservoir pressure is also dropping suggesting that the well is not in communication with other wells in the field. The interactive 3D viewer, FIG. 4A, allows the user to compare the spatial relationship of the anomalous well to nearby wells to ascertain if the problem is limited to the individual well or affects a larger area).
Claim 3. Sequeira et al discloses the method of claim 2, wherein triggering a particular type of automated response comprises: selecting a particular type of automated response based at least on the magnitude of the variance in performance of the gas production system; and triggering an action of the selected particular type of automated response that reduces the magnitude of the variance in performance of the gas production system (See: [0019] Implementations of this aspect may include one or more of the following features. For example, the method may include continuing to cycle through steps (b)-(f) until the differences between simulated and actual data are reduced to be within a pre-selected tolerance or another stopping point is reached; [0020] The step of adjusting the earth model to reduce any differences between simulated and actual data may include displaying the 3D earth model in a computer-assisted visualization viewer; and concurrently displaying actual and predicted production data with the 3D earth model viewer, said displays being interactive such that adjustments to the earth model produce corresponding changes in predicted production data; (a) developing a three-dimensional earth model of the field; (b) developing a geologic model of at least one reservoir, based at least in part on the earth model, said geologic model being a cellular-based representation of at least one reservoir, each cell being assigned a value for a plurality of properties describing distribution of pore space, fluid types and amounts in place; (c) developing a reservoir simulator based at least in part on the geologic model, said simulator being capable of predicting production rates; (d) obtaining simulated historical production data from the reservoir simulator; (e) comparing the simulated production data with actual production data; (f) adjusting the earth model to reduce any differences between simulated and actual data; (g) repeating steps (b)-(f) using the adjusted earth model, adjusting the geologic model and simulator consistent with the adjustment to the earth model; and (h) using the adjusted earth model to make production forecasts for the field).
Claim 4. Sequeira et al discloses the method of claim 3, wherein triggering an action of the selected particular type of automated response comprises: triggering an action that eliminates the variance in performance of the gas production system and the performance deviation (See: [0019] Implementations of this aspect may include one or more of the following features. For example, the method may include continuing to cycle through steps (b)-(f) until the differences between simulated and actual data are reduced to be within a pre-selected tolerance or another stopping point is reached; [0020] The step of adjusting the earth model to reduce any differences between simulated and actual data may include displaying the 3D earth model in a computer-assisted visualization viewer; and concurrently displaying actual and predicted production data with the 3D earth model viewer, said displays being interactive such that adjustments to the earth model produce corresponding changes in predicted production data).
Claim 5. Sequeira et al discloses the method of claim 4, wherein the particular type of automated response comprises at least one of: an action that generates a warning notification (See: [0035] The invention, as proposed, will allow for the rapid identification of anomalous field and well performance and provide the user the ability to investigate the root causes of performance deviation from predicted. The invention uses tools to both statistically analyze and visualize the degree of conformance of actual to predicted production data as well as tools to interactively adjust input model properties and re-run the process until and acceptable match is achieved. Utilization of the invention, process and method, allows the users to take appropriate, timely action to optimize the economic value of the producing resource; par [0081] From FIG. 4C, the user can identify which well or wells are contributing to the problem: the production in well #3 is half of what was expected. Examining well #3's individual production data, the user can determine if other data are anomalous (FIG. 4D). In this case, in addition to cumulative production, reservoir pressure is also dropping suggesting that the well is not in communication with other wells in the field. The interactive 3D viewer, FIG. 4A, allows the user to compare the spatial relationship of the anomalous well to nearby wells to ascertain if the problem is limited to the individual well or affects a larger area); or an action that generates an alarm signal.
Claim 6. Sequeira et al discloses the method of claim 1, wherein: the wells are gas or hydrocarbon producing wells (See: 0002] The invention relates generally to the field of oil and gas production, and more particularly to reservoir management and surveillance. Specifically, the invention is a method for improving the ability of geoscientists and engineers to analyze and monitor the performance of a producing field or a planned producing field; [0018] In one general aspect, a method for making production forecasts for a field containing one or more oil or gas reservoirs includes (a) developing a three-dimensional earth model of the field); and the predictions about a plurality of conditions comprises predicted data values for flow rate, pressure, and temperature relating to the gas or hydrocarbon producing wells (See: [0058] 21) Analyze degree of similarity of production data sets, actual vs predicted, using both statistical analysis methods and visual comparisons in 2D charts and 3D views. Statistical analysis could include algorithms to determine the degree of similarity between two or more production profiles. Visual comparison could include determining if flow or production behavior is conforming to interpreted behavior. (Step 108); [0068] 4) The simulation model and associated time independent properties such as horizons, porosity, horizontal permeability, vertical permeability, and time dependant properties such as fluid saturations, fluid rates, fluid ratios, fluid cumulatives, reservoir pressure, and well pressures).
Claim 7. Sequeira et al discloses the method of claim 6, wherein the performance deviation includes flow conditions of the gas production system that are outside the acceptable tolerance (See: [0080] Throughout the analysis, if it is determined that the simulated production data is not statistically comparable or is incorrect with the actual production data or the original input models are incorrect, then the 3D Earth Model will need to be updated and the process re-run; par [0082] then used to update the simulation model to re-run the simulated production, step 607. The re-run simulated production can be compared to the actual production data, step 608, to determine if there is an acceptable match, step 609. If the match is still not acceptable then the Earth Model can be re-examined for potential solutions to iterate again, steps 603 through 609. If independent fluid movement data is available, such as 4D seismic, it can be integrated into the analysis at any step, 601 through 609).
Claim 8. Sequeira et al discloses the method of claim 7, wherein the particular type of automated response comprises at least one of: an action that causes, by an autonomous system, intervention at a particular area of the gas production system; or a total shut-in of at least one of the wells (See: [0056] 19) Animate production events, such as downtime, shut-ins, work-overs or other discreet or sporadic production data concurrently with other displays (step 304)).
As per Claims 9-20: The instant claims recite substantially same limitation as the above rejected claims 1-8 and therefore rejected under the same rationale.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
KIBROM K. GEBRESILASSIE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2189
/KIBROM K GEBRESILASSIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2189 09/28/2026