DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 4-10, 13-16, 18-19 are pending.
Claims 2, 3, 11, 12, 17 are cancelled.
Claims 1, 4-7, 9, 10, 13, 14, 19 are amended.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments filed on 3/17/2026 have been entered.
The 102 claim rejections have been withdrawn in view of the Applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 5, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Gilli et al (US 20230393044 A1).
Regarding Claim 1,
Gilli teaches a device for testing at least one battery cell, in particular a secondary battery, having a first plate and a second plate (Paragraph 0001). Gilli also teaches the associated method for estimating pressure distribution of a battery cell: disposing the battery cell in a pressing apparatus and pressing the battery cell (Paragraph 0001; the battery cell is clamped between the two substantially rectangular plates and at least one plate is pressed against the battery cell with a defined mechanical pressing force);
measuring strains by strain sensors provided in the pressing apparatus (Paragraph 0001, having at least one force-measuring element arranged between a plate and a pressing device for measuring a reaction force between the battery cell and the pressing device; Paragraph 0022, force measuring element is a strain gauge sensor);
and estimating a pressure distribution applied to the battery cell based on the strains (Paragraph 0034, based on the measurement results, a model calculation is carried out with a virtual calculation model of the device; Paragraph 0081, the measured displacement value and the measured force value are then further processed using the virtual calculation model to obtain the pure change in thickness D of the battery cell, as well as the associated cell stiffness, expansion profile and pressure dependence).
Gilli teaches the pressing device includes a
a pressing member configured to press the battery cell (Figure 1, Element 4 and Element 9; pressure body with pressing devices, Paragraph 0050); a plurality of springs configured to apply loads to the pressing member (Figure 1, Element 10; atleast one spring is integrated in each screw connection 10 and the pressing force F is applied to the cell body by means of the screw connection; Paragraph 0054 and 0056).
Gilli teaches a plurality of fixing members (Paragraph 0053, bolt- or sleeve-shaped sections 11 ) configured to allow the pressing member to be mounted on the plurality of fixing members to be movable (Paragraph 0053, bolt- or sleeve-shaped sections 11 of the screw connections 10 are guided through openings 12 in the plates 3, 4; Paragraph 0056, spring integrated into connection 10 to simulate a “floating” mounting of the battery cell 2 in the battery assembly and allows a relative movement ); and a fixing jig configured to mount the battery cell (Paragraph 0049, first plate 3 forms a lower base platform into which the battery cell 2 is inserted) and configured to be fixedly mounted on the plurality of fixing members (annotated Figure 3 shows that the element 11 and 9 are fixedly connected to the base platform), wherein the pressing member is disposed above the fixing jig, and the pressing member includes a first surface facing toward the battery cell mounted on the fixing jig and a second surface opposite to the first surface and facing away from the battery cell, and wherein the strain sensors are placed on the first surface of the pressing member; facing the battery cell, such that the strain sensors do not overlap with the battery cell, measure strains of the pressing member, and do not contact the battery cell. Annotations depict the features of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 4,
Gilli teaches that the force measuring element 13 (a strain gauge sensor) arranged on each pressing device 9 is placed on each corner of the plates 3 and 4 (Paragraph 0055). Figure 1 shows the placement of the strain gauge on each corner. The strain gauges are disposed at a part of the pressing apparatus to be spaced apart from each other at a predetermined interval.
Regarding Claim 5,
Gilli teaches different types of battery cells such as pouch cells and prismatic cells (which is hexahedron) to be tested in the pressing apparatus (Paragraph 0006). Gilli also shows in Figure 3 that the strain gauges are disposed on each corner of the pressing plate which is akin to the sensors being disposed at the same interval at each edge of a surface of the hexahedron configured to come into contact with the pressing apparatus. As defined in Claim 1, the strain gauge does not overlap with the battery cell.
Regarding Claim 18,
Gilli teaches the use of secondary batteries (Paragraph 0004), and teaches a method to measure the degree of swelling of such batteries. Battery cells have the property that their external dimensions, in particular their thickness, change during electrical charging or discharging. This effect is also known as the so-called “breathing” and/or “swelling” effect. “Swelling” refers to an irreversible increase in volume due to aging, for example. There is also a relationship between the cell surface pressure and the storage capacity of the cell (Paragraph 0005). Gilli does not expressly teach an all-solid-state battery cell. However, solid state batteries are a type of lithium secondary batteries and fall within the broader group. Furthermore, the disclosure of the claimed invention cites the need to suppress expansion (or swelling) of the cells occurring due to continuous charge and discharge processes. The prior art reference of Gilli and the claimed invention demonstrate the same improvement in the method of estimating pressure distribution of the battery cell achieving the same result. Hence, the method of Gilli is applicable to solid state batteries.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 13-16, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gilli in view of Kim et al (KR201983849B1; machine translation).
Regarding Claim 6,
Gilli teaches the use of a virtual calculation model to obtain pure cell properties of the battery cell (Paragraph 0074), and the simulation of the surface pressure on the cell body determined by the force measuring elements (Paragraph 0075). Hence, Gilli suggests the setting unknown pressure variables from load conditions of the pressing apparatus; estimating the unknown pressure variables based on the measured strains; and estimating the pressure distribution based on the estimated unknown pressure variables.
The prior art of Kim provides additional details for a similar method for measuring and estimating surface pressure load distribution of battery cells (Paragraph 0007-0008) comprising a pressing apparatus (Figure 1, Element 10) with flat plates 14 and 15 that support the battery cell. Kim teaches that the analysis unit analyzes the load applied downward from the load cell (Paragraph 0033). The swelling of the battery cell acts as pressure in the downward direction, and the load acting on the load cell/strain gauge can be measured (Paragraph 0074). The load cell continuously measures the change in load caused by the swelling action of the battery cell due to charging and discharging (Paragraph 0084). Since the load cells are spaced apart from each other, the measurement of strains or load from each of the gauges creates a distribution measurement. This is akin to estimating the claimed unknown pressure variables based on measured strains, and estimating the pressure distribution. Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention in order to automatically measure surface pressure and load along with thickness changes due to swelling of the battery cell during charging and discharging (Paragraph 0009).
Regarding Claim 13,
Gilli in view of Kim teaches the structure of the claimed invention with springs, fixing members, and the battery cell between the pressing plates. Since the structure of Gilli and the claimed invention are the same (as well as the practical application are the same), this would imply that load conditions and reaction forces are observed in both inventions. Per MPEP 2112.01, where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure, a prima facie case of anticipation or obviousness is established.
Regarding Claim 14, 15, and 16,
Gilli teaches the spring integrated into each screw connection 10 between the plates 3 and 4 (Paragraph 0056), but does not provide additional details as the features of claimed invention.
However, Kim shows in Figure 3 that the springs are disposed on a type of disc and are connected to the pressing member. Figure 3 also shows that the discs are circular in shape, and the number shown here are 6 (even number). Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention in order to provide proper elastic support to the plates (Paragraph 0065).
Regarding Claim 19,
Gilli teaches a pressing device that includes a pressing member configured to press the battery cell (Figure 1, Element 4 and Element 9; pressure body with pressing devices, Paragraph 0050); a plurality of springs configured to apply loads to the pressing member (Figure 1, Element 10; atleast one spring is integrated in each screw connection 10 and the pressing force F is applied to the cell body by means of the screw connection; Paragraph 0054 and 0056).
Gilli teaches a plurality of fixing members (Paragraph 0053, bolt- or sleeve-shaped sections 11 ) configured to allow the pressing member to be mounted on the plurality of fixing members to be movable (Paragraph 0053, bolt- or sleeve-shaped sections 11 of the screw connections 10 are guided through openings 12 in the plates 3, 4; Paragraph 0056, spring integrated into connection 10 to simulate a “floating” mounting of the battery cell 2 in the battery assembly and allows a relative movement ); and a fixing jig configured to mount the battery cell (Paragraph 0049, first plate 3 forms a lower base platform into which the battery cell 2 is inserted) and configured to be fixedly mounted on the plurality of fixing members (annotated Figure 3 shows that the element 11 and 9 are fixedly connected to the base platform), wherein the pressing member is disposed above the fixing jig, and the pressing member includes a first surface facing toward the battery cell mounted on the fixing jig and a second surface opposite to the first surface and facing away from the battery cell, and wherein the strain sensors are placed on the first surface of the pressing member; facing the battery cell, such that the strain sensors do not overlap with the battery cell, measure strains of the pressing member, and do not contact the battery cell. Annotations depict the features of the claimed invention.
Gilli teaches the estimating surface pressure on the battery cell but does not specifically teach a controller configured to receive the strains measured by the strain sensors and estimate a pressure distribution applied to the battery cell based on the strains.
However, Kim teaches an apparatus for measuring and estimating surface pressure load distribution of battery cells (Paragraph 0007-0008) comprising an analysis unit that analyses the load applied downward from the load cell, and analyses the displacement values obtained from a displacement measurement module (Paragraph 0099). This analysis unit is akin to a controller used to receive and analyze the pressure distribution based on strains. Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include an analyzing unit from Kim into the pressing device of Gilli in order to analyze the surface pressure distribution value and the displacement using the data values (Paragraph 0099).
Claims 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gilli in view of Kim, further in view of Hua et al (CN102589616A; machine translation).
Regarding Claim 7 and Claim 8,
Gilli does not expressly teach the analysis model which is set and linearized based on geometrical values of the pressing apparatus, and that the analysis model is linearized based on a unit change of the unknown pressure variable.
However, Hua teaches a method that applies to a hot pressing process, and provides a multisensory data fusion method to solve the problem of low detection and control accuracy (Paragraph 0007, and 0008). Hua teaches the n-position pressure signal is normalized using formula below.
Hua also teaches that the pressure sensor of each pressure sampling port continuously samples L times to obtain a pressure average value and a pressure variance (Paragraph 0021). These are akin to geometrical values.
Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a similar linearizing technique as Hua in the invention of Gilli in order to analyze the strain and pressure values measured on the pressing plate.
Regarding Claim 9,
Gilli does not teach that the unknown pressure variables are estimated using least squares estimation.
However, Hua teaches that the pressure sensor effective data is synchronously fused through the weighted least square method (Paragraph 0092). This method helps to make the measurement variance smaller than the measurement variance of any single sensor (Paragraph 0093), and to integrate the observation data from multiple sensors to make accurate judgment of the state of the pressed article (Paragraph 0092). Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the least squares estimation method in pressure estimation.
Regarding Claim 10,
Gilli teaches a step of simulating surface pressure on the cell body but does not specifically teach that the pressure distribution is acquired by inputting the estimated unknown pressure variables to the analysis model.
However, Hua teaches that the weighted least squares method and adaptive fusion algorithm synchronize the effective data (from pressure sensors). The advantage of the process in Hua is that it does not require prior knowledge of measured parameters indicating that unknown pressure variable can be estimated (paragraph 0092 and 0093). The estimated unknown pressure variables can be utilized to generate a pressure distribution. Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Hua with the pressure distribution step of Kim to develop a method of estimating pressure distribution of battery cell in order to improve the measurement accuracy (paragraph 0093).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argues that in the reference of Kim, it fails to teach or disclose that the strain sensors do not overlap with the battery cell, and that the pressing member includes a first surface facing toward the battery cell and a second surface facing away, and the strain sensors are placed on the first surface of the pressing member. These limitations have been addressed in the 102 rejection of Claim 1 above which relies on the prior art reference of Gilli et al.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SUHANI JITENDRA PATEL/Examiner, Art Unit 1783
/MARIA V EWALD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1783