DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant’s argument, filed on 01/08/2026 regarding rejection of claims 17-23, 25-37 has been fully considered and they are not persuasive.
The Applicant states in scanned page 1 “Applicant respectfully submits that Deng does not appear to disclose features recited in at least the previously filed independent claims 17, 22, and 32 (prior to the instant amendment), and that the Office appears to have failed to establish a prima facie case of anticipation with respect to at least independent claims 17, 22, and 32”
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The Examiner respectfully submits that prior art Deng et al. (US 20230164825 A1) discloses in para [0071] a WTRU may determine to perform an assistance transmission and become an assisting WTRU. According to embodiments, a WTRU may determine to perform an assistance transmission and/or become an assisting WTRU according to (e.g., based on) any number of conditions (e.g., triggers), such triggers and/or conditions (e.g., used to determine any of performing an assistance transmission and/or becoming an assisting WTRU) may include any of: (1) a WTRU receives an explicit request for assistance transmission, for example, from an assisted WTRU;
(8) a WTRU measures (e.g., detects, determines, etc.) a congestion metric (e.g., a channel busy ratio (CBR)) i.e., second condition, that is higher than a (pre)configured threshold;
And in para [0074] a WTRU may any of determine to transmit an explicit assistance transmission request and become an assisted WTRU, (e.g., in addition and/or alternative to the case of a resource (re)selection of a TB being triggered by higher layers), and in para [0081] an assisted WTRU may select resources from a resource pool dedicated to/for assistance transmission requests.
e.g., assisting wtru determine to perform resource selection assistance information transmission to assisted wtru according to a triggering condition.
And for The limitation “transmitting, from the first UE to a second UE, resource selection assistance information in response to determining that the second condition is satisfied.”
i.e., when second condition is satisfied, the first UE transmits resource selection assistance information to second UE.
And Deng also discloses in para [0101] According to embodiments, a WTRU assistance transmission may be triggered by a CBR. According to embodiments, a WTRU may determine to perform an assistance transmission and become an assisting WTRU in a case where any of: (1) a WTRU measures a CBR higher than a (pre)configured threshold; and (2) the WTRU has received a semi-persistent resource reservation from an assisted WTRU.
The WTRU perform assistance transmission when CBR is higher than a threshold/second condition.
Therefore prior art Deng discloses wtru performs resource selection assistance transmission to receiving wtru when CBR value is higher than a threshold value.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) ,17 18, 19,21, 22, 23, 25, 26, 31,32-33, 28, 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated Deng et al. (US 20230164825 A1) hereinafter Deng
As to claim 17. Deng teaches a method comprising: detecting, at a first user equipment (UE), a triggering condition for resource selection assistance;([0073][0074][0075] transmission of assistance information (e.g., a WTRU assistance transmission) may be triggered by a (e.g., explicit, signaled, determined, etc.) request for resource selection assistance)
in response to detecting the triggering condition, determining whether a second condition is satisfied; ([0112] e.g., increase the number of assistance transmissions, for example, in a case where a (e.g., measured, determined, etc.) CBR is below a (pre)configured threshold. )
and
transmitting, from the first UE to a second UE, resource selection assistance information in response to determining that the second condition is satisfied. ([0112] [0115] Fig. 5, , an assistance transmission (e.g., sent by a WTRU) may provide resource set information to (e.g., other) WTRUs, in a case where a (e.g., measured, determined, etc.) CBR is below a (pre)configured threshold. )
Claims 23, and 32 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 17.
As to claim 18. Deng teaches , wherein the second condition comprises a channel busy ratio (CBR) being below a threshold value. ([0112] n a case where a (e.g., measured, determined, etc.) CBR is below a (pre)configured threshold. )
Claims 25, and 33 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 18.
As to claim 19 Deng teaches further comprising determining the threshold value based on a priority level of communications from the second UE. ([0178] a WTRU may be (pre-)configured with a mapping of a (e.g., one, each, any, etc.) minimum received signal strength threshold to any of a (e.g., one, each, any, etc.) priority and a reliability value of a TB)
Claims 26, and 34 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 19.
As to claim 21 Deng teaches wherein the first UE is configured to only determine that the second condition is satisfied prior to transmission of resource selection assistance information for groupcast or broadcast transmissions. ([0107][0112] an assisting WTRU may e.g., increase the number of assistance transmissions), for example, in a case where a (e.g., measured, determined, etc.) CBR is below a (pre)configured threshold, periodic assistance transmissions may be any of (1) a semi-persistent broadcast transmission and (2) groupcast transmission,)
Claims 28, and 36 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 21.
As to claim 22. Deng teaches A system comprising: a first user equipment (UE) configured to send resource selection assistance information to a second UE which identifies a plurality of non-preferred resources; ([0170] [ 0171] an (e.g., each) assistance resource set may include any of available resources and preferred resources, for example, determined by any (e.g., each) assisting WTRU., an assisted WTRU i.e., second UE, received transmitted resources, may count a number of resource sets in which a candidate resource is include)
and the second UE configured to: generate a set of candidate resources comprising one or more of the non- preferred resources; and select a resource from the set of candidate resources comprising the one or more of the non-preferred resources for transmission. (0170][0171] an assisted WTRU may rank all resources according to (e.g., based on) the count in a descending order and may include the first percentage (e.g., X %) of the resources in a superset of the candidate resources for TB transmission. a superset may (e.g., thus) include resources that most WTRUs identify as available i.e., non-preferred and/or preferred)
As to claim 31. Deng teaches , wherein the resource selection assistance information identifies a plurality of non-preferred resources. ([0169] a WTRU may determine a candidate resource set according to (e.g., based on) a superset of any of available resources and preferred resources. According to embodiments, (e.g., such) a superset (e.g., of available and/or preferred resources) may be determined according to (e.g., based on) any of: (1) a number of resource sets in which an assistance resource is included)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 20, 27, 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deng and further in view of Huang et al (US 20230362973 A1) hereinafter Huang
As to claim 20Deng does not teach wherein the second condition comprises a number of assistances reports received from neighboring UEs within a particular period of time being less than a threshold number.
Huang teaches wherein the second condition comprises a number of assistances reports received from neighboring UEs within a particular period of time being less than a threshold number. ([0388] the third terminal device sends the assistance information when a channel busy ratio (CBR) is less than a CBR threshold. )
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Huang with the teachings of Deng because Huang teaches that from a perspective of system performance, sending the assistance information when the channel is not congested is more meaningful.(Huang [0388])
Claims 27, and 35 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 20.
Claim(s) 29, 30, 37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deng and further in view of Wang et al (CN 116094631 A) hereinafter Wang
As to claim 29. Deng does not teach , wherein the triggering condition comprises a determination that exclusion of all of the non-preferred resources would cause a remaining number of resources to be less than a threshold value or that a number of non-preferred resources is greater than a threshold value.
Wang teaches wherein the triggering condition comprises a determination that exclusion of all of the non-preferred resources would cause a remaining number of resources to be less than a threshold value or that a number of non-preferred resources is greater than a threshold value. ([rule 1.2, rule 1.3, rule 7, rule 8] the detected non-preferred resource is used for resource exclusion., based on the non-tendency resource set for resource exclusion, if the candidate resource set in the remaining resource number is less than or equal to the fourth threshold value, triggering resource reselection;))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Wang with the teachings of Deng because Wang teaches that alternative resource set reduces the resource number satisfy the second preset condition;(Rule 2.1)
Claims 30, 37 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 29.
Conclusion
5. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ganesan; Karthikeyan et al. [US 20230189292 A1] TRIGGERING A REPORT OF A SET OF RESOURCES
Yu; Xiaodong et al. [US 20220394560 A1] METHOD AND APPARATUS FOR PRE-EMPTING A RESOURCE
Farag; Emad N. et al. [US 20220095280 A1] METHOD AND APPARATUS FOR INTER-USER EQUIPMENT COORDINATION SIGNALING
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ATIQUE AHMED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413