DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, a battery cathode comprising 1-8 in the reply filed on 12-26-2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 9-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10-20-2025.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because in Fig 5, reference characters "34" and "38" are both pointing to the same line shown in the Figure. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because in Fig 5, reference characters "40" and "42" are both pointing to the same line shown in the Figure. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because in Fig 8, reference characters “34”, "40", "42" AND “34”, “38” are both pointing to the same line shown in the Figure. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: In [0001], the specification needs to be updated to cite that US Application 17/340,063 is now US Patent 11,427,756. Appropriate correction is required. Claim Objections
Claims 1-8 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1 is objected to because the claim should cite “a loading weight range of 1% up to10%”. Claim 5 is objected to because the claim should cite “the loading weight range is 2.5% up to10%”. Claim 6 is objected to because the claim should cite “the loading weight range is 2.5% up to 7.5%.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Zhu et al. “Effects of fibrous nickel additives on the electrochemical properties of LiFePO4 cathode for lithium-ion battery” in view of Ferment et al. (US 6,143,445). Zhu et al. teaches in the abstract that highly conductive nickel additive can enhance the electronic conductivity of LiFePO4 when the fiber content is present at 10 wt%. Zhu et al. teaches on pages 10601-10602, that the morphologies of nickel fibers [branching] are shown in figure 3(a). Zhu et al. teaches adding nickel fibers to a cathode material comprising LiFePO4 with different fiber content as shown in Table 1, teaching adding a nickel-fiber loading of 4% [teaching claims 3-4] and 8% to the active material. Zhu et al. teaches on page 10598, that it has been found that porous nickel fibers with low aspect ratio is conducted additives could improve the electrochemical performance of LiFePO4 cathodes. Figure 3 (a) shows nickel fibers having a length of 2-5 μm and a diameter of 0.1-0.5 μm. This kind of fiber has a porous structure with specific surface area of 25.8 m2/g, could be in favor of the combination between LiFePO4, additives and current collector surfaces and enhance the electronic conduction ability of the whole LiFePO4 electrode during charge/discharge process. Zhu et al. discloses the claimed invention teaching a battery cathode comprising an active base material comprising lithium iron phosphate and comprising a conductive nickel-filamentary branching structure in the loading weight range claimed but does not teach further adding another additive comprising a metal such as aluminum or nickel coated precision chopped fiber comprising 5 wt% out of the total 10 wt% of additives. Ferment et al. teaches in claim 1, a positive electrode comprising a composite electrode material comprising an active material, a carbon powder, a binder and chopped up electrically conductive metallized fibers. Ferment et al. teaches in column 2, lines 59-67, that the electroconductive fibers may be carbon fibers, plastic fibers, or other fibers, which have been metallized in any well-known manner such as by spraying, sputtering, vacuum deposition, dip coating, electroplating or electroless metal plating and the metal coating may be of any suitable materials such as aluminum [teaching claim 8, aluminum-coated fibers], nickel [teaching claim 7, nickel-coated fibers] or other materials selected to be compatible with the components of the battery or device. Ferment et al. teaches in column 3, lines 1-4, that the fibers after coating with metal or chopped into small pieces and then mixed into an electrode slurry which includes the active material, the carbon powder and the binder. Ferment et al. teaches in column 3 lines 17-29, that the presence of the chopped metallized fibers markedly improves the electrical conductivity of the electrode. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include aluminum coated carbon fibers or nickel coated carbon fibers to the cathode material taught by Zhu et al. because Ferment et al. teaches that the presence of the chopped metallized fibers markedly improves the electrical conductivity of the electrode. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention as claimed in claims 2 and 4-6 to use 5 wt% of the metal-coated chopped fibers when Zhu et al. teaches using 4-5 wt% of the conductive nickel-filamentary branching structures and to use 2.5 wt% of the conductive nickel-filamentary branching structures and to use 2.5 wt% as claimed in claim 3, since it has been held that where general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use to use 5 wt% of the metal-coated chopped fibers when Zhu et al. teaches using 4-5 wt% of the conductive nickel-filamentary branching structures and to use 2.5 wt% of the conductive nickel-filamentary branching structures and to use 2.5 wt% as claimed in claim 3, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). Double Patenting
Claims 1-8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of copending Application No. 18/079,806 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Application No.18/079,806 claims in claim 1, a battery cathode with enhanced electrical conductivity for use in a battery, the battery cathode comprising: an active base cathode material comprising lithium iron phosphate; and a 1st additive comprising nickel-coated precision chopped fibers and a claims in claim 2, that further comprises a 2nd additive comprising conductive nickel filamentary branching structures comprising branching nickel powder which is also dispersed within the active base cathode material in a loading weight range 1% of up to 15% of the active base cathode materials. Application No.18/079,806 claims in claim 4, wherein the first additive comprises nickel-coated carbon fibers. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 of copending Application No. 18/079,814 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Application No.18/079,814 claims in claim 1, a battery cathode with enhanced electrical conductivity for use in a battery, the battery cathode comprising: an active base cathode material comprising lithium iron phosphate; a 1st additive comprising metal-coated precision chopped fibers and claims in claim 2, further adding a 2nd additive comprising conductive nickel filamentary branching structures comprising branching nickel which is also dispersed within the active base cathode material in a loading weight range 1% of up to 10% of the active base cathode materials. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of copending Application No. 18/079,825 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Application No.18/079,825 claims in claim 1, a battery cathode with enhanced electrical conductivity for use in a battery, the battery cathode comprising: an active base cathode material comprising lithium iron phosphate; and a 1st additive comprising metal-coated precision chopped fibers and a 2nd additive comprising conductive nickel filamentary branching structures comprising branching nickel powder which is also dispersed within the active base cathode material in a loading weight range 1% of up to 10% of the active base cathode materials. Application No.18/079,825 claims in claim 3, wherein the 2nd additive of branching nickel powder comprise 2.5% and claims in claim 4 wherein the branching nickel powder comprise 5% of the loading weight of the active base battery cathode material. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
/LAURA S. WEINER/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1723
/Laura Weiner/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723