DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed May 4, 2026, is acknowledged and has been entered. Claims 3, 6-7, 10 and 1 have been amended.
Claims 1-14 are pending in the application and are under examination.
Grounds of Rejection Withdrawn
Unless specifically reiterated below, Applicant's amendment or arguments have obviated or rendered moot the grounds rejection set forth in the previous Office action.
Claim Rejections Maintained
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al (Journ. Contr. Rel., 216:56-68, 2015).
With respect to claims 1, 3-5 and 11-14, Kim et al disclose methods of treating cancer by administering compositions comprising a neuropilin-1 (NRP1)-specific binding peptide comprising the instantly claimed SEQ ID NO:1 and EGFR-targeting cetuximab antibody where the peptide is fused to the cetuximab antibody construct such that the antibody and peptide are administered simultaneously (see abstract and Figure 1). With respect to claims 6-10, Kim et al disclose the methods use a peptide comprising the instantly claimed SEQ ID NO:1 and a (GGGGS)3 linker where the peptide is fused to the Fc of the EGFR-targeting cetuximab (see page 58, Figure 1 and description of Figure 1). With respect to claim 2, the cancer is a lung cancer (see pages 59 and 65 and Figure 7).
Therefore, the methods of Kim et al are deemed to anticipate the claimed methods absent a showing otherwise.
In the response filed May 4, 2026, Applicant submits that Kim et al. (Journ. Contr. Rel., 216:56-68, 2015) is not available as prior art because “two named inventors of this application, Yong Sung KIM and Ye Jin KIM, are co-authors of the Kim et al. (2015) reference (listed as Yong-Sung Kim and Ye-Jin Kim, respectively). The Kim et al. reference was published on August 8, 2015, and the earliest Korean priority date (KR 10-2016-0037876) is March 29, 2016. The interval between the publication date and the priority date is within the one-year grace period under 35 U.S.C. § 102(b)(1)(A). Therefore, Kim et al. qualifies for the grace period inventor exception and is not prior art under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1)”.
In response, this statement is not sufficient to establish that that Kim et al. (Journ. Contr. Rel., 216:56-68, 2015) is not prior art under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) because Kim et al. includes additional authors (see MPEP § 2155.01 and 717.01).
Claim Rejections - Double Patenting
Claims 1-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 and 19-21 of US Patent 10,400,022 in view of Kim et al (Journ. Contr. Rel., 216:56-68, 2015) and Pirker, Robert (Transl Lung Cancer Res, 1(4):269-275, 2012).
Claims 1-17 and 19-21 of US Patent 10,400,022 recite compositions comprising antibodies fused via a (GGGGS)3 linker to a peptide comprising the instant SEQ ID NO:1 that is tissue penetrating and the instant linker for treating cancer.
Kim et al disclose methods of treating cancer by administering compositions comprising a neuropilin-1 (NRP1)-specific binding peptide comprising the instantly claimed SEQ ID NO:1 and EGFR-targeting cetuximab antibody where the peptide is fused to the cetuximab antibody construct such that the antibody and peptide are administered simultaneously (see abstract and Figure 1). Kim et al disclose the methods use a peptide comprising the instantly claimed SEQ ID NO:1 and a (GGGGS)3 linker where the peptide is fused to the Fc of the EGFR-targeting cetuximab (see page 58, Figure 1 and description of Figure 1)
Pirker teaches the antibody cetuximab for treating lung cancer.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because one would have been motivated to fuse a peptide comprising the instant SEQ ID NO:1 and the instant linker to the Fc of cetuximab and then use the construct to treat lung cancer by administering compositions comprising the peptide and antibody fusion simultaneously in order to have the advantage of increasing tissue penetration of the fusion with cetuximab as compared to cetuximab alone.
Claims 1-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of US Patent 11,548,915 in view of Kim et al (Journ. Contr. Rel., 216:56-68, 2015) and Pirker, Robert (Transl Lung Cancer Res, 1(4):269-275, 2012).
Claims 1-14 of US Patent 11,548,915 recite compositions comprising antibodies including the antibody cetuximab fused via a (GGGGS)3 linker to a peptide (SEQ ID NO:1) comprising the instant SEQ ID NO:1 that is tissue penetrating and the instant linker for treating cancer.
Kim et al disclose methods of treating cancer by administering compositions comprising a neuropilin-1 (NRP1)-specific binding peptide comprising the instantly claimed SEQ ID NO:1 and EGFR-targeting cetuximab antibody where the peptide is fused to the cetuximab antibody construct such that the antibody and peptide are administered simultaneously (see abstract and Figure 1). Kim et al disclose the methods use a peptide comprising the instantly claimed SEQ ID NO:1 and a (GGGGS)3 linker where the peptide is fused to the Fc of the EGFR-targeting cetuximab (see page 58, Figure 1 and description of Figure 1)
Pirker teaches the antibody cetuximab for treating lung cancer.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because one would have been motivated to use the construct to treat lung cancer by administering compositions comprising the peptide and antibody fusion simultaneously in order to have the advantage of increasing tissue penetration of the fusion with cetuximab as compared to cetuximab alone.
In the response filed May 4, 2026, Applicant request these rejections be held in abeyance.
In response, the rejections will be maintained until appropriately resolved.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Respectfully,
Brad Duffy
571-272-9935
/Brad Duffy/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1643
July 15, 2026