DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Duginske US 5617909.
Duginske discloses an adjustable flip stop comprising: a body (24) having a fixing hole (see Fig. 29); a fixing component having a bolt (84) mounted through the fixing hole of the body and having a bolt head (bottom see Fig. 29) being containable in an interior of a T-track (36); and a nut (58) configured to be threaded with the bolt to locate the body between the bolt head of the bolt and the nut; and a flip arm (10) having a connecting element (10) pivotally connected to the body; an arm body (34) having a longitudinal direction; a top end and a bottom end (top and bottom of track, 34) being opposite to each other in the longitudinal direction; and an adjusting element (58,84) configured to be combined with the connecting element (10) and configured to be combined at different positions (slidable via slot 36, see col. 9, lines 15-25 and col. 11, lines 23-28 and Figs. 8-10, head of bolt 84 engages slot 36 of track 34 for adjustment) of the arm body (34) in the longitudinal direction to adjust a distance between the bottom end of the arm body (34) and the body (24) and to make the arm body and the connecting element fixed with respect to each other.
As for claim 2, Duginske discloses wherein the arm body (34) has an elongated hole (slot 36) extending along the longitudinal direction of the arm body; the connecting element (10) has a combining hole (16); and the adjusting element (58, 84) is configured to be mounted through any position in the elongated hole, be combined with the connecting element via the combining hole of the connecting element, and clamp the arm body with the connecting element (see Fig. 8).
As for claim 3, Duginske discloses wherein the flip arm has a filling washer (60); and the adjusting element (58, 84) is configured to be mounted through a through hole of the filling washer (60) and the elongated hole (36) of the arm body (34) and to be mounted in the combining hole (16) of the connecting element to make the filling washer clamped by the arm body and the adjusting element (see Fig. 8).
As for claims 4-5, Duginske discloses wherein the adjusting element (58, 84) is a knob screw (58); and the combining hole (16) of the connecting element is a screw hole (hole, 16 allows for a screw/bolt to be inserted through).
As for claim 6-10, Duginske discloses (see Fig. 9) wherein the adjustable flip stop has a pivot component (64, 68) and a washer (60); the pivot component is mounted through the connecting element, the washer, and the body and allows the connecting element to be pivotally connected to the body; and the washer is clamped between the connecting element and the body.
Claim(s) 1-2 and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Robert US 5443554.
Robert discloses an adjustable flip stop comprising: a body (7,8) having a fixing hole (not labeled); a fixing component having a bolt (9) mounted through the fixing hole of the body and having a bolt head (bottom not shown, as known in the art) being containable in an interior of a T-track (4, 5); and a nut (top of 9) configured to be threaded with the bolt to locate the body between the bolt head of the bolt and the nut; and a flip arm having a connecting element (25) pivotally connected to the body; an arm body (32) having a longitudinal direction; and a top end and a bottom end being opposite to each other in the longitudinal direction; and an adjusting element (34) configured to be combined with the connecting element and configured to be combined at different positions (slidable via slot 32’) of the arm body in the longitudinal direction to adjust a distance between the bottom end of the arm body and the body and to make the arm body and the connecting element fixed with respect to each other.
As for claim 2, Robert discloses wherein the arm body has an elongated hole (32’) extending along the longitudinal direction of the arm body; the connecting element (25) has a combining hole (not shown); and the adjusting element (34) is configured to be mounted through any position in the elongated hole, be combined with the connecting element via the combining hole of the connecting element, and clamp the arm body with the connecting element (see Figs. 3-4 and 6).
As for claims 11 and 12, Roberts discloses wherein the arm body (32) has two opposite ends in the longitudinal direction; and the adjustable flip stop has a fence-abutting block (19) detachably mounted on one of the two opposite ends of the arm body and being capable of abutting a fence (11) as the flip arm pivots relative to the body.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-10 and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robert US 5443554 in view of Duginske US 5617909.
As for claim 3, Robert discloses all the limitations as recited above but does not specify wherein the flip arm has a filling washer; and the adjusting element is configured to be mounted through a through hole of the filling washer and the elongated hole of the arm body and to be mounted in the combining hole of the connecting element to make the filling washer clamped by the arm body and the adjusting element. However, the use of washers for connecting adjusting elements to provide bearing surfaces or distribute a force for a bolt are well known in the art as evidence by Duginske who teaches an adjustable flip-stop having a body (24) with a flip arm (10) having an adjusting element (58, 84) configured to be mounted through a through hole of a washer (60) and an elongated hole (36) of an arm body (34) and to be mounted in a combining hole (16) of the connecting element (10) to make the filling washer clamped by the arm body and the adjusting element. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the flip-stop of Robert to include a washer as taught by Duginske as a means to provide a bearing surface and/or distribute the force to clamp the adjusting element and arm body to the connecting element.
As for claims 4-5, Duginske further teaches wherein the adjusting element (58, 84) is a knob screw (58); and the combining hole (16) of the connecting element is a screw hole (hole, 16 allows for a screw/bolt to be inserted through). It would have been obvious to modify the screw of Roberts to a knob screw as taught by Duginske as an alternative securing means.
As for claims 6-10, Robert discloses a pivot rod (10) but does not specify a washer. Duginske further teaches (see Fig. 9) wherein the adjustable flip stop has a pivot component (64, 68) and a washer (60); the pivot component is mounted through the connecting element, the washer, and the body and allows the connecting element to be pivotally connected to the body; and the washer is clamped between the connecting element and the body. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the flip-stop of Robert to include a washer as taught by Duginske in order to provide a bearing surface for the pivoting component.
As for claims 13-15, the modified Robert teaches wherein the arm body has two opposite ends in the longitudinal direction; and the adjustable flip stop has a fence-abutting block detachably mounted on one of the two opposite ends of the arm body and being capable of abutting a fence as the flip arm pivots relative to the body (see rejection of claims 11-12 above).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed May 18, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the prior art of Duginske US 5617909 nor Robert US 5443554 discloses the features in amended claim 1 of the present application (see remarks pg. 10).
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant argues that the prior art of Duginske discloses a track (34) for mounting the base (24) and is not apart of the flip stop (see remarks, pg .10) The examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s interpretation. Duginske discloses in the written specification and in Figs. 8, 10 and 33 (see below Fig. 8) wherein a track (34) can be mounted to the flip stop to extend the stop down to the table and allow for other jigs, fixtures, hold downs and other accessories to be secured to the stop (col. 9, lines 15-25 and col. 11, lines 23-28). The track (34) is therefore capable of being a part of the adjustable flip stop whose distance can be adjusted via bolts (84) and capable of abutting a fence (72, 73) as claimed. The base (24) as applicant claims is connected to the T-track (34)
In regards to the prior art of Robert, Applicant has re-mapped the structure / reference numbers of Roberts to the claimed invention (see remarks, pg. 12), however, the original mapping and prior art rejection of the claims by the examiner still stands (see annotated figure below for further clarity). Applicant argues that the prior art of Robert fails to disclose “an adjustment element configured to be combined with a connecting element and configured to be combined at different positions of the arm body in the longitudinal direction to adjust a distance between the bottom end of the arm body and the body…”. The examiner respectfully disagrees, the prior art of Robert discloses an adjusting element (34) configured to be combined with a connecting element (25) and configured to be combined at different positions (slidable via slot 32’) of a arm body (32) in the longitudinal direction to adjust a distance between the bottom end of the arm body (32) and the body (7,8). The slot (32’) allows the arm body (32) to move in a longitudinal direction (up and down) thus adjusting the distance from the body (7,8) similar to applicant’s movement of the arm body distance (see applicant’s remarks, pg. 10 Fig. 6).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TYRONE V HALL JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723