DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Eguchi et al. (US 2020/0346972).
Regarding claim 1: Eguchi et al. teaches a surface treatment agent (abstract). The limitation “for organic-inorganic hybrid compositions” is intended use and carries little patentable weight. Eguchi et al. teaches a copolymer made of a mass/weight ratio (table 2 and para. 206) of HEMA/KBM-503 (table 2, production example 28, X21-22). HEMA is 2-hydroxyethyl methacrylate (para. 208) and KBM-503 is methacryloxypropyltrimethoxysilane (see compound structure in para. 207).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eguchi et al. (US 2020/0346972).
Regarding claims 5 and 6: Eguchi et al. teaches 2,2’-azobisisobutyronitrile as a polymerization initiator (para. 124). Further, Eguchi et al. teaches 600 mg (0.6 grams) of polymerization initiator per 60 grams of the monomers (para. 211 and 212). This is 1 wt% of the polymerization initiator in the surface treatment agent. While this specific polymerization initiator is not used in the X21-22 example, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention a person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to substitute the 2,2’azobisisobutyronitrile as the polymerization initiator and would have been motivated to do so since Eguchi et al. teaches they are functional equivalents (para. 124).
Regarding claims 7 and 8: Eguchi et al. teaches the basic claimed surface treatment agent as set forth above. Not disclosed is the light transmittance or the haze value. However, mere recognition of latent properties or additional advantages in the prior art does not render nonobvious an otherwise known invention (MPEP 2145 II). Eguchi et al. teaches the surface treatment agent is to be used on aquariums, meaning that light transmittance and haze are important factors for the viewer. Further, Eguchi et al. teaches the copolymers are transparent (para. 211). Finally, the copolymer of Eguchi et al. is made by the same monomers with the same weight ratio as in the instant specification. Therefore, a person having ordinary skill in the art would expect the light transmittance and haze value properties to be the same as in the claimed copolymer.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed December 8, 2025 have been considered but are moot because of the new grounds of rejection.
The rejection over Cho et al. is removed. Applicant’s argument that there are unexpected results is not persuasive. Eguchi et al. teaches the same copolymer as claimed. Evidence of unexpected properties may be in the form of direct or indirect comparison of the claimed invention with the closest prior art which is commensurate in scope with the claims (MPEP 716.02 (b) III).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MEGAN MCCULLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767