Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/17/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103, regarding Jinho not disclosing two gripping portions forming two distinct gripping planes, have been fully considered and are persuasive, however, a new interpretation/grounds of rejection is being applied in view of Jinho (KR 20200066540 A).
Applicant’s arguments, filed 09/17/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103, regarding Newbold not disclosing respective power members for each adjacent gripper unit, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Jinho (KR 20200066540 A) in view of Magni (US 20040244431 A1).
Jinho discloses a quadrilateral frame having four border strips; and four gripper units respectively disposed at the four border strips, the four gripper units being opposite in pairs, each of the gripper unit having a body, a first gripping portion and a second gripping portion; the first gripping portion and the second gripping portion respectively located on different positions of the body, the respective first gripping portions of the four gripper units forming a first gripping plane, and the respective second gripping portions of the four gripper units forming a second gripping plane; wherein the distance between the two bodies can be adjusted opposite to each other.
Jinho fails to disclose wherein at least two adjacent gripper units have a power member respectively, which is in power connection with the bodies.
However, Magni teaches four gripping members, each gripping member has its own power member respectively, which is in power connections with the bodies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jinho (KR 20200066540 A) in view of Magni (US 20040244431 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Jinho discloses a gripping mechanism for inspection of a reticle inner pod, comprising: a quadrilateral frame having four border strips (see annotated Fig. 3 below); and four gripper units respectively disposed at the four border strips (see annotated Fig. 3 below), the four gripper units being opposite in pairs (see fig. 3), each of the gripper unit having a body (see Fig. 5), a first gripping portion and a second gripping portion (see annotated Fig. 5 below); the first gripping portion and the second gripping portion respectively located on different positions of the body (see Fig. 5), the respective first gripping portions of the four gripper units forming a first gripping plane (see annotated Fig. 5 below), and the respective second gripping portions of the four gripper units forming a second gripping plane (see annotated Fig. 5 below); wherein the distance between the two bodies can be adjusted opposite to each other (see annotated Fig. 3 below for the distance between the bodies opposite each other being adjustable).
Jinho fails to disclose wherein at least two adjacent gripper units have a power member respectively, which is in power connection with the bodies.
However, Magni teaches a device with four gripping units wherein at least two adjacent gripper units (45A and 45B; see Para. 0058) have a power member (39; see Para. 0058) respectively, which is in power connection with the bodies.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce at least two adjacent gripper units have a power member respectively, which is in power connection with the bodies, on the gripping mechanism of Jinho, as taught by Magni, in order to control the movement of respective sliders moving along guides (see Para. 0058).
Regarding claim 2, Jinho, in view of Magni, discloses the gripping mechanism as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first gripping portion and the second gripping portion are grooves parallel to the border strips (see annotated Fig. 5 below).
Regarding claim 3, Jinho, in view of Magni, discloses the gripping mechanism as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first gripping plane is parallel to the second gripping plane (see annotated Fig. 3 below).
Claim 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jinho (KR 20200066540 A) in view of Magni (US 20040244431 A1) further in view of Morita (JP 2021172921 A).
Regarding claim 4, Jinho, in view of Magni, discloses the gripping mechanism as claimed in claim 1.
Jinho, as modified by Magni, fails to disclose wherein the gripper units further comprise a plurality of adhesive tapes respectively disposed on positions near the first gripping portion and the second gripping portion.
However, Morita teaches wherein the gripper units further comprise a plurality of adhesive
tapes (20) respectively disposed on positions near the first gripping portion (H1) and the second gripping
portion (H2) (see Page 3, Para. 1).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to introduce comprise a plurality of adhesive tapes respectively disposed
on positions near the first gripping portion and the second gripping portion on the gripping mechanism
of Jinho, as modified by Magni, as taught by Morita, in order to appropriately grip and convey the work (see Page 4, Para. 4).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jinho (KR 20200066540 A) in view of Magni (US 20040244431 A1), further in view of Newbold (WO 2022128963 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Jinho, in view of Magni, discloses the gripping mechanism as claimed in claim 1.
Jinho, as modified by Magni, fails to disclose wherein the gripper units further comprise a packing element, which is connected to the body and packs against the body
However, Newbold teaches wherein the gripper units further comprise a packing element, which is connected to the body and packs against the body (biasing member; see Page 13, Para. 2).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce wherein the gripper units further comprise a packing element, which is connected to the body and packs against the body, on the gripping mechanism of Jinho, as modified by Magni, as taught by Newbold, to help maintain tension during lowering or raising of the gripping device (see Page 12, Para. 5).
Claim(s) 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jinho (KR 20200066540 A) in view of Schonung (DE 102013013019 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Jinho discloses a gripping mechanism for inspection of a reticle inner pod, comprising: a quadrilateral frame having four border strips (see annotated Fig. 3 below); and four gripper units respectively disposed at the four border strips (see annotated Fig. 3 below), the four gripper units being opposite in pairs (see fig. 3), each of the gripper unit having a body (see Fig. 5), a first gripping portion and a second gripping portion (see annotated Fig. 5 below); the first gripping portion and the second gripping portion respectively located on different positions of the body (see Fig. 5), the respective first gripping portions of the four gripper units forming a first gripping plane (see annotated Fig. 5 below), and the respective second gripping portions of the four gripper units forming a second gripping plane (see annotated Fig. 5 below).
Jinho fails to disclose wherein two power units respectively in power connection with at least two adjacent border strips to adjust a distance between the two border strips opposite to each other.
However, Schonung teaches a gripping device wherein two power units (20; see Fig. 2; see Page 6, Para. 3) respectively in power connection with at least two adjacent border strips (5; see Fig. 2; see Page 6, Para. 3) to adjust a distance between the two border strips opposite to each other (see Fig. 2).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce wherein two power units respectively in power connection with at least two adjacent border strips to adjust a distance between the two border strips opposite to each other, on the gripping mechanism of Jinho, as taught by Schonung, so the gripper bars (5) are movable together with its cable drive (see Page 6, Para. 3).
Regarding claim 7, Jinho, in view of Schonung, discloses the gripping mechanism as claimed in claim 6, wherein the first gripping portion and the second gripping portion are grooves parallel to the border strips (see annotated Fig. 5 below).
Regarding claim 8, Jinho, in view of Schonung, discloses the gripping mechanism as claimed in claim 6, wherein the first gripping plane is parallel to the second gripping plane (see annotated Fig. 3 below).
Claim 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jinho (KR 20200066540 A) in view of Schonung (DE 102013013019 A1), further in view of Morita (JP 2021172921 A).
Regarding claim 9, Jinho, in view of Schonung, discloses the gripping mechanism as claimed in claim 6.
Jinho, as modified by Schonung, fails to disclose wherein the gripper units further comprise a plurality of adhesive tapes respectively disposed on positions near the first gripping portion and the second gripping portion.
However, Morita teaches wherein the gripper units further comprise a plurality of adhesive
tapes (20) respectively disposed on positions near the first gripping portion (H1) and the second gripping
portion (H2) (see Page 3, Para. 1).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to introduce comprise a plurality of adhesive tapes respectively disposed
on positions near the first gripping portion and the second gripping portion on the gripping mechanism
of Jinho, as modified by Schonung, as taught by Morita, in order to appropriately grip and convey the work (see Page 4, Para. 4).
Conclusion
/REHMAN A QURESHI/Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/ROBERT W HODGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3654