Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see “Applicant’s Arguments/Remarks”, filed May 20th, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-3 and 5-8 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) and claim(s) 4 and 9 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Jinho (KR 20200066540 A) in view of Newbold (WO 2022128963 A1).
Jinho discloses a gripping mechanism having a quadrilateral frame with four grippers on each of the ends.
Jinho fails to disclose wherein at least two adjacent gripper units have a power member respectively, which is in power connection with the bodies so as to adjust a distance between the two bodies opposite to each other.
However, Newbold teaches two adjacent gripper units have a power member respectively, which is in power connection with the bodies so as to adjust a distance between the two bodies opposite to each other.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jinho (KR 20200066540 A) in view of Newbold (WO 2022128963 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Jinho discloses a gripping mechanism for inspection of a reticle inner pod, comprising: a quadrilateral frame having four border strips (see annotated Fig. 3 below); and four gripper units respectively disposed at the four border strips (see annotated Fig. 3 below), the four gripper units being opposite in pairs (see fig. 3), each of the gripper unit having a body (see Fig. 5), a first gripping portion and a second gripping portion (see annotated Fig. 5 below); the first gripping portion and the second gripping portion respectively located on different positions of the body (see Fig. 5), the respective first gripping portions of the four gripper units forming a first gripping plane (see annotated Fig. 5 below), and the respective second gripping portions of the four gripper units forming a second gripping plane (see annotated Fig. 5 below).
Jinho fails to disclose wherein at least two adjacent gripper units have a power member respectively, which is in power connection with the bodies so as to adjust a distance between the two bodies opposite to each other.
However, Newbold teaches a gripping device wherein at least two adjacent gripper units (152; see Fig. 12) have a power member (161; see Fig. 13) respectively, which is in power connection with the bodies so as to adjust a distance between the two bodies opposite to each other (see Abstract).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce at least two adjacent gripper units have a power member respectively, which is in power connection with the bodies so as to adjust a distance between the two bodies opposite to each other on the gripping mechanism of Jinho, as taught by Newbold, in order to drive the grippers between gripping and release positions (see Abstract).
Regarding claim 2, Jinho, in view of Newbold, discloses the gripping mechanism as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first gripping portion and the second gripping portion are grooves parallel to the border strips (see annotated Fig. 5 below).
Regarding claim 3, Jinho, in view of Newbold, discloses the gripping mechanism as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first gripping plane is parallel to the second gripping plane (see annotated Fig. 5 below).
Regarding claim 5, Newbold further teaches wherein the gripper units further comprise a packing element, which is connected to the body and packs against the body (biasing member; see Page 13, Para. 2).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce wherein the gripper units further comprise a packing element, which is connected to the body and packs against the body on the gripping mechanism of Jinho, as taught by Newbold, to help maintain tension during lowering or raising of the gripping device (see Page 12, Para. 5).
Regarding claim 6, Jinho discloses a gripping mechanism for inspection of a reticle inner pod, comprising: a quadrilateral frame having four border strips (see annotated Fig. 3 below); and four gripper units respectively disposed at the four border strips (see annotated Fig. 3 below), the four gripper units being opposite in pairs (see fig. 3), each of the gripper unit having a body (see Fig. 5), a first gripping portion and a second gripping portion (see annotated Fig. 5 below); the first gripping portion and the second gripping portion respectively located on different positions of the body (see Fig. 5), the respective first gripping portions of the four gripper units forming a first gripping plane (see annotated Fig. 5 below), and the respective second gripping portions of the four gripper units forming a second gripping plane (see annotated Fig. 5 below).
Jinho fails to disclose wherein at least two adjacent gripper units have a power member respectively, which is in power connection with the bodies so as to adjust a distance between the two bodies opposite to each other.
However, Newbold teaches a gripping device wherein at least two adjacent gripper units (152; see Fig. 12) have a power member (161; see Fig. 13) respectively, which is in power connection with the bodies so as to adjust a distance between the two bodies opposite to each other (see Abstract).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce at least two adjacent gripper units have a power member respectively, which is in power connection with the bodies so as to adjust a distance between the two bodies opposite to each other on the gripping mechanism of Jinho, as taught by Newbold, in order to drive the grippers between gripping and release positions (see Abstract).
Regarding claim 7, Jinho, in view of Newbold, discloses the gripping mechanism as claimed in claim 6, wherein the first gripping portion and the second gripping portion are grooves parallel to the border strips (see annotated Fig. 5 below).
Regarding claim 8, Jinho, in view of Newbold, discloses the gripping mechanism as claimed in claim 6, wherein the first gripping plane is parallel to the second gripping plane (see annotated Fig. 5 below).
Claim(s) 4 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jinho (KR 20200066540 A) in view of Newbold (WO 2022128963 A1) further in view of Morita (JP 2021172921 A).
Regarding claim(s) 4 and 9, Jinho, in view of Newbold, discloses the gripping mechanism as claimed in claim(s) 1 and 6, respectively.
Jinho, as modified by Newbold, fails to disclose wherein the gripper units further comprise a plurality of adhesive tapes respectively disposed on positions near the first gripping portion and the second gripping portion.
However, Morita teaches wherein the gripper units further comprise a plurality of adhesive
tapes (20) respectively disposed on positions near the first gripping portion (H1) and the second gripping
portion (H2) (see Page 3, Para. 1).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to introduce comprise a plurality of adhesive tapes respectively disposed
on positions near the first gripping portion and the second gripping portion on the gripping mechanism
of Jinho, as modified by Newbold, as taught by Morita in order to appropriately grip and convey the work (see Page 4, Para. 4).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/REHMAN A QURESHI/Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/ROBERT W HODGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3654