Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being unpatentable by Newbold et al. (US 2024/0092570).
Regarding claim 1, Newbold et al. discloses the gripping mechanism as claimed in claim 1, comprising: a quadrilateral frame having four border strips (see annotated fig. 7 below); and a four gripper units (140) respectively disposed at the four border strips, the four gripper units being opposite in pairs (see Fig. 7), each of the gripper unit having a body, a first gripping portion and a second gripping portion (see annotated fig. below); the first gripping portion and the second gripping portion respectively located on different positions of the body (see 140 on annotated fig. below), the respective first gripping portions of the four gripper units forming a first gripping plane, and the respective second gripping portions of the four gripper units forming a second gripping plane (see 140 on annotated fig. below); wherein, at least two adjacent gripper units have a power member, which is in power connection with the bodies so as to adjust a distance between the two bodies (see Para. 0014).
Regarding claim 2, Newbold et al. discloses the gripping mechanism as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first gripping portion and the second gripping portion are grooves parallel to the border strips (see annotated Fig. 7 below).
Regarding claim 3, Newbold et al. discloses the gripping mechanism as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first gripping plane is parallel to the second gripping plane (see annotated Fig. 7 below).
Regarding claim 5, Newbold et al. discloses the gripping mechanism as claimed in claim 1, wherein the gripper units further comprise a packing element, which is connected to the body and packs against the body (see Para. 0057).
Regarding claim 6, Newbold et al. discloses the gripping mechanism comprising: a quadrilateral frame having four border strips (see annotated Fig. 7 below); and two power units respectively in power connection with at least two adjacent border strips to adjust a distance between the two border strips (see Para. 0014); and a four gripper units (140) respectively disposed at the four border strips, the four gripper units being opposite in pairs (see annotated Fig. 7 below), each of the gripper units having a body, a first gripping portion and a second gripping portion (see 140 on annotated Fig. 7 below); the first gripping portion and the second gripping portion respectively located on different positions of the body (see 140 on annotated Fig. 7 below), the respective first gripping portions of the four gripper units forming a first gripping plane (see annotated Fig. 7 below), and the respective second gripping portions of the four gripper units forming a second gripping plane (see annotated Fig. 7 below).
Regarding claim 7, Newbold et al. discloses the gripping mechanism as claimed in claim 6, wherein the first gripping portion and the second gripping portion are grooves parallel to the border strips (see annotated Fig. 7 below).
Regarding claim 8, Newbold et al. discloses the gripping mechanism as claimed in claim 6, wherein the first gripping plane is parallel to the second gripping plane (see annotated Fig. 7 below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Newbold et al. (US 2024/0092570) in view of Morita (JP 2021172921 A).
Regarding claim(s) 4 and 9, Newbold et al. discloses the gripping mechanism as claimed in claim 1.
Newbold et al. fails to disclose wherein the gripper units further comprise a plurality of adhesive tapes respectively disposed on positions near the first gripping portion and the second gripping portion.
However. Morita teaches wherein the gripper units further comprise a plurality of adhesive tapes (20) respectively disposed on positions near the first gripping portion (H1) and the second gripping portion (H2) (see Page 3, Para. 1).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce comprise a plurality of adhesive tapes respectively disposed on positions near the first gripping portion and the second gripping portion on the gripping mechanism of Newbold et al. as taught by Morita in order to appropriately grip and convey the work (see Page 4, Para. 4).
Conclusion
/REHMAN A QURESHI/Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/ROBERT W HODGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3654