DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claims 4-6, 17-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 4 (line 4): “the footprint” should read “the ring-shaped footprint” for consistency.
Claim 5 (line 4): “the footprint” should read “the ring-shaped footprint” for consistency.
Claim 6 recites the limitation “wherein the first pad and second pad are provided on the first surface”. This limitation is recited in claim 1 (lines 7-8) and so should be deleted from claim 6.
Claim 17 (lines 6 and 7): “the footprint” should read “the ring-shaped footprint” for consistency.
Claim 18 (lines 11 and 20): “the footprint” should read “the ring-shaped footprint” for consistency.
Claim 20 (line 4): “the footprint” should read “the ring-shaped footprint” for consistency.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 19 is objected to due to its dependency on claim 18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11, 13, and 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 (lines 14-17) recites the limitation “a portion of the wire coil conductor…. passing entirely through an opening in the carrier such that a portion of the wire coil conductor is at the first surface and another portion of the wire coil conductor is at the second surface”. It is not clear from this limitation if the first instance of “a portion of the wire coil conductor” is intended by the Applicant to be the same portion of the wire coil conductor as the second instance of “a portion of the wire coil conductor”. Clarification is required.
For examination purposes, the above limitation is interpreted as “a portion of the wire conductor … passing entirely through an opening in the carrier such that a first portion of the wire conductor is at the first surface (this is shown in fig. 3 of the drawings) and another portion of the wire coil conductor is at the second surface”.
Claim 11 recites “wherein the RF coil includes a wire in a spiral shape forming a plurality of windings”. However, claim 1 (on which claim 11 depends) recites the antenna element includes a wire coil conductor arranged as an RF coil. It is not clear if the wire of claim 11 is the same as the wire coil conductor of claim 1.
Claim 11 also recites “ends of the wire being terminated directly to the first and second pads of the antenna circuit”. However, claim 1 recites that the end of the RF coil is coupled to the second pad (line 17) and that the antenna circuit includes a first pad and a second pad electrically connected to the first pad (lines 6-7). In fig. 3 of the drawings, the ends (182, 184) of the RF coil (164) both terminate at second pads (152). So, it is unclear how the ends of the wire can be terminated directly to the first and second pads of the antenna circuit.
Clarification is required.
Claim 18 (lines 15-17) recites the limitation “a portion of the wire coil conductor…. passing entirely through an opening in the carrier such that a portion of the wire coil conductor is at the first surface and another portion of the wire coil conductor is at the second surface”. It is not clear from this limitation if the first instance of “a portion of the wire coil conductor” is intended by the Applicant to be the same portion of the wire coil conductor as the second instance of “a portion of the wire coil conductor”. Clarification is required.
For examination purposes, the above limitation is interpreted as “a portion of the wire conductor … passing entirely through an opening in the carrier such that a first portion of the wire conductor is at the first surface and another portion of the wire coil conductor is at the second surface”.
Claim 21 (lines 1-4) recites the limitation “wherein a portion of the wire coil conductor…. passes entirely through an opening in the carrier such that a portion of the wire coil conductor is at the first surface and another portion of the wire coil conductor is at the second surface”. It is not clear from this limitation if the first instance of “a portion of the wire coil conductor” is intended by the Applicant to be the same portion of the wire coil conductor as the second instance of “a portion of the wire coil conductor”. Clarification is required.
For examination purposes, the above limitation is interpreted as “a portion of the wire conductor … passes entirely through an opening in the carrier such that a first portion of the wire conductor is at the first surface and another portion of the wire coil conductor is at the second surface”.
Claims 2-10, 13 and 19-20 are rejected due to their dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung (US 6,421,013 – of record) in view of Nomura et al. (US 2012/0169553 – of record; hereinafter Nomura), and further in view of the Applicant’s cited NPL (“NtAG 213 NFC Tag” – of record, Shenzhen Xinyetong Tech. Development Co., Ltd.; hereinafter Ntag213) and Ueki (US 2021/0159601 – of record).
Independent claim 14: Chung discloses: “an antenna (fig. 2, at antenna 30) comprising:
a carrier (figs. 2 & 3B, at substrate 20) comprising a first surface (annotated fig. 3B, at S1) and a second surface (annotated fig. 3B, at S2);
an antenna circuit, the antenna circuit including a first pad (fig. 3B, at contact 52) and a second pad (fig. 3B, at contact 54) electrically connected to the first pad (see fig. 3B, where contact 52 is in contact with contact 54); (Examiner’s note: ¶25 of the Specification states that the antenna circuit provided on the disk includes pads, traces, vias or other circuit components)
an electronic component (figs. 2 & 3B, at electronic component 40) at the first surface (S1) of the carrier and coupled to the first pad (fig. 3B, at contact 52);
and an antenna element separate and discrete from the carrier (figs. 2 & 3B, at loop antenna 30) and coupled to the second surface (S2) of the carrier, the antenna element (loop antenna 30) including a wire coil arranged as an RF coil (fig. 2 & Col. 3, lines 49-51, “A loop antenna 30 is formed of an elongated conductor having a plurality of loops or turns 36, 37, 38 on one surface of substrate 20” and Col. 25, line 64- to col. 26, line 1 “contact-less cards as described herein may employ etched metal or wire conductive loops on the card substrate to serve as the RF antenna therefor. While not as advantageous as certain embodiments, wire loops may facilitate a multiple turn antenna having higher gain.”), the wire coil conductor being pre-formed (the wire loop disclosed by Chung is pre-formed and not etched) and coupled to the carrier (col. 25, line 65- “wire conductive loops on the card substrate”), an end of the RF coil (figs. 2 & 3B, at antenna terminal 34) being coupled to the second pad (contact 54); and
a cover protecting the carrier, the antenna circuit, the electronic component, and the antenna element from the external environment (col. 7, lines 61-, “Also optionally, a protective coating may be applied to wireless article 10 to protect against mechanical damage and environmental conditions, Such as moisture, water, Solvents, dirt and other materials.”)”.
Chung does not disclose “the carrier comprising a disk, the disk surrounding a central bore, the central bore being open through the disk between a top of the carrier and a bottom of the carrier, an antenna circuit on the disk, the RF coil extending along the disk and surrounding the central bore; and the cover being formed in place around the carrier, the antenna circuit, the electronic component, and the antenna element such that the cover has a disk shape surrounding the central bore.”
Nomura teaches “an antenna (antenna and wireless IC device) comprising:
a carrier (figs. 2A & 2B, at substrate 50) having a disk (fig. 2A, at wireless IC device 201; fig. 2B, at wireless tag 301) including a first surface (annotated fig. 2C, at SF1) and a second surface (annotated fig. 2C, at SF2), the disk surrounding a central bore (fig. 2A, at hole H1; fig. 2B, at hole H2), the central bore being open through the disk (wireless IC device 201, wireless tag 301) between a top of the carrier (substrate 50) and a bottom of the carrier (see fig. 2C, where hole H2 formed in mold 60 extends all the way through wireless tag 301 and substrate 50);
an antenna circuit on the disk (although not shown in figs. 2A, 2B, or 2C, pads are required to connect loop electrode 10 to wireless IC 30);
an electronic component (figs. 2A & 2B, at wireless IC 30) at the first surface (SF1) of the disk (wireless IC device 201, wireless tag 301);
and an antenna element (figs. 2A & 2B, at loop electrode 10) coupled to the disk, the antenna element including a conductor (¶50, lines 1-2; “The loop electrode 10 is copper foil patterned on a substrate”), the conductor extending along the disk and surrounding the central bore (fig. 2A, at hole H1; fig. 2B, at hole H2)”; and
a cover (figs. 2B & 2C, at mold resin 60) protecting the carrier, the antenna circuit, the electronic component, and the antenna element from the external environment, the cover has a disk shape surrounding the central bore (see fig. 2C)”.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to apply the teachings of Nomura to the antenna of Chung and provide a carrier in the shape of a disk, the disk surrounding a central bore, the central bore being open through the disk between a top of the carrier and a bottom of the carrier, and the RF coil surrounding the central bore, and a cover such that the cover has a disk shape surrounding the central bore, in order that the antenna can more easily be attached to an article utilizing the bore (¶57, lines 4-5).
The modified Chung antenna does not explicitly disclose “a near field communication (NFC) antenna; and the cover being formed in place”.
However, Ntag 213 discloses a near field communication (NFC) antenna.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to apply the teachings of Ntag213 to make the modified Chung antenna a near field communication antenna, in order to provide an antenna device that uses short-range communication and is capable of operation with a smartphone.
Ntag 213 does not explicitly disclose “and the cover being formed in place”.
Ueki teaches (¶11 and ¶15) an RFID tag having a protective film that is made of a hot melt resin, i.e., formed in place.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to apply the teachings of Ueki to make the modified Chung antenna have a cover being formed in place around the carrier, the antenna circuit, the electronic component, and the antenna element. Doing so allows for a seamless, impermeable waterproofing coating to protect the NFC antenna.
Claim 15: the modified Chung discloses the NFC antenna of claim 14.
Chung does not disclose “wherein the cover includes a central bore extending through the cover, the central bore of the cover being axially aligned with the central bore of the carrier”.
Nomura teaches (fig. 2B) “wherein the cover (figs. 2B & 2C, at mold resin 60) includes a central bore (fig. 2A, at hole H1; fig. 2B, at hole H2) extending through the cover, the central bore of the cover being axially aligned with the central bore of the carrier.”
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to apply the teachings of Nomura so that the cover of the modified antenna of Chung includes a central bore extending through the cover, the central bore of the cover being axially aligned with the central bore of the carrier, so that the wireless tag can be attached to an article to be managed using the wireless tag (¶57).
Claim 16: the modified Chung discloses the NFC antenna of claim 14.
Chung as modified further discloses “wherein the disk, the electronic component (figs. 2& 3B, at electronic device 40), and the antenna element (figs. 2 & 3B, at loop antenna 30) are vertically stacked with the electronic component above the top of the carrier (figs. 2 & 3B, at substrate 20) and the antenna element below the bottom of the carrier.”
Claim 17: the modified Chung discloses the NFC antenna of claim 14.
Chung as modified discloses “wherein the RF coil (figs. 2 & 3B, at loops 36, 37, 38) includes a plurality of windings including an inner winding (fig. 2, at loop 38) and an outer winding (fig. 2, at loop 36) radially outward of the inner winding, the RF coil having a footprint defined between the inner winding (loop 38) and the outer winding (loop 36), the footprint of the RF coil (figs. 2 & 3B, at loops 36, 37, 38) being arranged within the footprint of the disk (see fig. 2, where loops 36, 37, 38 do not extend beyond the boundary of the carrier/substrate 30)”.
Chung does not disclose “wherein the disk includes an inner edge and an outer edge between the top and the bottom of the carrier, the inner edge facing the central bore, the disk having a ring-shaped footprint defined between the inner edge and the outer edge, the electronic component arranged within the footprint of the disk between the inner edge and the outer edge.”
Nomura teaches “wherein the disk (fig. 2A, at wireless IC device 201; fig. 2B, at wireless tag 301) includes an inner edge and an outer edge (annotated fig. 2A, at IE and OE, respectively) between the top and the bottom (not shown) of the carrier (figs. 2A & 2B, at substrate 50), the inner edge (IE) facing the central bore (fig. 2A, at hole H1; fig. 2B, at hole H2), the disk (wireless IC device 201, wireless tag 301) having a ring-shaped footprint defined between the inner edge (IE) and the outer edge (OE), the electronic component (figs. 2A & 2B, at wireless IC 30) arranged within the footprint of the disk (wireless IC device 201, wireless tag 301) between the inner edge (IE) and the outer edge (OE)”.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to apply the teachings of Nomura to the modified antenna device of Chung, wherein the disk includes an inner edge and an outer edge between the top and the bottom of the carrier, the inner edge facing the central bore, the disk having a ring-shaped footprint defined between the inner edge and the outer edge, the electronic component arranged within the footprint of the disk between the inner edge and the outer edge, so that the antenna can be configured by molding the substrate using a mold resin (¶57) in order to give the exterior of the NFC antenna a uniform appearance and to protect the antenna.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 14 in Remarks dated 04/09/2026 have been fully considered, but are not persuasive. More particularly, Applicant states on p. 10 of Remarks:
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with the above arguments for the following reasons:
Claim 14 does not recite the manner in which the cover is formed in place.
Para. [0018] of the instant Specification states “The cover 116 may be a hot melt applied to the antenna assembly 114 to cover the antenna assembly”.
The carrier itself has a disk shape surrounding the central bore, and so a hot melt applied to such a carrier would result in a cover having a disk shape surrounding the central bore (as recited in claim 14).
Ueki teaches applying a hot melt to an RFIC (see, for example, para. [0044]) to form a protective covering – the RFIC is part of an RFID tag comprising an antenna (see para. [0010]).
Independent claim 14, and claims 15-17 dependent thereon, therefore remain rejected.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-11, 13, and 18-20 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
Claim 21 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The pertinent prior art, as a whole, or in combination, cannot be reasonably construed as adequately teaching or suggesting the elements and features of the claimed invention(s) as arranged, disposed, or provided in the manner as claimed by the Applicant.
For example, regarding claim 1, Chung (US 6,421,013 – of record) discloses “a communication antenna (fig. 2, at antenna 30) comprising:
a carrier (figs. 2 & 3B, at substrate 20) comprising a first surface (annotated fig. 3B below, at S1) and a second surface (annotated fig. 3B, at S2);
an antenna circuit on the carrier, the antenna circuit including a first pad (fig. 3B, at contact 52 and antenna terminal 32) and a second pad (fig. 3B, at contact 54 and antenna terminal 34) electrically connected to the first pad (see fig. 3B, where contact 52 is electrically connected to contact 54 via electronic device 40); (Examiner’s note: ¶25 of the Specification states that the antenna circuit provided on the disk includes pads, traces, vias or other circuit components)
an electronic component (figs. 2 & 3B, at electronic component 40) at the first surface (S1) of the carrier and coupled to the first pad (fig. 3B, at contact 52);
and an antenna element separate and discrete from the carrier (figs. 2 & 3B, at loop antenna 30) and coupled to the second surface (S2) of the carrier, the antenna element (loop antenna 30) including a wire coil conductor arranged as an RF coil (fig. 2 & Col. 3, lines 49-51, “A loop antenna 30 is formed of an elongated conductor having a plurality of loops or turns 36, 37, 38 on one surface of substrate 20”. Col. 25, line 64- to col. 26, line 1 “contact-less cards as described herein may employ etched metal or wire conductive loops on the card substrate to serve as the RF antenna therefor. While not as advantageous as certain embodiments, wire loops may facilitate a multiple turn antenna having higher gain.”), the wire coil conductor being pre-formed (the wire loop disclosed by Chung is pre-formed and not etched) and coupled to the carrier (col. 25, line 65- “wire conductive loops on the card substrate”); the end of the RF coil (figs. 2 & 3B, at antenna terminal 34) being coupled to the second pad (contact 54)”.
Chung does not disclose “a near field communication antenna; the carrier comprising a disk, the disk surrounding a central bore, the central bore being open through the disk between a top of the carrier and a bottom of the carrier, the antenna circuit on the disk, the RF coil extending along the disk and surrounding the central bore, and a portion of the wire coil conductor, spaced from an end of the wire coil conductor, passing entirely through an opening in the carrier such that a first portion of the wire coil conductor is at the first surface and another portion of the wire coil conductor is at the second surface, the end of the RF coil being coupled to the second pad at the first surface.”
Nomura (US 2012/0169553 – of record) discloses “A communication (NFC) antenna (antenna and wireless IC device) comprising: a carrier (fig. 2A below & fig. 2B, at substrate 50) comprising a disk (fig. 2A, at wireless IC device 201; fig. 2B, at wireless tag 301) including a first surface (annotated fig. 2C below, at SF1) and a second surface (annotated fig. 2C, at SF2), the disk surrounding a central bore (fig. 2A, at hole H1; fig. 2B, at hole H2), the central bore being open through the disk between a top of the carrier and a bottom of the carrier (see fig. 2C, where hole H2 formed in mold 60 extends all the way through wireless tag 301 and substrate 50); an antenna circuit on the disk, the antenna circuit including a first pad and a second pad (although not shown in figs. 2A, 2B, or 2C, pads are required to connect both ends of loop electrode 10 to wireless IC 30), the first and second pads being arranged on the first surface of the disk (SF1) (see fig. 2A); an electronic component (figs. 2A & 2B, at wireless IC 30) at the first surface (SF1) of the disk (wireless IC device 201, wireless tag 301) and coupled to the first pad (not shown); and an antenna element coupled to the disk (figs. 2A & 2B, at loop electrode 10), the antenna element including an RF coil (¶50, lines 1-2; “The loop electrode 10 is copper foil patterned on a substrate”), the RF coil coupled to the disk (¶50, lines 1-2; “The loop electrode 10 is copper foil patterned on a substrate”) with the RF coil extending along the disk and surrounding the central bore, the end of the RF coil being coupled to the second pad at the first surface (SF1) (each end of the loop electrode 10 would be connected to a pad of the IC 30)”.
Nomura does not teach, or suggest, a near field communication (NFC) antenna, the antenna circuit including a first pad and a second pad electrically connected to the first pad; the antenna element separate and discrete from the carrier and coupled to the second surface of the disk, the antenna element including a wire coil conductor arranged as an RF coil, the wire coil conductor being pre-formed and coupled to the disk, a portion of the wire coil, spaced from an end of the wire coil, passing entirely through an opening in the carrier such that a first portion of the wire coil is at the first surface and another portion of the wire coil is at the second surface (the RF coil and the electronic component are on the same surface of the disk, and so no opening in the carrier is required).
Duarte et al. (WO 2016/168907A1 – of record; “Duarte) discloses (fig. 1A below) “Claim 1: A near field communication (NFC) antenna (¶1, “Wearable accessory with metal body, near-field communication”) comprising: a carrier (annular metal part 111) including a first surface (inner surface of 111) and a second surface (outer surface of 111), the carrier (111) surrounding a central bore, the central bore being open through the carrier (111) between a top of the carrier and a bottom of the carrier; an antenna circuit on the carrier (traces or pads associated with electronic circuit 103, not shown ) (Examiner’s note: ¶25 of the instant Specification states that the antenna circuit includes pads, traces, vias or other circuit components); the antenna circuit arranged on the first surface (inner surface) of the disk (¶22, “a circular coil-shaped antenna 104 connected to the electronic circuit 103”); an electronic component (¶22, “electronic circuit 103”) at the first (inner) surface of the carrier and coupled to a first pad (a pad is required to connect the electronic circuit 103 and the coil 104); and an antenna element separate and discrete from the carrier and coupled to the second (outer) surface of the carrier (¶12, “The antenna for near-field communication is coil-shaped and can be positioned inside an annular metal piece, outside of it”), the antenna element including a wire coil conductor arranged as an RF coil (¶12 & ¶74, “currents that run through the coil-shaped antenna 104 of the wearable accessory”), the wire coil conductor being pre-formed (wires if antenna coil 104 are shown in fig. 1A, and are not etched so considered to be pre-formed) and coupled to the carrier with the RF coil extending along the carrier and surrounding the central bore”.
Duarte does not explicitly disclose “the antenna circuit including a first pad and a second pad”. However, at least one pad is required to connect the antenna coil 104 to the electronic circuit 103.
Duarte does not teach, or suggest, the carrier comprising a disk (the carrier is ring-shaped); the antenna circuit including a first pad and a second pad electrically connected to the first pad, the first and second pads being arranged on the first surface of the disk; a portion of the wire coil, spaced from an end of the wire coil, passing entirely through an opening in the carrier such that a first portion of the wire coil is at the first surface and another portion of the wire coil is at the second surface, the end of the RF coil being coupled to the second pad at the first surface.
Claims 2-11 and 13 are allowable due to their dependency on claim 1.
Regarding independent claim 18, Chung discloses “an antenna (fig. 2, at antenna 30) comprising:
a carrier (figs. 2 & 3B, at substrate 20) including a first surface (annotated fig. 3B, at S1) and a second surface (annotated fig. 3B, at S2);
an antenna circuit, the antenna circuit including a first pad (fig. 3B, at contact 52) and a second pad (fig. 3B, at contact 54) electrically connected to the first pad (see fig. 3B, where contact 52 is in contact with contact 54); (Examiner’s note: ¶25 of the Specification states that the antenna circuit provided on the disk includes pads, traces, vias or other circuit components)
an electronic component (figs. 2 & 3B, at electronic component 40) at the first surface (S1) of the carrier and coupled to the first pad (fig. 3B, at contact 44);
and an antenna element separate and discrete from the carrier (figs. 2 & 3B, at loop antenna 30) and coupled to the second surface (S2) of the carrier, the antenna element (loop antenna 30) including a wire coil conductor arranged as an RF coil (fig. 2 & Col. 3, lines 49-51, “A loop antenna 30 is formed of an elongated conductor having a plurality of loops or turns 36, 37, 38 on one surface of substrate 20” and Col. 25, line 64- to col. 26, line 1 “contact-less cards as described herein may employ etched metal or wire conductive loops on the card substrate to serve as the RF antenna therefor. While not as advantageous as certain embodiments, wire loops may facilitate a multiple turn antenna having higher gain.”), an end of the wire coil (figs. 2 & 3B, at antenna terminal 34) being coupled to the second pad (contact 54)”.
Chung does not disclose “a near field communication antenna; the carrier comprising a disk, the disk surrounding a central bore, the central bore being open through the disk between a top of the carrier and a bottom of the carrier, the disk including an inner edge and an outer edge between the top and the bottom of the carrier, the inner edge facing the central bore, the disk having a ring-shaped footprint defined between the inner edge and the outer edge; an antenna circuit on the disk; an electronic component arranged within the ring-shaped footprint of the disk between the inner edge and the outer edge; a portion of the wire coil conductor, spaced from the end of the wire coil conductor, passing entirely through an opening in the carrier such that a first portion of the wire coil conductor is at the first surface and another portion of the wire coil conductor is at the second surface, the end of the RF coil being coupled to the second pad at the first surface of the disk, the RF coil surrounding the central bore and arranged within the ring-shaped footprint of the disk between the inner edge and the outer edge.”
Nomura discloses “A communication (NFC) antenna (antenna and wireless IC device) comprising: a carrier (substrate 50) comprising a disk (201) including a first surface (SF1) and a second surface (SF2), the disk surrounding a central bore (H1, H2), the central bore being open through the disk between a top of the carrier and a bottom of the carrier (fig. 2C), the disk including an inner edge and an outer edge between the top and the bottom of the carrier, the inner edge facing the central bore (H1, H2), the disk having a ring-shaped footprint defined between the inner edge and the outer edge (see fig. 2C); an antenna circuit on the disk, the antenna circuit including a first pad and a second pad (although not shown in figs. 2A, 2B, or 2C, pads are required to connect both ends of loop electrode 10 to wireless IC 30); an electronic component (wireless IC 30) at the first surface (SF1) of the disk and coupled to the first pad (not explicitly shown, but see comments above), the electronic component (30) arranged within the footprint of the disk (201) between the inner edge and the outer edge; and an antenna element coupled to the disk (¶50, “The loop electrode 10 and the auxiliary electrode 20 preferably are copper foils patterned on a substrate, for example.”), the end of the RF coil arranged at the first surface (SF1) of the disk and being coupled to the second pad at the first surface of the disk, the RF coil surrounding the central bore and arranged within the footprint of the disk between the inner edge and the outer edge”.
Nomura does not teach, or suggest, a near field communication (NFC) antenna, the antenna element separate and discrete from the carrier and coupled to the second surface of the disk, the antenna element including a wire coil conductor arranged as an RF coil, the wire coil conductor being pre-formed, and the end of the wire coil conductor arranged at the first surface of the disk, a portion of the wire coil, spaced from an end of the wire coil, passing entirely through an opening in the carrier such that a first portion of the wire coil is at the first surface and another portion of the wire coil is at the second surface (the RF coil and the electronic component are on the same surface of the disk, and so no opening in the carrier is required).
Duarte discloses “A near field communication (NFC) antenna (¶1, “Wearable accessory with metal body, near-field communication”) comprising: a carrier (111) including a first (inner) surface and a second (outer) surface, the carrier surrounding a central bore, the central bore being open through the carrier between a top of the carrier and a bottom of the carrier, an antenna circuit on the carrier (see above); an electronic component (103) at the first (inner) surface of the and coupled to a first pad (a pad is required to connect the electronic circuit 103 and the coil 104); and an antenna element (coil 104) separate and discrete from the carrier and coupled to the second surface of the carrier, the antenna element including a wire coil conductor arranged as an RF coil (¶12 & ¶74), the RF coil (104) surrounding the central bore”.
Duarte does not explicitly disclose “the antenna circuit including a first pad and a second pad”. However, at least one pad is required to connect the antenna coil 104 to the electronic circuit 103.
Duarte does not teach, or suggest, the carrier comprising a disk (the carrier is ring-shaped); the disk including an inner edge and an outer edge between the top and the bottom of the carrier, the inner edge facing the central bore, the disk having a ring-shaped footprint defined between the inner edge and the outer edge; the antenna circuit including a first pad and a second pad electrically connected to the first pad; the electronic component arranged within the footprint of the disk between the inner edge and the outer edge; a portion of the wire coil conductor, spaced from an end of the wire coil conductor, passing entirely through an opening in the carrier such that a portion of the wire coil conductor is at the first surface and another portion of the wire coil conductor is at the second surface, the end of the wire coil conductor arranged at the first surface of the disk and being coupled to the second pad at the first surface of the disk, the RF coil (104) surrounding the central bore and arranged within the footprint of the disk between the inner edge and the outer edge.
Claims 19-20 are allowable due to their dependency on claim 18.
Regarding claim 21, Chung discloses “the end of the wire coil conductor being coupled to the second pad”. Chung does not teach, or suggest, wherein a portion of the wire coil conductor, spaced from the end of the wire coil conductor, passes entirely through an opening in the carrier such that a first portion of the wire coil conductor is at the first surface and another portion of the wire coil conductor is at the second surface, the end of the wire coil conductor arranged at the first surface of the disk and being coupled to the second pad at the first surface of the disk.
Nomura discloses the end of the RF coil being coupled to the second pad. Nomura does not teach, or suggest, wherein a portion of the wire coil conductor, spaced from the end of the wire coil conductor, passes entirely through an opening in the carrier such that a first portion of the wire coil conductor is at the first surface and another portion of the wire coil conductor is at the second surface, the end of the wire coil conductor arranged at the first surface of the disk and being coupled to the second pad at the first surface of the disk.
Duarte does not teach, or suggest, wherein a portion of the wire coil conductor, spaced from the end of the wire coil conductor, passes entirely through an opening in the carrier such that a first portion of the wire coil conductor is at the first surface and another portion of the wire coil conductor is at the second surface, the end of the wire coil conductor arranged at the first surface of the disk and being coupled to the second pad at the first surface of the disk.
Conclusion
/ANNA N HAMADYK/Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/DIMARY S LOPEZ CRUZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845