DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of claims 1-15 in the reply filed on 03/02/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the inventions as unrelated. The applicant’s traversal is found partially persuasive and the reasons is as follows: Applicant’s traversal has been considered. The restriction requirement is withdrawn in part and maintained in part. Upon reconsideration, claims 1-21 are considered to be drawn to a first inventions directed to an autofocus camera module including a lens/housing ball-guide arrangement and related compact/asymmetric ball-support features. Claims 22-26 are drawn to a second invention directed to a camera module including a sensor-shift OIS structure having a fixed frame, a moving frame, a third ball unit, a sensor substrate having a moving part and a fixed part, and an image sensor mounted on the moving part. Claims 27-31 are drawn to a third invention directed to a camera module including a lens-shift OIS structure in which the lens module is movable relative to a carrier in a direction perpendicular to the optical axis. Therefore, although the inventions share certain extension and ball-support features, the sharing of such features does not preclude restriction where the claims are drawn to distinct combinations requiring different field of search(s). Claims 22-26 require searching sensor-shift OIS structures including moving sensor substrates and fixed/moving frame support arrangements. Claims 27-31 require searching lens-shift OIS structures including carrier/lens relative movement and PIS support of the lens module. These OIS architectures have acquired separate status in the art and require different search strategies and search queries. Accordingly, a serious search and/or examination burden remains if restriction is not required.
The requirement is still partially deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15 recites the limitation "or a through-hole passing through the substrate in the direction parallel to the optical axis" in lines 8-9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Similarly, claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as indefinite because the limitation “a through-hole passing through the substrate” lacks proper antecedent basis. Claim 15 recites a “printed circuit board” but does not previously recite “a substrate”. Although the specification describes clearance region 44 as a through-hole passing through printed circuit board 43, the claim language does not clearly identify whether “the substrate” refers to the printed circuit board or a separate component. Therefore, the metes and bounds of the claim are unclear. For examination purpose, “a substrate” will be interpret as “printed circuit board”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9, 14, 16-18, 20 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lim et al. US 2020/0050084.
Regarding claim 1, Lim teaches a camera module (see Fig. 1 and para 0002) comprising: a lens module (fig. 2: 200) comprising at least one lens (see para 0055);
a housing (400) in which the lens module (200) is disposed;
a magnet (310) disposed on the lens module (200) (see Fig. 3);
a coil (320) facing the magnet (310) (see para 0066);
a first yoke member (340) fixed to the housing (400); and
a first ball unit (Fig. 4: 600) and a second ball unit (Fig. 3: 700) disposed between the lens module (200) and the housing (400), spaced apart from each other in a first direction perpendicular to an optical axis of the lens module (as shown in fig. 3: balls 600 and 700 are spaced apart), and each comprising a plurality of balls disposed in a direction parallel to the optical axis (as shown in Figs. 3 and 4: ball 600 contains plurality of balls 610, 620, 630, and balls 700 contains two balls 710 and 720, see Fig. 5),
wherein the lens module (200) comprises a first extension protruding in the direction parallel to the optical axis (see annotated figure below),
the housing (400) comprises a second extension protruding in the direction parallel to the optical axis (see annotated figure below) and accommodating at least a portion of the first extension, and at least one ball among the plurality of balls included in the first ball unit or the plurality of balls included in the second ball unit is disposed between the first extension and the second extension (as shown in Fig. 3: balls 600 and 700 are accommodated in the extension protruding located in the housing).
[AltContent: textbox (Second extension protruding in optical axis )][AltContent: textbox (First extension protruding in optical axis )][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding claim 2, Lim teaches the camera module of claim 1, wherein a number of the plurality of balls included in the first ball unit is different from a number of the plurality of balls included in the second ball unit (as shown in Fig. 4 and 5: the number of balls for 600 and 700 are different, ball member 600 includes three balls 610, 620, 630, and ball member 700 includes 710 and 720).
Regarding claim 3, Lim teaches the camera module of claim 2, wherein a distance between two balls respectively positioned at outermost sides in the direction parallel to the optical axis among the plurality of balls included in the first ball unit is greater than a distance between two balls respectively positioned at outermost sides in the direction parallel to the optical axis among the plurality of balls included in the second ball unit (see Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 4, Lim teaches the camera module of claim 3, wherein the at least one ball disposed between the first extension and the second extension is at least one ball among the plurality of balls included in the first ball unit (see Fig. 6: balls 600 and 700 are disposed between the protruded extension located in the housing and the lens module).
Regarding claim 5, Lim teaches the camera module of claim 4, wherein a center of gravity of the lens module is positioned closer to the first ball unit than to the second ball unit (see Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 6, Lim teaches the camera module of claim 3, wherein at least a portion of at least one ball among the plurality of balls included in the first ball unit is positioned below the magnet in the direction parallel to the optical axis (as shown in Fig. 8: lens 630 is positioned below the magnet 310).
Regarding claim 7, Lim teaches the camera module of claim 2, wherein two balls respectively positioned at outermost sides in the direction parallel to the optical axis among the plurality of balls included in the first ball unit are in two-point contact with the lens module and the housing see annotated figure below, see also para 0117), and two balls respectively positioned at outermost sides in the direction parallel to the optical axis among the plurality of balls included in the second ball unit are in two-point contact with the lens module and one-point contact with the housing, or are in one-point contact with the lens module and two-point contact with the housing (see para 0117).
[AltContent: textbox (Two outermost balls 610 and 630, are two-point contact with lens module 200 and housing 400)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding claim 8, Lim further teaches the camera module of claim 2, wherein an action center point of an attractive force acting between the magnet and the first yoke member is positioned closer to the first ball unit than to the second ball unit (see Fig. 7: active force FA is positioned near ball member 600 than ball member 700).
Regarding claim 9, Lim teaches the camera module of claim 8, wherein a center of the magnet is positioned closer to the first ball unit than to the second ball unit (as shown in fig. 3: magnet 310 is near to ball member 600 than ball member 700).
Regarding claim 14, Lim teaches the camera module of claim 1, wherein the magnet is disposed closer to a lower surface of the lens module than to an upper surface of the lens module (as shown in fig. 3: lens 310 is disposed at carrier 230 which is lower surface of the lens module 200 than the upper lens barrel 210).
Regarding claim 16, Lim teaches a camera module (see Fig. 1 and para 0002) comprising:
a lens module (fig. 2: 200) comprising at least one lens (see para 0055);
a housing (400) in which the lens module (200) is disposed;
a magnet (310) disposed on the lens module (200) (see Fig. 3);
a coil (320) facing the magnet (310) (see para 0066);
a first yoke member (340) fixed to the housing (400); and
a first ball unit (Fig. 4: 600) and a second ball unit (Fig. 3: 700) disposed between the lens module (200) and the housing (400), spaced apart from each other in a first direction perpendicular to an optical axis of the lens module (as shown in fig. 3: balls 600 and 700 are spaced apart), and each comprising a plurality of balls disposed in a direction parallel to the optical axis (as shown in Figs. 3 and 4: ball 600 contains plurality of balls 610, 620, 630, and balls 700 contains two balls 710 and 720, see Fig. 5),
a printed circuit board (fig. 2 and para 0060: 530) coupled to the housing (see para 0059: image sensor module 500 disposed in the housing); and an image sensor (fig. 2 and para 0060: 510) mounted on the printed circuit board (530, see Fig. 2) and comprising an imaging surface (top surface of 510),
wherein a number of the plurality of balls included in the first ball unit is greater than a number of the plurality of balls included in the second ball unit (as shown in Fig. 4 and 5: the number of balls for 600 and 700 are different, ball member 600 includes three balls 610, 620, 630, and ball member 700 includes 710 and 720), and
at least a portion of one ball among two balls respectively positioned at outermost sides in the direction parallel to the optical axis among the plurality of balls included in the first ball unit is positioned below the imaging surface (as shown in fig. 4: ball 630 appears to positioned below images surface 510).
Regarding claim 17, Lim teaches the camera module of claim 16, wherein each ball among the two balls respectively positioned at the outermost sides in the direction parallel to the optical axis among the plurality of balls included in the first ball unit has a diameter greater than a diameter of at least one ball among the plurality of balls included in the first ball unit positioned between the two balls (see Fig. 4: the diameter of balls 610 and 630 is greater than diameter of the middle ball 620).
Regarding claim 18, Lim teaches the camera module of claim 16, wherein the lens module comprises a first extension protruding in the direction parallel to the optical axis (see annotated figure below), the housing (400) comprises a second extension protruding in the direction parallel to the optical axis (see annotated figure below) and accommodating at least a portion of the first extension; at least one ball among the plurality of balls included in the first ball unit is disposed between the first extension and the second extension (as shown in Fig. 3: balls 600 and 700 are accommodated in the extension protruding located in the housing), and at least a portion of the at least one ball disposed between the first extension and the second extension is positioned below the imaging surface (as shown in fig. 4: ball 630 appears to positioned below images surface 510).
[AltContent: textbox (Second extension protruding in optical axis )][AltContent: textbox (First extension protruding in optical axis )][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding claim 20, Lim teaches the camera module of claim 16, wherein an action center point of an attractive force acting between the magnet and the first yoke member is positioned closer to the first ball unit than to the second ball unit (see Fig. 7: active force FA is positioned near ball member 600 than ball member 700).
Regarding claim 21, Lim teaches the camera module of claim 16, wherein a center of gravity of the lens module is positioned closer to the first ball unit than to the second ball unit (see Fig. 7).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-13 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 10, the camera module of claim 1, further comprising a second yoke member fixed to the housing and facing the magnet, wherein the second yoke member is positioned closer to a ball unit including more balls among the first ball unit and the second ball unit.
Regrading claim 13, Lim teaches the camera module of claim 1, further comprising a buffer member disposed on either one or both of a surface of the first extension and a surface of the second extension facing each other in the direction parallel to the optical axis.
Regarding claim 19, the camera module of claim 18, wherein the printed circuit board comprises a clearance region in which the second extension is disposed, and the clearance region is a recess formed in a surface of the printed circuit board facing the housing in the direction parallel to the optical axis, or a through-hole passing through the printed-circuit board in the direction parallel to the optical axis.
Claim 15 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 15, Lim teaches the camera module of claim 1, further comprising: a printed circuit board (fig. 2 and para 0060: 530) coupled to the housing (see para 0059: image sensor module 500 disposed in the housing); and an image sensor (fig. 2 and para 0060: 510) mounted on the printed circuit board (530, see Fig. 2) and comprising an imaging surface (top surface of 510); however, Lim fails to teach: wherein the printed circuit board comprises a clearance region in which the second extension is disposed, and the clearance region is a recess formed in a surface of the printed circuit board facing the housing in the direction parallel to the optical axis, or a through-hole passing through the substrate in the direction parallel to the optical axis.
Conclusion
/EPHREM Z MEBRAHTU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872