DETAILED ACTION
This action replaces the Final Office action mailed, 7/09/2025, with a new statutory period to run anew from the mailing date of the instant office action
Response to Amendment
This is in response to an amendment/response filed on 11/10/2025
Hereon, claims 1,12-27 are currently pending; claims 1,12-27 are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
Claim(s) 1,12-27 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by Lowenthal et al, (Lowenthal), (USNO.2011/0133693).
As for claim 1, Lowenthal discloses and shows in Figs. 1 and 9 an electric vehicle charging system, comprising: an electric service panel; and an electric vehicle charging station that is connected with the electric service panel, the electric vehicle charging station configured to: receive a present electric current consumption value that represents a total present electric current consumption value at the electric service panel, wherein the present electric current consumption value is less than a maximum current capacity for the electric service panel, compare the present electric current consumption value with a maximum current capacity value for the electric service panel, and dynamically set an electric charging current drawn from the electric service panel to an electric vehicle charging output to a value so as to not cause the present electric current consumption value to exceed the maximum current capacity for the electrical service panel (par.[0006,0029-0032,0082-0083])
As for claim 12, Lowenthal discloses and shows in Figs. 1 and 9 a method, comprising: receiving, at a charging station for charging electric vehicles, a value that represents a present electric current consumption through at least a portion of an electric service panel to which the charging station is connected, wherein the value is less than a maximum current capacity for the electric service panel; and dynamically varying charging output at the charging station based on the received value and the maximum current capacity for the electric service panel (par.[0006,0029-0032,0082-0083]).
As for claim 13, Lowenthal discloses and shows in Figs. 1 and 9 dynamically varying charging output accounts for a potential increase in the present electric current consumption due to a set of one or more electric consumers other than the charging station drawing electric current through the electric service panel (par.[0006,0029-0032,0082-0083]).
As for claim 14, Lowenthal discloses and shows in Figs. 1 and 9 the set of electric consumers includes at least a largest expected electric consumer, wherein the largest expected electric consumer is a group of more than one electric consumers that are expected to be active at the same time, based on one or more of a time of day and day of the week, that time corresponding to potential increase in demand for electric current (par.[0006,0029-0032,0082-0083]).
As for claim 15, Lowenthal discloses communicating a charging status for each of a set of one or more electric vehicles connected to the charging station to one or more wireless receiving data devices (par.[0031])
As for claim 16, Lowenthal discloses at least two electric vehicles are connected to the charging station; and load sharing the dynamically varying charging output to the at least two electric vehicles.
As for claim 17, Lowenthal discloses the load sharing is based upon at least one of charging requirements of the at least two electric vehicles, and of charging
requirements of a set of one or more electric consumers other than the at least two electric vehicles.
As for claim 18, Lowenthal discloses load sharing is performed asymmetrically among the at least two electric vehicles
As for claim 19, Lowenthal discloses load sharing is based upon one or more of the following: an electric vehicle battery size of each of the at least two electric vehicles, an electric vehicle battery status of each of the at least two electric vehicles, an electric vehicle battery average mean, median, or mode of daily miles driven of each of the at least two electric vehicles, and a charging history of each of the at least two electric vehicles
As for claim 20, Lowenthal discloses and shows in Figs. 1 and 9 a charging station to charge a set of one or more electric vehicles, comprising: a processor; and a non-transitory machine-readable medium that stores instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the charging station to perform operations including: receiving a value that represents a present electric current consumption through at least a portion of an electric service panel to which the charging station is connected, wherein the value is less than a maximum current capacity for the electric service panel; and dynamically varying charging output at the charging station based on the received value and the maximum current capacity for the electric service panel (par.[0006,0029-0032,0082-0083]).
As for claim 21, Lowenthal discloses and shows dynamically varying charging output accounts for a potential increase in the present electric current consumption due to a set of one or more electric consumers other than the charging station drawing electric current through the electric service panel.
As for claim 22, Lowenthal discloses and shows the set of electric consumers includes at least a largest expected electric consumer, wherein the largest expected electric consumer is a group of more than one electric consumers that are expected to be active at the same time, based on one or more of a time of day and day of the week, that time corresponding to potential increase in demand for electric current.
As for claim 23, Lowenthal discloses and shows the operations further comprise: communicating a charging status for each of the set of one or more electric vehicles connected to the charging station to one or more wireless receiving data devices.
As for claim 24, Lowenthal discloses and shows the operations further comprise: wherein the set of one or more electric vehicles is at least two electric vehicles; and load sharing the dynamically varying charging output to the at least two electric vehicles.
As for claim 25, Lowenthal discloses and shows the load sharing is based upon at least one of charging requirements of the at least two electric vehicles, and of charging requirements of a set of one or more electric consumers other than the at least two electric vehicles.
As for claim 26, Lowenthal discloses and shows the load sharing is performed asymmetrically among the at least two electric vehicles.
As for claim 27, Lowenthal discloses and shows the load sharing is based upon one or more of the following: an electric vehicle battery size of each of the at least two electric vehicles, an electric vehicle battery status of each of the at least two electric vehicles, an electric vehicle battery average mean, median, or mode of daily miles driven of each of the at least two electric vehicles, and a charging history of each of the at least two electric vehicles.
Contact Information
/ARUN C WILLIAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859