DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is reply to the Application Number 18/080,278 filed on 05/22/2026.
Claims 1 – 19 are currently pending and have been examined. Claims 1 and 9 have been amended.
This action is made NON-FINAL.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3 – 9, 11 and 18 – 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Avetisian et al. (US 20200283004 A1), further in view of Maurer et al. (DE 102021129630 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Avetisian teaches an apparatus for controlling at least one electronic device, the apparatus comprising: (Avetisian: Abstract: “A method (and structure and computer product) for overriding a configuration setting on a vehicle”; Paragraph 0017: “Since the modern automobile may have 70 or more Electronic Control Units (ECUs) for various subsystems, the CAN bus can be connected to a relatively large number of vehicle subsystems via a node computer or controller used in those subsystems.”)
a communicator including one or more components that enable communication with at least one sensor configured for recognizing a surrounding environment; and (Avetisian: Paragraphs 0013 - 0014: “By using sensors in the vehicle itself or, in some exemplary scenarios, information as input obtained via an IoT (Internet of Things) communication device, embodiments described herein determine when current configuration settings should be changed and, in some systems, automatically make changes until the special conditions are no longer detected. In other exemplary scenarios the system could provide a warning and permit the driver to make a recommended change. Modern vehicles are being built with sophisticated sensors and cameras pre-installed, often for specific purposes in specific subsystems such as engine control or navigation, including computation capability for image analysis and other cognitive engines to interpret various audio and/or video feeds, as well as processing sensor input data. Additionally, modern vehicles are increasingly incorporating one or more communication busses to permit intercommunications between different modules on the vehicle, typically referred to as nodes. These modules can also be called computers or controllers, and can have various levels of computerization, including incorporation of a Central Processing Unit (CPU) and an associated re-programmable memory.”)
a processor communicatively connected to the communicator and configured to: (Avetisian: Paragraph 0060: “Depending upon what special condition is being addressed, embodiments of the present invention can be implemented by taking any of various different approaches, including implementations involving one or more cloud services. FIG. 1 shows one exemplary embodiment taking a centralized approach in which a Configuration Override Module (COM) 100 provides at least some configuration override functions that are implemented/available on a specific vehicle (e.g., specific model, year, vin, etc.). In this centralized approach, the COM 100 includes a processor 110 and associated memory device 112 that includes instructions 114 to implement”)
in a vehicle washing mode, determine whether a vehicle washing is complete based on surrounding environment information recognized by the at least one sensor received through the communicator; (Avetisian: Paragraph 0047: “These detected conditions would cause the configuration override system to trigger a sequence of configuration adjustments including, for example, changes to transmission configuration such as placing the vehicle in park or neutral, disabling the steering, disabling the brakes, folding side-mirror setting, shutting down of air conditioning, and closing of windows. The configuration override system could restore the previous configuration settings once it detects that the special conditions of towing are no longer active. This example also uses input data that would involve one or more cognitive engines in order to interpret the input data relative to the purpose of protecting the vehicle during a carwash.”; Paragraph 0071: “Another aspect of some embodiments of the present invention is the detection of special conditions related to configuration settings, sometimes involving complex data that can be interpreted only by using a cognitive engine. For example, the combination of sensor inputs to detect whether the vehicle is about to be towed or to enter a car wash environment would require analysis by a cognitive engine. Another aspect of some embodiments of the present invention is that in most applications, the configuration setting value or values are returned to their original values upon detecting that the special condition no longer exists.”)
… upon concluding that the vehicle washing is completed, automatically perform a driving preparation mode; identify at least one electronic device, among the at least one electronic device, whose operating state has been changed before the vehicle washing mode is performed, and
control the communicator to transmit a return control signal for the identified at least one electronic device whose operating state is changed before the vehicle washing mode is performed,
wherein the at least one sensor and the processor are provided in a vehicle, and
wherein the identified at least one electronic device is configured to physically move to restore its operating state based on receipt of the return control signal from the communicator (Avetisian: Paragraph 0071: “Another aspect of some embodiments of the present invention is the detection of special conditions related to configuration settings, sometimes involving complex data that can be interpreted only by using a cognitive engine. For example, the combination of sensor inputs to detect whether the vehicle is about to be towed or to enter a car wash environment would require analysis by a cognitive engine. Another aspect of some embodiments of the present invention is that in most applications, the configuration setting value or values are returned to their original values upon detecting that the special condition no longer exists.”; Paragraph 0054: “A cognitive engine is needed to implement the analysis required to detect the special condition involved in these three examples. Such analysis could be executed by a computer in the vehicle itself or could be executed remotely as, for example, in a cloud service contacted via an IoT interface transceiver in the vehicle.”; Paragraph 0047: “These detected conditions would cause the configuration override system to trigger a sequence of configuration adjustments including, for example, changes to transmission configuration such as placing the vehicle in park or neutral, disabling the steering, disabling the brakes, folding side-mirror setting, shutting down of air conditioning, and closing of windows. The configuration override system could restore the previous configuration settings once it detects that the special conditions of towing are no longer active.”
Supplemental Note: once the car wash is completed, the special condition is no longer active and the electrical components go back to their previous location. This can be communicated to the vehicle from a cloud server).
In sum, Avetisian teaches an apparatus for controlling at least one electronic device, the apparatus comprising: a communicator including one or more components that enable communication with at least one sensor configured for recognizing a surrounding environment; and a processor communicatively connected to the communicator and configured to: in a vehicle washing mode, determine whether a vehicle washing is complete based on surrounding environment information recognized by the at least one sensor received through the communicator; upon concluding that the vehicle washing is completed, automatically perform a driving preparation mode; identify at least one electronic device, among the at least one electronic device, whose operating state has been changed before the vehicle washing mode is performed, and control the communicator to transmit a return control signal for the identified at least one electronic device whose operating state is changed before the vehicle washing mode is performed, wherein the at least one sensor and the processor are provided in a vehicle, and wherein the identified at least one electronic device is configured to physically move to restore its operating state based on receipt of the return control signal from the communicator. Avetisian however does not teach wherein the at least one sensor comprises a camera, and wherein the determination that the vehicle washing is complete is made by recognizing an object corresponding to a car wash exit based on image information obtained by the camera; wherein the at least one sensor is part of a parking driver assistance device, and wherein the determination that the vehicle washing is complete is further made by acquiring movement information of a surrounding obstacle corresponding to a car wash cleaning tool based on detection information from the parking driver assistance device.
Maurer teaches wherein the at least one sensor comprises a camera, and wherein the determination that the vehicle washing is complete is made by recognizing an object corresponding to a car wash exit based on image information obtained by the camera; (Maurer: Paragraph 0101: “For example, in step S2, the evaluation unit 23 of the control device 2 detects the reaching of the end 19 of the car wash 10 based on the sensor data S (i.e., the image data) of one or more camera devices 6 of the vehicle 1. For example, the evaluation unit 23 detects the reaching of the end 19 of the car wash 10 based on the front camera unit 6 attached to the windshield 9 and/or the camera unit 6 attached to the front area 24 of the vehicle 1, for example a front radiator of the vehicle 1. For example, the image data can be used to determine that there are no obstacles in area 25 in front of vehicle 1, and therefore the path in front of vehicle 1 is clear. For example, information displayed on a display device 28 ( Fig. 2) of the car wash 10 can be recognized and understood using the image data S. The information could, for example, be a text message (e.g., a letter, email, or text message). B. “Please Exit” and/or “Start”) or to receive a signal from a traffic light 28 (e.g. B. green light).”)
wherein the at least one sensor is part of a parking driver assistance device, and (Maurer: Paragraph 0034: “For example, the vehicle's ultrasonic sensor system is switched on in the car wash, while the vehicle's parking assistance system is switched off in the car wash. This is to prevent warning messages from the parking assistance system due to objects being too close in the car wash. For example, the vehicle's parking assistance system is manually activated by the driver at the beginning of the car wash, or, e.g., by a parking assist system.”; Paragraph 0035: “the control device receives sensor data from one or more radar sensors and/or one or more lidar sensors of the vehicle, and detects the reaching of the end of the car wash based on the sensor data of the one or more radar sensors and/or the one or more lidar sensors.”)
wherein the determination that the vehicle washing is complete is further made by acquiring movement information of a surrounding obstacle corresponding to a car wash cleaning tool based on detection information from the parking driver assistance device; (Maurer: Paragraph 0037: “According to another embodiment, the control device detects that the end of the car wash has been reached by identifying an area in front of the vehicle as free of obstacles, based on the sensor data from one or more ultrasonic sensors.”; Paragraph 0038: “The end of the car wash can be recognized, for example, by the fact that washing brushes, drying equipment and other devices intended for the washing process are no longer located in an area in front of the vehicle. For example, it can also be detected that a gate which closes an exit of the car wash has opened.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Avetisian with the teachings of Maurer with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to try to implement Maurer’s teaching of being able to determine when a car wash is over by the acquired image data with the vehicle system of Avetisian. Avetisian teaches the ability to detect various vehicle conditions by the use of sensors and to adjust vehicle components such as changing the transmission, configure the steering, adjust the folding mirrors, adjust the AC and more (Avetisian: Paragraph 0047). One of these special conditions consists of a vehicle entering or leaving a car wash. The combination with Maurer’s teaching of being able to determine whether a car wash is complete by evaluating the image data would improve the system of Avetisian. For example, the system of Avetisian can now detect when the vehicle is leaving the car wash to adjust the vehicle components such as folding out the side-mirrors. This combination allows for vehicle as taught by Avetisian to better determine when the vehicle is out of a car wash (special condition) and to then properly adjust back into a normal vehicle configuration.
Regarding claim 3, Avetisian, as modified, teaches wherein the processor is further configured to conclude that the vehicle washing is completed in response that vehicle washing completion information is received from a server through the communicator (Avetisian: Paragraph 0047: “These detected conditions would cause the configuration override system to trigger a sequence of configuration adjustments including, for example, changes to transmission configuration such as placing the vehicle in park or neutral, disabling the steering, disabling the brakes, folding side-mirror setting, shutting down of air conditioning, and closing of windows. The configuration override system could restore the previous configuration settings once it detects that the special conditions of towing are no longer active. This example also uses input data that would involve one or more cognitive engines in order to interpret the input data relative to the purpose of protecting the vehicle during a carwash.”; Paragraph 0054: “A cognitive engine is needed to implement the analysis required to detect the special condition involved in these three examples. Such analysis could be executed by a computer in the vehicle itself or could be executed remotely as, for example, in a cloud service contacted via an IoT interface transceiver in the vehicle.”,
Supplemental Note: the settings of the vehicle go back to normal once the special condition is no longer detected, in this case a car wash. This is done through a cloud service communicating with the vehicle).
Regarding claim 4, Avetisian, as modified, teaches wherein the processor is further configured to generate a change control signal of the operating state of the at least one electronic device based on pre-stored setting information in response to an ON instruction of the vehicle washing mode received through the communicator, (Avetisian: Paragraphs 0040 – 0046: “In another specific exemplary embodiment, the configuration override system provides vehicle protection during a carwash. In this implementation, the configuration override system detects that the vehicle is likely involved in a carwash process. Sensors that would permit the configuration override system to detect a pending carwash condition might include, for example: Input GPS data indicates that the vehicle has approached a carwash, and Internet data, as obtained via an IoT interface, indicates that the car wash is currently open; A sudden change in light to darkness, as detected by light sensors; A sudden spray of water unrelated to weather, as detected by water or rain sensors; and confined space; Analysis of image data from an inside-looking camera indicates that the driver is not holding the steering wheel; and Speed sensors indicate movement at a slow speed.”)
and control the communicator to transmit the generated change control signal of the operating state to the at least one electronic device (Avetisian: Paragraph 0047: “These detected conditions would cause the configuration override system to trigger a sequence of configuration adjustments including, for example, changes to transmission configuration such as placing the vehicle in park or neutral, disabling the steering, disabling the brakes, folding side-mirror setting, shutting down of air conditioning, and closing of windows. The configuration override system could restore the previous configuration settings once it detects that the special conditions of towing are no longer active. This example also uses input data that would involve one or more cognitive engines in order to interpret the input data relative to the purpose of protecting the vehicle during a carwash.”).
Regarding claim 5, Avetisian, as modified, teaches wherein the processor is further configured to control the communicator to transmit the return control signal to the at least one electronic device in response to an OFF instruction of the vehicle washing mode received through the communicator (Avetisian: Paragraph 0047: “These detected conditions would cause the configuration override system to trigger a sequence of configuration adjustments including, for example, changes to transmission configuration such as placing the vehicle in park or neutral, disabling the steering, disabling the brakes, folding side-mirror setting, shutting down of air conditioning, and closing of windows. The configuration override system could restore the previous configuration settings once it detects that the special conditions of towing are no longer active. This example also uses input data that would involve one or more cognitive engines in order to interpret the input data relative to the purpose of protecting the vehicle during a carwash.”).
Regarding claim 6, Avetisian, as modified, teaches wherein the processor is further configured to generate an ON instruction of the vehicle washing mode based on current location information received from the communicator (Avetisian: Paragraphs 0040 – 0046: “In another specific exemplary embodiment, the configuration override system provides vehicle protection during a carwash. In this implementation, the configuration override system detects that the vehicle is likely involved in a carwash process. Sensors that would permit the configuration override system to detect a pending carwash condition might include, for example: Input GPS data indicates that the vehicle has approached a carwash, and Internet data, as obtained via an IoT interface, indicates that the car wash is currently open; A sudden change in light to darkness, as detected by light sensors; A sudden spray of water unrelated to weather, as detected by water or rain sensors; and confined space; Analysis of image data from an inside-looking camera indicates that the driver is not holding the steering wheel; and Speed sensors indicate movement at a slow speed.”).
Regarding claim 7, Avetisian, as modified, teaches wherein the at least one electronic device includes at least one of:
a wiper, a side mirror, a window glass, a sunroof, a handle, a first sensor, a second sensor, an air conditioner, a tailgate, a door, and a charging door in the vehicle (Avetisian: Paragraph 0047: “These detected conditions would cause the configuration override system to trigger a sequence of configuration adjustments including, for example, changes to transmission configuration such as placing the vehicle in park or neutral, disabling the steering, disabling the brakes, folding side-mirror setting, shutting down of air conditioning, and closing of windows. The configuration override system could restore the previous configuration settings once it detects that the special conditions of towing are no longer active. This example also uses input data that would involve one or more cognitive engines in order to interpret the input data relative to the purpose of protecting the vehicle during a carwash.”).
Regarding claim 8, Avetisian, as modified, teaches wherein the at least one sensor includes an image sensor configured for obtaining image information, and (Avetisian: Paragraph 0014: “Modern vehicles are being built with sophisticated sensors and cameras pre-installed, often for specific purposes in specific subsystems such as engine control or navigation, including computation capability for image analysis and other cognitive engines to interpret various audio and/or video feeds, as well as processing sensor input data.”)
wherein the processor is further configured to:
generate an ON instruction of the vehicle washing mode based on the image information of the image sensor, (Avetisian: Paragraphs 0040 – 0046: “In another specific exemplary embodiment, the configuration override system provides vehicle protection during a carwash. In this implementation, the configuration override system detects that the vehicle is likely involved in a carwash process. Sensors that would permit the configuration override system to detect a pending carwash condition might include, for example: Input GPS data indicates that the vehicle has approached a carwash, and Internet data, as obtained via an IoT interface, indicates that the car wash is currently open; A sudden change in light to darkness, as detected by light sensors; A sudden spray of water unrelated to weather, as detected by water or rain sensors; and confined space; Analysis of image data from an inside-looking camera indicates that the driver is not holding the steering wheel; and Speed sensors indicate movement at a slow speed.”)
generate a change control signal of the operating state of the at least one electronic device based on pre-stored setting information, and
control the communicator to transmit the generated change control signal of the operating state to the at least one electronic device (Avetisian: Paragraph 0047: “These detected conditions would cause the configuration override system to trigger a sequence of configuration adjustments including, for example, changes to transmission configuration such as placing the vehicle in park or neutral, disabling the steering, disabling the brakes, folding side-mirror setting, shutting down of air conditioning, and closing of windows. The configuration override system could restore the previous configuration settings once it detects that the special conditions of towing are no longer active. This example also uses input data that would involve one or more cognitive engines in order to interpret the input data relative to the purpose of protecting the vehicle during a carwash.”).
Regarding claim 9, Avetisian teaches a vehicle, comprising:
at least one sensor configured for recognizing a surrounding environment; and (Avetisian: Paragraphs 0013 - 0014: “By using sensors in the vehicle itself or, in some exemplary scenarios, information as input obtained via an IoT (Internet of Things) communication device, embodiments described herein determine when current configuration settings should be changed and, in some systems, automatically make changes until the special conditions are no longer detected. In other exemplary scenarios the system could provide a warning and permit the driver to make a recommended change. Modern vehicles are being built with sophisticated sensors and cameras pre-installed, often for specific purposes in specific subsystems such as engine control or navigation, including computation capability for image analysis and other cognitive engines to interpret various audio and/or video feeds, as well as processing sensor input data. Additionally, modern vehicles are increasingly incorporating one or more communication busses to permit intercommunications between different modules on the vehicle, typically referred to as nodes. These modules can also be called computers or controllers, and can have various levels of computerization, including incorporation of a Central Processing Unit (CPU) and an associated re-programmable memory.”)
a processor configured to: (Avetisian: Paragraph 0060: “Depending upon what special condition is being addressed, embodiments of the present invention can be implemented by taking any of various different approaches, including implementations involving one or more cloud services. FIG. 1 shows one exemplary embodiment taking a centralized approach in which a Configuration Override Module (COM) 100 provides at least some configuration override functions that are implemented/available on a specific vehicle (e.g., specific model, year, vin, etc.). In this centralized approach, the COM 100 includes a processor 110 and associated memory device 112 that includes instructions 114 to implement”)
determine whether a vehicle washing is complete based on surrounding environment information recognized by the at least one sensor in a vehicle washing mode; (Avetisian: Paragraph 0047: “These detected conditions would cause the configuration override system to trigger a sequence of configuration adjustments including, for example, changes to transmission configuration such as placing the vehicle in park or neutral, disabling the steering, disabling the brakes, folding side-mirror setting, shutting down of air conditioning, and closing of windows. The configuration override system could restore the previous configuration settings once it detects that the special conditions of towing are no longer active. This example also uses input data that would involve one or more cognitive engines in order to interpret the input data relative to the purpose of protecting the vehicle during a carwash.”; Paragraph 0071: “Another aspect of some embodiments of the present invention is the detection of special conditions related to configuration settings, sometimes involving complex data that can be interpreted only by using a cognitive engine. For example, the combination of sensor inputs to detect whether the vehicle is about to be towed or to enter a car wash environment would require analysis by a cognitive engine. Another aspect of some embodiments of the present invention is that in most applications, the configuration setting value or values are returned to their original values upon detecting that the special condition no longer exists.”)
… upon concluding that the vehicle washing is completed, automatically perform a driving preparation mode, and
control a communicator communicatively connected to the processor to transmit a return control signal for at least one electronic device whose operating state is changed before the vehicle washing mode is performed,
wherein the at least one electronic device is configured to physically move to restore its operating state based on receipt of the return control signal from the communicator (Avetisian: Paragraph 0071: “Another aspect of some embodiments of the present invention is the detection of special conditions related to configuration settings, sometimes involving complex data that can be interpreted only by using a cognitive engine. For example, the combination of sensor inputs to detect whether the vehicle is about to be towed or to enter a car wash environment would require analysis by a cognitive engine. Another aspect of some embodiments of the present invention is that in most applications, the configuration setting value or values are returned to their original values upon detecting that the special condition no longer exists.”; Paragraph 0047: “These detected conditions would cause the configuration override system to trigger a sequence of configuration adjustments including, for example, changes to transmission configuration such as placing the vehicle in park or neutral, disabling the steering, disabling the brakes, folding side-mirror setting, shutting down of air conditioning, and closing of windows. The configuration override system could restore the previous configuration settings once it detects that the special conditions of towing are no longer active.”
Supplemental Note: once the car wash is completed, the special condition is no longer active and the electrical components go back to their previous location).
In sum, Avetisian teaches a vehicle, comprising: at least one sensor configured for recognizing a surrounding environment; and a processor configured to: determine whether a vehicle washing is complete based on surrounding environment information recognized by the at least one sensor in a vehicle washing mode; upon concluding that the vehicle washing is completed, automatically perform a driving preparation mode, and control a communicator communicatively connected to the processor to transmit a return control signal for at least one electronic device whose operating state is changed before the vehicle washing mode is performed, wherein the at least one electronic device is configured to physically move to restore its operating state based on receipt of the return control signal from the communicator. Avetisian however does not teach wherein the at least one sensor comprises a camera, and wherein the determination that the vehicle washing is complete is made by recognizing an object corresponding to a car wash exit based on image information obtained by the camera.
Maurer teaches wherein the at least one sensor comprises a camera, and wherein the determination that the vehicle washing is complete is made by recognizing an object corresponding to a car wash exit based on image information obtained by the camera; (Maurer: Paragraph 0101: “For example, in step S2, the evaluation unit 23 of the control device 2 detects the reaching of the end 19 of the car wash 10 based on the sensor data S (i.e., the image data) of one or more camera devices 6 of the vehicle 1. For example, the evaluation unit 23 detects the reaching of the end 19 of the car wash 10 based on the front camera unit 6 attached to the windshield 9 and/or the camera unit 6 attached to the front area 24 of the vehicle 1, for example a front radiator of the vehicle 1. For example, the image data can be used to determine that there are no obstacles in area 25 in front of vehicle 1, and therefore the path in front of vehicle 1 is clear. For example, information displayed on a display device 28 ( Fig. 2) of the car wash 10 can be recognized and understood using the image data S. The information could, for example, be a text message (e.g., a letter, email, or text message). B. “Please Exit” and/or “Start”) or to receive a signal from a traffic light 28 (e.g. B. green light).”)
wherein the at least one sensor is part of a parking driver assistance device, and (Maurer: Paragraph 0034: “For example, the vehicle's ultrasonic sensor system is switched on in the car wash, while the vehicle's parking assistance system is switched off in the car wash. This is to prevent warning messages from the parking assistance system due to objects being too close in the car wash. For example, the vehicle's parking assistance system is manually activated by the driver at the beginning of the car wash, or, e.g., by a parking assist system.”; Paragraph 0035: “the control device receives sensor data from one or more radar sensors and/or one or more lidar sensors of the vehicle, and detects the reaching of the end of the car wash based on the sensor data of the one or more radar sensors and/or the one or more lidar sensors.”)
wherein the determination that the vehicle washing is complete is further made by acquiring movement information of a surrounding obstacle corresponding to a car wash cleaning tool based on detection information from the parking driver assistance device; (Maurer: Paragraph 0037: “According to another embodiment, the control device detects that the end of the car wash has been reached by identifying an area in front of the vehicle as free of obstacles, based on the sensor data from one or more ultrasonic sensors.”; Paragraph 0038: “The end of the car wash can be recognized, for example, by the fact that washing brushes, drying equipment and other devices intended for the washing process are no longer located in an area in front of the vehicle. For example, it can also be detected that a gate which closes an exit of the car wash has opened.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Avetisian with the teachings of Maurer with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to the rejection of claim 1 as both claim the same functional language and therefore rejected under the same pretenses.
Regarding claim 11, Avetisian, as modified, teaches a speed detector and a shift lever,
wherein the processor is further configured to determine whether a position of the shift lever is a drive (D) stage or a reverse (R) stage according to a signal of the shift lever, (Avetisian: Paragraph 0048: “In yet another specific exemplary embodiment, the configuration override system could override other configuration settings for speed and/or gear settings to lower speed and/or lower the transmission gear if one or more of the following exemplary conditions were detected:”)
determine whether a driving speed of the vehicle is equal to or greater than a reference speed based on driving speed information detected by the speed detector upon determining that the position of the shift lever is the D stage or the R stage, (Avetisian: Paragraphs 0040 – 0046: “In another specific exemplary embodiment, the configuration override system provides vehicle protection during a carwash. In this implementation, the configuration override system detects that the vehicle is likely involved in a carwash process. Sensors that would permit the configuration override system to detect a pending carwash condition might include, for example: Input GPS data indicates that the vehicle has approached a carwash, and Internet data, as obtained via an IoT interface, indicates that the car wash is currently open; A sudden change in light to darkness, as detected by light sensors; A sudden spray of water unrelated to weather, as detected by water or rain sensors; and confined space; Analysis of image data from an inside-looking camera indicates that the driver is not holding the steering wheel; and Speed sensors indicate movement at a slow speed.”,
Supplemental Note: the reference speed is interpreted as the normal speed of the vehicle faster than detecting a slow speed)
and conclude that the vehicle washing is completed upon determining that the driving speed is equal to or greater than the reference speed (Avetisian: Paragraph 0047: “These detected conditions would cause the configuration override system to trigger a sequence of configuration adjustments including, for example, changes to transmission configuration such as placing the vehicle in park or neutral, disabling the steering, disabling the brakes, folding side-mirror setting, shutting down of air conditioning, and closing of windows. The configuration override system could restore the previous configuration settings once it detects that the special conditions of towing are no longer active. This example also uses input data that would involve one or more cognitive engines in order to interpret the input data relative to the purpose of protecting the vehicle during a carwash.”,
Supplemental Note: the input data which includes vehicle speed and transmission, are evaluated so when the input data shows the special condition is complete, the settings of the vehicle return to normal).
Regarding claim 18, Avetisian, as modified, teaches wherein the processor is further configured to conclude that the vehicle washing is completed in response that vehicle washing completion information (Avetisian: Paragraph 0047: “These detected conditions would cause the configuration override system to trigger a sequence of configuration adjustments including, for example, changes to transmission configuration such as placing the vehicle in park or neutral, disabling the steering, disabling the brakes, folding side-mirror setting, shutting down of air conditioning, and closing of windows. The configuration override system could restore the previous configuration settings once it detects that the special conditions of towing are no longer active. This example also uses input data that would involve one or more cognitive engines in order to interpret the input data relative to the purpose of protecting the vehicle during a carwash.”)
is received from a server of a vehicle wash through the communicator (Avetisian: Paragraph 0054: “A cognitive engine is needed to implement the analysis required to detect the special condition involved in these three examples. Such analysis could be executed by a computer in the vehicle itself or could be executed remotely as, for example, in a cloud service contacted via an IoT interface transceiver in the vehicle.”,
Supplemental Note: the cloud service is able to determine if the special condition, such as carwash, is completed).
Regarding claim 19, Avetisian, as modified, teaches wherein the return control signal of the operating state of the at least one electronic device includes at least one of an unfolding control signal of a side mirror, an opening control signal of a window glass, an opening control signal of a sunroof, a protruding control signal of a handle, an activating control signal of a first sensor, an activating control signal of a second sensor, an outdoor air circulation control signal of an air conditioner, a unlocking control signal of a tailgate, a unlocking control signal of a door, and a unlocking control signal of a charging door in the vehicle (Avetisian: Paragraph 0047: “These detected conditions would cause the configuration override system to trigger a sequence of configuration adjustments including, for example, changes to transmission configuration such as placing the vehicle in park or neutral, disabling the steering, disabling the brakes, folding side-mirror setting, shutting down of air conditioning, and closing of windows. The configuration override system could restore the previous configuration settings once it detects that the special conditions of towing are no longer active. This example also uses input data that would involve one or more cognitive engines in order to interpret the input data relative to the purpose of protecting the vehicle during a carwash.”).
Claim 2, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Avetisian et al. (US 20200283004 A1) and Maurer et al. (DE 102021129630 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 9 above, and further in view of Gao et al. (US 20200410263 A1), herein after Gao.
Regarding claim 2, Avetisian, as modified, teaches wherein the at least one sensor includes an image sensor configured for the obtaining image information, and (Avetisian: Paragraph 0014: “Modern vehicles are being built with sophisticated sensors and cameras pre-installed, often for specific purposes in specific subsystems such as engine control or navigation, including computation capability for image analysis and other cognitive engines to interpret various audio and/or video feeds, as well as processing sensor input data.”)
whether the vehicle washing is completed (Avetisian: Paragraph 0071: “Another aspect of some embodiments of the present invention is the detection of special conditions related to configuration settings, sometimes involving complex data that can be interpreted only by using a cognitive engine. For example, the combination of sensor inputs to detect whether the vehicle is about to be towed or to enter a car wash environment would require analysis by a cognitive engine. Another aspect of some embodiments of the present invention is that in most applications, the configuration setting value or values are returned to their original values upon detecting that the special condition no longer exists.”; Paragraph 0054: “A cognitive engine is needed to implement the analysis required to detect the special condition involved in these three examples. Such analysis could be executed by a computer in the vehicle itself or could be executed remotely as, for example, in a cloud service contacted via an IoT interface transceiver in the vehicle.”
Supplemental Note: once the car wash is completed, the special condition is no longer active and the electrical components go back to their previous location. This can be communicated to the vehicle from a cloud server).
In sum, Avetisian teaches wherein the at least one sensor includes an image sensor configured for obtaining image information and determine whether the vehicle washing is completed. Avetisian however does not teach wherein the processor is further configured to obtain color information or text information of a traffic light through the image information on the image sensor, and determine and obtain color information or the obtained text information of the traffic light.
Gao teaches wherein the processor is further configured to obtain color information or text information of a traffic light through the image information on the image sensor, and determine (Gao: Paragraph 0012: “In an embodiment, the prediction for the state of the at least one traffic light is further based in part on a state prediction determined for the at least one traffic light based on an image processing technique that predicts the state for the at least one traffic light based on a color perceived in association with the at least one traffic light in at least one image.”)
based on the obtained color information or the obtained text information of the traffic light (Gao: Paragraph 0012: “In an embodiment, the prediction for the state of the at least one traffic light is further based in part on a state prediction determined for the at least one traffic light based on an image processing technique that predicts the state for the at least one traffic light based on a color perceived in association with the at least one traffic light in at least one image.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Avetisian with the teachings of Gao with a reasonable expectation of success. Avetisian and Gao both teach a system that can detect when a vehicle enters and leaves a car wash. Both teach vehicles which are able to have various sensors that are utilized to capture their surroundings and implement changes they deem necessary. Gao teaches the ability of a vehicle able to acquire images of a traffic lights and determine their state. One with knowledge in the art would find it obvious to try to implement this with the vehicle of Avetisian. Avetisian teaches a modern vehicle with imaging sensors around it and utilizes these sensors in determining when a special condition such a car wash is taking place. Combined with Avetisian’s abilities to use GPS data, speed sensors, etc. to detect if a vehicle has entered and exit a car wash, this method of Gao to interpret a state of a traffic light would be obvious to try as it will increases the efficiency of the vehicle to make this determination. For example, interpreting the state of the traffic signals used within a car wash can also be used to identify a special condition regarding a car wash by the vehicle. The car wash special condition adjusts the electrical devices of the vehicle as to mitigate damage to these components thus increasing the accuracy of determining when to apply a car wash mode increases the vehicle life as well.
Regarding claim 14, Avetisian, as modified, teaches wherein the at least one sensor includes an image sensor configured for obtaining the image information, and (Avetisian: Paragraph 0014: “Modern vehicles are being built with sophisticated sensors and cameras pre-installed, often for specific purposes in specific subsystems such as engine control or navigation, including computation capability for image analysis and other cognitive engines to interpret various audio and/or video feeds, as well as processing sensor input data.”)
… determine whether the vehicle washing is completed based on the obtained at least one information. (Avetisian: Paragraph 0071: “Another aspect of some embodiments of the present invention is the detection of special conditions related to configuration settings, sometimes involving complex data that can be interpreted only by using a cognitive engine. For example, the combination of sensor inputs to detect whether the vehicle is about to be towed or to enter a car wash environment would require analysis by a cognitive engine. Another aspect of some embodiments of the present invention is that in most applications, the configuration setting value or values are returned to their original values upon detecting that the special condition no longer exists.”; Paragraph 0054: “A cognitive engine is needed to implement the analysis required to detect the special condition involved in these three examples. Such analysis could be executed by a computer in the vehicle itself or could be executed remotely as, for example, in a cloud service contacted via an IoT interface transceiver in the vehicle.”
Supplemental Note: once the car wash is completed, the special condition is no longer active and the electrical components go back to their previous location. This can be communicated to the vehicle from a cloud server).
In sum, Avetisian teaches wherein the at least one sensor includes an image sensor configured for obtaining image information, and determine whether the vehicle washing is completed based on the obtained at least one information. Avetisian however does not teach wherein the processor is further configured to recognize an object based on the image information of the image sensor, obtain at least one of color information of a traffic light and exit information or text information of a vehicle wash based on information on the recognized object.
Gao teaches wherein the processor is further configured to recognize the object based on the image information of the image sensor, obtain at least one of color information of a traffic light and exit information or text information of a vehicle wash based on information on the recognized object, and determine (Gao: Paragraph 0012: “In an embodiment, the prediction for the state of the at least one traffic light is further based in part on a state prediction determined for the at least one traffic light based on an image processing technique that predicts the state for the at least one traffic light based on a color perceived in association with the at least one traffic light in at least one image.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Avetisian with the teachings of Yamane with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to the rejection of claim 2 as both claim the same functional language and therefore rejected under the same pretenses.
Regarding claim 15, Avetisian, as modified, teaches wherein a change control signal of the operating state of the at least one electronic device includes at least one of:
a folding control signal of a side mirror, a closing control signal of a window glass, a closing control signal of a sunroof, a retracting control signal of a handle, a deactivating control signal of a first sensor, a deactivating control signal of a second sensor, an indoor air circulation control signal of an air conditioner, a locking control signal of a tailgate, a locking control signal of a door, and a locking control signal of a charging door in the vehicle (Avetisian: Paragraph 0047: “These detected conditions would cause the configuration override system to trigger a sequence of configuration adjustments including, for example, changes to transmission configuration such as placing the vehicle in park or neutral, disabling the steering, disabling the brakes, folding side-mirror setting, shutting down of air conditioning, and closing of windows. The configuration override system could restore the previous configuration settings once it detects that the special conditions of towing are no longer active. This example also uses input data that would involve one or more cognitive engines in order to interpret the input data relative to the purpose of protecting the vehicle during a carwash.”).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Avetisian et al. (US 20200283004 A1) and Maurer et al. (DE 102021129630 A1) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Yamane et al. (US 20210284103 A1), herein after Yamane.
Regarding claim 10, Avetisian, as modified, does not teaches wherein the at least one sensor includes a microphone, and wherein the processor is further configured to recognize a sound based on sound information received through the microphone, determine whether the vehicle washing is completed upon determining that the recognized sound is a predetermined sound, and wherein the predetermined sound includes one of a sound instructing completion of the vehicle washing and a sound instructing driving.
Yamane teaches wherein the at least one sensor includes a microphone, and wherein the processor is further configured to recognize a sound based on sound information received through the microphone, (Yamane: Paragraph 0053: “The sensor data obtaining unit 302 acquires sensor data at the time of vehicle washing from the in-vehicle device 100. The sensor data includes, for example, image data, sound data, or vibration data… In addition, the sound data is obtained by the microphone 19 of the in-vehicle device 100.”)
determine whether the vehicle washing is completed upon determining that the recognized sound is a predetermined sound, and wherein the predetermined sound includes one of a sound instructing completion of the vehicle washing and a sound instructing driving (Yamane: Paragraph 0071: “the sensor data at the time when the vehicle washing by the vehicle washing machine is started or when the vehicle washing by the vehicle washing machine is being performed has been stored in advance in the auxiliary storage unit 23, and by comparing newly obtained sensor data with the stored sensor data, it is possible to determine whether or not the vehicle washing by the vehicle washing machine was started. The sensor data transmission unit 101 collects image data, sound data, or vibration data during the vehicle washing by the vehicle washing machine, and transmits the data thus collected to the server 30. Here, note that a period of time to collect these sensor data may be, for example, is a time period until the vehicle washing by the vehicle washing machine is finished, or until a predetermined amount of time capable of specifying the type or the like of the vehicle washing machine has elapsed. For example, based on the data, the sound data or the vibration data, it may be determined whether or not the vehicle washing by the vehicle washing machine has been completed,”,
Supplemental Note: the sound data is able to be used to determine whether a vehicle washing has been completed. The acquired sensor data is compared with the stored sensor data, therefore a predetermined sound is used to compare the acquired sensor data whether or not the vehicle washing has been completed).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Avetisian with the teachings of Yamane with a reasonable expectation of success. Yamane teaches the ability of an in-vehicle microphone to be used to acquire sensor data for determining whether a car wash has started and ended. One with knowledge in the art would find this obvious to try to combine with the teachings of Avetisian or as combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Avetisian teaches a vehicle with multiple sensors for capturing data around itself to identify when the vehicle has completed the car wash. The addition of a microphone with sound recognition capabilities of determining when a car wash is completed will only aid the vehicle in determining when the car wash is finished. Multiple sensors on the vehicle aid each other when one or more sensors are not fully functional. For example, if the camera is blocked by the car washer due to left over soap residue or water marks, the microphone can be utilized in that situation to determine if the car washer is still active or not. This improves the functionality of the vehicle as taught by Avetisian by having multiple sensors to make the determination whether the car washing is finished or not.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Avetisian et al. (US 20200283004 A1) and Maurer et al. (DE 102021129630 A1) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Song et al. (US 20070024429 A1), hereinafter Song.
Regarding claim 12, Avetisian, as modified, teaches wherein the at least one sensor includes a plurality of sensors, the plurality of sensors include a distance sensor (Avetisian: Paragraph 0028: “Exemplary embodiments of the present invention typically use existing embedded sensors on vehicles, such as, for example, gyroscopes, accelerometers, proximity sensors, and Global Positioning System (GPS) data. In some embodiments, the system will use these sensors to detect certain conditions happening on and/or around the vehicle to automatically change a state of car components based on interpretation of IoT feeds that are used to detect other states of interest for the vehicle.”)
… and determine that the vehicle washing is completed (Avetisian: Paragraph 0047: “These detected conditions would cause the configuration override system to trigger a sequence of configuration adjustments including, for example, changes to transmission configuration such as placing the vehicle in park or neutral, disabling the steering, disabling the brakes, folding side-mirror setting, shutting down of air conditioning, and closing of windows. The configuration override system could restore the previous configuration settings once it detects that the special conditions of towing are no longer active. This example also uses input data that would involve one or more cognitive engines in order to interpret the input data relative to the purpose of protecting the vehicle during a carwash.”).
In sum Avetisian teaches wherein the at least one sensor includes a plurality of sensors, the plurality of sensors include a distance sensor and determine that the vehicle washing is completed. Avetisian however does not teach wherein the vehicle is provided on a front panel and a distance sensor provided on a rear panel, and wherein the processor is configured to determine whether a front obstacle exists based on detection information from the distance sensor provided on the front panel, determine whether a rear obstacle exists based on detection information from the distance sensor provided on the rear panel, when it is determined that the rear obstacle exists within a predetermined distance while no front obstacle exists within the predetermined distance.
Song teaches provided on a front panel and a distance sensor provided on a rear panel, and wherein the processor is configured to determine whether a front obstacle exists based on detection information from the distance sensor provided on the front panel, determine whether a rear obstacle exists based on detection information from the distance sensor provided on the rear panel, (Song: Abstract: “An apparatus and method for informing a vehicular safety distance is provided. The apparatus includes a first camera for photographing the front of a vehicle; a first distance measuring unit for measuring a distance from a front vehicle; a second camera for photographing the rear of the vehicle; a second distance measuring unit for measuring a distance from a rear vehicle;”: Paragraph 0027: “Further, in the present invention, a camera and a distance measuring unit are integrated as one unit, the unit is provided three by three in each of front and rear of the self-vehicle”)
when it is determined that the rear obstacle exists within a predetermined distance while no front obstacle exists within the predetermined distance (Song: Claim 1: “a first distance measuring unit for measuring a distance from a front vehicle under a predetermined control; a second camera for photographing the rear of the vehicle; a second distance measuring unit for measuring a distance from a rear vehicle under a predetermined control;”: Paragraph 0044: “First, the controller 10 sets to be in a safety distance informative mode in Step 311”; Paragraph 0046: “Upon enabling of the front unit 40 and the rear unit 50, in Step 315, the controller 10 performs a routine of detecting the front/rear vehicles. In the detection routine, it is determined whether or not there exists the vehicle in the images photographed through the first and second digital cameras 43 and 53.”; Paragraphs 0048 – 0049: “After the execution of the routine of detecting the lane, in Step 318, the controller 10 controls the first and second distance measuring units 45 and 55 for the front and the rear to measure the distances from the detected vehicles and, in Step 319, displays the measured distances on the display unit 30. Upon measurement of the distances from the detected vehicles, in Step 321, the controller 10 sequentially determines whether or not the detected vehicle changes the lane. If it is determined that the detected vehicle changes the lane in the Step 321, in Step 323, the controller 10 stops tracing of the corresponding detected vehicle and measuring of the distance.”,
Supplemental Note: the vehicle is able to detect distances of vehicles in front and behind itself. The vehicle also includes a safety distance. Based on the detected measurements the vehicle can also determine a vehicle is no longer in front of it, in this example, being able to identify if it changed lanes).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Avetisian with the teachings of Song with a reasonable expectation of success. One with knowledge in the art would find it obvious to try to combine the distance sensor as taught by Song with the vehicle of Avetisian as it provides it with an additional sensor able to calculate the distance around the vehicle. These sensors can be used to determine whether a carwash is completed by identifying if no machinery or object is in front of it and that a rear vehicle, waiting in line, is a predetermined distance behind it waiting to drive into the carwash. This in combination with the system of Avetisian identifying when it enters and exits a car wash by the use of its sensors would be obvious to try to combine with the distance sensors of Song. For example, the vehicle of Avetisian can determine based on its location that it is near a carwash and in combination with the distance sensors of Song, the vehicle can identify that the vehicle Infront of it is done with the car wash and turn on the carwash mode. Distance sensors can be used for more reasons than to identify a vehicle has completed a carwash, for example, when driving on the roadway the front distance sensors can constantly measure distances of the front vehicle for the vehicle system to perform automatic braking if the traffic comes to an abrupt stop. Due to these reasons, one with knowledge in the art would find it obvious to try to combine the distance sensor of Song with the vehicle of Avetisian.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Avetisian et al. (US 20200283004 A1) in view of Maurer et al. (DE 102021129630 A1) and Song et al. (US 20070024429 A1) as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Meisterknecht et al. (DE 102020007654 A1) and Samukawa et al. (DE 10355958 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Avetisian, as modified, teaches wherein the at least one sensor further includes an image sensor configured for obtaining the image information, and (Avetisian: Paragraph 0014: “Modern vehicles are being built with sophisticated sensors and cameras pre-installed, often for specific purposes in specific subsystems such as engine control or navigation, including computation capability for image analysis and other cognitive engines to interpret various audio and/or video feeds, as well as processing sensor input data.”)
… upon determining that the current location is the entrance to the vehicle wash, (Avetisian: Paragraphs 0040 – 0046: “In another specific exemplary embodiment, the configuration override system provides vehicle protection during a carwash. In this implementation, the configuration override system detects that the vehicle is likely involved in a carwash process. Sensors that would permit the configuration override system to detect a pending carwash condition might include, for example: Input GPS data indicates that the vehicle has approached a carwash, and Internet data, as obtained via an IoT interface, indicates that the car wash is currently open; A sudden change in light to darkness, as detected by light sensors; A sudden spray of water unrelated to weather, as detected by water or rain sensors; and confined space; Analysis of image data from an inside-looking camera indicates that the driver is not holding the steering wheel; and Speed sensors indicate movement at a slow speed.”).
In sum Avetisian teaches wherein the at least one sensor further includes an image sensor configured for obtaining image information, and upon determining that the current location is the entrance to the vehicle wash. Avetisian however does not teach wherein the processor is further configured to determine whether a current location of the vehicle is an entrance to a vehicle wash based on the obtained image information of the image sensor.
Meisterknecht teaches wherein the processor is further configured to determine whether a current location of the vehicle is an entrance to a vehicle wash based on the obtained image information of the image sensor, (Meisterknecht: Paragraph 0006: “In a method for camera-based car wash detection of the type mentioned above, a vehicle monitors a vehicle environment with the aid of at least one camera, wherein camera images generated by the camera are evaluated on a computing unit of the vehicle. According to the invention, camera images generated by the camera are evaluated with the aid of an artificial neural network, wherein it is only concluded that a car wash is being driven through if at least one car wash-typical parameter is met and at least during a time period in which at least one car wash-typical parameter is met, the artificial neural network detects that a tunnel has been driven through in at least one camera image.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Avetisian with the teachings of Meisterknecht with a reasonable expectation of success. Avetisian and Meisterknecht both teach vehicles with various sensors used to identify their environment. Meisterknecht further teaches the ability to determine if a vehicle has reached a carwash per an image captured. One with knowledge in the art would find it obvious to try to implement this function with the vehicle system of Avetisian. Avetisian teaches the ability to determine whether the vehicle has approached a car wash per the GPS data, light sensors, etc. however none that teach capturing an image for the determination. This would be obvious to try to combine as it provides an additional data source to make this determination. For example, if a the GPS does not have a correct location for car wash, the vehicle can now take an image of the car wash and determine it is approaching a car wash which allows for the vehicle to go into a car wash special condition. This special condition adjusts the various electrical components of the vehicle as to not damage them, thus the ability to more accurately identify a car wash also increase the life span of these components. Avetisian in view of Meisterknecht however still do not teach to obtain a distance to the entrance of the vehicle wash based on the detection information of the distance sensor and transmit a change control signal of the operating state to the at least one electronic device based on the obtained distance information.
Samukawa teaches obtain a distance to the entrance of the vehicle wash based on the detection information of the distance sensor (Samukawa: Page 2, Paragraph 4: “According to the present invention, an obstacle detection device for vehicles includes: a radar device that radiates transmitted waves around the vehicle and detects reflected waves of the transmitted waves; a determining device that reflects a distance to an obstacle around the vehicle based on a result of detection of the reflected Waves determined by the radar device; a determination device which determines a limit distance within which a determination by the determination device is possible; and an assessment device which compares the limit distance determined by the determination device with a previously determined determination reference distance and assesses an operating state of the device.”)
and transmit a change control signal of the operating state to the at least one electronic device based on the obtained distance information (Samukawa: Page 6, Paragraphs 4 – 6: “Furthermore, when the operating mode of the rear-end collision prevention control is selected, the electronic control circuit is activated 5 then, when the vehicle in front enters the warning area, a driver signal to a warning tone generator 9 to generate an acoustic alarm. The electronic control circuit 5 is with a warning tone volume control 11 and an alarm sensitivity regulator 13 connected. The sound volume of the acoustic alarm and the alarm sensitivity can thus be set. When the operating mode of the follow-up trip control is selected, the electronic control circuit gives 5 also sends a driver signal to the following components in order to control the vehicle speed: a throttle driver 15 , which controls a throttle valve or a throttle valve; a brake driver 17 which controls brakes; and an automatic transmission control unit 19 , which controls an automatic transmission. Furthermore, the electronic control circuit 5 connected to: a vehicle speed sensor 21 which outputs signals corresponding to the vehicle speed; a brake switch 23 , which outputs signals that correspond to the operating state or operating state of brakes; and a throttle angle sensor 25 which outputs signals corresponding to the opening of the throttle valve. Thus, the electronic control circuit receives 5 Data that are required for various controls.”,
Supplemental Note: the vehicle is able to start audible driver signals based on the proximity sensors).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Avetisian with the teachings of Samukawa with a reasonable expectation of success. One with knowledge in the art would find it obvious to try to combine the distance sensor as taught by Samukawa with the vehicle of Avetisian as it provides it with an additional sensor able to calculate the distance around the vehicle which can be used to detect if the vehicle is entering a carwash or not. Avetisian already teaches the use of GPS data, light sensors, etc. for this determination however the utilization of a distance sensor can be used to identify objects around the vehicle. For example, the distance sensors will be able to pick up if when driving into a car wash, the vehicle is too close to the car wash machines. This allows the driver to have a better understanding of how to pull in and out of the car wash as to not damage the vehicle by any collisions by the use of the distance sensors and their alerts. This increases the life of the vehicle by mitigating any potential damages caused by driving in and out of a car wash.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Avetisian et al. (US 20200283004 A1) and Maurer et al. (DE 102021129630 A1) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Weston et al. (US 9650019 B2).
Regarding claim 16, Avetisian does not teach further including an inputter, wherein the processor is further configured to transmit a change control signal of the operating state to the at least one electronic device in response to an ON instruction of the vehicle washing mode received through the inputter.
Weston teaches further including an inputter, wherein the processor is further configured to transmit a change control signal of the operating state to the at least one electronic device in response to an ON instruction of the vehicle washing mode received through the inputter (Weston: Paragraph 6: “One way to allow a vehicle with modern features to use a car wash facility includes a vehicle system that can execute a car wash mode. Specifically, the vehicle system includes a processing device programmed to activate the car wash mode in response to receiving a first user input signal indicating that the vehicle is about to enter a car wash. Activating the car wash may include, among other things, temporarily disabling at least one vehicle safety system, limiting a maximum vehicle speed to a predetermined value, activating at least one external vehicle light, unlocking at least one vehicle door and keeping the at least one vehicle door unlocked at least while the car wash mode remains activated, disabling an automatic wiper system, turning off a vehicle engine while in a neutral transmission state, and at least temporarily setting a parking brake.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Avetisian with the teachings of Weston with a reasonable expectation of success. Both of the systems taught by Avetisian and Weston relate to the vehicle to be able to go into a car wash mode. Both of these modes are used to interact with the vehicle in a way of disabling and enabling some of the features where Avetisian teaches an automatic method and Weston teaches the ability of the user to enable this method. One with knowledge in the art would find it obvious to try to combine this with Avetisian as it will improve the efficiency of the vehicles. For example, if the automatic method of Avetisian does not recognize a car wash, the user is able to manually select this mode which turns off some of the vehicle electronic devices that are prone to damage from the car wash (Avetisian: Paragraph 0040 – 0046). For these reasons, one would find it obvious to try to combine the teaching of Avetisian with Weston.
Regarding claim 17, Avetisian, as modified, does not teach wherein the processor is further configured to: transmit the return control signal to the at least one electronic device in response to an OFF instruction of the vehicle washing mode received through the inputter.
Weston teaches wherein the processor is further configured to: transmit the return control signal to the at least one electronic device in response to an OFF instruction of the vehicle washing mode received through the inputter (Weston: Paragraph 6: “The car wash mode may be disabled upon receipt of a second user input signal. The second user input signal may be generated in response to a user actuating a door handle, turning a steering wheel, pressing a throttle, pressing a brake pedal, or actuating a shifter. The parking brake may be temporarily set in response to receiving the second user input signal and released in response to the processing device detecting that an occupant is present in the vehicle.”,
Supplemental Note: the second user input is the OFF instruction through one of the inputs stated above).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Avetisian with the teachings of Weston with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to the rejection of claim 16 as both claim the same functional language and therefore rejected under the same pretenses.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see section Rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 of the REMARKS, filed 05/22/2026, with respect to claims 1 – 19 invoking a 35 U.S.C. 103 prior art rejection have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant states that the prior art of Avetisian, Maurer, Gao, Yamane, Song, Meisterknecht, Samukawa and/or Weston do not teach the amended claim limitations of claims 1 and 9 stating: “wherein the at least one sensor is part of a parking driver assistance device, and wherein the determination that the vehicle washing is complete is further made by acquiring movement information of a surrounding obstacle corresponding to a car wash cleaning tool based on detection information from the parking driver assistance device;”. Applicant states that Maurer teaches detecting the presence/absence of a car wash tools in front of the vehicle is empty but not disclosing that the carwash is determined to be completed. Examiner respectfully disagrees. The claim amendments are broad enough to be taught by Avetisian in view of Maurer. Paragraph 0038 of Maurer states: “The end of the car wash can be recognized, for example, by the fact that washing brushes, drying equipment and other devices intended for the washing process are no longer located in an area in front of the vehicle.” and paragraph 0037 of Maurer states: “According to another embodiment, the control device detects that the end of the car wash has been reached by identifying an area in front of the vehicle as free of obstacles, based on the sensor data from one or more ultrasonic sensors.”, based off these citations, it can be interpreted that the ultrasonic sensors used to identify obstacles in front of the vehicle can also detect when those obstacles are not there to determine whether or not the car wash has ended. These obstacles can be washing brushes while the ultrasonic sensors are also used by the parking assistance system (Maurer: Paragraph 0034). All of these citations can be interpreted to teach the amended claim limitation as the vehicle can use sensors to determine whether or not a washing brush is still in front of the vehicle (movement can be identified by recognizing the brush being there for one instance and not another) and then determine that the car wash has ended, thus completed. Please see section Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103.
Conclusion
/SHIVAM SHARMA/Examiner, Art Unit 3665
/Erin D Bishop/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3665