DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to remarks filed 01/26/2026.
Claims 1-21 are pending and presented for examination. Claims 1, 7, 17-19, and 21 are amended. Claim 22 is cancelled. No amendments are added.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Objection to claim 22 is withdrawn.
112(f) interpretation of claim 22 is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-17, 19, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato. (US 20140023012 A1, hereinafter “Sato”), in view of Huang et al. (US 20180279348 A1, hereinafter “Huang”).
RE Claim 1, Sato discloses:
A base station for wireless communication with a plurality of terminals (¶0027, Fig. 1), comprising:
wireless communication circuitry configured (¶0034, Fig. 2), during transmission time slots allocated for transmission (downlink sub-frames, slots. ¶0047, Fig. 3:302d), to transmit downlink data for reception by one or more of the terminals (base transmits to terminal on sub-frames, slots. ¶0047, Fig. 3:302d), and further configured, during reception time slots allocated for reception (uplink sub-frames, slots. ¶0047, Fig. 302u), to receive uplink data transmitted by one or more of the terminals (terminal transmits to base on sub-frames, slots. ¶0047, Fig. 3:302u);
downlink scheduling circuitry configured to determine (scheduling executing section. ¶0033, Fig. 2:122; ¶0039), for each transmission time slot, one or more downlink data allocations (scheduling downlink subframes, slots. ¶0086, Fig. 10), each downlink data allocation identifying a terminal to which downlink data is to be transmitted (Scheduling allocation to each communication terminal as a communication target, identifying terminal, with a downlink radio resource. ¶0039, Fig. 2:122), and wireless communication resources to be used by the wireless communication circuitry during the transmission time slot to transmit the downlink data to the identified terminal (Transmission signal generating section, 120, generates transmission signal including data transmitted to communication terminal based on downlink radio resource. ¶0039, Fig. 2:120; Scheduling allocation to each communication terminal as a communication target, identifying terminal, with a downlink radio resource. ¶0039, Fig. 2:122); and
control information generation circuitry to generate (Transmission signal generating section, 120, generates a transmission signal including the control data for notifying the uplink-communication-determined terminal about uplink radio resources allocated. ¶0098, Fig. 11:s5) (a), for transmission in a given transmission time slot (Transmission signal generating section, 120, generates a transmission signal including the control data for notifying the uplink-communication-determined terminal about uplink radio resources allocated. ¶0098, Fig. 11:s5; Notification about uplink radio resources allocated to the terminal for sub-frames, 302u, for the current scheduling target time, a set of slots. ¶0099), downlink control information identifying one or more downlink data allocations (Notification about downlink radio resources allocated to the downlink-determined-communication terminal includes control data and transmitted to terminal. ¶0102), and (b) uplink control information identifying an uplink data allocation selected from the candidate list (Transmission signal generating section, 120, generates a transmission signal including the control data for notifying the uplink-communication-determined terminal, an identified terminal of a terminal list, about uplink radio resources allocated. ¶0098, Fig. 11:s5), wherein the control information generation circuitry is arranged to select the uplink data allocation from the candidate list such that the terminal associated with the selected uplink data allocation will be able to receive the uplink control information (Transmission signal generating section, 120, generates a transmission signal including the control data for notifying the uplink-communication-determined terminal, an identified terminal of a terminal list, about uplink radio resources allocated, resources assigned to ensure communication time. ¶0098, Fig. 11:s5), given the wireless communication resources to be employed by the wireless communication circuitry during the given transmission time slot (Total resources of uplink resources, ¶0098, and downlink resources, ¶0102).
Sato does not explicitly disclose:
uplink scheduling circuitry configured to, before the downlink scheduling circuitry determines the one or more downlink data allocations, determine a candidate list of uplink data allocations mapping, for one or more reception time slots subsequent to a current transmission time slot being considered by the downlink scheduling circuitry, each respective terminal, which may be allocated to transmit uplink data within the one or more reception time slots, to the wireless communication resources to be used for the respective terminal;
However, Huang discloses:
uplink scheduling circuitry configured to (UL Traffic and Control Channel Processing, Opportunistic Configuration, and Resource Assignment and Scheduling, configured to schedule uplink grants, circuitry sections of the Scheduling Entity, base station. ¶¶0095-0096, 0103, 0106, 0113-0116, Fig. 8: 844, 841, 842), before the downlink scheduling circuitry (DL Traffic and Control Channel Processing, Opportunistic Configuration, and Resource Assignment and Scheduling, configured to schedule downlink grants, circuitry sections of the Scheduling Entity, base station. ¶¶0095-0096, 0103, 0106, 0108-0112, Fig. 8: 843, 841, 842) determines the one or more downlink data allocations (Scheduling of uplink resources for use by scheduled entities, UEs, may be semi-persistent scheduling, SPS, where the scheduled entity is pre-configured by the scheduling entity, base station, with a periodicity of uplink grants. ¶0085; Examiner interpreted as uplink scheduling and resources are determined before DL resources. Opportunistic uplink transmissions may begin at designated, pre-defined, locations within the set of unused resources. ¶0117; Scheduling entity, base station, determines unused uplink resources within the current slot and transmits the unused resource information to the scheduled entity, UE. ¶0138, Fig. 10. Examiner interpreted as UL resources and scheduling are determined before DL resources. ), determine a candidate list of uplink data allocations mapping (uplink (UL) traffic and control channel reception and processing circuitry 844, configured to receive and process uplink control channels and uplink traffic channels from one or more scheduled entities. In general, the UL traffic and control channel reception and processing circuitry 844 may operate in coordination with the resource assignment and scheduling circuitry 841 to schedule UL user data traffic transmissions, DL user data traffic transmissions and/or DL user data traffic retransmissions in accordance with the received UL control information. ¶0113; Examiner interpreted as scheduled entities, UEs, coordinated with resources and scheduling to schedule UL user data, mapping of transmissions to specific UE.), for one or more reception time slots subsequent to a current transmission time slot being considered by the downlink scheduling circuitry (The assigned uplink resources for the traffic may be within the same slot as the PDCCH carrying the scheduling information (e.g., when the PDCCH is transmitted in an UL-centric slot) or within a subsequent slot (e.g., when the PDCCH is transmitted in a DL-centric slot. ¶0088; For example, the DL traffic and control channel generation and transmission circuitry may transmit the feedback information for opportunistic PUSCH transmissions and the uplink grants for opportunistic scheduling request transmissions within the PDCCH (DL burst) of the next slot. ¶0112), each respective terminal, which may be allocated to transmit uplink data within the one or more reception time slots, to the wireless communication resources to be used for the respective terminal (uplink (UL) traffic and control channel reception and processing circuitry 844, configured to receive and process uplink control channels and uplink traffic channels from one or more scheduled entities. In general, the UL traffic and control channel reception and processing circuitry 844 may operate in coordination with the resource assignment and scheduling circuitry 841 to schedule UL user data traffic transmissions, DL user data traffic transmissions and/or DL user data traffic retransmissions in accordance with the received UL control information. ¶0113; Examiner interpreted as scheduled entities, UEs, coordinated with resources and scheduling to schedule UL user data, mapping of transmissions to specific UE.);
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Sato, determination and indication of uplink and downlink resource allocations, with the teachings of Huang, determine uplink resource allocations and schedule opportunistic transmission times for each UE.
The motivation in doing so would be to improvement in scheduling, latency, throughput, and network efficiency by utilizing all available uplink transmission opportunities. (Sato: Abstract, ¶¶0007-0008, 0009-0010, 0090-0091, 0095, 0097, 0104, Fig. 11; Huang: Abstract, ¶¶0003-0005, 0007-0011, 0093, 0117)
RE Claim 2, Sato discloses:
A base station, further comprising antenna circuitry that is operated by the wireless communication circuitry to provide beams selected from a set of available beams (Control of the transmission directivity of the array antenna, 110, is referred to as array transmission control of the base station. ¶0042, Fig. 1:110; Communication section controls the transmission directivity, a beam, of a plurality of antennas, beams. ¶¶0007-008), and for each identified terminal the wireless communication resources comprise at least a selected beam to be used for communication with the identified terminal (Target communication terminal, an identified terminal, receives downlink communication by a beam appropriately directed to the terminal. ¶0169).
RE Claim 3, Sato discloses:
A base station, wherein the beams in the set of beams are directional beams (Control of the transmission directivity of the array antenna, 110, is referred to as array transmission control of the base station. ¶0042, Fig. 1:110; Communication section controls the transmission directivity, a beam, of a plurality of antennas, beams. ¶¶0007-008), and for any particular selected beam the terminals able to use that selected beam will be dependent on locations of those terminals (Target communication terminal, an identified terminal, receives downlink communication by a beam appropriately directed to the terminal and its location given spatial feature of an antenna with directivity. ¶0169).
RE Claim 4, Sato discloses:
A base station, wherein the base station is constrained to not exceed a defined maximum number of beams in the given transmission time slot (Control of transmission directivity of a plurality of antennas are selectively used with efficiency. ¶0009; The generated transmission signals are equal in number to the antennas constituting the antenna array, a maximum number of beams. ¶0034).
RE Claim 5, Sato discloses:
A base station, wherein the wireless communication circuitry is able to change the selected beams between each transmission time slot and between each reception time slot (Communications section, circuitry, adjusts reception weights and transmission weights of the array antenna to thereby set the beam and null of the reception directivity and transmission directivity towards the identified communication terminal. ¶0038; When transmitting a signal to an identified terminal in the downlink sub-frame, slot, performs null steering and beamforming for the transmission directivity of the array antenna. When receiving a signal from the identified terminal, the terminal transmits, a sub-frame or slot, a known signal such SRS or DRS to the base station. Base station uses an algorithm on the received signals to update the reception weights of the antenna array for to set beamforming and null steering. ¶0081;).
RE Claim 6, Sato discloses:
A base station, wherein the wireless communication resources to be employed by the wireless communication circuitry (¶0034, Fig. 2) during the given transmission time slot are the wireless communication resources used for each downlink data allocation determined for that transmission time slot. (downlink sub-frames, slots. ¶0047, Fig. 3:302d; scheduling downlink subframes, slots. ¶0086, Fig. 10; Transmission signal generating section, 120, generates transmission signal including data transmitted to communication terminal based on downlink radio resource, wireless communication resources. ¶0039, Fig. 2:120; Scheduling allocation to each communication terminal as a communication target, identifying terminal, with a downlink radio resource. ¶0039, Fig. 2:122)
RE Claim 7, Sato discloses:
A base station, wherein the one or more downlink data allocations identified by the downlink control information comprise each downlink data allocation for the given transmission time slot (Notification about downlink radio resources allocated to the downlink-determined-communication terminal includes control data and transmitted to terminal. ¶0102), and the one or more uplink data allocations identified by the uplink control information relate to one or more future reception time slots occurring subsequent to the given transmission time slot (Transmission signal generating section, 120, generates a transmission signal including the control data for notifying the uplink-communication-determined terminal, an identified terminal of a terminal list, about uplink radio resources allocated. ¶0098, Fig. 11:s5; Scheduling target time period, processes s1-s5 of fig. 11, is executed in the TDD frame immediately preceding the TDD frame of the scheduling target time. ¶0089, Fig. 11).
RE Claim 8, Sato discloses:
A base station as claimed in Claim 1, wherein the transmission time slots and reception time slots are organised into frames, each frame comprising multiple transmission time slots and one or more reception time slots. (downlink sub-frames, slots. ¶0047, Fig. 3:302d; uplink sub-frames, slots. ¶0047, Fig. 302u; Uplink and downlink resources are allocated to each terminal based on the TDD frame. ¶0044; Fig. 3:300)
RE Claim 9, Sato discloses:
A base station as claimed in Claim 8, wherein the uplink scheduling circuitry (scheduling executing section. ¶0033, Fig. 2:122; ¶0039) is arranged to compute the candidate list of uplink data allocations for each reception time slot of a given frame ahead of the downlink scheduling circuitry computing the downlink data allocations for any transmission time slot of the given frame. (Scheduling target time period, processes s1-s5 of fig. 11, is executed in the TDD frame immediately preceding the TDD frame of the scheduling target time. ¶0089, Fig. 11; Scheduling executing section, 122, determines an uplink priority for each of the communication terminals, a candidate list. ¶0090, Fig.2, Fig. 11:s1; Next, after uplink priority scheduling, the scheduling executing section determines a downlink priority for each of the communication terminals, a candidate list, subjected to the downlink communication. ¶0091, Fig. 11:s2; Uplink sub-frames, 302u, are subsequent to the downlink sub-frames, 302d. ¶0086, Fig. 10; Allocation of uplink and downlink resource is determined by scheduling executing section for each sub-frame, slots. ¶0048)
RE Claim 10, Sato discloses:
A base station, wherein the uplink scheduling circuitry (scheduling executing section. ¶0033, Fig. 2:122; ¶0039) is arranged to compute the candidate list of uplink data allocations either sequentially for each reception time slot of the given frame or for all reception time slots of the given frame in parallel. (Base station determines uplink and downlink radio resources to be allocated to each of the communication terminals. ¶0044; Allocation of uplink and downlink resource is determined by scheduling executing section for each sub-frame, slots. ¶0048)
RE Claim 11, Sato discloses:
A base station, wherein the downlink scheduling circuitry (scheduling executing section. ¶0033, Fig. 2:122; ¶0039) is arranged to perform a separate scheduling operation for each transmission time slot of the frame in order to determine the one or more downlink data allocations for that transmission time slot. (Base station determines uplink and downlink radio resources to be allocated to each of the communication terminals. ¶0044; Allocation of uplink and downlink resource is determined by scheduling executing section for each sub-frame, slots. ¶0048)
RE Claim 12, Sato discloses:
A base station, wherein the uplink scheduling circuitry (scheduling executing section. ¶0033, Fig. 2:122; ¶0039) is arranged to perform a scheduling operation once per frame such that the candidate list of uplink data allocations for each reception time slot is recomputed for each frame. (Scheduling target time period, processes s1-s5 of fig. 11, is executed in the TDD frame immediately preceding the TDD frame of the scheduling target time. ¶0089, Fig. 11; Scheduling executing section, 122, determines an uplink priority for each of the communication terminals, a candidate list. ¶0090, Fig.2, Fig. 11:s1; Next, after uplink priority scheduling, the scheduling executing section determines a downlink priority for each of the communication terminals, a candidate list, subjected to the downlink communication. ¶0091, Fig. 11:s2; Uplink sub-frames, 302u, are subsequent to the downlink sub-frames, 302d. ¶0086, Fig. 10; Allocation of uplink and downlink resource is determined by scheduling executing section for each sub-frame, slots. ¶0048)
RE Claim 13, Sato discloses:
A base station, wherein each frame comprises a sequence of transmission time slots preceding a sequence of reception time slots. (Uplink sub-frames, 302u, are subsequent to the downlink sub-frames, 302d. ¶0086, Fig. 10)
RE Claim 14, Sato discloses:
A base station, wherein the downlink scheduling circuitry (scheduling executing section. ¶0033, Fig. 2:122; ¶0039) is arranged to employ a downlink scheduling algorithm aimed at sharing the downlink data allocations amongst the plurality of terminals in a defined way. (Downlink priority is determined on proportional fairness in the scheduling target time period. ¶0106)
RE Claim 15, Sato discloses:
A base station, wherein the uplink scheduling circuitry (scheduling executing section. ¶0033, Fig. 2:122; ¶0039) is arranged to employ an uplink scheduling algorithm aimed at sharing the uplink data allocations amongst the plurality of terminals in a defined way (Uplink priority is determined on proportional fairness in the scheduling target time period. ¶0105).
RE Claim 16, Sato discloses:
A base station, wherein each of the downlink scheduling circuitry (scheduling executing section. ¶0033, Fig. 2:122; ¶0039) and the uplink scheduling circuitry (scheduling executing section. ¶0033, Fig. 2:122; ¶0039) is arranged to employ a proportional-fair scheduling (PFS) algorithm. (Uplink and downlink priorities are based on proportional fairness in the scheduling target time period. ¶¶0104-0106)
RE Claim 17, Sato discloses:
A base station (¶0027, Fig. 1), wherein:
the wireless communication resources identify one or more beams to be used for communication (Target communication terminal, an identified terminal, receives downlink communication by a beam appropriately directed to the terminal. ¶0169); and
the control information generation circuitry is arranged (Notification about downlink radio resources allocated to the downlink-determined-communication terminal includes control data and transmitted to terminal. ¶0102), for each downlink data allocation determined by the downlink scheduling circuitry (scheduling executing section. ¶0033, Fig. 2:122; ¶0039) for the given transmission time slot (Notification about downlink radio resources allocated to the downlink-determined-communication terminal includes control data and transmitted to terminal. ¶0102; Total resources of uplink resources, ¶0098, and downlink resources, ¶0102), to identify the beam specified by the wireless communication resources of that downlink data allocation (Target communication terminal, an identified terminal, receives downlink communication by a beam appropriately directed to the terminal. ¶0169), to select, if available, the uplink data allocation from the candidate list that employs the beam identified for that downlink data allocation (Transmission directivity, beam, determined by transmission weights which are also determined from reception weights, based on uplink signals from identified terminals, to set the beam directivity. ¶0038), and to generate the uplink control information for transmission in the given transmission time slot so as to identify the selected uplink data allocation. (Transmission signal generating section, 120, generates a transmission signal including the control data for notifying the uplink-communication-determined terminal, an identified terminal of a terminal list, about uplink radio resources allocated. ¶0098, Fig. 11:s5)
RE Claim 19, Sato discloses:
A base station, wherein the control information generation circuitry is arranged to constrain multiple uplink data allocations selected from the candidate list so that the uplink control information generated for transmission in the given transmission time slot identifies no more than one uplink data allocation for any given terminal. (Scheduling executing section allocates to each communication terminal, a candidate list, as a communication target an uplink radio resource, a single data allocation, for use in transmission from terminal to base station. Transmission signal generating section outputs a transmission signal including control data for notifying a terminal about the uplink radio resource allocated. ¶0040)
RE Claim 21, Sato discloses:
A method of operating a base station for wireless communication with a plurality of terminals (¶0027, Fig. 1), comprising:
during transmission time slots allocated for transmission (downlink sub-frames, slots. ¶0047, Fig. 3:302d), transmitting downlink data for reception by one or more of the terminals (base transmits to terminal on sub-frames, slots. ¶0047, Fig. 3:302d);
during reception time slots allocated for reception (uplink sub-frames, slots. ¶0047, Fig. 302u), receiving uplink data transmitted by one or more of the terminals (terminal transmits to base on sub-frames, slots. ¶0047, Fig. 3:302u);
determining for each transmission time slot, using downlink scheduling circuitry (scheduling executing section. ¶0033, Fig. 2:122; ¶0039), one or more downlink data allocations (scheduling downlink subframes, slots. ¶0086, Fig. 10), each downlink data allocation identifying a terminal to which downlink data is to be transmitted (Scheduling allocation to each communication terminal as a communication target, identifying terminal, with a downlink radio resource. ¶0039, Fig. 2:122), and wireless communication resources to be used during the transmission time slot to transmit the downlink data to the identified terminal (Transmission signal generating section, 120, generates transmission signal including data transmitted to communication terminal based on downlink radio resource. ¶0039, Fig. 2:120; Scheduling allocation to each communication terminal as a communication target, identifying terminal, with a downlink radio resource. ¶0039, Fig. 2:122); and
generating (a), for transmission in a given transmission time slot (Transmission signal generating section, 120, generates a transmission signal including the control data for notifying the uplink-communication-determined terminal about uplink radio resources allocated. ¶0098, Fig. 11:s5; Transmission signal generating section, 120, generates a transmission signal including the control data for notifying the uplink-communication-determined terminal about uplink radio resources allocated. ¶0098, Fig. 11:s5; Notification about uplink radio resources allocated to the terminal for sub-frames, 302u, for the current scheduling target time, a set of slots. ¶0099), downlink control information identifying one or more downlink data allocations (Notification about downlink radio resources allocated to the downlink-determined-communication terminal includes control data and transmitted to terminal. ¶0102), and (b) uplink control information identifying an uplink data allocation selected from the candidate list (Transmission signal generating section, 120, generates a transmission signal including the control data for notifying the uplink-communication-determined terminal, an identified terminal of a terminal list, about uplink radio resources allocated, resources assigned to ensure communication time. ¶0098, Fig. 11:s5), wherein the uplink data allocation is selected from the candidate list such that the terminal associated with the selected uplink data allocation will be able to receive the uplink control information (Transmission signal generating section, 120, generates a transmission signal including the control data for notifying the uplink-communication-determined terminal, an identified terminal of a terminal list, about uplink radio resources allocated, resources assigned to ensure communication time. ¶0098, Fig. 11:s5), given the wireless communication resources to be employed during the given transmission time slot (Total resources of uplink resources, ¶0098, and downlink resources, ¶0102).
Sato does not explicitly disclose:
determining, before the downlink scheduling circuitry determines the one or more downlink data allocations and using uplink scheduling circuitry, a candidate list of uplink data allocations mapping, for one or more reception time slots subsequent to a current transmission time slot being considered by the downlink scheduling circuitry, each respective terminal which may be allocated to transmit uplink data within the one or more reception time slots to the wireless communication resources to be used for the respective terminal;
However, Huang discloses: determining, before the downlink scheduling circuitry (DL Traffic and Control Channel Processing, Opportunistic Configuration, and Resource Assignment and Scheduling, configured to schedule downlink grants, circuitry sections of the Scheduling Entity, base station. ¶¶0095-0096, 0103, 0106, 0108-0112, Fig. 8: 843, 841, 842) determines the one or more downlink data allocations (Scheduling of uplink resources for use by scheduled entities, UEs, may be semi-persistent scheduling, SPS, where the scheduled entity is pre-configured by the scheduling entity, base station, with a periodicity of uplink grants. ¶0085; Examiner interpreted as uplink scheduling and resources are determined before DL resources. Opportunistic uplink transmissions may begin at designated, pre-defined, locations within the set of unused resources. ¶0117; Scheduling entity, base station, determines unused uplink resources within the current slot and transmits the unused resource information to the scheduled entity, UE. ¶0138, Fig. 10. Examiner interpreted as UL resources and scheduling are determined before DL resources. ) and using uplink scheduling circuitry (UL Traffic and Control Channel Processing, Opportunistic Configuration, and Resource Assignment and Scheduling, configured to schedule uplink grants, circuitry sections of the Scheduling Entity, base station. ¶¶0095-0096, 0103, 0106, 0113-0116, Fig. 8: 844, 841, 842), a candidate list of uplink data allocations mapping (uplink (UL) traffic and control channel reception and processing circuitry 844, configured to receive and process uplink control channels and uplink traffic channels from one or more scheduled entities. In general, the UL traffic and control channel reception and processing circuitry 844 may operate in coordination with the resource assignment and scheduling circuitry 841 to schedule UL user data traffic transmissions, DL user data traffic transmissions and/or DL user data traffic retransmissions in accordance with the received UL control information. ¶0113; Examiner interpreted as scheduled entities, UEs, coordinated with resources and scheduling to schedule UL user data, mapping of transmissions to specific UE.), for one or more reception time slots subsequent to a current transmission time slot being considered by the downlink scheduling circuitry (The assigned uplink resources for the traffic may be within the same slot as the PDCCH carrying the scheduling information (e.g., when the PDCCH is transmitted in an UL-centric slot) or within a subsequent slot (e.g., when the PDCCH is transmitted in a DL-centric slot. ¶0088; For example, the DL traffic and control channel generation and transmission circuitry may transmit the feedback information for opportunistic PUSCH transmissions and the uplink grants for opportunistic scheduling request transmissions within the PDCCH (DL burst) of the next slot. ¶0112), each respective terminal which may be allocated to transmit uplink data within the one or more reception time slots to the wireless communication resources to be used for the respective terminal (uplink (UL) traffic and control channel reception and processing circuitry 844, configured to receive and process uplink control channels and uplink traffic channels from one or more scheduled entities. In general, the UL traffic and control channel reception and processing circuitry 844 may operate in coordination with the resource assignment and scheduling circuitry 841 to schedule UL user data traffic transmissions, DL user data traffic transmissions and/or DL user data traffic retransmissions in accordance with the received UL control information. ¶0113; Examiner interpreted as scheduled entities, UEs, coordinated with resources and scheduling to schedule UL user data, mapping of transmissions to specific UE.);
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Sato, determination and indication of uplink and downlink resource allocations, with the teachings of Huang, determine uplink resource allocations and schedule opportunistic transmission times for each UE.
The motivation in doing so would be to improvement in scheduling, latency, throughput, and network efficiency by utilizing all available uplink transmission opportunities. (Sato: Abstract, ¶¶0007-0008, 0009-0010, 0090-0091, 0095, 0097, 0104, Fig. 11; Huang: Abstract, ¶¶0003-0005, 0007-0011, 0093, 0117)
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato, in view of Huang, in view of Tang et al. (US 20200163074 A1, hereinafter “Tang”).
RE Claim 18, Sato does not disclose:
A base station, wherein once the uplink data allocation has been selected form the candidate list, the selected uplink data allocation is prevented from reselection.
However, Tang discloses:
A base station, wherein once the uplink data allocation has been selected form the candidate list, the selected uplink data allocation is prevented from reselection. (Serving beam is the downlink transmission beam and is also an uplink receiving beam configured by the network device, base station. ¶0026; Beam configuration sent by the base station, network device. When terminal determines a quality of the beam signal is less than a preset threshold or rule, terminal sends a beam adjustment request message to the base station, network device. Beam adjustment configuration information is used to instruct the terminal to adjust the beam so terminal may continue to send data. ¶0151. Therefore, the terminal must request a reselection from the base station preventing the terminal from reselection according to normal procedures.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Sato, allocation of uplink and downlink priorities with a set of antenna beams for a terminal in a group of terminals, with the teachings of Tang, prevent terminal reselection by a terminal until a specific threshold or rule is met to maintain connection.
The motivation in doing so would be to support improvements to prioritized traffic management of a link and beam management to maintain connection to a plurality of terminals.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato, in view of Huang, in view of Kanemoto et al. (US 20200287618 A1, hereinafter “Kanemoto”).
RE Claim 20, Sato does not explicitly disclose:
A base station, wherein the base station is arranged for deployment in an air-to-ground (ATG) system, and each of the plurality of terminals are deployed in an aircraft.
However, Kanemoto discloses:
A base station, wherein the base station is arranged for deployment in an air-to-ground (ATG) system, and each of the plurality of terminals are deployed in an aircraft. (Base station device for performing air-to-ground, ATG, communication with an aircraft terminal. ¶0008; Base station has horizontally and vertically antenna adapted for air-to-ground communication. Aircraft terminal is placed in the aircraft. ¶0050, Fig. 2; Aircraft terminal schematic adapted for air-to-ground communication. ¶¶0055-0056, Fig. 3: 2)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Sato, allocation of uplink and downlink priorities with a set of antenna beams for a terminal in a group of terminals, with the teachings of Kanemoto, inclusion of terminals placed on an aircraft.
The motivation in doing so would be to support prioritized traffic management of a link and beam management to maintain connection to a plurality of air-to-ground terminals.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments, those not overcome by new reference, filed 01/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s second argument is directed to claim 1 limitation for control information generation circuitry… uplink control information identifying an uplink data allocation selected from the candidate list,”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Sato discloses transmitting control data for notifying terminals, an uplink communication determined terminal, about allocated resources during a scheduled target time. Per the last office action: Transmission signal generating section, 120, generates a transmission signal including the control data for notifying the uplink-communication-determined terminal about uplink radio resources allocated. ¶0098, Fig. 11:s5; Notification about uplink radio resources allocated to the terminal for sub-frames, 302u, for the current scheduling target time, a set of slots. ¶0099.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
US 20150215059 A1 Kerpez et el.
US 20230422238 A1 Kazmi et al.
US 20190364492 A1 Azizi et al.
US 20190357219 A1 Wong et al.
US 20220124781 A1 Meylan et al. (preschedule)
US 20170223719 A1 Huang
US 20180367283 A1 Huang et al.
US 20190174526 A1 Liu et al.
US 20230209530 A1 Rastegardoost et al.
The above references disclose various aspects of methods to improve uplink and downlink transmissions for network improvements.
/PAUL A. LANGER/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419