DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in reply communication filed on 03/27/2026.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Argument
Applicant’s arguments, see page 7, filled on 03/27/2026, with respect to rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 of claims 1-3, 6-7, 11, and 18-20 have been fully considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1, 3, 6, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 unpatentable over Cirik et al. (US 2020/0053613) in view of Huang; (US 2023/0120407).
Regarding claim 1, Cirik discloses a method, comprising:
sending, by a wireless communication node to a wireless communication device, a beam switching configuration indicating a configured grant to a wireless communication device [¶¶ 281, 317, 364; transmit, by a wireless communication node/gNB, one or more RRC message comprising configuration parameters of one or more coresets (gNB may transmit one or more RRC messages indicating a periodicity of the CS grant, see ¶¶ 244, 338)];
determining, by the wireless communication node, a threshold for beam switching for configured grant [¶ 355, 385; the threshold may be a RSRP value (e.g., −140 dbm, −110 dbm) or a SINR value (e.g., −3 dB, −1 dB), which may be configured in a RRC message]; and
detecting, by the wireless communication node when the wireless communication device is in the RRC inactive state [¶¶ 303-305; when a wireless device in an RRC inactive state moves into a new RNA], that a quality of a beam received via the configured grant is below the threshold [¶¶ 335-336; that a quality of a beam received via the configured grant is below the threshold; See ¶¶ 400-401; configured uplink grant Type 1].
Cirik disclose all aspects of claim invention set forth above, but does not explicitly disclose
initiating, by the wireless communication node, beam switching via the configured grant with the wireless communication device responsive to detecting that the quality of the beam is below the threshold.
However, Huang discloses detecting, by the wireless communication node when the wireless communication device is in the RRC inactive state [¶¶ 111, 140 detecting, by the network node (e.g., gNB) when the UE is in/during the IDT (inactive data transmission)], that a quality of a beam received via the configured grant from the wireless communication device is below the threshold [¶¶ 111; that a quality of a beam received via the configured CG from the UE is below the threshold]
initiating, by the wireless communication node, beam switching via the configured grant with the wireless communication device responsive to detecting that the quality of the beam is below the threshold [See ¶¶ 111-112; initiating, by the UE, RACH procedure/beam switching with the new beam via the configured CG with the UE responsive to detecting that the quality of the beam is below the threshold].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide “initiating, by the wireless communication node, beam switching via the configured grant responsive to detecting that the quality of the beam is below the threshold” as taught by Huang in the system of Cirik, so that it would provide capacity and connectivity, such as energy consumption, device cost, spectral efficiency, and latency to provide higher quality of service [See Huang; ¶ 3].
Regarding claim 3, the method of claim 1, the combined system of Cirik and Huang discloses the method of claim 1.
Cirik further discloses comprising sending, by the wireless communication node, the beam switching configuration to the wireless communication device via at least a RRC message or an information element (IE) for a configured grant configuration in a RRC message [¶¶ 364, 367, 370, 648; gNB transmitting one or more RRC message comprising configuration parameters of one or more coresets].
Regarding claim 6, the method of claim 1, the combined system of Cirik and Huang discloses the method of claim 1.
Cirik further discloses comprising receiving, by the wireless communication node from the wireless communication device, at least one of: an indication of a synchronization signal block (SSB) having best quality amongst a plurality of SSBs, or time information for the wireless communication device to perform the beam switching [¶¶ 367, 369; beam failure recovery procedure may be used for indicating to a serving base station of a new (e.g., candidate) SSB].
Regarding claim 18, the claim recites a method to perform the method steps recited as in claim 1; therefore, claim 18 is rejected along the same rationale that rejected in claim 1.
Regarding claim 19, the claim recites a wireless communication node, comprising: at least one processor (Fig. 3, ¶ 198; a base station 1, 120A comprises at least one processor 321A, and at least one set of program code instructions 323A stored in non-transitory memory 322A and executable by the at least one processor 321A) configured to perform the method steps recited as in claim 1; therefore, claim 18 is rejected along the same rationale that rejected in claim 1.
Regarding claim 20, the claim recites a wireless communication node, comprising: at least one processor (Fig. 3, ¶ 211; a wireless device 110 comprises at least one processor 314, and at least one set of program code instructions 316 stored in non-transitory memory 315 and executable by the at least one processor 314) configured to perform the method steps recited as in claim 1; therefore, claim 18 is rejected along the same rationale that rejected in claim 1.
Claims 2 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 unpatentable over Cirik et al. (US 2020/0053613) in view of Huang; (US 2023/0120407), and further in view of MolavianJazi et al. (US 20210184812).
Regarding claim 2, the method of claim 1, the combined system of Cirik and Huang discloses the method of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the beam switching configuration comprises at least one of: an indication to support beam switching for each of a plurality of configured grants or for the plurality of configured grants at the wireless communication device; an indication to maintain each of the plurality of configured grants or the plurality of configured grants at the wireless communication device when the wireless communication device is in the RRC inactive state; or the threshold for the beam switching, for each of the plurality of configured grants or for the plurality of configured grants at the wireless communication device.
However, MolavianJazi discloses wherein the beam switching configuration comprises at least one of: an indication to support beam switching for each of a plurality of configured grants or for the plurality of configured grants at the wireless communication device; an indication to maintain each of the plurality of configured grants or the plurality of configured grants at the wireless communication device when the wireless communication device is in the RRC inactive state; or the threshold for the beam switching, for each of the plurality of configured grants or for the plurality of configured grants at the wireless communication device [¶ 171; wherein the configuration includes a beam indication RS resource, such as a SRI, or TCI state, or QCL assumption 710, for each transmission occasion of the CG PUSCH, the UE determines the latest transmission/reception of the beam indication RS resource prior to the CG PUSCH transmission occasion (possibly additionally offset by a UE processing time) 720].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide “wherein the beam switching configuration comprises at least one of: an indication to support beam switching for each of a plurality of configured grants or for the plurality of configured grants at the wireless communication device; an indication to maintain each of the plurality of configured grants or the plurality of configured grants at the wireless communication device when the wireless communication device is in the RRC inactive state; or the threshold for the beam switching, for each of the plurality of configured grants or for the plurality of configured grants at the wireless communication device” as taught by MolavianJazi in the combined system of Cirik and Huang, so that it would provide assistance information to the UE regarding all possible beam-candidates for a given TRP in the vicinity of the UE from the serving gNB and neighboring gNBs [see Huang; ¶ 77].
Regarding claim 11, the method of claim 1, the combined system of Cirik and Huang discloses the method of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the beam switching configuration comprises at least one of: an indication to support beam switching for each of a plurality of configured grants or for the plurality of configured grants at the wireless communication device, a configuration for sounding reference signal (SRS), containing at least information on one or more sets of SRS resources, for each of the plurality of configured grants or for the plurality of configured grants at the wireless communication device; an indication to maintain each of the plurality of configured grants, or the plurality of configured grants at the wireless communication device, when the wireless communication device is in the RRC inactive state, or a threshold for the beam switching for each of the plurality of configured grants or for the plurality of configured grants at the wireless communication device.
However, MolavianJazi discloses wherein the beam switching configuration comprises at least one of: an indication to support beam switching for each of a plurality of configured grants or for the plurality of configured grants at the wireless communication device, a configuration for sounding reference signal (SRS), containing at least information on one or more sets of SRS resources, for each of the plurality of configured grants or for the plurality of configured grants at the wireless communication device; an indication to maintain each of the plurality of configured grants, or the plurality of configured grants at the wireless communication device, when the wireless communication device is in the RRC inactive state, or a threshold for the beam switching for each of the plurality of configured grants or for the plurality of configured grants at the wireless communication device [¶ 171; wherein the configuration includes a beam indication RS resource, such as a SRI, or TCI state, or QCL assumption 710, for each transmission occasion of the CG PUSCH, the UE determines the latest transmission/reception of the beam indication RS resource prior to the CG PUSCH transmission occasion (possibly additionally offset by a UE processing time) 720].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide “wherein the beam switching configuration comprises at least one of: an indication to support beam switching for each of a plurality of configured grants or for the plurality of configured grants at the wireless communication device, a configuration for sounding reference signal (SRS), containing at least information on one or more sets of SRS resources, for each of the plurality of configured grants or for the plurality of configured grants at the wireless communication device; an indication to maintain each of the plurality of configured grants, or the plurality of configured grants at the wireless communication device, when the wireless communication device is in the RRC inactive state, or a threshold for the beam switching for each of the plurality of configured grants or for the plurality of configured grants at the wireless communication device” as taught by MolavianJazi in the combined system of Cirik and Huang, so that it would provide assistance information to the UE regarding all possible beam-candidates for a given TRP in the vicinity of the UE from the serving gNB and neighboring gNBs [see THOMAS; ¶ 77].
Claims 4-5, 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 unpatentable over Cirik et al. (US 2020/0053613) in view of Huang; (US 2023/0120407), and further in view of KIM et al. (US 2019/0260461).
Regarding claim 4, the method of claim 1, the combined system of Cirik and Huang discloses the method of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose comprising sending, by the wireless communication node responsive to the quality of the beam being below the threshold, a request to the wireless communication device to perform beam switching.
However, KIM discloses sending, by the wireless communication node responsive to the quality of the beam being below the threshold, a request to the wireless communication device to perform beam switching [¶¶ 62-63, 65; transmit a BSI request that makes a request for BSI feedback (that is, BSI) to the first UE 200-1 as indicated by reference numeral 402, to change the beams on the basis of beam state information (BSI) of the beams included in the received BSI feedback 500].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide “sending, by the wireless communication node responsive to the quality of the beam being below the threshold, a request to the wireless communication device to perform beam switching” as taught by KIM in the combined system of Cirik and Huang, so that it would be preventing communication disconnection that may occur due to a beam group change when a control channel is transmitted through a beam group in a wireless communication system [see KIM; ¶ 12].
Regarding claim 5, the method of claim 1, the combined system of Cirik, Huang, and Kim discloses the method of claim 4.
Kim further discloses wherein the request to perform beam switching comprises an indication that the quality of the beam is below the threshold [Fig. 5, ¶ 68; the beam change indication that the BS 100 transmits to the first UE 200-1 may include the BSI request, when the BSI reception fails with a threshold ratio or lower in the changed beam ID 120-5 (that is, when a BSI reception failure rate is equal to or smaller than a threshold value or a BSI reception success rate is larger than or equal to a threshold value), see ¶ 157].
Regarding claim 8, the method of claim 1, the combined system of Cirik and Huang discloses the method of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose comprising sending, by the wireless communication node responsive to the quality of the new beam satisfying the threshold, an indication to keep the new beam.
However, KIM discloses comprising sending, by the wireless communication node responsive to the quality of the new beam satisfying the threshold, an indication to keep the new beam [¶¶ 62-63, 65-68; a notification indicating a change from the current beam to a new beam for feed back information on the beam having the best quality].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide “comprising sending, by the wireless communication node responsive to the quality of the new beam satisfying the threshold, an indication to keep the new beam” as taught by KIM in the combined system of Cirik and Huang, so that it would be preventing communication disconnection that may occur due to a beam group change when a control channel is transmitted through a beam group in a wireless communication system [see KIM; ¶ 12].
Regarding claim 9, the method of claim 1, the combined system of Cirik, Huang, and KIM discloses the method of claim 8.
KIM further discloses wherein the indication to keep the new beam comprises an indication that the quality of the new beam satisfies the threshold [¶¶ 46, 65; change the serving beams to the determined serving beams and may transmit a Beam Change Indication (BCI) for changing the serving beams to the first UE 200-1].
Regarding claim 10, the method of claim 1, the combined system of Cirik, Huang, and KIM discloses the method of claim 8.
KIM further discloses comprising receiving, by the wireless communication node from the wireless communication device, a confirmation in response to the indication to keep the new beam [¶¶ 53, 66; Upon successfully receiving the beam change indication, the first UE 200-1 may transmit Acknowledgement (ACK) to the BS 100].
Claims 12 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 unpatentable over Cirik et al. (US 2020/0053613) in view of Huang; (US 2023/0120407), and further in view of TALARICO et al. (US 2019/0044598).
Regarding claim 12, the combined system of Cirik and Huang discloses the method of claim 11, but does not explicitly disclose, comprising sending, by the wireless communication node to the wireless communication device, a request for activation of a plurality of SRS resources at the wireless communication device that is in inactive state.
However, TALARICO discloses comprising sending, by the wireless communication node to the wireless communication device, a request for activation of a plurality of SRS resources at the wireless communication device that is in inactive state [¶¶ 100-101, 105-106; Aperiodic SRS transmissions are a one-shot transmission that is triggered by the “SRS request” field in the DCI form 0 used for uplink scheduling grant transmission].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide “comprising sending, by the wireless communication node to the wireless communication device, a request for activation of a plurality of SRS resources at the wireless communication device that is in inactive state” as taught by TALARICO in the combined system of Cirik and Huang, so that it would be ensure that the UEs have low cost, low power consumption, and enhanced coverage [see TALARICO; ¶ 4].
Regarding claim 16, the combined system of Cirik and Akdeniz discloses the method of claim 11, but does not explicitly disclose comprising sending, by the wireless communication node to the wireless communication device, a message to deactivate SRS at the wireless communication device which is in inactive state.
However, TALARICO discloses comprising sending, by the wireless communication node to the wireless communication device, a message to deactivate SRS at the wireless communication device which is in inactive state [¶¶ 100-101; Aperiodic SRS transmissions are a one-shot transmission that is triggered by the “SRS request” field in the DCI form 0 used for uplink scheduling grant transmission].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide “comprising sending, by the wireless communication node to the wireless communication device, a message to deactivate SRS at the wireless communication device which is in inactive state” as taught by TALARICO in the combined system of Cirik and Huang, so that it would be ensure that the UEs have low cost, low power consumption, and enhanced coverage [see TALARICO; ¶ 4].
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 unpatentable over Cirik et al. (US 2020/0053613) in view of Huang; (US 2023/0120407), and further in view of TALARICO et al. (US 2019/0044598), and further in view of KIM et al. (US 2019/0260461).
Regarding claim 13, the combined system of Cirik, Huang, and TALARICO discloses the method of claim 12, but does not explicitly disclose comprising sending, by the wireless communication node to the wireless communication device, the request in response to the quality of the beam received via the configured grant being below the threshold.
However, KIM discloses comprising sending, by the wireless communication node to the wireless communication device, the request in response to the quality of the beam received via the configured grant being below the threshold [¶¶ 43-47, 165; transmit/sending, by the BS 100 to the UE 200-1, the BSI request in response when the channel condition of the first UE 200-1 is not good (e.g., determined to be less than a predetermined threshold or condition value)].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide “comprising sending, by the wireless communication node to the wireless communication device, the request in response to the quality of the beam received via the configured grant being below the threshold” as taught by KIM in the combined system of Cirik, Huang, and TALARICO, so that it would be preventing communication disconnection that may occur due to a beam group change when a control channel is transmitted through a beam group in a wireless communication system [see KIM; ¶ 12].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 14, 15, and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/PHONG LA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469