The following rejections are withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendments:
Claim(s) 1-11 and 13-17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Paoletti (US Application: US 20200115202, published: Apr. 16, 2020, filed: Jun. 8, 2018).
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Double Patenting
Claims 1-11 and 14-17 of the instant application (hereinafter ‘ 396) are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1- 3, 5-8, 10, and 11 of U.S. Patent No. 11753283 (hereinafter ‘283) in view of Kanzler et al (US Patent: 8201349, published: Jun. 19, 2012, filed: May 19, 2006). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because :
With regards to claim 1 of ‘396 , claim 4 of ‘283 teaches the limitations of claim 1 of ‘396. Although Claim 4 of ‘283 (which depends on limitations of claim 1 of ‘283) recites a ‘measured pull force’ compared to the ‘calculated pull force’ in claim 1 of ‘396, the examiner interprets points out under broadest reasonable interpretation, the term ‘measured’ in claim 4 of ‘283 encompasses the meaning of ‘a determined/assessed pull force’, and similarly, under broadest reasonable interpretation, the term ‘calculated’ is interpreted to encompass an assessed pull force.
However, although claim 4 of ‘283 encompasses a ‘driving direction’ (by dependency upon claim 1 of ‘283), claim 4 of ‘283 does not specifically include a forward driving direction.
Yet Kanzler et al teaches a forward driving direction (column 8, lines 5-17: a snow grooming machine assesses cable force with respect to a forward direction of travel).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have modified claim 4 of ‘283’s actuator to determine cable pull force with respect to other data, such that the other data would have included assessing forward direction, as taught by Kanzler et al. The combination would have allowed claim 4 of ‘283 to have made it easier to operate a vehicle by taking into account cable torque and to have made it easier to drive while improving grooming quality (Kanzler et al, column 2, lines 35-45).
With regards to claim 2 of ‘396, the combination of claim 4 of ’283 and Kanzler teaches the winch control device, as explained in the rejection of claim 1 of ‘396. Additionally, claim 1 of ‘283 further teaches the limitations claim 2 of ‘396.
With regards to claim 3 of ‘396, the combination of claim 4 of ’283 and Kanzler teaches the winch control device, as explained in the rejection of claim 1 of ‘396. Additionally, claim 2 of ‘283 further teaches the limitations claim 3 of ‘396.
With regards to claim 4 of ‘396, the combination of claim 4 of ’283 and Kanzler teaches the winch control device, as explained in the rejection of claim 1 of ‘396. Additionally, claim 6 of ‘283 further teaches the limitations claim 4 of ‘396.
With regards to claim 5 of ‘396, the combination of claim 4 of ’283 and Kanzler teaches the winch control device, as explained in the rejection of claim 1 of ‘396. Additionally, claim 5 of ‘283 further teaches the limitations claim 5 of ‘396.
With regards to claim 6 of ‘396, the combination of claim 4 of ’283 and Kanzler teaches the winch control device, as explained in the rejection of claim 1 of ‘396. Additionally, claim 6 of ‘283 further teaches the limitations claim 6 of ‘396.
With regards to claim 7 of ‘396, the combination of claim 4 of ’283 and Kanzler teaches the winch control device, as explained in the rejection of claim 1 of ‘396. Additionally, claim 7 of ‘283 further teaches the limitations claim 7 of ‘396.
With regards to claim 8 of ‘396, the combination of claim 4 of ’283 and Kanzler teaches the winch control device, as explained in the rejection of claim 1 of ‘396. Additionally, claim 8 of ‘283 further teaches the limitations claim 8 of ‘396.
With regards to claim 9 of ‘396, the combination of claim 4 of ’283 and Kanzler teaches the winch control device, as explained in the rejection of claim 1 of ‘396. Additionally, claim 3 of ‘283 further teaches the limitations claim 9 of ‘396.
With regards to claim 10 of ‘396, the combination of claim 4 of ’283 and Kanzler teaches the winch actuator assembly, as explained in the rejection of claim 1 of ‘396. Additionally, claim 10 of ‘283 further teaches the limitations claim 10 of ‘396.
With regards to claim 11 of ‘396, the combination of claim 4 of ’283 and Kanzler teaches the hydraulic circuit and the variable displacement pump, as explained in the rejection of claim 1 of ‘396. Additionally, claim 11 of ‘283 further teaches the limitations claim 11 of ‘396.
With regards to claim 14 of ‘396, The combination of claim 4 of ‘283 and Kanzler teaches the limitations of claim 14 of ‘396, as similarly explained in the rejection of claim 1 of ‘396 above.
With regards to claim 15 of ‘396, the combination claim 4 of ‘283 and Kanzler teaches the limitations of claim 15 of ‘396, as similarly explained in the rejection of claim 1 of ‘396 above.
With regards to claim 16 of ‘396, the combination claim 4 of ‘283 and Kanzler teaches the limitations of claim 16 of ‘396, as similarly explained in the rejection of claim 1 of ‘396 above.
With regards to claim 17 of ‘396, the combination claim 4 of ‘283 and Kanzler teaches the limitations of claim 17 of ‘396, as similarly explained in the rejection of claim 1 of ‘396 above.
Claim 13 of the instant application (hereinafter ‘ 396) are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 4 of U.S. Patent No. 11753283 (hereinafter ‘283) in view of Kanzler et al (US Patent: 8201349, published: Jun. 19, 2012, filed: May 19, 2006) in view of Paoletti (US Application: US 20200115202, published: Apr. 16, 2020, filed: Jun. 8, 2018).
With regards to claim 13 of ‘396, the combination of claim 4 of ’283 and Kanzler teaches wherein the control device, as similarly explained in the rejection of claim 1 of ‘396.
However the combination does not expressly teach wherein the control device is independent of a force sensor configured to measure the pull force on the cable.
Yet Paoletti teaches wherein the control device is independent of a force sensor configured to measure the pull force on the cable (paragraphs 0099, 0100: the control device is insensitive pull force measurement via use of feedback control).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have modified claim 4 and Kanzler of ‘283 ‘s control device to further such that can be independent of a force sensor configuration, as also taught by Paoletti. The combination would have implemented an improved tracked vehicle that can maneuver and be more reactive in dynamic conditions (Paoletti, paragraphs 0004-0007).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 and 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With regards to claim 1 , the claim recites “… a winch control device … comprising a control unit configured to receive, as an input, a wound cable length signal and a measured pressure signal …” and then it recites … determine at least one of the first control signal and the second control signal based on at least one of : … the measured pressure signal … and at least one signal of : … the wound cable length signal …”. The claim is indefinite because the claim requires both a wound cable length signal and a measured pressure signal, however only one of a first control signal and the second control signal is required. It is unclear how an embodiment of only one first control signal or only one second control signal is supported since the a ‘wound cable length signal’ and a ‘measured pressure signal’ are at least two signals. It is also unclear whether the first instance of “based on at least one of” is referring to a group that belongs to both the first control signal and second control signal or whether the first instance of ‘based on at least one of’ belongs to the ‘first control signal’ and the second occurring instance of ‘based on at least one of’ belongs to the ‘second control signal’. For purposes of examination the examiner will interpret that both first and second control signals are processed and this is consistent with Fig. 3. Should this be what the applicant is intending, the examiner suggests the applicant remove the ‘at least one’ language and ensure that both first and second control signals are required.
Additionally, with regards to claim 1, the produced value of the calculated pull force signal is not referenced and it appears the actuator assembly for winding an unwinding the cable is independent of the calculated pull force signal (which appears different from how the spec describes it , as shown in Fig 3, the calculated pull force signal is processed to generate THE first control signal , and this in turns controls the actuator assembly). The examiner suggests the applicant coupling the output to the first control signal to ensure the actuation is dependent upon the calculated pull force (via ‘SC1’).
With regards to claim 2-11 and 13, they are rejected under similar rationale as claim 1 above since they depend upon the subject matter of issue in claim 1 and they do not resolve the issues of claim 1.
With regards to claim 14, it is rejected under similar rationale as claim 1.
With regards to claims 15-16, they are rejected under similar rationale as claim 1 above since they depend upon the subject matter of issue in claim 1 and they do not resolve the issues of claim 1.
With regards to claim 17, it is rejected under similar rationale as claim 1 above. Furthermore, it recites “providing as an output” a pull force on the winch assembly, wherein THE pull force is calculated based on the value of the wound cable length and the pressure value”. The examiner notes that the actual pull force applied on the winch assembly does not appear to be consistent with the specification’s description which explains the pull force actually undergoes additional processing (see filtering in block 32) to yield another value (such as SC1) , and SC1 is used to control the actuator and subsequently an actual pull force via SC1 is updated based on the calculated pull force. For purposes of examination, the examiner will assume the applicant intended that the pull force calculated impacts and controls the actuator via SC1 to produce an actual pull force (different than the calculated).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/06/2026 have been fully considered with respect to prior art rejections previously applied, and although the prior art rejections are withdrawn, new 35 USC 112 rejections are applied and double patenting rejections remain. Thus the pending claims are still rejected and applicant’s arguments concerning the pending claims being allowable is not persuasive.
Conclusion
/WILSON W TSUI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2172