DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s cancellation of claims 9 and 17 render the 112 rejections moot and they are withdrawn.
With respect to the amendment, and upon further review of Aggarwal, Aggarwal at ¶27-30 discloses fabric, material, and type of clothing, which is an attire class (e.g. shirt, pants, etc.). The same paragraphs obtain attribute/value pairs for the items in the images. Although Aggarwal does not explicitly use the word segmentation, the description at ¶26 discusses multiple items of clothing in an image and that each item is identified, which is segmentation of an image for the individual clothing items.
While the examiner appreciates applicant’s argument with respect to Aggarwal, with respect to the “unique conditional classification logic,” the claims merely recite a “based on” which implies any sort of relationship on the label, of clothing to classify. The labeling is used to classify and is therefore “based on” the label. Further, Aggarwal at ¶26-30 discloses varies types of fabrics, patterns, and styles for the clothing that the clothing item is classified into. Applicant is suggested to go into detail with respect to how the unique conditional classification logic operates beyond the “based on” language to potentially overcome this rejection.
Applicant’s remaining arguments with respect to Ge are moot in light of the remapping of the claim elements to Aggarwal.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-4, 6, 10, 12, 14, 18 are rejected under 35 USC 102 as being anticipated by 2021/0073593, Aggarwal (hereafter Aggarwal)
1. A method of an electronic device for on-device lifestyle recommendations, the method comprising: receiving a user input; (Aggarwal ¶63 search term) (Parker
determining a fashion context based on the user input; (Aggarwal ¶66 the query determines the context of the results; note that Aggarwal describes clothing context in ¶26-30)
dynamically clustering fashion objects in at least one image stored in the electronic device based on the fashion context; and (Aggarwal ¶75 clustering; see also ¶133-147)
displaying a lifestyle recommendation comprising the clustered fashion objects. (Aggarwal ¶68-70 recommendations according to the results)
wherein the dynamically clustering the fashion objects in the at least one image comprises: identifying the fashion objects in the at least one image by analyzing the at least one image stored using an artificial intelligence (AI) model; (Aggarwal ¶28 AI)
segmenting the identified fashion objects from the at least one image; (Aggarwal ¶26 multiple items of clothing, each item is identified separately, which is segmentation)
obtaining labels of the segmented fashion objects; (Aggarwal ¶26-30 attribute/value pairs of the clothing item)
performing one of:
based on the labels of the segmented fashion objects being clothes, classifying the segmented fashion objects into a pattern class, a fabric class, and an attire class, and (Aggarwal ¶27-30 pattern, material type, article type)
based on the labels of the segmented fashion objects being fashion accessories, classifying the segmented fashion objects into a fashion accessory class; (Aggarwal ¶27-30 pattern, material type, article type)
generating a fashion knowledge graph comprising different classes of the segmented fashion objects; traversing the fashion context through the fashion knowledge graph; and
dynamically clustering the fashion objects in the different classes obtained based on the traversal. (Aggarwal ¶91-96 nodes (nodes in this context disclose a traversal graph); ¶133 clustering algorithms utilize graphs (nodes for each item and their connections make up a graph) and nodes close together are cluster as known in the art of clustering algorithms)
Claim 10 is rejected under a similar rationale.
3. The method of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: updating the fashion knowledge graph based on a user action on the recommendation. (Aggarwal ¶122 updating based on user feedback)
Claim 12 is rejected under a similar rationale.
4. The method of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: updating the fashion knowledge graph based on receiving and analyzing a new image. (Aggarwal ¶84 updating with new images; note each new product added updates the graph (see e.g. ¶26-27 collection of images))
Claim 18 is rejected under a similar rationale.
6. The method of claim 1, wherein the dynamically clustering the fashion objects in the different classes comprises:
determining a weightage of a match between the at least one class of segmented fashion objects and the fashion context; and (Aggarwal ¶54 weight)
dynamically clustering the segmented fashion objects with the assigned tag in the at least one class based on the weightage. (Aggarwal ¶ uses the weight to change how the item is clustered see also ¶80 and ¶117-120)
Claim 14 is rejected under a similar rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 15 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Aggarwal in view of US 2021/0287091, Ge (hereafter Ge)
7. The method of claim 1, wherein the segmenting the identified fashion objects from the image comprises: determining a feature vector of the image using a Convolution Neural Network (CNN) model; (Aggarwal ¶37 CNN)
Aggarwal does not disclose
determining Region of Interests (ROIs) of the image by providing the feature vector to a Region Proposal Network;
optimizing scales of the ROIs by providing the feature vector and the predicted ROIs to a Feature Pyramid Network (FPN);
refining an alignment of the ROIs; and
determining the segmented fashion objects comprising output masks, labels, and coordinates of the identified fashion objects in the ROIs using a plurality of neural network models.
Ge discloses
determining Region of Interests (ROIs) of the image by providing the feature vector to a Region Proposal Network; (Ge ¶135 Region of interest)
optimizing scales of the ROIs by providing the feature vector and the predicted ROIs to a Feature Pyramid Network (FPN); (Ge ¶135 pyramid)
refining an alignment of the ROIs; and (Ge ¶135 alignment)
determining the segmented fashion objects comprising output masks, labels, and coordinates of the identified fashion objects in the ROIs using a plurality of neural network models. (Ge ¶134-153 describes the usage of masks, labels, coordinates to segment)
It would have been obvious to modify the system of Aggarwal to identify ROIs using a RPN for the purposes of providing and end-to-end deep clothing analysis as taught by Ge (¶140).
Claim 15 is rejected under a similar rationale.
Conclusion
/Ming Shui/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2663