DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
No Claim is/are amended.
No new claim is/are added.
Claims 1-3 and 5-22 are pending for examination.
Applicant Argument
Applicant’s arguments (PRE-APPEAL BRIEF REQUEST FOR REVIEW pages 1-5), filed on 11/21/2025, with respect to claims 1-3 and 5-22 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground of rejection below which better address the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tooru Kikuchi (US 20120082123 A1), hereinafter “Kikuchi”.
Regarding claim 22, Kikuchi teaches ‘A base station for wireless communication with a plurality of terminals’ (Kikuchi: [Abstract]: “A base station that executes scheduling for an uplink and scheduling for a downlink per subframe to communicate with mobile stations”);
‘the base station comprising:
means for transmitting, during transmission time slots allocated for transmission, downlink data for reception by one or more of the terminals’ (Kikuchi: [FIG.4]: “SUBFRAME #0”, “SUBFRAME #1”, “SUBFRAME #3”, transmission time slots; [Abstract]: “scheduling for a downlink per subframe to communicate with mobile stations”);
‘means for receiving, during reception time slots allocated for reception, uplink data transmitted by one or more of the terminals’ (Kikuchi: [FIG.4]: “SUBFRAME #0”, “SUBFRAME #1”, “SUBFRAME #3”, transmission time slots; [Abstract]: “scheduling for an uplink and scheduling for a downlink per subframe to communicate with mobile stations”);
‘means for performing a downlink scheduling process for each transmission time slot’ (Kikuchi: [FIG.4]: “DOWNLINK SCHEDULING PROCESS”, “SUBFRAME #0”, “SUBFRAME #1”, “SUBFRAME #3”, transmission time slots; [0011]: “a downlink scheduling unit that executes scheduling for the downlink per subframe”, may perform a DL scheduling process for each transmission time slot);
‘wherein the downlink scheduling process comprises, for a given transmission slot, determining one or more downlink data allocations’ (Kikuchi: [FIG.2]: block “A2”: “CALCULATE NUMBER OF DCI USABLE FOR DOWNLINK”; [0053]-[0058]: “Downlink Scheduling Process” to determine DL data allocations (DL_DCIs));
‘each downlink data allocation identifying a terminal to which downlink data is to be transmitted in the given transmission time slot and, for each identified terminal, wireless communication resources to be used during the given transmission time slot to transmit the downlink data to the identified terminal’ (Kikuchi: [0010]: “a mobile station information management unit managing information about uplink data and downlink data for each of the mobile stations … the number of control information items usable for the downlink per subframe”; [0021]: “scheduling for the downlink be executed per subframe by using the estimated number of control information items usable for the downlink and the information about downlink data”; [0042]: “The downlink data management unit 11c manages downlink data information about each mobile station (the number of mobile stations, presence or absence of downlink data, and a data size thereof), the information being sent from an upper layer (the network side)”; [0052]: “the number of mobile stations in the acquired downlink data information will be represented by "N.sub.DL.sub.--.sub.Active."”; may identify terminals eligible for DL data allocations for the given transmission time slot);
‘means for performing, once the downlink scheduling process for the given transmission time slot has been performed, a corresponding uplink scheduling process comprising, for one or more reception time slots subsequent to the given transmission time slot, determining one or more uplink data allocations’ (Kikuchi: [FIG.3]: “CALCULATE NUMBER OF DCI ITEMS USABLE FOR UPLINK”; [FIG.4]: “UPLINK SCHEDULING PROCESS”:”#0” after “DOWNLINK SCHEDULING PROCESS”: “#0”; [0059]-[0064]: uplink scheduling process may determine uplink data allocations (UL_DCIs) for one or more reception time slots subsequent to the given transmission time slot, after downlink scheduling process; ([0053]-[0058]));
‘each uplink data allocation identifying a terminal which is allocated to transmit uplink data within the one or more reception time slots and, for each identified terminal, the wireless communication resources to be used for that identified terminal during the one or more reception time slots’ (Kikuchi: [0010]: “a mobile station information management unit managing information about uplink data and downlink data for each of the mobile stations … the number of control information items usable for the uplink and the number of control information items usable for the downlink per subframe”; [0021]: “scheduling for the uplink be executed per subframe by using the estimated number of control information items usable for the uplink and the information about uplink data”; [0041]: “The uplink data management unit 11b manages uplink data information about each mobile station (the number of mobile stations, presence or absence of uplink data, and the data size thereof), the information being sent through a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH)”; [0050]: “the number of mobile stations in the acquired uplink data information will be represented by "N.sub.UL.sub.--.sub.Active””; may identify terminals eligible for UL data allocations within one or more reception time slots subsequent to the given transmission time slot);
‘means for generating, for transmission in the given transmission time slot, downlink control information identifying the one or more downlink data allocations determined for the given transmission time slot’ (Kikuchi: [0009]: “scheduling for the downlink per subframe”; [0053]-[0058]: “Downlink Scheduling Process” may generate DCIs for DL data allocations for the given transmission time slot);
‘uplink control information identifying the one or more uplink data allocations determined for the one or more reception time slots subsequent to the given transmission time slot’ (Kikuchi: [FIG.1]: “UPLINK SCHEDULING UNIT”, “DCI ITEM NUMBER ESTIMATION UNIT”, two sub-units of uplink scheduling; [FIG.4]: “UPLINK SCHEDULING PROCESS”, “DCI ITEM USE NUMBER ESTIMATION PROCESS”, two sub-processes of uplink scheduling; [0011]: “scheduling for the uplink per subframe”; [0059]-[0064]: uplink scheduling process may generate DCIs for UL data allocations for UL reception time slots subsequent to the given transmission time slot);
‘wherein during the corresponding uplink scheduling process, the determination of the uplink data allocations is constrained so that the terminal associated with each uplink data allocation will be able to receive the uplink control information, given the wireless communication resources to be employed during the given transmission time slot’ (Kikuchi: [0033]: “the number of control information items usable for the uplink and the number of control information items usable for the downlink per subframe”; [0047]: “the downlink scheduling unit 14, the PDCCH generation unit 15 generates DCI (Downlink Control Information)”; [0059]-[0064]: UL scheduling is constrained due to UL scheduling information (UL_DCI) is carried in PDCCH);
‘wherein the means for performing the uplink scheduling process is further configured to provide, to the means for performing the downlink scheduling process, a control signal to influence the downlink scheduling process for each transmission time slot’ (Kikuchi: [FIG.4]: “DCI ITEM USE ESTIMATION PROCESS” (sub-process of uplink scheduling) provides “ESTIMATED NUMBER PF DCI ITEMS USABLE FOR UPLINK” to “DOWNLINK SCHEDULING PROCESS” per each SUBFRAME (“#0”, #1”, #2”) (transmission time slot); [0066]: “by using the estimated number of DCI items usable for the uplink, the downlink scheduling unit 14 executes the downlink scheduling process”; UL scheduling may provide control signal to DL scheduling to influence the DL scheduling process for each transmission time slot);
‘wherein the means for performing the corresponding uplink scheduling process is further configured to generate, as the control signal to influence the downlink scheduling process for the given transmission time slot, a signal indicative of at least one factor to be considered by the means for performing the corresponding uplink scheduling process when performing the corresponding uplink scheduling process’ (Kikuchi: [0009]: “a control information item number estimation unit that estimates the number of control information items usable for the uplink”; [FIG.4]: “ESTIMATED NUMBER OF DCI ITEMS USABLE FOR UPLINK”; [0013]: “after receiving scheduling information representing results of scheduling for the uplink from the uplink scheduling unit, the downlink scheduling unit execute scheduling for the downlink”; [0066]: “by using the estimated number of DCI items usable for the uplink, the downlink scheduling unit 14 executes the downlink scheduling process”; DCI ITEM NUMBER ESTIMATION UNIT generates the estimated number of DCI items usable for uplink and downlink scheduling unit schedules downlink by using the estimated number of DCI items usable for uplink (a signal indicative of at least one factor about uplink scheduling)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 12, 16, 19 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tooru Kikuchi (US 20120082123 A1), hereinafter “Kikuchi”, in view of Cimpu et al. (US 20230145035 A1), hereinafter Cimpu.
Per claim 1 and 21:
Regarding claim 1, Kikuchi teaches ‘A base station for wireless communication with a plurality of terminals’ (Kikuchi: [Abstract]: “A base station that executes scheduling for an uplink and scheduling for a downlink per subframe to communicate with mobile stations”);
‘the base station comprising:
wireless communication circuitry configured’ (existence of circuitry for the base station is implied);
‘during transmission time slots allocated for transmission, to transmit downlink data for reception by one or more of the terminals, and further configured, during reception time slots allocated for reception, to receive uplink data transmitted by one or more of the terminals’ (Kikuchi: [FIG.4]: “SUBFRAME #0”, “SUBFRAME #1”, “SUBFRAME #3”, transmission time slots; [Abstract]: “scheduling for an uplink and scheduling for a downlink per subframe to communicate with mobile stations”);
‘downlink scheduling circuitry configured to’ (Kikuchi: [FIG.1]: “DOWNLINK SCHEDULING UNIT”, existence of circuitry for the unit is implied);
‘perform a downlink scheduling process for each transmission time slot’ (Kikuchi: [FIG.4]: “DOWNLINK SCHEDULING PROCESS”, “SUBFRAME #0”, “SUBFRAME #1”, “SUBFRAME #3”, transmission time slots; [0011]: “a downlink scheduling unit that executes scheduling for the downlink per subframe”, may perform a DL scheduling process for each transmission time slot);
‘wherein the downlink scheduling process comprises, for a given transmission slot, determining one or more downlink data allocations’ (Kikuchi: [FIG.2]: block “A2”: “CALCULATE NUMBER OF DCI USABLE FOR DOWNLINK”; [0053]-[0058]: “Downlink Scheduling Process” to determine DL data allocations (DL_DCIs));
‘each downlink data allocation identifying a terminal to which downlink data is to be transmitted in the given transmission time slot and, for each identified terminal, wireless communication resources to be used by the wireless communication circuitry during the given transmission time slot to transmit the downlink data to the identified terminal’ (Kikuchi: [0010]: “a mobile station information management unit managing information about uplink data and downlink data for each of the mobile stations … the number of control information items usable for the downlink per subframe”; [0021]: “scheduling for the downlink be executed per subframe by using the estimated number of control information items usable for the downlink and the information about downlink data”; [0042]: “The downlink data management unit 11c manages downlink data information about each mobile station (the number of mobile stations, presence or absence of downlink data, and a data size thereof), the information being sent from an upper layer (the network side)”; [0052]: “the number of mobile stations in the acquired downlink data information will be represented by "N.sub.DL.sub.--.sub.Active."”; may identify terminals eligible for DL data allocations for the given transmission time slot);
‘uplink scheduling circuitry configured’ (Kikuchi: [FIG.1]: “UPLINK SCHEDULING UNIT”, “DCI ITEM NUMBER ESTIMATION UNIT”, two sub-units of uplink scheduling circuitry; existence of circuitry for the units is implied; [FIG.4]: “UPLINK SCHEDULING PROCESS”, “DCI ITEM USE NUMBER ESTIMATION PROCESS”, two sub-processes of uplink scheduling circuitry);
‘once the downlink scheduling process for the given transmission time slot has been performed, to perform a corresponding uplink scheduling process comprising, for one or more reception time slots subsequent to the given transmission time slot, determining one or more uplink data allocations’ (Kikuchi: [FIG.3]: “CALCULATE NUMBER OF DCI ITEMS USABLE FOR UPLINK”; [FIG.4]: “UPLINK SCHEDULING PROCESS”:”#0” after “DOWNLINK SCHEDULING PROCESS”: “#0”; [0059]-[0064]: “Uplink Scheduling Process” may determine uplink data allocations (UL_DCIs) for one or more reception time slots subsequent to the given transmission time slot, after “Downlink Scheduling Process” ([0053]-[0058]));
‘each uplink data allocation identifying a terminal which is allocated to transmit uplink data within the one or more reception time slots and, for each identified terminal, the wireless communication resources to be used for that identified terminal during the one or more reception time slots’ (Kikuchi: [0010]: “a mobile station information management unit managing information about uplink data and downlink data for each of the mobile stations … the number of control information items usable for the uplink and the number of control information items usable for the downlink per subframe”; [0021]: “scheduling for the uplink be executed per subframe by using the estimated number of control information items usable for the uplink and the information about uplink data”; [0041]: “The uplink data management unit 11b manages uplink data information about each mobile station (the number of mobile stations, presence or absence of uplink data, and the data size thereof), the information being sent through a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH)”; [0050]: “the number of mobile stations in the acquired uplink data information will be represented by "N.sub.UL.sub.--.sub.Active””; may identify terminals eligible for UL data allocations within one or more reception time slots subsequent to the given transmission time slot);
‘control information generation circuitry’ (Kikuchi: [FIG.1]: “COMMON CONTROL INFORMATION MANAGEMENT UNIT”, existence of circuitry for the unit is implied);
‘generate, for transmission in the given transmission time slot, downlink control information identifying the one or more downlink data allocations determined for the given transmission time slot’ (Kikuchi: [0009]: “scheduling for the downlink per subframe”; [0053]-[0058]: “Downlink Scheduling Process” may generate DCIs for DL data allocations for the given transmission time slot);
‘uplink control information identifying the one or more uplink data allocations determined for the one or more reception time slots subsequent to the given transmission time slot’ (Kikuchi: [0011]: “scheduling for the uplink per subframe”; [0059]-[0064]: “Uplink Scheduling Process” may generate DCIs for UL data allocations for UL reception time slots subsequent to the given transmission time slot);
‘wherein the uplink scheduling circuitry is constrained, when performing the corresponding uplink scheduling process, to determine the uplink data allocations so that the terminal associated with each uplink data allocation will be able to receive the uplink control information, given the wireless communication resources to be employed by the wireless communication circuitry during the given transmission time slot’ (Kikuchi: [0033]: “the number of control information items usable for the uplink and the number of control information items usable for the downlink per subframe”; [0047]: “the downlink scheduling unit 14, the PDCCH generation unit 15 generates DCI (Downlink Control Information)”; [0059]-[0064]: UL scheduling is constrained due to UL scheduling information (UL_DCI) is carried in PDCCH);
‘wherein the uplink scheduling circuitry is configured to provide, to the downlink scheduling circuitry, a control signal to influence the downlink scheduling process for each transmission time slot’ (Kikuchi: [0009]: “a control information item number estimation unit that estimates the number of control information items usable for the uplink”; [FIG.4]: “DCI ITEM USE NUMBER ESTIMATION PROCESS” provides “ESTIMATED NUMBER PF DCI ITEMS USABLE FOR UPLINK” to “DOWNLINK SCHEDULING PROCESS” per each SUBFRAME (“#0”, #1”, #2”) (transmission time slot); [0066]: “by using the estimated number of DCI items usable for the uplink, the downlink scheduling unit 14 executes the downlink scheduling process”; UL scheduling circuitry (DCI ITEM NUMBER ESTIMATION UNIT) may provide control signal to DL scheduling to influence the DL scheduling process for each transmission time slot);
‘wherein the uplink scheduling circuitry is configured to generate, as the control signal to influence the downlink scheduling process for the given transmission time slot, a signal indicative of at least one factor to be considered by the uplink scheduling circuitry when performing the corresponding uplink scheduling process’ (Kikuchi: [0009]: “a control information item number estimation unit that estimates the number of control information items usable for the uplink”; [FIG.4]: “ESTIMATED NUMBER OF DCI ITEMS USABLE FOR UPLINK”; [0013]: “after receiving scheduling information representing results of scheduling for the uplink from the uplink scheduling unit, the downlink scheduling unit execute scheduling for the downlink”; [0066]: “by using the estimated number of DCI items usable for the uplink, the downlink scheduling unit 14 executes the downlink scheduling process”; DCI ITEM NUMBER ESTIMATION UNIT generates the estimated number of DCI items usable for uplink and downlink scheduling unit schedules downlink by using the estimated number of DCI items usable for uplink (a signal indicative of at least one factor about uplink scheduling)).
Although the existence of circuitry for a unit is implied, Kikuchi does not expressly teach that a unit is implemented with a circuitry.
Nevertheless, Cimpu in the same field of endeavor teaches that various units such as scheduling unit could be implemented within a processing circuitry (Cimpus: [FIG.2]: “Processing Circuitry”, “Processor”, “Scheduling Unit”; [0080]: “various “units” such as master scheduling unit 28 and contributor scheduling unit 30 as being within a processor, it is contemplated that these units may be implemented such that a portion of the unit is stored in a corresponding memory within the processing circuitry. In other words, the units may be implemented in hardware or in a combination of hardware and software within the processing circuitry”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Cimpu’s teaching with that of Kikuchi in order to implement various units within a processing circuitry (see reference quotes in element above).
Regarding claim 21, claim 21 recites the method implemented by the base station of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 2, combination of Kikuchi and Cimpu teaches the base station of claim 1 (discussed above).
Kikuchi teaches ‘the downlink scheduling circuitry is configured to repeat the downlink scheduling process for each transmission time slot’ (Kikuchi: [FIG.4]: “DOWNLINK SCHEDULING PROCESS” repeats for each subframe “#0”, “#1” and “#2”);
‘the uplink scheduling circuitry is configured to perform the corresponding uplink scheduling process after each repetition of the downlink scheduling process’ (Kikuchi: [FIG.4]: “UPLINK SCHEDULING PROCESS” repeats for each corresponding subframe “#0”, “#1” and “#2” after each of “DOWNLINK SCHEDULING PROCESS”).
Regarding claim 3, combination of Kikuchi and Cimpu teaches the base station of claim 2 (discussed above).
Kikuchi teaches ‘the uplink scheduling circuitry is configured to provide the control signal to the downlink scheduling circuitry prior to the downlink scheduling circuitry performing each instance of the downlink scheduling process’ (Kikuchi: [FIG.4]: “UPLINK SCHEDULING PROCESS” provides “ESTIMATED NUMBER OF DCI ITEMS USABLE FOR UPLINK” before “DOWNLINK SCHEDULING PROCESS” scheduling for each subframe “#0”, “#1” and “#2”).
Regarding claim 12, combination of Kikuchi and Cimpu teaches the base station of claim 1 (discussed above).
Kikuchi teaches ‘the uplink scheduling circuitry is configured to employ, as the corresponding uplink scheduling process, an uplink selection algorithm aimed at spreading uplink data allocations amongst the terminals in a defined way’ (Kikuchi: [0050]: “the DCI number estimation unit 16 acquires uplink data information about the next subframe from information from the uplink data management unit … The correction coefficient ".alpha..sub.UL.sub.--.sub.DCI" is changeable depending on an algorithm of the scheduling unit”, an uplink selection algorithm aimed at spreading uplink data allocations amongst the terminals in a defined way);
‘the downlink scheduling circuitry is configured to employ, as the downlink scheduling process, a downlink selection algorithm aimed at spreading downlink data allocations amongst the terminals in a defined way’ (Kikuchi: [0052]: “the DCI item number estimation unit 16 acquires downlink data information from information from the downlink data management unit … the correction coefficient ".alpha..sub.DL.sub.--.sub.DCI" is changeable depending on an algorithm of the scheduling unit”, a downlink selection algorithm aimed at spreading downlink data allocations amongst the terminals in a defined way).
Regarding claim 16, combination of Kikuchi and Cimpu teaches the base station of claim 12 (discussed above).
Kikuchi teaches ‘wherein the downlink selection algorithm employed by the downlink scheduling circuitry’ (Kikuchi: [FIG.1]: “DOWNLINK SCHEDULING UNIT”; [0052]: “acquires downlink data information … depending on an algorithm of the scheduling unit”);
‘for the given transmission time slot: (i) identifying a selected terminal;(ii) determining a downlink data allocation for the selected terminal; and (iii) repeating steps (i) and (ii) until each terminal in the plurality of terminals has been considered’ (Kikuchi: [0042]: “The downlink data management unit 11c manages downlink data information about each mobile station”; [0052]: “the number of mobile stations in the acquired downlink data information will be represented by "N.sub.DL.sub.--.sub.Active."”; [0046]: “The downlink scheduling unit 14 executes scheduling for the downlink shared channel, based on the mobile station state information and downlink data information managed by the mobile station information management unit”; [0053]-[0057]: for a given subframe (transmission time slot), downlink scheduling would determine terminals eligible for downlink data allocation among all candidate terminals).
Regarding claim 19, combination of Kikuchi and Cimpu teaches the base station of claim 1 (discussed above).
Kikuchi teaches ‘during a given transmission time slot, to employ the wireless communication resources identified by each downlink data allocation determined for that transmission time slot’ (Kikuchi: [FIG.4]: “SUBFRAME #0”, a given transmission time slot; [FIG.3]: block “A3”:
; [0038]: “a scheduling process for a downlink (allocation of a shared channel to a mobile station for communication)”).
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over combination of Kikuchi and Cimpu, in view of Tooru Kikuchi (US 20090303970 A1), hereinafter “Kikuchi-2”.
Regarding claim 5, combination of Kikuchi and Cimpu teaches the base station of claim 1 (discussed above).
Combination of Kikuchi and Cimpu does not expressly teach, but Kikuchi-2 in the same field of endeavor teaches ‘wherein the at least one factor comprises an uplink priority order of the terminals’ (Kikuchi-2: [0004]: “in the uplink communication (from mobile station to base station), the base station uses the information on the mobile stations on the uplink … to calculate the priority of the mobile stations for scheduling”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kikuchi-2’s teaching with that of combination of Kikuchi and Cimpu in order to prioritize high-priority users (Kikuchi-2: [0019]: “priority is given to high-priority users (mobile stations)”).
Regarding claim 6, combination of Kikuchi, Cimpu and Kikuchi-2 teaches the base station of claim 5 (discussed above).
Combination of Kikuchi and Kikuchi-2 teaches ‘wherein the uplink scheduling circuitry is configured to update the uplink priority order each time the corresponding uplink scheduling process is performed’ (Kikuchi: [0014]: “when the uplink scheduling unit and the downlink scheduling unit complete respective scheduling processes in a previous subframe, the mobile station information management unit update information about uplink data and downlink data in a next subframe”. Kikuchi-2: [0004]: “in the uplink communication (from mobile station to base station), the base station uses the information on the mobile stations on the uplink … to calculate the priority of the mobile stations for scheduling”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kikuchi-2’s teaching of uplink priority order with that of combination of Kikuchi and Cimpu in order to prioritize high-priority users (Kikuchi-2: [0019]: “priority is given to high-priority users (mobile stations)”).
Regarding claim 7, combination of Kikuchi and Cimpu teaches the base station of claim 1 (discussed above).
Kikuchi teaches ‘each time the downlink scheduling process is performed, to update the downlink priority order based on the control signal provided by the uplink scheduling circuitry’ (Kikuchi: [0014]: “when the uplink scheduling unit and the downlink scheduling unit complete respective scheduling processes in a previous subframe, the mobile station information management unit update information about uplink data and downlink data in a next subframe”; [FIG.4]: “UPLINK SCHEDULING PROCESS” provides “ESTIMATED NUMBER PF DCI ITEMS USABLE FOR UPLINK” to “DOWNLINK SCHEDULING PROCESS” per each SUBFRAME (“#0”, #1”, #2”) (transmission time slot), control signal provided by uplink scheduling). However, Kikuchi fails to expressly teach downlink priority order.
combination of Kikuchi and Cimpu does not expressly teach, but Kikuchi-2 teaches ‘perform the downlink scheduling process in dependence on a downlink priority order of the terminals’ (Kikuchi-2: [0004]: “in the downlink communication (from base station to mobile station), the base station uses the information on the mobile stations on the downlink … to calculate the priority of the mobile stations for scheduling”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kikuchi-2’s teaching of downlink priority order with that of combination of Kikuchi and Cimpu to perform the downlink scheduling process in dependence on a downlink priority order of the terminals and, each time the downlink scheduling process is performed, to update the downlink priority order based on the control signal provided by the uplink scheduling circuitry in order to prioritize high-priority users (Kikuchi-2: [0019]: “priority is given to high-priority users (mobile stations)”).
Claims 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over combination of Kikuchi and Cimpu, in view of Wang et al. (US 20190191440 A1), hereinafter “Wang”.
Regarding claim 8, combination of Kikuchi and Cimpu teaches the base station of claim 1 (discussed above).
Combination of Kikuchi and Cimpu does not expressly teach, but Wang in the same field of endeavor teaches ‘comprising antenna circuitry’ (Wang: [0071]: “multiple antennas”, existence of circuitry for antenna is implied);
‘that is operated by the wireless communications circuitry to support multiple beams’ (Wang: [FIG.4]: Signal Beam “416-1” to “416-4”; [0036]: “Antenna beamforming”);
‘wherein the wireless communication resources allocated to each terminal comprise at least a selected beam’ (Wang: [FIG.4]: “Signal Beam 416-1” for “Receiving Device”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wang’s teaching with that of combination of Kikuchi and Cimpu in order to support multiple antennas with beamforming for wireless communications.
Regarding claim 9, combination of Kikuchi, Cimpu and Wang teaches the base station of claim 8 (discussed above).
Combination of Kikuchi and Cimpu does not expressly teach, but Wang teaches ‘transmit the downlink data to each terminal using the beam selected for that terminal’ (Wang: [FIG.4]: “Signal Beam 416-1”; [FIG.11]: “Subframe Schedule”; [0103]: “downlink grant “DL1” for the user 1”);
‘each uplink data allocation indicates the beam selected to receive the uplink data transmitted by the identified terminal to the base station’ (Wang: [0090]: “the scheduling includes granting an uplink resource allocation to a given end-user device that is classified into the active beamforming”; [FIG.11]: “Subframe Schedule”; [0103]: “an uplink grant “UL 1” that is also for the user 1”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wang’s teaching with that of combination of Kikuchi and Cimpu in order to support multiple antennas with beamforming for wireless communications.
Regarding claim 10, combination of Kikuchi, Cimpu and Wang teaches the base station of claim 8 (discussed above).
Combination of Kikuchi and Cimpu does not expressly teach, but Wang teaches ‘wherein the multiple beams are shaped such that beams visible to any given terminal depend on a position of the given terminal’ (Wang: [FIG.4]: Signal beam “416-1” to “416-4”, where “416-1” is visible to “Receiving device”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wang’s teaching with that of Combination of Kikuchi and Cimpu in order to support multiple antennas with beamforming for wireless communications.
Regarding claim 11, combination of combination of Kikuchi, Cimpu and Wang teaches the base station of claim 8 (discussed above).
Combination of Kikuchi and Cimpu does not expressly teach, but Wang teaches ‘wherein during each transmission time slot, the wireless communications circuitry is limited to using a number of beams which is limited to a given number’ (Wang: [FIG.4]: four signal beams “416-1” to “416-4”; [0100]: “a number of downlink streams 1010D based on the resource allocation rule”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wang’s teaching with that of Combination of Kikuchi and Cimpu in order to support multiple antennas with beamforming for wireless communications.
Claims 13-15 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Combination of Kikuchi and Cimpu, in view of Ahn et al. (“Joint Proportional Fair Scheduling for Uplink and Downlink in Wireless Networks”), hereinafter “Ahn”.
Regarding claim 13, combination of Kikuchi and Cimpu teaches the base station of claim 12 (discussed above).
Combination of Kikuchi and Cimpu does not expressly teach, but Ahn in the same field of endeavor teaches ‘wherein the downlink selection algorithm and the uplink scheduling algorithm each comprise a proportional fair scheduling algorithm’ (Ahn: [Title]: “Joint Proportional Fair Scheduling for Uplink and Downlink in Wireless Networks”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ahn’s teaching with that of Combination of Kikuchi and Cimpu to support joint proportional fair scheduling algorithm for wireless networks in order to efficiently and fairly share bandwidth between the uplink and the downlink (Ahn: [Abstract]: “This paper proposes a joint proportional fair (PF) scheduling algorithm for wireless networks, where the scheduling of the uplink and downlink is done jointly so that the bandwidth can be shared efficiently and fairly between the uplink and the downlink”).
Regarding claim 14, Combination of Kikuchi and Cimpu teaches the base station of claim 12 (discussed above).
Kikuchi teaches ‘the uplink scheduling circuitry is configured to determine, for each terminal, an average uplink data rate experienced by that terminal during one or more reception time periods prior to the given transmission time slot’ (Kikuchi: [FIG.1]: “UPLINK SCHEDULING UNIT”; [0014]: “when the uplink scheduling unit and the downlink scheduling unit complete respective scheduling processes in a previous subframe, the mobile station information management unit update information about uplink data and downlink data in a next subframe”, may update uplink data of terminal during one or more reception time periods prior to the given transmission time slot). However, combination of Kikuchi and Cimpu fails to expressly teach an average uplink data rate;
‘the control signal provided to the downlink scheduling circuitry provides an indication of the average uplink data rate determined for each terminal’ (Kikuchi: [FIG.4]: “UPLINK SCHEDULING PROCESS” provides “ESTIMATED NUMBER PF DCI ITEMS USABLE FOR UPLINK” to “DOWNLINK SCHEDULING PROCESS” per each SUBFRAME (“#0”, #1”, #2”) (transmission time slot); [0066]: “by using the estimated number of DCI items usable for the uplink, the downlink scheduling unit 14 executes the downlink scheduling process”; UL scheduling may provide control signal to DL scheduling). However, combination of Kikuchi and Cimpu fails to expressly teach average uplink data rate.
Ahn teaches average uplink data rate for a given user (Ahn: [Page 3, Col 1]: “Joint PF Scheduling: Let
be user k’s average moving throughput of the uplink”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ahn’s teaching with that of combination of Kikuchi and Cimpu for uplink scheduling to provide control signal to indicate average uplink data rate for each termina in order to achieve fairness among users (Ahn: [Page 1, Col 1]: “BS schedules the user with the largest ratio of the achievable data rate at the current instant to the average rate allocated thus far. PF scheduling achieves fairness among users”).
Regarding claim 15, combination of Kikuchi, Cimpu and Ahn teaches the base station of claim 14 (discussed above).
Combination of Kikuchi and Ahn teaches ‘the downlink scheduling circuitry is configured to incorporate the indication of the average uplink data rate for each terminal into a computation performed during the downlink scheduling process’ (Kikuchi: [0014]: “when the uplink scheduling unit and the downlink scheduling unit complete respective scheduling processes in a previous subframe, the mobile station information management unit update information about uplink data and downlink data in a next subframe”; [0013]: “after receiving scheduling information representing results of scheduling for the uplink from the uplink scheduling unit, the downlink scheduling unit execute scheduling for the downlink”. Ahn: [Page 3, Col 1]: “Joint PF Scheduling: Let
be user k’s average moving throughput of the uplink”; [Page 3, Col 1]: formula (10):
, downlink scheduling may incorporate the indication of the average uplink data rate into a computation);
‘the indication of the average uplink data rate for each terminal is scaled by a cross-coupling weight in the computation’ (Ahn: [Page 3, Col 1]:
).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ahn’s teaching of average uplink data rate with that of combination of Kikuchi, Cimpu for downlink scheduling process to incorporate the indication of the average uplink data rate for each terminal into a computation in order to efficiently and fairly share bandwidth between the uplink and the downlink (Ahn: [Abstract]: “This paper proposes a joint proportional fair (PF) scheduling algorithm for wireless networks, where the scheduling of the uplink and downlink is done jointly so that the bandwidth can be shared efficiently and fairly between the uplink and the downlink”).
Regarding claim 17, combination of Kikuchi and Cimpu teaches the base station of claim 16 (discussed above).
Combination of Kikuchi and Cimpu does not expressly teach, but Ahn teaches ‘wherein the downlink scheduling circuitry is configured to identify, as the selected terminal, a terminal which satisfies
wherein:
is the selected terminal;
is a downlink data rate which can be achieved by terminal u in transmission time slot n;
is an average downlink data rate experienced by terminal u during one or more transmission time periods prior to transmission time slot n;
is an average uplink data rate experienced by terminal u during one or more reception time periods prior to transmission time slot n; and
is a cross-coupling weight’ (Ahn: [Page 3, Col 1]: “Joint PF Scheduling: Let
be user k’s average moving throughput of the uplink”; [Page 3, Col 1]: formula (10):
).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ahn’s teaching with that of combination of Kikuchi and Cimpu to support joint proportional fair scheduling algorithm for wireless networks in order to efficiently and fairly share bandwidth between the uplink and the downlink (Ahn: [Abstract]: “This paper proposes a joint proportional fair (PF) scheduling algorithm for wireless networks, where the scheduling of the uplink and downlink is done jointly so that the bandwidth can be shared efficiently and fairly between the uplink and the downlink”).
Regarding claim 18, combination of Kikuchi, Cimpu and Ahn teaches the base station of claim 17 (discussed above).
Combination of Kikuchi and Cimpu does not expressly teach, but Ahn teaches ‘wherein the average uplink data rate and the average downlink data rate are calculated using moving average filters’ (Ahn: [Page 3, Col 1]: “Joint PF Scheduling: Let
be user k’s average moving throughput of the uplink and downlink”; [Page 3, Col 1]:
).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ahn’s teaching with that of combination of Kikuchi and Cimpu in order to achieve fairness among users (Ahn: [Page 1, Col 1]: “BS schedules the user with the largest ratio of the achievable data rate at the current instant to the average rate allocated thus far. PF scheduling achieves fairness among users”).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over combination of Kikuchi and Cimpu, in view of Kanemoto et al. (US 20200287618 A1), hereinafter “Kanemoto”.
Regarding claim 20, Kikuchi teaches the base station of claim 1 (discussed above).
Combination of Kikuchi and Cimpu does not expressly teach, but Kanemoto in the same field of endeavor ‘wherein the base station is arranged for deployment in an air-to-ground (ATG) system, and each of the plurality of terminals are deployed in an aircraft’ (Kanemoto: [0001]: “a base station device for performing air-to-ground communication with a terminal device for air-to-ground communication placed in an aircraft”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kanemoto’s teaching with that of combination of Kikuchi and Cimpu in order for base station to provide vertically-oriented antenna adapted for air-to-ground communication (Kanemoto: [0003]: “an air-to-ground communication system is preferably built by additionally providing a vertically-oriented antenna adapted for air-to-ground communication”).
Conclusion
/G.F./Examiner, Art Unit 2462
/YEMANE MESFIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2462