DETAILED ACTION
This is a final office action in response to Applicant’s remarks and amendments filed on May 14, 2026. Claim 1 is currently amended. Claims 1-17 are pending review in this action. The previous objection to the claims is withdrawn in light of Applicant’s corresponding amendment.
New grounds of rejection necessitated by Applicant’s amendments are presented below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Japanese Patent Publication No. 2012/181970, hereinafter Asai. (A machine translation of Asai was provided with a previous office action).
Regarding claim 1, Asai teaches a battery module (10). The battery module (10) comprises a plurality of battery cells (1) stacked in a first direction (paragraph [0022] and figure 2-4).
A casing member surrounds the plurality of battery cells (1).
The casing member comprises an upper casing covering an upper portion of the battery cells (1) (figure 3).
A pair of bind bars (4C, “first side casings”) are located at opposite sides of the plurality of battery cells (1) (paragraphs [0022, 0028-0033, 0041] and figures 4 and 24). Each of the pair of bind bars (4C, “first side casings”) has an angle iron shape (figures 4 and 24).
A pair of end plates (3, “second side casings”) are located at opposite sides of the plurality of battery cells (1) different from the opposite sides where the pair of bind bars (4C, “first side casings”) are located (paragraphs [0027, 0041] and figures 3, 4 and 24). Each of the pair of end plates (3, “second side casings”) has a constant overall width (figures 4 and 24). Slits (7, “blind holes”) are located at ends of the end plates (3, “second side casings”) (paragraph [0041] and figure 24). The slits (7, “blind holes”) extend in a longitudinal direction of the end plates (3, “second side casings”) (figure 24). The slits (7, “blind holes”) are exposed to an exterior of the battery module (10) (figure 24).
When positioned in a corresponding slit (7, “blind hole”), each end of the bind bars (4C, “first side casings”) extends between an inner wall of the corresponding slit (7, “blind hole”) and the plurality of battery cells (figures 4 and 24). The inner wall is inside of the end plate (“3, “second side casing”) (see Figure 1 below). It is an “innermost” side of the end plate (“3, “second side casing”) in the first direction, because it is farthest from the outside of the end plate (3, “second side casing”) in the first direction compared to all other sides of the end plate (3, “second side casing”).
[AltContent: textbox (Figure 1 - Asai's assembly)]
Regarding claim 3, Asai teaches that outermost sides of opposite ends of the pair of bind bars (4C, “first side casings”) are offset with respect to outermost sides of opposite ends of the pair of end plates (3, “second side casings”) to define stepped portions between adjacent bind bars (4, “first side casings”) and end plates (3, “second side casings”) (figures 4 and 24).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Japanese Patent Publication No. 2012/181970, hereinafter Asai.
Regarding claim 2, Asai teaches that each bind bar (4, “first side casing”) includes a locking piece (4f) which engages with a locking hole (8) formed in the corresponding end plate (3, “second side casing”). The locking hole (8) has a shape and size intended to fit the locking piece (4f) (paragraphs [0032, 0037] and figure 7).
Asai teaches varying the length of the locking piece (4f) from a length which keeps it recessed within the locking hole (8) to a length which has it protrude from the locking hole (8) (paragraph [0043] and figures 9, 13, 25 and 26).
Asai does not teach that outermost sides of opposite ends of the bind bars (4, “first side casings”) are aligned with outermost sides of opposite ends of the pair of end plates (3, “second side casings”) to be flush with each other.
It would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the locking piece (4f) with a length that positions it such that it is flush with the outside surface of the corresponding end plate (3, “second side casing”) for the purpose of maintaining a smooth surface, discouraging debris accumulation in a formed recess and/or preventing a protruding end of the locking piece (4f) from snagging on an object outside of the corresponding end plate (3, “second side casing”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-17 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s newly added limitations have been considered. However, after further search and consideration the previously presented Asai reference was found to address the amended claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STEWART A FRASER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724
LILIA V. NEDIALKOVA
Examiner
Art Unit 1724