DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed with the written response received on12/30/2025 have been considered and an action on the merits follows. As directed by the amendment, claims 1, 10, 14, and 17-19 have been amended; claims 2, 8-9, 11-13 and 15-16 are canceled; and claim 20 has been added. Accordingly, claims 1, 3-7, 10, 14, and 17-20 are pending in this application. Because of the applicant's amendment, the following in the office action filed 06/30/2025, are hereby withdrawn: the prior claim objections.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, filed 12/30/2025, with respect to the rejection of claims under 35 USC § 103 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the current grounds of rejection. Applicant's arguments, which appear to be drawn only to the newly amended limitations and previously presented rejections, have been considered but are moot in view of the updated grounds of rejection.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the feature of the lining that “defines a thickness gradient increasing substantially continuously” for claims 14 and 20 must be shown or the features canceled from the claims. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 3-7, 10, 14, and 17-19 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “a left side covering only a left leg of the wearer and a right side covering only a right leg of the wearer” It is suggested the claim is rephrased to recite “a left side configured to cover only a left leg of the wearer and a right side configured to cover only a right leg of the wearer” so the functional relationship between the elements is more clearly established.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claims depending from claims objected to under this section are similarly objected to for their dependence on a claim objected to under this section.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 14 and 20 recite the “interior lining is continuous.” The limitations are considered as new matter because there is no support in applicant’s disclosure regarding continuity of the lining material. There is no apparent discussion regarding the continuous or uninterrupted distribution of the lining material. Therefore, the feature is considered as new matter introduced into the claims and is not permissible.
Claims 14 and 20 recite the lining “defines a thickness gradient increasing substantially continuously.” The limitations are considered new matter because there is no support in applicant’s disclosure regarding the type of slope with respect to the gradient of the lining. The recited limitation suggests a linear “ramping-up” of the lining material. However, this linear “ramping-up” or linear slope of the liner is not discussed in the specification and is not shown in any drawing what would otherwise lend support to this feature. Therefore, the feature is considered as new matter introduced into the claims and is not permissible.
Claims 14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “substantially” in claims 14 and 20 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear to what degree the gradient is required to be continuous or not continuous. Appropriate clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-7, 10, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2022/0354192 A1 to Wong in view of US 9,456,641 B1 to Mignone and evidenced by US 7,886,367 B2 to Chapuis.
For claim 1, Wong discloses a legging (40) for covering legs of a wearer, the legging defining a left side covering only a left leg of the wearer (left side of 40) and a right side covering only a right leg of the wearer (right side of 40), the legging comprising:
a front panel and a rear panel, defining a waist opening of the legging (see annotated figs. 3-4 below);
a plurality of leg panels positioned below the front panel and the rear panel so as to cover the legs (panels comprising leg portions 42 and 44 illustrated in figs. 3 and 4);
a left pocket formed entirely on the left side and below the front panel and the rear panel (left 82 is below the illustrated front and rear panel; and isolated on the outer left thigh portion)(pockets 82 are sized based on the item intended to be pocketed, para 0043);
a right pocket formed entirely on the right side and below the front panel and the rear panel (right 82 is below the illustrated front and rear panel; and isolated on the outer right thigh portion) (pockets 82 are sized based on the item intended to be pocketed, para 0043), the left and right pockets being spaced apart from each other (see figs. 3-4 wherein the left and right 82 are spaced apart from each other).
Wong does not specifically disclose: left interior lining that is thermogenic and non-slip, and is located entirely underneath the left pocket to produce a first thermogenic zone on the left legs; and a right interior lining that is thermogenic and non-slip, and is located entirely underneath the right pocket to produce a second thermogenic zone on the right leg that is separate and isolated from the first thermogenic zone.
However, attention is also directed to Mignone teaching an analogous garment (leggings, claim 2) comprising gripping elements (7) on the outer right and left thighs to enhancing the grip against the wearer’s skin (abstract of Mignone) made from neoprene rubber, silicone rubber, and latex for providing a garment with high coefficient of friction (col. 2, lines 45-62 of Mignone). Specifically, Mignone teaches grip elements (7) are intended to be isolated from other gripping elements and at strategic locations (col. 6, lines 35-40 of Mignone) for ensuring enhanced grip between the wearer and the garment during stretching, movements, and holds (col. 3, lines 33-41 of Mignone) (See fig. 1 of Mignone).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date wherein Wong would be modified to comprise non-slip silicone gripping elements strategically located on the outer thigh and, coextensively, located entirely underneath each of the left and right pockets, for ensuring enhanced grip between the wearer and the garment during stretching, movements, and holds, as taught by Mignone (col. 3, lines 33-41 of Mignone) (See fig. 1 of Mignone).
Further, the effect of providing the silicone interior lining also provides the added benefit of stimulating and supporting muscles, and improving blood circulation to targeted areas of the thigh (a thermogenic effect), as evidenced by Chapuis (col. 2, lines 15-19; col. 3, lines 34-43; and col. 4, lines 48-50 of Chapuis).
For claim 3, the modified Wong teaches the legging of claim 1, wherein the front panel and the rear panel have a rise (see annotated figs. 3-4 below).
The modified Wong does not specifically disclose wherein the rise is of at least 30.5 centimeters.
However, the modified Wong does teach each of the front and back rise panels extend upwardly from a base portion to a proximal end of the torso portion of the garment (see annotated figs. 3-4 above) and can include a low-rise, mid-rise, and high-rise waist line (para 0031 of Wong).
Therefore, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device (see MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date wherein the rise portion of the modified Wong would be modified wherein for have a length of at least 30.5 centimeters for purposes of providing the wearer sufficient coverage and compression on the torso during use, as taught by Wong, since the rise of the modified Wong would also provide coverage and compression on the wearer’s torso and would not perform any differently from claimed dimension of the garment.
For claim 4, the modified Wong teaches the legging of claim 1, wherein the front panels is lined (paras 0031-0032 of Wong).
For claim 5, the modified Wong teaches the legging of claim 1 wherein the rear panels is lined (paras 0031-0032 of Wong).
For claim 6, the modified Wong teaches the legging of claim 1,wherein the front panels is double-layered (paras 0031-0032 of Wong).
For claim 7, the modified Wong teaches the legging of claim 1, wherein the rear panels is double- layered (paras 0031-0032 of Wong).
For claim 10, the modified Wong teaches the leggings of claim 1, wherein the interior lining includes silicone attached to the inside of the legging (see discussion for claim 1 above wherein the interior lining includes silicone attached to the inside of the legging).
For claim 17, the modified Wong teaches the legging of claim 1, but does not specifically disclose wherein a lining material of the left and right interior linings is rubber.
However, attention is again directed to Mignone teaching the gripping elements are made from either neoprene rubber, silicone rubber, and latex for providing a garment with high coefficient of friction (col. 2, lines 45-62 of Mignone). Therefore, these gripping materials have the same function and are recognized by the art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date wherein the silicon material forming the internal liner of the modified Wong would be capable of being substituted for neoprene rubber since the modification would amount to a simple substitution of known components for a predictable result. In this case, the substitution would yield the predictable result of providing grip between the garment and the skin of the wearer without requiring more than ordinary skill in the art to achieve (see MPEP 2143(I)(B)). As a result, the modified Wong would be considered as teaching wherein a lining material of the interior lining is of rubber.
For claim 19, the modified Wong teaches the legging of claim 1, but does not specifically disclose wherein a lining material of the interior lining is latex.
However, attention is again directed to Mignone teaching the gripping elements are made from either neoprene rubber, silicone rubber, and latex for providing a garment with high coefficient of friction (col. 2, lines 45-62 of Mignone). Therefore, these gripping materials have the same function and are recognized by the art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date wherein the silicon material forming the internal liner of the modified Wong would be capable of being substituted for latex the modification would amount to a simple substitution of known components for a predictable result. In this case, the substitution would yield the predictable result of providing grip between the garment and the skin of the wearer without requiring more than ordinary skill in the art to achieve (see MPEP 2143(I)(B)). As a result, the modified Wong would be considered as teaching wherein a lining material of the interior lining is of latex.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wong in view of Mignone and evidenced by Chapuis, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2011/0209267 A1 to Rush.
For claim 18, the modified Wong teaches the legging of claim 1, but does not specifically disclose wherein a lining material of the interior lining is plastic.
However, attention is also directed to Rush teaching a technical pant garment having an inner short (abstract of Rush). Specifically, Rush teaches the inner short is made of broad panels or taping of varying thickness (para 0030 of Rush) and wherein said panels are formed of silicone (para 0032 of Rush) and in the form of silicone dots to grip the wearer’s skin to enhance the application of load between the inner short and the wearer (paras 0034-0035 of Rush) and that the panels can have any suitable construction and can be made from any suitable material including plastic panels could be employed, as can neoprene, rubber, polyurethane or silicon panels, or any other suitable material (para 0032 of Rush). Therefore, these gripping materials have the same function and are recognized by the art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date wherein the silicon material forming the internal liner of the modified Wong would be capable of being substituted for polyurethane, considered a plastic, since the modification would amount to a simple substitution of known components for a predictable result. In this case, the substitution would yield the predictable result of providing grip between the garment and the skin of the wearer without requiring more than ordinary skill in the art to achieve (see MPEP 2143(I)(B)). As a result, the modified Wong would be considered as teaching wherein a lining material of the interior lining is plastic.
Statement on Prior Art
Claims 14 and 20 are free of prior art, but are subject to the drawing objections, the rejection under 35 USC 112(a), and the rejection under 35 USC 112(b).
Conclusion
/ERICK I LOPEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3732