DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/14/23 is being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-11 in the reply filed on 12/16/25 is acknowledged.
Claims 12-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention (chemical liquid supply method and chemical liquid supply unit), there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/16/25.
Claim Status
Claims 1-11 are pending and are examined. Claims 12-20 are withdrawn and are not examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masami (JP 2013131531, see English translation) in view of Hiroshi (WO 2013/065771, see English translation).
Regarding Claim 1, Masami teaches a substrate processing system (liquid management system. See Abstract) comprising:
a chemical liquid supply unit (cleaning liquid supply device. See paragraph 11.) comprising:
a chemical liquid storage storing a chemical liquid (The IPA source 2 has, for example, a container in which IPA is stored. 4 paragraphs after “First Embodiment”);
a chemical liquid supply line that is connected to the chemical liquid storage, wherein the chemical liquid flows through the chemical liquid supply line from the chemical liquid storage (alcohol supply means for supplying IPA to mixing tank 4, pure water supply means for supplying ultrapure water to mixing tank 4. alcohol supply means has at least the IPA supply source 2 shown in FIG. 1, the pipe 10 and the valve 15a. See two paragraphs below “First Embodiment”); and
Masami is silent to a chemical liquid inspection means configured to detect impurities from the chemical liquid flowing through the chemical liquid supply line using a spectroscopy method, wherein the impurities are generated during a time when the chemical liquid flows through the chemical liquid supply line.
Hiroshi teaches in the related art of substrate processing. The composition analysis of the silicon-containing film (silicon oxide film) included in the wafer 201 was performed by FT-IR (Fourier Transform InfraRed spectrometer). The results are shown in FIGS. 14 to 16, respectively. That is, FIG. 14 is a graph of spectrum data by FT-IR of the silicon-containing films (silicon oxide films) included in the wafers 201 according to the first to third embodiments of the present invention. FIG. 15 is a graph of spectrum data obtained by FT-IR of silicon-containing films (silicon oxide films) included in the wafers 201 according to the first, second, and fourth embodiments of the present invention. In addition to silicon (Si), the silicon-containing film contains impurities such as nitrogen (N) and hydrogen (H) derived from a silicon material. That is, the silicon-containing film has at least a silazane bond (Si—N bond). Further, in some cases, carbon (C) and other impurities may be mixed in the silicon-containing film. See page 15, last paragraph.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added a chemical liquid inspection means configured to detect impurities from the chemical liquid flowing through the chemical liquid supply line using a spectroscopy method, as taught by Hiroshi, to the device of Masami, to allow for a composition analysis, as taught by Hiroshi, in Page 15, last paragraph.
Regarding Claim 2, modified Masami teaches the substrate processing system of claim 1, wherein the chemical liquid inspection means comprises a Fourier- transform infrared spectrometer (FT-IR) or a Fourier-transform near- infrared spectrometer (FT-NIR) (The composition analysis of the silicon-containing film (silicon oxide film) included in the wafer 201 was performed by FT-IR (Fourier Transform InfraRed spectrometer). The results are shown in FIGS. 14 to 16, respectively. That is, FIG. 14 is a graph of spectrum data by FT-IR of the silicon-containing films (silicon oxide films) included in the wafers 201 according to the first to third embodiments of the present invention.)
Regarding Claim 3, modified Masami teaches the substrate processing system of claim 1, wherein the chemical liquid storage is configured to store isopropyl alcohol (IPA), and wherein the IPA stored in the chemical liquid storage is supplied through the chemical liquid supply line (The IPA source 2 has, for example, a container in which IPA is stored. See page 3, paragraph 6).
Regarding Claim 4, modified Masami teaches the substrate processing system of claim 3, wherein the impurities include an IPA derivative (the impurities are directed to intended use of the device. The impurities are not part of the claimed system).
Regarding Claim 5, modified Masami teaches the substrate processing system of claim 4, wherein the chemical liquid inspection means is configured to detect the IPA derivative on the basis of an existence of a peak of a wavenumber on a spectrum (Figs. 14-16 spectrum data by FT-IR. The composition analysis of the silicon-containing film (silicon oxide film) included in the wafer 201 was performed by FT-IR (Fourier Transform InfraRed spectrometer). The results are shown in FIGS. 14 to 16, respectively. That is, FIG. 14 is a graph of spectrum data by FT-IR of the silicon-containing films (silicon oxide films) included in the wafers 201 according to the first to third embodiments of the present invention. See page 15, last paragraph. The limitation “configured to” is directed to a capability of detecting and the FTIR would be capable of detecting).
Regarding Claim 6, modified Masami teaches the substrate processing system of claim 1, wherein the chemical liquid inspection means comprises: a measurement probe disposed on the chemical liquid supply line, the measurement probe being configured to emit infrared light or near- infrared light to the chemical liquid flowing through the chemical liquid supply line and being configured to detect light transmitted through the chemical liquid or reflected on the chemical liquid; a Fourier transformer configured to acquire a spectrum from the light detected from the measurement probe; and an analyzer configured to determine impurities on the basis of the spectrum (In order to monitor the impurity concentration of the cleaning solution, for example, the particle detector (particulatemeter) may be connected via a pipe 14a, 14b, 14c or 12 or a branch line thereof or a sampling line directly connected to the mixing tank 4 It is sufficient to monitor the amount of fine particles (impurities) in the cleaning solution. In addition, when the impurity has a property of absorbing light, the amount of the impurity can also be monitored by an absorptiometer. See page 7, paragraph 3).
Regarding Claim 11, modified Masami teaches the substrate processing system of claim 1, further comprising: a substrate processing apparatus connected to the chemical liquid supply line and configured to receive the chemical liquid from the chemical liquid supply unit and to clean a substrate using the chemical liquid (Liquid volume adjustment processing may be performed to maintain the amount of liquid in the mixing tank 4 within a predetermined liquid volume range. In this case, a liquid amount measuring means (level sensor) (not shown) is provided in the mixing tank 4, and the liquid level (liquid quantity) of the cleaning liquid in the mixing tank 4 is monitored continuously or intermittently. Page 6, lines 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7, 8, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masami (JP 2013131531, see English translation) in view of Hiroshi (WO 2013/065771, see English translation) as applied to claims 1 and 6 above, and further in view of Urquhart (US Pub 2007/0119816).
Regarding Claims 7, 8, and 9, modified Masami teaches the substrate processing system of claim 6, a first valve disposed at a rear end of a connection portion of the drain line where the drain line is connected to the chemical liquid supply line, the first valve being configured to selectively open and close the chemical liquid supply line (The above-described alcohol supply means has at least the IPA supply source 2 shown in FIG. 1, the pipe 10 and the valve 15a. Page 3, paragraph 6. The pure water supply means described above has at least the ultrapure water supply source 3 shown in FIG. 1, the pipe 11, and the valve 15b. Page 3, paragraph 7).
Modified Masami is silent to a filter disposed in the chemical liquid supply line, wherein the measurement probe is disposed at a rear end of the filter in light of a flowing direction of the chemical liquid, a drain line connected to the chemical liquid supply line and configured to discharge the chemical liquid flowing through the chemical liquid supply line, and a second valve disposed at the drain line, the second valve being configured to selectively open and close the drain line.
Urquhart teaches in the related art of chemicals and fluid processing. See Abstract. [0048] The fluid management devices 432 may include, for example, filters, flow controllers, flow meters, valves, etc. [0062] The tank is also provided with a drain outlet connected with a drain line 518, where the drain line 518 includes a valve 520 that is selectively controlled to facilitate draining and removal of cleaning solution at a faster rate from the tank during selected periods as described below. [0098] While the first vessel 7161 is being filled, the filling station 7021 may be configured such that the second vessel 7162 is dispensing solution to one or more of the tools 708. Accordingly, the second valve 7202 is closed.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added a filter disposed in the chemical liquid supply line, wherein the measurement probe is disposed at a rear end of the filter in light of a flowing direction of the chemical liquid, a drain line connected to the chemical liquid supply line and configured to discharge the chemical liquid flowing through the chemical liquid supply line, and a second valve disposed at the drain line, the second valve being configured to selectively open and close the drain line, as taught by Urquhart, to the system of modified Masami, to allow for chemical management, liquid separation and fluid processing, as taught by Urquhart, in the Abstract.
Regarding Claim 10, modified Masami teaches the substrate processing system of claim 9, wherein the controller is configured to selectively control the first valve and the second valve on the basis of an inspection result of the chemical liquid inspection means (Page 3, paragraph 6, The valve 15a is provided in the pipe 10 and is controlled by the control unit 7, and controls the introduction start or the introduction stop of the IPA, the introduction amount of the IPA, and the like. Page 3, paragraph 8, The valve 15 b is provided in the pipe 11 and is controlled by the control unit 7, and controls the introduction start or the introduction stop of the ultrapure water, the introduction amount of the ultrapure water, and the like. The ultrapure water supply source 3 may be an ultrapure water production apparatus directly connected to the mixing tank 4 via the pipe 11.)
Conclusion
/JB/
/CHARLES CAPOZZI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1798