DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed on February 10, 2026, has been entered. Claims 1-16 remain pending in the application. Of the pending claims, claims 14-16 have been withdrawn from consideration.
Applicant’s amendment to the claims has overcome the previous rejection of record under 35 U.S.C. 112.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, 9, 10, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 101530812 B1 (Lim ‘812 – citing to the attached English translation) in view of US 20170179549 A1 (Andry ‘549).
Regarding claims 1 and 4, Lim ‘812 teaches an analysis system for a lithium secondary battery (a manufacturing method of an all-solid-state lithium secondary battery in which its purpose is to grasp the resistance change of the interface between the electrode and the electrolyte, i.e., analyze, and how the deterioration at each electrode/electrolyte interface affects the total cell voltage loss; [0008]) comprising:
a housing comprising an accommodation space therein (see Figs. 3A – 3C showing a structure/housing having an accommodation space in the middle thereof where the reference electrode 51 is placed; [0029]); and
a lithium secondary battery accommodated in the accommodation space of the housing and being chargeable and dischargeable (an all solid state lithium secondary battery - see cathode 31 and anode 32 with a first solid electrolyte 41 and a second solid electrolyte 42; [0022] - [0030] & Fig. 3C),
wherein the lithium secondary battery comprises: an electrolyte part; a first electrode part disposed on one side of the electrolyte part; and a second electrode part disposed on another side of the electrolyte part (the first solid electrolyte 41 is disposed on one side of the reference electrode 51 next to the cathode 31, and the second solid electrolyte 42 is disposed on another side of the reference electrode 51 next to the anode 32; [0030] & Fig. 3C), and
the electrolyte part comprises: a matrix comprising a solid electrolyte having lithium ion conductivity (first solid electrolyte 41 and second solid electrolyte 42; [0025]); one or more reference electrode inserted in the matrix (the wire 51 with the paste 52 is the reference electrode therebetween the first solid electrolyte 41 and the second solid electrolyte 42, corresponding to the matrix; [0024] & Fig. 3C).
However, Lim ‘812 does not disclose at least one state of charge (SoC) adjustment member inserted in the matrix, spaced apart from the reference electrode in a thickness direction by a predetermined distance.
Andry ‘549 discloses a micro battery that can be subjected to improved evaluation and analysis to measure battery performance by using an auxiliary electrode as a reference or working electrode in combination with a cathode, an anode, or another auxiliary electrode ([0024]). In one embodiment, an auxiliary electrode 100 includes a metal coating 110 and a non-conductive film 120, in which the metal coating 110 and the non-conductive film are in contact with electrolyte in hydrogel 22 ([0038] & Fig. 3A). The auxiliary electrode 100 may contain one or more than one metal coating 110 ([0039]).
For example, an auxiliary electrode 100 can have a metal coating on a side of the auxiliary electrode 100 facing a cathode paste 18 and a second metal coating 110 on a side of the auxiliary electrode facing a zinc anode 26, wherein a non-conductive layer 120 is positioned between the two metal coatings 110 ([0039] & Fig. 3B). Each metal coating 110 is electrically isolated from the cathode paste 18 and the zinc anode 26 but is ionically connected to both through the electrolyte in hydrogel 22 ([0039]).
The metal coating 110 consists of at least one metal such as silver, gold, copper, platinum, zinc, palladium, tungsten, molybdenum, zirconium, tantalum, or combinations thereof ([0034]). In an impedance test, the platinum of the auxiliary electrode 100 can be used as a reference electrode ([0049]).
In some embodiments, a micro battery includes two or more auxiliary electrodes 100 ([0041]). One auxiliary electrode 100 corresponding to the reference electrode and another auxiliary electrode 100 corresponding to the SoC adjustment member, are spaced apart from each other, as shown in Fig. 4B. Impedance spectroscopy using two auxiliary electrodes as a working electrode and a reference electrode can be used to evaluate the electrolyte ([0045]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide a plurality of auxiliary electrodes, i.e., one reference electrode and one SoC adjustment member, wherein the plurality of auxiliary electrodes are spaced apart from each other in the thickness direction, to evaluate the electrolyte using impedance spectroscopy, as suggested by Andry ‘549, in the analysis system, as taught by Lim ‘813.
Regarding claim 3, Lim ‘812 teaches the analysis system of claim 1, wherein the body part further comprises an insulating member disposed on surfaces of the first through hole and the second through hole (the micro battery can include insulating material isolating micro battery components from components and systems external to the micro battery, for example, insulating material 12 isolates the cathode layer 16 and electrolyte layer 20 from external components; [0028] & Fig. 2A of Andry ‘549).
Regarding claim 9, Lim ‘812 teaches the analysis system of claim 1, wherein the reference electrode has a bar shape, and one end of the reference electrode is inserted in the matrix and another end of the reference electrode is exposed to the outside through the housing (see the bar shape of the auxiliary electrodes 100 in Fig. 4B of Andry ‘549, wherein one end is inserted into the electrolyte in hydrogel 22, and the other end is exposed to the outside; [0041]).
Regarding claim 10, Lim ‘812 teaches the analysis system of claim 1, wherein the reference electrode comprises a wire coated by a precious metal (the wire 51 is a reference electrode; [0023] of Lim ‘812),
the wire comprises at least one of: tungsten (W), aluminum (Al), nickel (Ni), stainless steel (SUS), and/or any combination thereof (the metal coating 110 of the auxiliary electrode 100 consists of at least one metal such as silver, gold, platinum, tungsten, or combinations thereof; [0034] of Andry ‘549), and the precious metal comprises at least one of gold (Au), silver (Ag), platinum (Pt), and/or any combination thereof (the wire 51 and the paste 52, which are reference electrodes, are preferably made of platinum or silver having high conductivity; [0024] of Lim ‘812).
The selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP § 2144.07).
Regarding claim 13, Lim ‘812 teaches the analysis system of claim 1, wherein the at least one SoC adjustment member is coated with a precious metal, and the precious metal comprises at least one of gold (Au), silver (Ag), platinum (Pt), and/or any combination thereof (the metal coating 110 of the auxiliary electrode 100 consists of at least one metal such as silver, gold, platinum, tungsten, or combinations thereof; [0034] of Andry ‘549; the wire 51 and the paste 52, which are reference electrodes, are preferably made of platinum or silver having high conductivity; [0024] of Lim ‘812).
The selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP § 2144.07).
Claims 2 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 101530812 B1 (Lim ‘812 – citing to the attached English translation) in view of US 20170179549 A1 (Andry ‘549), and further in view of US 20180062216 A1 (Koch ‘216).
Regarding claim 2, Lim ‘812 teaches the analysis system of claim 1, wherein the housing further comprises:
a body part having: a first through hole formed in a vertical direction therethrough and a second through hole formed on a side surface thereof, the second through hole being configured to communicate with the first through hole (a first through hole where the protrusion part of the upper electrode 12 is located and a second through hole where the protrusion part of the lower electrode 22 is located; [0019] & Figs. 3A-3C of Lim ‘812);
a first conductive part comprising a first substrate having a plate shape and a first protrusion member protruding from the first substrate and having a size and shape corresponding to a size and shape of the first through hole (see upper electrode 12 having a plate part in the horizontal direction and a protrusion member extending from the plate part in the vertical direction sized and shaped to the first through hole between upper mold 10; [0019] & Figs. 3A-3C of Lim ‘812); and
a second conductive part comprising a second substrate having a plate shape and a second protrusion member protruding from the second substrate and having a size and shape corresponding to a size and shape of the second through hole (see lower electrode 22 having a plate part in the horizontal direction and a protrusion member extending from the plate part in the vertical direction sized and shaped to the second through hole between lower mold 20; [0019] & Figs. 3A-3C of Lim ‘812),
wherein the first protruding member is inserted into the first through hole at an upper part of the body part, the second protruding member is inserted into the first through hole at a lower body part, and the lithium secondary battery is positioned in a space between the first protrusion member and the second protrusion member in the first through hole (the upper electrode 12 and lower electrode 22 have an solid state lithium secondary battery present therebetween where the reference electrode 51 is inserted at the groove 15; [0018] – [0026] & Figs. 3A-3C of Lim ‘812).
Lim ‘812 does not explicitly disclose that the body part is a cylindrical shape.
Koch ‘216 discloses a battery cell testing fixture which includes a separator having an integrated reference electrode ([0001]). As shown in Figs. 3A-3B, the battery cell separator assembly 36 includes a base layer 34, a first contact, 38, an optional second contact 40, and a reference component 42 ([0035]). While the base layer 34 is circular in Fig. 3A-3B, the base layer 34 may be of any shape (rectangle, square, etc.) depending on the configuration of the battery cell ([0035]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide that the body part is a circular shape, as suggested by Koch ‘216, wherein the shape of the body part of the analysis system, as taught by Lim ‘812, corresponds to the configuration or shape of the battery cell, because the change in form or shape, without any new or unexpected results, is an obvious engineering design. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
Regarding claim 11, Lim ‘812 teaches the analysis system of claim 1, but does not disclose the at least one SoC adjustment member comprises:
a plate unit inserted in the matrix and having a predetermined area; and
an extension unit having a first end connected to the flat plate unit and a second end exposed to the outside through the housing.
Koch ‘216 discloses a battery cell testing fixture which includes a separator having an integrated reference electrode ([0001]). As shown in Figs. 3A-3B, the battery cell separator assembly 36 includes a base layer 34, a first contact, 38, an optional second contact 40, and a reference component 42 ([0035]). While the base layer 34 is circular in Fig. 3A-3B, the base layer 34 may be of any shape (rectangle, square, etc.) depending on the configuration of the battery cell ([0035]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide that the SoC adjustment member comprises has a flat circular plate unit having a predetermined area with an extension unit connected to the flat circular plate unit extending therefrom, as suggested by Koch ‘216, the shape of the SoC adjustment member being of shape that corresponds to the configuration or shape of the battery cell in the analysis system, as taught by Lim ‘812, because the change in form or shape, without any new or unexpected results, is an obvious engineering design. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
Claims 5, 6, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 101530812 B1 (Lim ‘812 – citing to the attached English translation) in view of US 20170179549 A1 (Andry ‘549), and further in view of US 20120171572 A1 (Suzuki ‘572).
Regarding claim 5, Lim ‘812 teaches the analysis system of claim 1, but does not disclose that the housing further comprises: a first case part being open one side and having an accommodation space therein; and a second case part covering the open side of the first case part, wherein the lithium secondary battery is positioned in the accommodation space.
Suzuki ‘572 discloses a cell 1 for evaluation uses, as a container, a hollow metal body 2 in side of which can be kept hermetic with a packing 4 made of ethylene tetrafluoride ([0083]). In the hollow metal body 2, a reference electrode 15 and the working electrode 7 is placed in a space therebetween ([0083] & Fig. 1). In the hollow metal body 2, the stack body was pressed with a spring 13 via a disc 11 and the reference electrode 15 was fixed in the vicinity of the working electrode 7 ([0084] & Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the housing of the analysis system, as taught by Lim ‘812, to include an upper case and a lower case having an accommodation space therein for a lithium secondary battery, as suggested by Suzuki ‘572, because the change in form or shape, without any new or unexpected results, is an obvious engineering design. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
Regarding claim 6, Lim ‘812 teaches the analysis system of claim 5, wherein the housing further comprises a sealing member positioned at a joint of the first case part and the second case part and sealing the accommodation space (the hollow metal body 2 having an upper case and a lower case is sealed with hermetically sealed with a packing 4 made of tetrafluoride at the joint of the upper and lower parts of the hollow metal body 2; [0081] & Fig. 1 of Suzuki ‘572).
Regarding claim 7, Lim ‘812 teaches the analysis system of claim 5, further comprising a pressing part interposed between the housing and the lithium secondary battery (the stack body was pressed with a spring 13 via a disc 11, the disc 11 corresponding to the pressing part; [0084] & Fig. 1 of Suzuki ‘572), wherein the pressing part comprises a pressing member having a flat shape with a predetermined area (the disc 11 has a flat shape with an area thereof; [0084] & Fig. 1 of Suzuki ‘572); and an elastic member interposed between the pressing member and the housing and applying elasticity to the pressing member (the stack body was pressed with a spring 13, the spring 13 corresponding to the elastic member, which is interposed between the disc 11 and the upper case of the hollow metal body 2; [0084] & Fig. 1 of Suzuki ‘572).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 101530812 B1 (Lim ‘812 – citing to the attached English translation) in view of US 20170179549 A1 (Andry ‘549), and further in view of US 20130323542 A1 (Wijayawardhana ‘542).
Regarding claim 8, Lim ‘812 teaches the analysis system of claim 1, but does not disclose that the matrix comprises a plurality of separators impregnated with electrolytes, and the reference electrode and the at least one SoC adjustment member are inserted between the plurality of separators.
Wijayawardhana ‘542 discloses an electrochemical cell based on lithium technology with internal reference electrode, and a method for simultaneous monitoring of the voltage or impedance of the anode and the cathode thereof (title). The reference electrode has manufacturing compatibility with lithium batteries or accumulators in sheet form ([0079]). The separator can be made with a solid electrolyte material or be made of a gel-like organic polyelectrolyte ([0079]). The reference electrode is usually be a metallic foil or sheet, wherein the metallic foil or sheet may act as a current collector of the reference electrode, wherein it is usually covered with a referenced electrode material by lamination or coating ([0080]).
The electrical conducting structure of the reference electrode extends through a wall of the casing ([0080]). The metallic foil or sheet may be covered with a layer of the reference electrode material on both sides, preferably by coating or lamination, wherein the double-sided coating allows a stronger binding to the top and bottom separator in embodiments where the electrode is separated between two separators ([0082] & Fig. 10). The at least one reference electrode placed between two separator layers electrically insulates the reference electrode from the negative electrode and from the positive electrode ([0084]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide that the matrix comprises a plurality of separators impregnated with electrolytes, wherein the reference electrode and the at least one SoC adjustment member are inserted between the plurality of separators, to electrically insulated the reference electrode and the SoC adjustment member, as suggested by Wijayawardhana ‘542, in the analysis system, as taught by Lim ‘812.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 101530812 B1 (Lim ‘812 – citing to the attached English translation) in view of US 20170179549 A1 (Andry ‘549), and further in view of US 20140375325 A1 (Wang ‘325).
Regarding claim 12, Lim ‘812 teaches the analysis system of claim 1, wherein the SoC adjustment member comprises at least one of tungsten (W), aluminum (Al), nickel (Ni), stainless steel (SUS), and/or any combination thereof (the metal coating 110 of the auxiliary electrode 100 consists of at least one metal such as silver, gold, platinum, tungsten, or combinations thereof; [0034] of Andry ‘549).
Lim ‘812 does not disclose that the at least one SoC adjustment member is in a mesh form or a foam form.
Wang ‘325 discloses a battery structure that enables direct measurement of the true potentials of both the cathode and the anode using a reference electrode ([0074]). The cathode and anode should be electronically separated by a separator, but ionically connected with electrolyte ([0074]). Reference electrodes with large surface areas may be utilized to minimize polarization resistance ([0074]).
The reference electrode 270 material may vary widely, but is preferably stable over the life of the battery, and exhibits a known reference voltage ([0119]). The current collector 280 disposed adjacent to the reference electrode 270, as shown in Fig. 2, may be made from any suitable materials, such as Al, Cu, Ni, C, Ti, Au, Pt, or stainless steel, and may be porous or non-porous ([0122]). Preferred forms of porous current collectors include, but are not limited to mesh and foam ([0123]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide that the SoC adjustment member is in a mesh form or a foam form, as suggested by Wang ‘325, in the analysis system, as taught by Lim ‘812, because the selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP § 2144.07).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on February 10, 2026, have been fully considered.
Applicant asserts that the purpose of Lim is to analyze the resistance of an electrode/electrolyte interface.
Similarly, the present disclosure discloses that it is possible to more deeply analyze resistance by simultaneously obtaining and analyzing a symmetric cell signal and a 3-electrode cell signal (see page 7 of the present specification). Further, Figs. 12A to 12 D show the results of analyzing a lithium ion battery, wherein the results of cathode resistance at the same SoC using impedance spectroscopy are shown (page 26 of the present specification). Accordingly, it is possible to measure resistance according to a SoC in the same electrode (page 26 of the present specification).
Applicant additionally asserts that the auxiliary electrode disclosed in Andry is merely a passive sensor for measuring potential or sensing impedance signals, and thus does not correspond to the claims “SoC adjustment member”, because the incorporation of the auxiliary electrode of Andry into Lim would not be capable of actively controlling the SoC in Lim.
However, applicant’s assertion is not persuasive, because it is not commensurate in scope with the claims. The analysis system of claim 1 does not reference active or passive control of the state of charge through the SoC adjustment member. Claim 1 simply references the SoC adjustment member, corresponding to a working electrode, apart from the reference electrode in an analysis system for a lithium secondary battery.
Andry discloses two or more auxiliary electrodes 100, one as a working electrode, i.e., a SoC adjustment member, and another as a reference electrode to evaluate the electrolyte through impedance spectroscopy. One auxiliary electrode 100 corresponding to the reference electrode and another auxiliary electrode 100 corresponding to the SoC adjustment member, are spaced apart from each other, as shown in Fig. 4B.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, to provide a plurality of auxiliary electrodes, i.e., one reference electrode, which is present in Lim, and one working electrode, corresponding to the SoC adjustment member, wherein the plurality of auxiliary electrodes are spaced apart from each other in the thickness direction, to evaluate the electrolyte using impedance spectroscopy, as suggested by Andry ‘549, in the analysis system, as taught by Lim ‘813.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20170084964 A1 (Hore ‘964) discloses that a lithium cell may comprise a battery management system including a state of charge monitor in order to obtain information in regard to a potential difference between the operating electrodes and the potential at one or a plurality of operating electrodes with respect to the reference electrode.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TAYLOR HARRISON KRONE/Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/NICOLE M. BUIE-HATCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725