DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments in the Pre-Appeal Brief filed 04/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. However, upon examination, there was a missing rejection under U.S.C. 101, and as this was not caught in the prior action, this new action is made Non-Final. The Claims examined are those submitted 3/24/2026.
Applicant’s arguments in the “Pre-Appeal Brief” filed 04/29/2026 regarding the rejections under U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered and are unpersuasive.
Applicant’s first argument, that the device of Scharff does not teach monitoring a temperature of an outer surface of the skin, as Scharf does not teach that treated tissue is directedly coupled with a temperature sensor, is unpersuasive. Para. 0045 explicitly teaches that the temperature sensor can be a thermocouple, which only works upon contact with the tissue being monitored, and Para. 0180 states that one of the tissues treated can be the outer surface of the skin. While Scharff teaches a plurality of other embodiments as well, it is unpersuasive to say that Scharff does not teach monitoring a temperature of an outer surface of the skin.
Applicant next argues that Scharff shows only one temperature sensor is needed based on Para. 0045 and Fig. 1, and this is also unpersuasive. Scharff explicitly teaches in the first line of Para. 0045 that there can be multiple temperature sensors required (“or multiple sensors”), regardless of one of many embodiments showing only one sensor used. Para. 0153 also states that multiple tissues/tissue types can be monitored at once (“The light delivery elements 155 of the present inventive concepts can be constructed and arranged to deliver infection reducing and/or preventing (e.g. bactericidal) light to tissue and/or body fluids, such as tissue and/or body fluids selected from the group consisting of: blood; bladder wall tissue… and combinations of these”).
For these reasons, the 102 rejection in view of Scharff is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-18, and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because Section 33(a) of the America Invents Act reads as follows:
Notwithstanding any other provision of law, no patent may issue on a claim directed to or encompassing a human organism.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 and section 33(a) of the America Invents Act as being directed to or encompassing a human organism. See also Animals - Patentability, 1077 Off. Gaz. Pat. Office 24 (April 21, 1987) (indicating that human organisms are excluded from the scope of patentable subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101). Claim 1 provides the limitation “a plurality of sensors operatively coupled with the patient body, the plurality of sensors including one or more temperature sensors disposed on an external skin surface of the patient body”, which actively claims the patient’s body, and thereby is directed to or encompassing a human organism. This can be overcome by changing the language to “configured to”, such as “a plurality of sensors configured to be operatively coupled with the patient body, the plurality of sensors including one or more temperature sensors adapted to be disposed on an external skin surface of the patient body”.
Claims 2-18 and 21-23 are rejected based on their dependency to Claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 and 10-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Publication 20160151639 awarded to Scharf et al, hereinafter Scharf.
Regarding Claim 1, Scharf teaches a medical system (abstract), comprising: an elongate probe configured for insertion into a patient body (abstract, device 100, Fig. 1), the elongate probe including a plurality of light disseminating devices (Para. 0143, “Device 100 can include one or more optical fibers, such as optical fibers 151a positioned within wall 117 of shaft 110. One or more fibers 151a can each be embedded in wall 117 of shaft 110”); a plurality of sensors operatively coupled with the patient body, the plurality of sensors including one or more temperature sensors disposed on an external skin surface of the patient’s body (Para. 0152, “Heating of the surrounding tissue and/or fluids (e.g. urine) can be monitored by one or more sensors of device 100, such as a temperature sensor 119”, Para. 0154, “The light delivery elements 155 of the present inventive concepts can be constructed and arranged to be implanted within the patient, remain outside the patient's skin, or pass through the patient's skin via an incision or natural body orifice”); and a system module coupled with the elongate probe, the system module including a console operatively coupled with the sensors and the light disseminating devices (Para. 0159, “Housing 120 can be configured as a handle for a user, such as a clinician or patient, to hold while using device 100. Housing 120 can be implantable or include an implantable portion. Housing 120 can comprise a first housing and a second housing separated from the first housing. Housing 120 can surround one or more components including but not limited to: power supplies such as batteries; agent reservoirs such as pharmaceutical agent reservoirs; pumping mechanisms; energy delivery circuitry such as cardiac pacing or defibrillating circuitry; electronic processing circuitry; electronic memory circuitry; and combinations of these”), the console including a processor and a memory having stored thereon logic that, when executed by the processor, causes operations of the system that include: receiving a sensor signal from the sensors and activating the light disseminating devices in response to a triggering event (Para. 0099, “I n some embodiments, the device is constructed and arranged to adjust energy delivered by the at least one energy delivery. The energy adjustment can comprise an adjustment to the field strength of the electromagnetic energy delivery. The energy adjustment can comprise an adjustment to a pulse-width modulation parameter of the energy delivery. The device can further comprise a sensor constructed and arranged to produce a signal, the device can be constructed and arranged to perform the energy adjustment based on the sensor signal”), wherein a light disseminated by the light disseminating devices is configured to denature an infectious substance adjacent the elongate probe (Para. 0070, “The shaft further comprises an outer surface and an inner surface. The functional element is constructed and arranged at least one of prevent or reduce infection. The device can be constructed and arranged for insertion into the bladder of the patient, such as to deliver light to one or more of the bladder, the urethra, and/or urine in the bladder and/or urethra”).
Regarding Claim 2, Scharf teaches the system according to claim 1, wherein light is composed of wavelengths within at least one of a blue (Para. 0295, “One or more light delivery elements 155 can be constructed and arranged to deliver blue light”), violet (Para. 0262, “Energy source 650 can be constructed and arranged to provide such as one or more wavelengths between 410 nm and 580 nm, such as between 410 nm and 420 nm”), or ultraviolet spectrum (Para. 0150, “Alternatively or additionally, light source 150 can be constructed and arranged to provide visible light and/or ultraviolet light”).
Regarding Claim 3, Scharf teaches the system according to claim 1, wherein the triggering event includes a physical manipulation of the system module by a clinician (Para. 0283, “Control 728 comprises a user interface component that can be configured to initiate energy delivery by the multiple energy delivery elements 555 and/or modify the energy delivery provided”).
Regarding Claim 4, Scharf teaches the system according to claim 1, wherein: the console is communicatively coupled with an external computing device, and the operations further include: receiving input from the external computing device, and transmitting system operational information to the external computing device (Para. 0286, “Device 500c includes external controller 891 which includes user interface 898 and electronics module 899a. Electronics module 899a comprises a wireless transmitter and one or more other electronics components for providing a user interface and controlling one or more implanted components of device 500c. Implanted housing 820 surrounds electronics module 899b which comprises a wireless receiver which receives communications from external controller 891”).
Regarding Claim 5, Scharf teaches the system according to claim 4, wherein the triggering event includes an input received from the external computing device (Para. 0286, “Implanted housing 820 surrounds electronics module 899b which comprises a wireless receiver which receives communications from external controller 891. In some embodiments, electronics module 899a and electronics module 899b are each configured as transceivers to allow two way communication between the implanted portion of device 500c and external controller 891. Controller 891 can be configured to allow adjustment of energy delivered by energy source 850 to one or more energy delivery elements 555 as has been described hereabove”).
Regarding Claim 6, Scharf teaches the system according to claim 1, wherein: the system module is configured to selectively attach to and detach from the elongate probe, and attachment of the system module to the elongate probe includes operatively coupling the console with the sensors and the light disseminating devices (Para. 0152, “Temperature sensor 119 can be positioned in or proximate balloon 125 as shown, on or in shaft 110, or at another device 100 location. Temperature sensor 119 can be operably attached to, or operably attachable to, sensor measurement assembly 200, such as via one or more conduits, not shown but typically including one or more wires or optical fibers”).
Regarding Claim 7, Scharf teaches the system according to claim 1, wherein at least a subset of the sensors are coupled with an outside surface of the elongate probe (temperature sensor 119, Fig. 1, Para. 0152, “Heating of the surrounding tissue and/or fluids (e.g. urine) can be monitored by one or more sensors of device 100, such as a temperature sensor 119”)).
Regarding Claim 8, Scharf teaches the system according to claim 1, wherein the light disseminating devices are configured to project a light radially away from the elongate probe (Para. 0155, “Light delivery elements 155a can be constructed and arranged to deliver light radially out from all or a portion of outer surface 113 of shaft 110, such as a majority portion and/or distal portion of the outer surface 113”).
Regarding Claim 10, Scharf teaches the system according to claim 1, wherein: the elongate probe includes a number of optical fibers extending along the elongate probe, the optical fibers including the light disseminating devices (Fig. 1, Para. 0143, “Device 100 can include one or more optical fibers, such as optical fibers 151a positioned within wall 117 of shaft 110. One or more fibers 151a can each be embedded in wall 117 of shaft 110”); the console includes a light source coupled with the optical fibers (Para. 0285, “Energy delivery elements 555 are connected to energy source 850 via one or more cables 851, such as one or more fiber optic cables. In some embodiments, energy source 850 transmits light energy, ultrasound energy and/or mechanical energy over cable 851 to energy delivery elements 555”); and activating the light disseminating devices includes activating the light source (Para. 0286, “Implanted housing 820 surrounds electronics module 899b which comprises a wireless receiver which receives communications from external controller 891. In some embodiments, electronics module 899a and electronics module 899b are each configured as transceivers to allow two way communication between the implanted portion of device 500c and external controller 891. Controller 891 can be configured to allow adjustment of energy delivered by energy source 850 to one or more energy delivery elements 555 as has been described hereabove”).
Regarding Claim 11, Scharf teaches the system according to claim 10, wherein: the elongate probe includes a catheter (Para. 0288, “In some embodiments, shaft 110 includes multiple lumens, such as when device 100 comprises a multi-lumen catheter for insertion into a blood vessel or other body location”), and the optical fibers are embedded within a luminal wall of the catheter (Fig. 1, Para. 0143, “Device 100 can include one or more optical fibers, such as optical fibers 151a positioned within wall 117 of shaft 110. One or more fibers 151a can each be embedded in wall 117 of shaft 110”).
Regarding Claim 12, Scharf teaches the system according to claim 11, wherein at least a subset of the sensors are coupled to an inside luminal wall surface of the catheter (Para. 0299, “Heating of the surrounding tissue and/or fluids (e.g. urine) can be monitored by one or more sensors of device 100, such as functional element 195 configured as a temperature sensor. Functional element 195 can be positioned in or proximate balloon 125 as shown, on or in shaft 110, or at another device 100 location”).
Regarding Claim 13, Scharf teaches the system according to claim 12, wherein the light disseminating devices are configured to project the light radially inward from the luminal wall (Para. 0021, “The light delivery element can be constructed and arranged to further deliver light radially inward from the at least a portion of the inner surface”).
Regarding Claim 14, Scharf teaches the system according to claim 13, wherein activating the light disseminating devices is configured to denature a biofilm disposed within the lumen (Para. 0153, “Device 100 can be constructed and arranged such that the light delivered by one or more light delivery elements 155 prevent, eliminate and/or reduces colonization of foreign material by bacteria, such as to prevent, eliminate and/or reduce a biofilm of bacteria”).
Regarding Claim 15, Scharf teaches the system according to claim 1, wherein: the operations further include comparing a magnitude of a physiological parameter of the patient based on the sensor signal (Para. 0264, “In these embodiments, sensor measurement assembly 200 comprises an infrared sensor configured to correlate the received light to a temperature. The temperature determined by assembly 200 (e.g. via thermocouple signal, thermisters signal, infrared signal or otherwise), can be used to regulate the light delivered by energy source 650 in a closed loop fashion, such as to prevent damage to tissue and/or to optimize the phototherapy and/or thermal therapy being delivered by device 500a”) with a limit of the physiological parameter stored in the memory (Para. 0272, “The energy delivery elements 555 of the present inventive concepts can be constructed and arranged to deliver a minimum amount of light and/or other energy to blood and/or other tissue. Alternatively or additionally, the energy delivery elements 555 of the present inventive concepts can be constructed and arranged to deliver a maximum of light and/or other energy to blood and/or other tissue”), and the triggering event includes a result of the comparison indicating that the magnitude exceeds the limit (Para. 0264).
Regarding Claim 16, Scharf teaches the system according to claim 1, wherein at least a subset of the plurality of sensors are coupled to an external skin surface of the patient (Para. 0152 states the temperature sensors can be thermocouples, Para. 0154 states that the outer surface of the skin can be the treated tissue being monitored).
Regarding Claim 17, Scharf teaches the system according to claim 16, wherein the physiological parameter includes at, a temperature, a pH, or a blood pressure (Para. 0099, “The sensor can comprise a sensor selected from the group consisting of: temperature sensor such as a thermocouple or thermister; oxygen sensor; glucose sensor such as an optical glucose sensor; pH sensor; physiologic sensor; pressure sensor; blood gas sensor; blood conductivity sensor; impedance sensor; motion sensor; accelerometer; and combinations thereof”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9 and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 20160151639 awarded to Scharf et al, hereinafter Scharf, in view of U.S. Patent Publication 20160038621 awarded to Victor et al, hereinafter Victor.
Regarding Claim 9, Scharf teaches the system according to Claim 1, wherein the elongate probe is a venous catheter (Para. 0160). Scharf does not teach wherein the probe is formed of a stylet for placement in the lumen of a catheter.
However, in the art of light-based antimicrobial catheters (abstract), Victor teaches the usage of a venous catheter formed with a stylet (Para. 0008).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Scharf by Victor, i.e. by using a stylet for placement in the venous catheter of Scharf as in Victor, for the predictable purpose of combining known prior art elements to improve similar catheters in the same way.
Regarding Claim 21, Scharf modified by Victor makes obvious the system according to Claim 9. Scharf further teaches wherein the catheter is a vascular catheter (Para. 0160) and the elongate probe is configured for slidable placement within the lumen (Para. 0255, “Device 500a can include one or more optical fibers, such as optical fibers 651a positioned within wall 617 of shaft 610. One or more fibers 651a can each be embedded in wall 617 of shaft 610. Alternatively or additionally, one or more fibers 651a can be insertable into (e.g. slidingly received by) a lumen, such as lumens 618 positioned within wall 617 (lumens 618 are omitted from FIG. 7 for illustrative clarity but shown in FIG. 7A and described herebelow)”).
Regarding Claim 22, Scharf modified by Victor makes obvious the system according to Claim 21. Scharf further teaches wherein the elongate probe is configured to extend beyond a distal end of the catheter such that: a first subset of the plurality of sensors are disposed within the lumen, and a second subset of the plurality of sensors are disposed beyond the distal end (Para. 0255, “Device 500a can include one or more optical fibers, such as optical fibers 651a positioned within wall 617 of shaft 610. One or more fibers 651a can each be embedded in wall 617 of shaft 610. Alternatively or additionally, one or more fibers 651a can be insertable into (e.g. slidingly received by) a lumen, such as lumens 618 positioned within wall 617 (lumens 618 are omitted from FIG. 7 for illustrative clarity but shown in FIG. 7A and described herebelow)”).
Regarding Claim 23, Scharf modified by Victor makes obvious the system according to Claim 21. Scharf further teaches wherein the elongate probe is configured to extend beyond a distal end of the catheter such that: a first subset of the plurality of light disseminating devices are disposed within the lumen, and a second subset of the plurality of light disseminating devices are disposed beyond the distal end (Fig. 12, Para. 0299, “Heating of the surrounding tissue and/or fluids (e.g. urine) can be monitored by one or more sensors of device 100, such as functional element 195 configured as a temperature sensor. Functional element 195 can be positioned in or proximate balloon 125 as shown, on or in shaft 110, or at another device 100 location. Functional element 195 can be operably attached to, or operably attachable to, a sensor measurement assembly (e.g. sensor measurement assembly 200 of FIG. 1), such as via one or more conduits, not shown but typically including one or more wires or optical fibers”).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 20160151639 awarded to Scharf et al, hereinafter Scharf, in view of U.S. Patent Publication 20110144566 awarded to Dacey et al, hereinafter Dacey.
Regarding Claim 18, Scharf teaches the system of Claim 1. Scharf does not teach wherein: the sensor signal includes a detection level of the infectious substance adjacent the elongate probe, the operations further include comparing the detection level with a detection level limit stored in the memory, and the triggering event includes a result of the comparison indicating that the detection level exceeds the detection level limit.
However, in the art of light-based antimicrobial catheters, Dacey teaches the usage of a sterilizing catheter that detects infection and triggers sterilizing of the area based on the detected infection (Para. 0186, “In an embodiment, at least one of the one or more energy emitters 220 is configured to emit a pulsed thermal sterilizing stimulus of a dose sufficient to induce PCD without substantially inducing necrosis of an infectious agent within a tissue proximate the catheter device 102 in response to a detect level of an infectious agent”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Scharf by Dacey, i.e. by adding the infection detection of Dacey to the controlled feedback loop taught by Scharf, for the predictable purpose of improving the sterilization abilities of Scharf in the same manner as Dacey.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: U.S. 20170196478 awarded to Hunter, Paras. 0147 and 0169.
/JLM/
Examiner, Art Unit 3792
/ALLEN PORTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796