Acknowledgements
This communication is in response to applicant’s response filed on 07/15/2026.
Claims 1, 5-6, 11, 14 and 18 have been amended. Claims 4 and 13 have been cancelled. Claims 1-3, 5-12, and 14-18 are pending and have been examined.
Response to Arguments
Regarding applicant’s arguments:
Applicant’s arguments, see pgs. 1-5, filed 07/15/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-18 under Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 regarding claim 1, 11, and 18 that Makhotin (US 20150127529) in view of Osterkamp (US 11,416,844) does not teach, disclose, or suggest that the transceiver interrogate the one or more tags to obtain, in an interrogation response, a data string that includes both an application identifier and a user credential for authenticating with the one or more application servers corresponding to an application identified by the application identifier nor the newly amended claims “responsive to the authentication, the controller receive from the one or more application servers classification data for the account associated with the user credential, the classification data comprising a plurality of selectable classification options, and present the classification data via the display for user selection prior to submission of the instruction” have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, a new Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 has been added directed to claims 1-4, 7, 9-13, and 15-18 in view of Dunjic (US 20230281588) in view of Galloway (US 20130060670).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-7, 9, 11-12, 14-16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dunjic (US 20230281588) in view of Galloway (US 20130060670).
Regarding Claims 1, 11, and 18, Dunjic teaches trigger the transceiver to interrogate the one or more tags to obtain, in an interrogation response, a data string including an application identifier and a user credential for authenticating with the one or more application servers corresponding to an application identified by the application identifier (Paragraphs 0100, 0102, 0111-0112, and 0124-0126 teach configure an electronic device to communicate with the ambient commerce system using a short-range communication protocol; the operation may including pairing the electronic device with a short-range communication system included in the ambient commerce system at the ambient commerce premises; the method include providing a selectable list of wallets, identifying one or more wallets associated with the electronic device and/or the entity; the wallets may be identified by scanning memory of the electronic device; for example, the scanning may identify one or more mobile wallet applications stored on the electronic device; such identification may be performed by comparing application identifiers for applications stored on the electronic device with identifiers from a list of supported wallets; the electronic device and/or the ambient commerce system may configure a wallet identifier that is to be used for that electronic device; the wallet identifier is an identifier that is associated with the selected wallet; electronic device may also cooperate with the ambient commerce system to assign the entity an entity identifier (i.e., user credential); the entity identifier may be or include a unique alias, such as an email address or telephone number associated with the entity; when the electronic device is detected at the ambient commerce system, it may transmit, to the ambient commerce system, a wallet identifier; the wallet identifier may be received at the ambient commerce system and uniquely identifiers a particular wallet that is to be used to complete an ambient commerce transaction; the wallet identifier may, in some implementations, be received at the ambient commerce system when the electronic device is tapped at a short-range communication subsystem such as a token reader; it may be that an entity is required to tap the electronic device at the token reader upon entry into the ambient commerce premises and the tapping may cause the wallet identifier to be transmitted to the ambient commerce system; a tap, as used herein, is intended to include any action that allows for communication over a very short range communication medium, such as NFC; the wallet identifier may identify a particular wallet; the electronic device may have been previously configured for use with a plurality of wallets. For example, the electronic device may have a number of different mobile wallet applications, each representing a separate wallet, that are stored in memory of the electronic device and the wallet identifier may indicate a specific one of the installed wallets; accordingly, the particular wallet that is identified by the wallet identifier may be one of a plurality of wallets previously configured for use with the electronic device); identify an application based on the application identifier (Paragraph 0111 teaches an appropriate wallet identifier may, for example, be retrieved from memory based on the selection; in some implementations, the wallet identifier may be or include a unique identifier of a wallet; in some implementations, the wallet identifier may include or be associated with a link to a computer system or module (such as an application on the electronic device) associated with the wallet); authenticate with the one or more application servers using the user credential (Paragraphs 0114-0115 teaches the profile may include authentication data, which may also be referred to as identity verification data; the identity verification data may, in some implementations, be configured during operation of the method; the identity verification data may be defined based on data received from the electronic device associated with the entity; the identity verification data may be or include a shared secret and/or biometric data such as a fingerprint, voiceprint and/or facial profile data); obtain transaction information for a transaction performed by the user via the POS system (Paragraphs 0128 and 0130 teach the ambient commerce system may identify, based on one or more sensors at the ambient commerce premises, one or more items that are to be associated with an ambient commerce transaction; the sensor may be a sensor of the type described above; for example, the sensor may be or include one or more of a receptable contents detector or a camera; the identification may include scanning a code, such as a barcode or QR code, on the item; in some implementations, other computer vision-based techniques may be used to identify the item(s); the item(s) that are identified at the operation are items that the entity has indicated an interest in purchasing); and generate an instruction to submit the transaction information to an account associated with the user credential (Paragraphs 0131 and 0133-0134 teach the ambient commerce system may detect an indicator of a desire to complete the ambient commerce session; the ambient commerce system may detect an indicator of readiness to complete an ambient commerce transaction based on a sensor output of one or more of the sensors at the ambient commerce system; the ambient commerce system may process the ambient commerce transaction for the identified one or more items using the particular wallet identified by the wallet identifier; the ambient commerce transaction may be processed in response to detecting the indicator of the desire to complete the ambient commerce session at the operation; the ambient commerce transaction may be processed using the particular wallet identified by the wallet identifier by causing the electronic device to activate the particular wallet on the electronic device; the ambient commerce transaction may be processed by sending a message to the wallet server to process the transaction.), the instruction being formatted in accordance with the one or more APIs of the one or more application servers corresponding to the identified application (Paragraph 0103 teaches one or more wallets may be identified through communications with one or more supported wallet servers; the communications may, for example, be performed using an application programming interface (API) associated with the wallet server(s); by way of example, the ambient commerce system may poll one or more wallet servers to determine whether an entity associated with an identifier, such as a particular email address or phone number, has an account with the wallet server); and transmit the instruction to the one or more application servers (Paragraphs 0134-0135 teaches the ambient commerce transaction may be processed by sending an electronic signal to the wallet server; the electronic signal may include entity identifying information which uniquely identifies the entity at the wallet server as being associated with a particular account; the ambient commerce transaction may be processed by initiating a transfer, using the particular wallet, of an amount of resources that is determined, by the ambient commerce system, based on the value of the identified items; the value of the identified items may be determined from value parameters for each of the identified items; the value parameters may be retrieved from the datastore).
However, Dunjic does not explicitly teach transmit the instruction to the one or more application servers, wherein responsive to the authentication, the controller is configured to receive, from the one or more application servers, classification data for the account associated with the user credential, the classification data comprising a plurality of selectable classification options; and present, via the display, the classification data for user selection prior to submission of the instruction.
Galloway from same or similar field of endeavor teaches transmit the instruction to the one or more application servers, wherein responsive to the authentication, the controller is configured to receive, from the one or more application servers, classification data for the account associated with the user credential, the classification data comprising a plurality of selectable classification options (Paragraphs 0025 and 0028-0029 teach the consumer can set an automatic process transaction level; all transactions having an amount below certain number will be automatically assigned to a category by default, such as a miscellaneous or small amount category; the CFAB system comes with pre-defined category for consumer to choose; the first alert from any source entity needs to be confirmed by the user; the system sets up default groupings and categories. For example, the system may set up business and personal groups; each of the business and personal groups may contain 10 to 15 most common categories. Each alert type has to be recognized by the system; for example, the messages may be properly parsed by the intelligent parsing algorithm; the alert arrives at user's mobile device in near real time after the transaction at the merchant; the actual time period between the transaction and alert may depend on specifics of implementation; near real time alert makes it easier for the user to know what the alert item is about; the alert may show the merchant, date, time and amount to help the user to identify the transaction); and present, via the display, the classification data for user selection prior to submission of the instruction (Paragraph 0032 teaches once an alert arrives, the user is prompted with questions to help the user to categorize the transaction; for example, the system may ask the user whether is a personal or business transaction, ask the user to select the person did the transaction, and select the proper category; the system will automatically generate short cuts for all data entry, one key for each data entry; entries such as personal/business or who conducted the transaction may be automatically filled in as default).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to have modified Dunjic to incorporate the teachings of Galloway to transmit the instruction to the one or more application servers, wherein responsive to the authentication, the controller is configured to receive, from the one or more application servers, classification data for the account associated with the user credential, the classification data comprising a plurality of selectable classification options; and present, via the display, the classification data for user selection prior to submission of the instruction.
There is motivation to combine Galloway into Dunjic because the system may automatically remember the last grouping for that merchant so the next item form the merchant may have personal/business filled in as default automatically. The system analyzes the response pattern from the user and may automatically set the entries if the transaction fits certain pattern learnt from past transactions. Therefore after training using past responses, the system may categorize most of regular transaction by itself, and the user receives alerts only in occasions of irregular transactions (Galloway Paragraph 0032).
Regarding Claims 1 and 18, Dunjic teaches a point-of-sale (POS) system comprising: a user interface including a display unit (Paragraph 0083 teaches the communications module allows the example computer device to communicate with other computer or computing devices and/or various communications networks; for example, the communications module may allow the example computer device to send or receive communications signals; communications signals may be sent or received according to one or more protocols or according to one or more standards; the communications module may, in various implementations, be one or more of: a communications device, a communications interface, a communications chip, and/or a transceiver); a transceiver configured to interrogate one or more tags; a memory storing a plurality of applications having respective identifiers, the applications being configured to interface with one or more application servers via respective one or more application programming interfaces (APIs); a controller operatively connected to the user interface and the transceiver and configured to perform operations (Paragraphs 0014 and 0103 teach the ambient commerce system may include a sensor at an ambient commerce premises and a communication module; the ambient commerce system may include a processor coupled to the communication module and the sensor and a memory coupled to the processor; the memory may store processor-executable instructions which, when executed, cause the processor to: detect that an electronic device that has been previously configured to communicate with the ambient commerce system is at the ambient commerce premises, the electronic device associated with an entity; receive, from the electronic device, a wallet identifier, the wallet identifier uniquely identifying a particular wallet that is to be used to complete an ambient commerce transaction; identify, based on the sensor, one or more items that are to be associated with the ambient commerce transaction; and process the ambient commerce transaction for the identified one or more items using the particular wallet identified by the wallet identifier; for example, one or more wallets may be identified through communications with one or more supported wallet servers; the communications may, for example, be performed using an application programming interface (API) associated with the wallet server(s)).
Regarding Claim 11, Dunjic teaches a computer-implemented method for point-of-sale (POS) third-party application integration implemented at a point of sale system that includes (i) a user interface including a display unit; (ii) a transceiver configured to interrogate one or more tags; (iii) a memory storing a plurality of applications having respective identifiers, the applications being configured to interface with one or more application servers via respective one or more application programming interfaces (APIs); and (iv) a controller operatively connected to the user interface and the transceiver (Paragraph 0024 teaches a computer-implemented method includes: detecting that an electronic device that has been previously configured to communicate with the ambient commerce system is at the ambient commerce premises, the electronic device associated with an entity; receiving, from the electronic device, a wallet identifier, the wallet identifier uniquely identifying a particular wallet that is to be used to complete an ambient commerce transaction; identifying, based on the sensor, one or more items that are to be associated with the ambient commerce transaction; and processing the ambient commerce transaction for the identified one or more items using the particular wallet identified by the wallet identifier).
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Dunjic and Galloway teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above; and Dunjic further teaches wherein: the user interface is configured to receive a user identifier associated with a user; and the instruction includes the user identifier (Paragraphs 0112-0113 teach during the method, electronic device may also cooperate with the ambient commerce system to assign the entity an entity identifier; the entity identifier may be or include a unique number or include a unique alias, such as an email address or telephone number associated with the entity; by way of example, the entity identifier may be assigned based on input received from at the electronic device; for example, the electronic device may prompt for input of an alias and the entity identifier may then be assigned based on this alias; the entity identifier may be stored on both the electronic device associated with the entity and on another system, such as the ambient commerce system; the ambient commerce system may also store or have access to a profile for the entity and may associate the profile with the entity identifier so that the profile may be retrieved based on the entity identifier).
Regarding Claims 3 and 12, the combination of Dunjic and Galloway teaches all the limitations of claims 1 and 11 above; and Dunjic further teaches wherein the controller is configured to: generate the instruction responsive to the authentication (Paragraphs 0050 and 0113-0115 teach for example, in some implementations, identity may be detected using an identity sensor; for example, the biometric reader and/or token reader and/or one or more of the cameras may be used to determine identity of an entity when the entity enters the ambient commerce premises; by way of example, in some implementations, upon entering the ambient commerce premises, the entity may tap their electronic device at a token reader which may then read a token from the electronic device which uniquely identifies the customer; in some implementations, multiple authentication techniques may be used to verify the identity of the customer; the ambient commerce system may also store or have access to a profile for the entity and may associate the profile with the entity identifier so that the profile may be retrieved based on the entity identifier; the entity identifier and/or the profile may be stored in a datastore associated with the ambient commerce system; the profile may include authentication data, which may also be referred to as identity verification data; the identity verification data may, in some implementations, be configured during operation of the method; the identity verification data may be defined based on data received from the electronic device associated with the entity; the identity verification data may be or include a shared secret and/or biometric data such as a fingerprint, voiceprint and/or facial profile data).
Regarding Claims 6 and 14, the combination of Dunjic and Galloway teaches all the limitations of claims 1 and 11 above; however, the combination does not teach wherein: the instruction indicates user classification data indicating one or more of an expense category, a reference identifier, or comment data for at least a portion of the transaction information.
Galloway further teaches wherein: the instruction indicates user classification data indicating one or more of an expense category, a reference identifier, or comment data for at least a portion of the transaction information (Paragraph 0028 teaches the system also accepts the user's threshold amount to filter small transactions into miscellaneous category; the system is configured to automatically send alerts based on the threshold and source address to the user; the system sets up default groupings and categories; for example, the system may set up business and personal groups; each of the business and personal groups may contain 10 to 15 most common categories).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Dunjic and Galloway to incorporate the further teachings of Galloway for the instruction to indicate user classification data indicating one or more of an expense category, a reference identifier, or comment data for at least a portion of the transaction information.
There is motivation to further combine Galloway into the combination of Dunjic and Galloway because of the same reasons listed above for claims 1 and 11.
Regarding Claims 7 and 15, the combination of Dunjic and Galloway teaches all the limitations of claims 1 and 11 above; and Dunjic further teaches wherein: the user credential is a first user credential; and to authenticate with the one or more application servers, the controller is configured to: authenticate with one or more intermediate servers using the first user credential (Paragraph 0112-0113 and 0134 teach during the method, electronic device may also cooperate with the ambient commerce system to assign the entity an entity identifier; the entity identifier may be or include a unique number or a unique alias, such as an email address or telephone number associated with the entity; the entity identifier may be stored on both the electronic device associated with the entity and on another system, such as the ambient commerce system; the ambient commerce system may also store or have access to a profile for the entity and may associate the profile with the entity identifier so that the profile may be retrieved based on the entity identifier; the entity identifier and/or the profile may be stored in a datastore associated with the ambient commerce system; the ambient commerce transaction may be processed using the particular wallet identified by the wallet identifier by causing the electronic device to activate the particular wallet on the electronic device; the ambient commerce transaction may be processed by sending a message to the wallet server to process the transaction; for example, the ambient commerce transaction may be processed by sending an electronic signal to the wallet server; the electronic signal may include entity identifying information which uniquely identifies the entity at the wallet server as being associated with a particular account; the entity identifying information may be, for example, an alias associated with the entity such as an email address or telephone number); obtain, from the one or more intermediate servers, a second user credential for authentication with the one or more application servers (Paragraphs 0114 and 0144 teach the profile may include authentication data, which may also be referred to as identity verification data; the ambient commerce system may obtain a profile for the entity; the profile may be obtained based on the entity identifier; the profile may include data that may be used to authenticate the entity; that is, the profile may include identity verification data that may be used to verify the identity of the entity; the profile may, for example, include a representation of a voiceprint, fingerprint or face, or it may include a stored shared secret that is known to the entity and that may be used to identify the entity); and authenticate with the one or more application servers using the second user credential (Paragraphs 0114-0115 and 0147 teach the profile may include authentication data, which may also be referred to as identity verification data; the identity verification data may be defined based on data received from the electronic device associated with the entity; the identity verification data may be or include a shared secret and/or biometric data such as a fingerprint, voiceprint and/or facial profile data; for example, the profile may be used to perform authentication during the ambient commerce transaction; that authentication may be performed to confirm that the entity is the operator of the electronic device; for example, the profile may include a voice print, facial profile or shared secret which may be used to verify an identity of the entity; by way of example, the entity may be prompted to speak a phrase into a microphone to allow a voice print associated with the entity to be verified; in other implementations, the entity may be prompted to input a shared secret using an input device associated with the electronic device).
Regarding Claims 9 and 16, the combination of Dunjic and Galloway teaches all the limitations of claims 1 and 11 above; and Dunjic further teaches wherein: the POS system is implemented at a personal electronic device; and the user credential includes one or more of a user name, a password or a one-time password (Paragraph 0115 teaches the identity verification data may be or include a shared secret (i.e., password)).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dunjic (US 20230281588) in view of Galloway (US 20130060670) in further view of Mell (US 20200320503).
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Dunjic and Galloway teaches all the limitations of claim 4 above; however, the combination does not teach wherein the controller configured to: classify the transaction information in accordance with the classification data via one or more of machine learning, artificial intelligence, and a neural network.
Mell from same or similar field of endeavor teaches wherein the controller configured to: classify the transaction information in accordance with the classification data via one or more of machine learning, artificial intelligence, and a neural network (Paragraph 0108 teaches the platform server may track the remote transactions of a remote workforce, and may implement trained machine-learned models and algorithms; for instance, the platform server may receive and store data corresponding to the transactions performed by a set of remote workers in a particular role and at a particular organization, and may use the data as training data to generate one or more machine-learned models trained to output deviating and non-deviating transactions; when an Internet purchase or other network transaction performed by a remote worker is determined by the platform server, via trained machine-learned models, to be a deviation from a predicted pattern of remote transactions, the platform server may initiate an interactive session with the remote worker's mobile device; the platform server may maintain one or more data stores to collect and store training data and/or trained models corresponding to the patterns and predictions of remote transactions performed by the remote workforce).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Dunjic and Galloway to incorporate the teachings of Mell for the controller to be configured to: classify the transaction information in accordance with the classification data via one or more of machine learning, artificial intelligence, and a neural network.
There is motivation to combine Mell into the combination of Dunjic and Galloway because using machine learning enables the system to automatically detect deviations from the predicted network-based transactions of the remote workforce (Mell Paragraph 0108).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dunjic (US 20230281588) in view of Galloway (US 20130060670) in further view of Wilson (US 20220012734)
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Dunjic and Galloway teaches all the limitations of claim 7 above; however, the combination does not teach wherein: the one or more intermediate servers use an open standard for authentication.
Wilson from same or similar field of endeavor teaches wherein: the one or more intermediate servers use an open standard for authentication (Paragraphs 0035-0036 teach some finance compliant SEs with a GP standards compliant operating system employ a security hierarchy in accordance with GP standards for management of contents of the SEs; the security hierarchy comprises a tree of security domains, including an Issuer Security Domain (ISD), having the highest authority and control over the contents and operations in the whole SE; the security hierarchy may also include one or more Supplementary Security Domains (SSDs), each having subsidiary authority and control over a subset of the contents and operations of the ISD; each security domain is implemented using an application which has its own AID; each security domain may have an associated key (typically a symmetric key) with a copy of the key stored in the corresponding security domain application and another copy of the key kept by (or is in the control of)an entity (or agent) with authority over that security domain).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Dunjic and Galloway to incorporate the teachings of Wilson for the one or more intermediate servers to use an open standard for authentication.
There is motivation to combine Wilson into the combination of Dunjic and Galloway because this enables secure interoperability between unique identity systems, web resources, organizations and vendors.
Claims 10 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dunjic (US 20230281588) in view of Galloway (US 20130060670) in further view of Makhotin (US 20150127529).
Regarding Claims 10 and 17, the combination of Dunjic and Galloway teaches all the limitations of claims 1 and 11 above; however, the combination does not explicitly teach wherein: the transceiver is an RFID transceiver; and the one or more tags are one or more RFID tags embedded in a tap card.
Makhotin from same or similar field of endeavor teaches wherein: the transceiver is an RFID transceiver (Paragraph 0063 teaches access devices may use means such as radio frequency (RF) readers to interact with the portable communication device through contactless communication); and the one or more tags are one or more RFID tags embedded in a tap card (Paragraphs 0066, 0068, and 0086 teach the secure element may include an application linker module and a plurality of mobile payment applications that are capable of accessing payment information (e.g., an account identifier) securely stored on the secure element; the mobile payment applications may include two or more software modules installed or provisioned on the secure element that are capable of providing payment information stored on the secure element during a transaction; the mobile payment applications may be provisioned on the secure element by any entities within a mobile communication ecosystem; the application linker and an associated data processor may be configured to manage, determine, and communicate a list of application identifiers associated with provisioned or installed payment applications on a secure element as well as the corresponding priorities for the application identifiers).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Dunjic and Galloway to incorporate the teachings of Makhotin for the transceiver to be an RFID transceiver; and the one or more tags to be one or more RFID tags embedded in a tap card.
There is motivation to combine Makhotin into the combination of Dunjic and Galloway because RFID tags in tap cards communicate wirelessly with readers, and eliminate the need to insert or swipe a card. In addition, RFID tap cards can be used for multiple purposes—payments, building access, asset tracking, or loyalty programs—by embedding different data functions in the same card.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Robinson et al. (US 20090006239) teaches a system and method of allowing individuals to categorize transaction information. A user of the system may establish transaction identifiers that may be employed during or subsequent to a transaction in order to categorize transaction information.
Kooten (US 20230259934) teaches a method, apparatus, system, and computer program code for classifying a transaction. A computer system receives an authorization request from a gateway. The authorization request includes data for a transaction that is pending at a web client. A context for accessing a web service is determined from the authorization request, and the computer system accesses web services data according to the context that was determined. The computer system classifies the transaction based on the web services data, and records the transaction in a ledger according to the context.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/COURTNEY P JONES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3699